DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This communication is in response to the filing of Application 18/491,124 by ZAVERI et al. for “DYNAMIC ADJUSTMENT OF ADAPTIVE RECEPTION DIVERSITY”, filed on 10/20/2023.
Claims 1-28 are now pending. The independent claims are 1, 14 and 27-28.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because software instructions are directed to program code, which is not a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Independent claim 27 is not directed to any of the four statutory categories under 35 U.S.C. 101. A “computer-readable medium having instructions recorded thereon” is not a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. Instructions are software per say. Although the claim recites “one or more processors” for enacting the “instructions”, the claimed functions are being performed by the instructions, which is directed to software.
Furthermore, independent claim 27 recites the term “computer readable medium”. The supporting specification as published (US20250132878A1) does not appear to exclude transitory forms of signal transmission from the term “computer readable medium. Therefore, the computer-readable medium as currently recited encompasses transitory forms of signal transmission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-16 and 17-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US20240031852A1), hereinafter JIANG, in view of Zhang et al. (US20210289583A1), hereinafter ZHANG.
Regarding claim 1, JIANG teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: at least one memory comprising computer-executable instructions; and one or more processors, individually or collectively, configured to execute the computer-executable instructions and cause the UE to: (JIANG, Fig. 12, paragraphs 200-202, teach terminal device 900 comprising memory 920 and processor 910 configured to perform the overall functions claimed.)
receive configuration information configuring the UE with first resources for receiving at least one downlink signal and second resources for transmitting at least one uplink signal; (JIANG, Fig. 3, step 210, paragraphs 95-96, teaching obtaining frequency band information of first and second service processed by first and second SIM card using a specified N antennas (i.e. configuration information for first resources for downlink/uplink signal).)
detect a conflict between the first resources and the second resources; and dynamically adjust an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode if one or more conditions are met after detecting the conflict. (JIANG, Fig. 3, steps 220, 230, paragraphs 99 115-116, teach detecting a conflict by determining whether the first SIM card can share the N antennas with the second SIM card using M antennas (i.e. on or more conditions are met).)
JIANG does not specifically describe controlling the service processing by using M antennas as an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode.
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches performing adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode (ZHANG, Fig. 6, step 604, paragraph 103, teach performing an adaptive receive and transmit diversity technique (i.e. mode) based on received information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to dynamically adjust an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode based on received information. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 2, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more conditions are based on whether the conflict is detected for a threshold time duration. (JIANG, Fig. 2, step 120, paragraph 76, teach one or more conditions are based on whether the conflict is detected for a threshold time duration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure one or more conditions are based on whether the conflict is detected for a threshold time duration. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 3, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the one or more conditions are based on at least one of: a capability of the UE to adjust the ARD mode; a configuration of the at least one uplink signal; or whether the ARD mode is enabled or disabled. (JIANG, Fig. 2, step 120, paragraphs 76-78, teach the one or more conditions as a capability of service types.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the one or more conditions as based on at least one of a capability of the UE to adjust the ARD mode; a configuration of the at least one uplink signal; or whether the ARD mode is enabled or disabled. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 4, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein in order to dynamically adjust the ARD mode, the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to cause the UE to disable the ARD mode based on detecting the conflict. (JIANG, paragraph 97 teaches the device not sharing an antenna.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to dynamically adjust the ARD mode, the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to cause the UE to disable the ARD mode based on detecting the conflict. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 5, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the UE to enable the ARD mode if the conflict is not detected. (JIANG, paragraph 97 teaches the device not sharing an antenna.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to enable the ARD mode if the conflict is not detected. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 6, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein in order to dynamically adjust the ARD mode, the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to cause the UE to at least one of: adjust a first quantity of antennas utilized by the UE for receiving the at least one downlink signal; or adjust a second quantity of antennas utilized by the UE for transmitting the at least one uplink signal. (JIANG, paragraph 92 teaches adjusting a quantity of antennas for receiving and/or transmitting.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to adjust a first quantity of antennas utilized by the UE for receiving the at least one downlink signal; or adjust a second quantity of antennas utilized by the UE for transmitting the at least one uplink signal. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 7, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the apparatus of claim 6, wherein one of the first quantity of antennas and one of the second quantity of antennas are shared by a common radio frequency (RF) front end. (JIANG, Fig. 4, paragraph 104, teach configuring one of the first quantity of antennas and one of the second quantity of antennas are shared by a common radio frequency (RF) front end.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure one of the first quantity of antennas and one of the second quantity of antennas are shared by a common radio frequency (RF) front end. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 8, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS). (JIANG, paragraph 64 teaches the UL signal comprising a SRS.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS). The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 9, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the SRS is transmitted periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently. (ZHANG, paragraph 111 teach the SRS transmitted aperiodic and/or semi-persistently.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the SRS as transmitted periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 11, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the first resources are configured for a frequency division duplexing (FDD) mode; and the second resources are configured for a time division duplexing (TDD) mode. (JIANG, paragraph 55 teaches using FDD and TDD modes.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the first resources as configured for a frequency division duplexing (FDD) mode; and the second resources are configured for a time division duplexing (TDD) mode. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 12, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first resources and the second resources comprise time and frequency resources. (JIANG, paragraphs 29, 61, teach first and second resources comprising time and frequency resources.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the first resources and the second resources comprise time and frequency resources. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 13, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the downlink signal and the uplink signal are associated with multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs). (JIANG, paragraphs 78-79, teach multiple SIMs corresponding to uplink and downlink signals.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the downlink signal and the uplink signal are associated with multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs). The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 14, JIANG teaches A method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving configuration information configuring the UE with first resources for receiving at least one downlink signal and second resources for transmitting at least one uplink signal; (JIANG, Fig. 3, step 210, paragraphs 95-96, teaching obtaining frequency band information of first and second service processed by first and second SIM card using a specified N antennas (i.e. configuration information for first resources for downlink/uplink signal).)
detecting a conflict between the first resources and the second resources; and dynamically adjusting an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode if one or more conditions are met after detecting the conflict. (JIANG, Fig. 3, steps 220, 230, paragraphs 99 115-116, teach detecting a conflict by determining whether the first SIM card can share the N antennas with the second SIM card using M antennas (i.e. on or more conditions are met).)
JIANG does not specifically describe controlling the service processing by using M antennas as an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode.
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches performing adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode (ZHANG, Fig. 6, step 604, paragraph 103, teach performing an adaptive receive and transmit diversity technique (i.e. mode) based on received information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to dynamically adjust an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode based on received information. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 15, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the one or more conditions are based on whether the conflict is detected for a threshold time duration. (JIANG, Fig. 2, step 120, paragraph 76, teach one or more conditions are based on whether the conflict is detected for a threshold time duration.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure one or more conditions are based on whether the conflict is detected for a threshold time duration. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 16, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the one or more conditions are based on at least one of: a capability of the UE to adjust the ARD mode; a configuration of the at least one uplink signal; or whether the ARD mode is enabled or disabled. (JIANG, Fig. 2, step 120, paragraphs 76-78, teach the one or more conditions as a capability of service types.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the one or more conditions as based on at least one of a capability of the UE to adjust the ARD mode; a configuration of the at least one uplink signal; or whether the ARD mode is enabled or disabled. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 17, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the method of claim 14, wherein dynamically adjusting the ARD mode comprises disabling the ARD mode based on detecting the conflict. (JIANG, paragraph 97 teaches the device not sharing an antenna.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to dynamically adjust the ARD mode, the one or more processors, individually or collectively, are further configured to cause the UE to disable the ARD mode based on detecting the conflict. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 18, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the method of claim 17, further comprising enabling the ARD mode if the conflict is not detected. (JIANG, paragraph 97 teaches the device not sharing an antenna.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to enable the ARD mode if the conflict is not detected. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 19, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the method of claim 14, wherein dynamically adjusting the ARD mode comprises at least one of: adjusting a first quantity of antennas utilized by the UE for receiving the at least one downlink signal; or adjusting a second quantity of antennas utilized by the UE for transmitting the at least one uplink signal. (JIANG, paragraph 92 teaches adjusting a quantity of antennas for receiving and/or transmitting.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to adjust a first quantity of antennas utilized by the UE for receiving the at least one downlink signal; or adjust a second quantity of antennas utilized by the UE for transmitting the at least one uplink signal. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 20, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the method of claim 19, wherein one of the first quantity of antennas and one of the second quantity of antennas are shared by a common radio frequency (RF) front end. (JIANG, Fig. 4, paragraph 104, teach configuring one of the first quantity of antennas and one of the second quantity of antennas are shared by a common radio frequency (RF) front end.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure one of the first quantity of antennas and one of the second quantity of antennas are shared by a common radio frequency (RF) front end. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 21, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS). (JIANG, paragraph 64 teaches the UL signal comprising a SRS.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the uplink signal comprises a sounding reference signal (SRS). The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 22, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the method of claim 21, wherein the SRS is transmitted periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently. (ZHANG, paragraph 111 teach the SRS transmitted aperiodic and/or semi-persistently.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the SRS as transmitted periodically, aperiodically, or semi-persistently. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 24, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the method of claim 14, wherein: the first resources are configured for a frequency division duplexing (FDD) mode; and the second resources are configured for a time division duplexing (TDD) mode. (JIANG, paragraph 55 teaches using FDD and TDD modes.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the first resources as configured for a frequency division duplexing (FDD) mode; and the second resources are configured for a time division duplexing (TDD) mode. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 25, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the first resources and the second resources comprise time and frequency resources. (JIANG, paragraphs 29, 61, teach first and second resources comprising time and frequency resources.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the first resources and the second resources comprise time and frequency resources. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 26, JIANG in view ZHANG teaches the method of claim 14, wherein the downlink signal and the uplink signal are associated with multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs). (JIANG, paragraphs 78-79, teach multiple SIMs corresponding to uplink and downlink signals.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to configure the downlink signal and the uplink signal are associated with multiple subscriber identity modules (SIMs). The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 27, JIANG teaches A computer readable medium at a user equipment (UE) having instructions stored thereon which, when executed by one or more processors, individually or collectively, cause the UE to: (JIANG, Fig. 12, paragraphs 200-202, teach terminal device 900 comprising memory 920 and processor 910 configured to execute instructions perform the overall functions claimed.)
receive configuration information configuring the UE with first resources for receiving at least one downlink signal and second resources for transmitting at least one uplink signal; (JIANG, Fig. 3, step 210, paragraphs 95-96, teaching obtaining frequency band information of first and second service processed by first and second SIM card using a specified N antennas (i.e. configuration information for first resources for downlink/uplink signal).)
detect a conflict between the first resources and the second resources; and dynamically adjust an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode if one or more conditions are met after detecting the conflict. (JIANG, Fig. 3, steps 220, 230, paragraphs 99 115-116, teach detecting a conflict by determining whether the first SIM card can share the N antennas with the second SIM card using M antennas (i.e. on or more conditions are met).)
JIANG does not specifically describe controlling the service processing by using M antennas as an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode.
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches performing adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode (ZHANG, Fig. 6, step 604, paragraph 103, teach performing an adaptive receive and transmit diversity technique (i.e. mode) based on received information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to dynamically adjust an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode based on received information. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Regarding claim 28. An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: (JIANG, Fig. 12, paragraphs 200-202, teach terminal device 900 comprising memory 920 and processor 910 configured to perform the overall functions claimed.)
means for receiving configuration information configuring the UE with first resources for receiving at least one downlink signal and second resources for transmitting at least one uplink signal; (JIANG, Fig. 3, step 210, paragraphs 95-96, teaching obtaining frequency band information of first and second service processed by first and second SIM card using a specified N antennas (i.e. configuration information for first resources for downlink/uplink signal).)
means for detecting a conflict between the first resources and the second resources; and means for dynamically adjusting an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode if one or more conditions are met after detecting the conflict. (JIANG, Fig. 3, steps 220, 230, paragraphs 99 115-116, teach detecting a conflict by determining whether the first SIM card can share the N antennas with the second SIM card using M antennas (i.e. on or more conditions are met).)
JIANG does not specifically describe controlling the service processing by using M antennas as an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode.
ZHANG in the same field of endeavor teaches performing adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode (ZHANG, Fig. 6, step 604, paragraph 103, teach performing an adaptive receive and transmit diversity technique (i.e. mode) based on received information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of ZHANG with the teachings of JIANG to dynamically adjust an adaptive reception diversity (ARD) mode based on received information. The motivation would be to use the received channel state information to adjust the coding of its downlink transmissions to improve downlink channel quality (ZHANG, paragraph 79).
Claims 10 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (US20240031852A1), hereinafter JIANG, in view of Zhang et al. (US20210289583A1), hereinafter ZHANG.
Regarding claim 10, although JIANG in view ZHANG teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 1 above, JIANG in view ZHANG does not describe wherein the downlink signal comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission.
KHAN in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the downlink signal comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission. (KHAN, paragraphs 29, 32, teach utilizing PDSCH transmission for ARD performance.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of KHAN with the modified invention as described above to configure the downlink signal comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission. The motivation would be to resolve the power inefficiencies associated with statically increasing the size of the fallback window in ARD (KHAN, paragraph 32).
Regarding claim 23, although JIANG in view ZHANG teaches all the limitations with respect to claim 14 above, JIANG in view ZHANG does not describe wherein the downlink signal comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission.
KHAN in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the downlink signal comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission. (KHAN, paragraphs 29, 32, teach utilizing PDSCH transmission for ARD performance.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of KHAN with the modified invention as described above to configure the downlink signal comprises a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) transmission. The motivation would be to resolve the power inefficiencies associated with statically increasing the size of the fallback window in ARD (KHAN, paragraph 32).
Conclusion
/WALLI Z BUTT/Examiner, Art Unit 2412