DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capretta et al. (US Patent Application No. 20120095749) (Hereinafter Capretta) in view of Melodia et al. (US Patent Application No. 20170279571) (Hereinafter Melodia) in further view of Cheung et al. (US Patent Application No. US 20040208324 A1) (Hereinafter Cheung).
As per claim 1, Capretta discloses a method for managing communications between devices of a deployment, the method comprising:
obtaining, by a first device of the devices, data for transmission to a second device of the devices, the data comprising configuration data of the first device (para 9, the audio processor of the APDU is configured to encrypt the audio of the audiovisual presentation so that only MRDs authorized and equipped to decrypt the encrypted audio may access the wireless audio service. In another implementation, the audio processor of the APDU is also configured to encode the audio of the audiovisual presentation according to a psychoacoustic encoding algorithm);
encoding, by the first device, the data to obtain encoded data to reduce a quantity of the data to transit to the second device (para 31, produce the aforementioned encrypted and/or encoded audio signal.);
encrypting, by the first device, the encoded data to obtain encrypted data (para 31, produce the aforementioned encrypted and/or encoded audio signal.);
modulating, by the first device, the encrypted data onto an audio carrier wave to obtain a modulated audio carrier (para 31, that modulates the encrypted and/or encoded audio signal onto a wireless carrier and broadcasts the modulated wireless carrier); and
transmitting, by the first device, the modulated audio carrier to provide the data to the second device (para 31, that modulates the encrypted and/or encoded audio signal onto a wireless carrier and broadcasts the modulated wireless carrier).
Capretta does not disclose the audio carrier wave being selected based on a carrier frequency rotation scheme
However, Melodia discloses the audio carrier wave being selected based on a carrier frequency rotation scheme (para 96, subcarriers are selected by a pseudo-random frequency-hopping sequence). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Capretta and Melodia. The motivation would have been to build the network that provide end to end authentication (both hardware and software based).
Capretta in view of Melodia does not explicitly disclose the audio carrier wave being ultrasonic waves configured for transmission within free space that separates the devices from one another. However, Cheung discloses the audio carrier wave (117, different types of audio signals) being ultrasonic waves configured for transmission within free space that separates the devices from one another (para 126, ultrasonic waves emit into free space). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Capretta and Melodia with Cheung. The motivation would have been to receive incoming encoded signals and provides decoded audio signals and audio conversion circuitry that produces ultrasonic signals.
The Examiner notes that this motivation applies to all dependent and/or otherwise subsequently addressed claims.
As per claim 2, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Melodia discloses wherein the carrier frequency rotation scheme associates each of the devices with corresponding audio carrier frequencies (para 96, subcarriers are selected by a pseudo-random frequency-hopping sequence… with an identification unique to the first node).
As per claim 3, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Melodia discloses wherein the carrier frequency rotation scheme changes the corresponding audio carrier frequencies over time (para 96, subcarriers are selected by a pseudo-random frequency-hopping sequence… with an identification unique to the first node; para 12 number of subcarriers of the symbols to be transmitted as a function of a frequency spacing between the subcarriers for a time block of a given duration).
As per claim 4, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Capretta discloses wherein the data is encoded using a public key associated with the second device (para 47, configured to employ a public-key encryption algorithm).
As per claim 5, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Melodia discloses wherein the encrypted data is modulated onto the audio carrier wave based on a proximity of the first device to the second device (para 143, proximity with the human body, while the resonant frequency and the input impedance of the antenna may shift from their nominal values.).
As per claim 6, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Capretta discloses wherein the encrypted data is modulated onto the audio carrier wave based on a type of the data (para 31, that modulates the encrypted and/or encoded audio signal onto a wireless carrier and broadcasts the modulated wireless carrier).
As per claim 7, claim is rejected for the same reasons and motivations as claim 1, above. In addition, Capretta discloses further comprising: receiving, by the first device, a second modulated audio carrier from a second device, the second modulated audio carrier comprising a second audio carrier based on the carrier frequency rotation scheme (para 81, demodulate the modulated wireless carrier 1712, and decrypt and decode the encrypted and/or encoded audio signa);
demodulating, by the first device, the second modulated audio carrier to obtain second encrypted data (para 81, demodulate the modulated wireless carrier 1712, and decrypt and decode the encrypted and/or encoded audio signa);
decrypting, by the first device, the encrypted data using a private key associated with the first device to obtain encoded data (para 47, a matching user (i.e., "private") key are able to decrypt);
decoding, by the first device, the encoded data to obtain second data (para 52, decode the digital audio encoded by the encoder); and
providing, by the first device, computer implemented services using the second data (para 7, generate and broadcast a wireless audio service containing audio of an audiovisual presentation ).
Melodia discloses audio carrier based on the carrier frequency rotation scheme (para 96, subcarriers are selected by a pseudo-random frequency-hopping sequence)
As per claims 8 and 15, claims are rejected for the same reasons and motivations, as claim 1, above.
As per claims 9 and 16, claims are rejected for the same reasons and motivations, as claim 2, above.
As per claims 10 and 17, claims are rejected for the same reasons and motivations, as claim 3, above.
As per claims 11 and 18, claims are rejected for the same reasons and motivations, as claim 4, above.
As per claims 12 and 19, claims are rejected for the same reasons and motivations, as claim 5, above.
As per claim 13 , claims are rejected for the same reasons and motivations, as claim 6, above.
As per claims 14 and 20, claims are rejected for the same reasons and motivations, as claim 7, above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) have been considered but are moot due to the new ground of rejection (please see above).
Conclusion
Please see the attached PTO-892 for the prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMAD A SIDDIQI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2493