DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the Election made for a Restriction Requirement mailed 10/725. The Election was made on 12/8/25.
Applicants have elected, without traverse, to examine group I consisting of claims 1-13 & 23-26. Claims 14-22 & 27-30 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim(s) 1-13 & 23-26 are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-13 & 23-26 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “obtaining a set of attributes associated with a radio frequency for sensing (RF-S) calibration target”? The claim languages are not clear what are the “attribute” the system is looking for? What information being “associated with the radio frequency”? Please clarify
Claim(s) 1-13 & 23-26 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “determining a set of RF-S calibration compensations based on the measurement information and the set of attributes”? The claim languages are not very clear what are the “RF-S calibration compensate for”? to make up for the different of the RF-S? Or to do what? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13 & 27, 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2025/0119883 A1.
As to claim 1, Liang teaches a method of operating a communications device, comprising:
obtaining a set of attributes associated with a radio frequency for sensing (RF-S) calibration target (Liang, figure 2; page 4, paragraph 53; i.e., [0053] During a process of receiving a signal, if the radio frequency module of the sensing device may perform the waveform adjusting on a received sensing signal, a waveform adjustment parameter directly affects a range of amplitude of an output signal, and the waveform adjustment parameter may be adjusted adaptively according to different signals. If different waveform adjustment parameters are used to perform waveform adjusting on a same sensing signal, obtained channel state information will be different when the channel state information is estimated based on the sensing signal. Further, using the channel state information estimated by the sensing signal adjusted by different waveform adjustment parameters to determine a sensing result may affect the accuracy of the sensing result);
obtaining measurement information associated with a RF-S calibration procedure between a first set of wireless sensing nodes and the RF-S calibration target (Liang, figure 2; page 4, paragraph 53; i.e., [0053] During a process of receiving a signal, if the radio frequency module of the sensing device may perform the waveform adjusting on a received sensing signal, a waveform adjustment parameter directly affects a range of amplitude of an output signal, and the waveform adjustment parameter may be adjusted adaptively according to different signals. If different waveform adjustment parameters are used to perform waveform adjusting on a same sensing signal, obtained channel state information will be different when the channel state information is estimated based on the sensing signal. Further, using the channel state information estimated by the sensing signal adjusted by different waveform adjustment parameters to determine a sensing result may affect the accuracy of the sensing result); and
determining a set of RF-S calibration compensations based on the measurement information and the set of attributes (Liang, figure 2; page 4, paragraph 53 & 73; page 5, paragraph 74-75; i.e., [0053] During a process of receiving a signal, if the radio frequency module of the sensing device may perform the waveform adjusting on a received sensing signal, a waveform adjustment parameter directly affects a range of amplitude of an output signal, and the waveform adjustment parameter may be adjusted adaptively according to different signals. If different waveform adjustment parameters are used to perform waveform adjusting on a same sensing signal, obtained channel state information will be different when the channel state information is estimated based on the sensing signal. Further, using the channel state information estimated by the sensing signal adjusted by different waveform adjustment parameters to determine a sensing result may affect the accuracy of the sensing result; [0073] performing waveform adjusting on the sensing signal by adopting a second waveform adjustment parameter).
As to claim 2, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the communications device corresponds to a network component or a first wireless sensing node from the set of wireless sensing nodes or a second wireless sensing node that does not belong to the set of wireless sensing nodes (Liang, figure 2).
As to claim 3, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the first set of wireless sensing nodes comprises one or more user equipment (UEs), one or more wireless network components, or a combination thereof (Liang, figure 2).
As to claim 4, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein transmitting the set of RF-S calibration compensations to a second set of wireless sensing nodes (Liang, figure 2; page 1, paragraph 6; i.e., [0006] performing waveform adjusting on the sensing signal by adopting a waveform adjustment parameter).
As to claim 8, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the set of RF-S calibration compensations is further based on at least one location of at least one wireless sensing node from the first set of wireless sensing nodes (Liang, figure 2; page 3, paragraph 48; i.e., [0048] detect a parameter of a physical environment, so as to achieve environmental sensing, such as target positioning, motion recognition).
As to claim 9, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein at least one attribute from the set of attributes is associated with a validity period that designates when the at least one attribute is permitted for RF-S calibration compensation determinations (Liang, figure 2; page 5, paragraph 100; i.e., [0100] a period of the at least one time window).
As to claim 10, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the set of attributes is received via assistance data, or wherein the set of attributes is received via assistance information signaling, or wherein the set of attributes is received via broadcast, or any combination thereof (Liang, figure 2).
As to claim 11, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a RF-S calibration target attribute request, wherein the set of attributes is received in response to the RF-S calibration target attribute request (Liang, figure 2).
As to claim 12, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the set of attributes is obtained in association with a capability exchange of a registration procedure of the RF-S calibration target with the communications device (Liang, figure 2; page 3, paragraph 48; i.e., [0048] detect a parameter of a physical environment, so as to achieve environmental sensing, such as target positioning, motion recognition).
As to claim 13, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the RF-S calibration procedure is monostatic and the first set of wireless sensing nodes comprises a single wireless sensing node, or wherein the RF-S calibration procedure is bistatic and the first set of wireless sensing nodes comprises multiple wireless sensing nodes (Liang, figure 2).
Claim(s) 27, 28-30 is/are directed to a device claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 14, 7-9. Therefore, claim(s) 27, 28-30 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 14, 7-9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 & 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2025/0119883 A1 in view of Hur, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2007/0019604 A1.
As to claim 5, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 4. But Liang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first set of wireless sensing nodes and the second set of wireless sensing nodes overlap at least in part.
However, Hur teaches the limitation wherein the first set of wireless sensing nodes and the second set of wireless sensing nodes overlap at least in part (Hur, page 1, paragraph 12-14; i.e., [0014] the sensor nodes existing in the non-overlapping area, and the sensor nodes existing in the overlapping area in a third section, and the G W transfers the beacon and the query received from the CH to a neighboring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Liang to substitute cluster-based hierarchy structure from Hur for multiplex hardware structure from Liang to preventing interferences between neighboring clusters, without using
different frequency channels or spread codes for each cluster (Hur, page 1, paragraph 11).
As to claim 6, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 4. But Liang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first set of wireless sensing nodes and the second set of wireless sensing nodes are non-overlapping.
However, Hur teaches the limitation wherein the first set of wireless sensing nodes and the second set of wireless sensing nodes are non-overlapping (Liang, figure 2; page 4, paragraph 53; i.e., [0053] During a process of receiving a signal, if the radio frequency module of the sensing device may perform the waveform adjusting on a received sensing signal, a waveform adjustment parameter directly affects a range of amplitude of an output signal, and the waveform adjustment parameter may be adjusted adaptively according to different signals. If different waveform adjustment parameters are used to perform waveform adjusting on a same sensing signal, obtained channel state information will be different when the channel state information is estimated based on the sensing signal. Further, using the channel state information estimated by the sensing signal adjusted by different waveform adjustment parameters to determine a sensing result may affect the accuracy of the sensing result).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Liang to substitute cluster-based hierarchy structure from Hur for multiplex hardware structure from Liang to preventing interferences between neighboring clusters, without using
different frequency channels or spread codes for each cluster (Hur, page 1, paragraph 11).
As to claim 7, Liang teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Liang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the set of attributes comprises: a location of the RF-S calibration target, or a shape of the RF-S calibration target, or a size of the RF-S calibration target, or a material composition of an external surface of the RF-S calibration target, or an orientation of the RF-S calibration target, or a mobility status of the RF-S calibration target, or a speed of the RF-S calibration target, or a trajectory of the RF-S calibration target, or timing error information associated with a transmitter of the RF-S calibration procedure, or any combination thereof.
However, Hur teaches the limitation wherein the set of attributes comprises: a location of the RF-S calibration target, or a shape of the RF-S calibration target, or a size of the RF-S calibration target, or a material composition of an external surface of the RF-S calibration target, or an orientation of the RF-S calibration target, or a mobility status of the RF-S calibration target, or a speed of the RF-S calibration target, or a trajectory of the RF-S calibration target, or timing error information associated with a transmitter of the RF-S calibration procedure, or any combination thereof (Hur, figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Liang to substitute cluster-based hierarchy structure from Hur for multiplex hardware structure from Liang to preventing interferences between neighboring clusters, without using
different frequency channels or spread codes for each cluster (Hur, page 1, paragraph 11).
Claim(s) 27, 28-30 is/are directed to a device claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 14, 7-9. Therefore, claim(s) 27, 28-30 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 14, 7-9.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Gilson, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20220107277 A1 discloses radio frequency sensing, measurement signal.
Alwood, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210208232 A1 discloses measurement rate radio frequency sensing, calculation.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416