DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 6/9/26.
Claim(s) 1, 7, 23-24 was/were amended. Claim(s) 14-22 & 27-30 is/are canceled.
Claim(s) 1-13 & 23-26 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1-13 & 23-26 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “wherein the set of attributes comprises one or more material attributes associated with a material of the RF-S calibration target, one or more spatial attributes associated with the RF-S calibration target or both, and ”? The claim languages are not clear what are the “material attribute” and “spatial attribute”? What exactly the Applicant trying to accomplished”? how is the RF-S associated with the material attributes or spatial attributes? Please clarify
Claim(s) 1-13 & 23-26 is/are unclear to the examiner; what does it mean by stating “wherein the measurement information is based on one or more measurements of one or more RF-S reflections off of the RF-S calibration target”? The claim languages are not very clear what are the “RF-S reflections off of the RF-S calibration target”? to do what? What exactly is the claimed invention? Please clarify
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-13 & 27, 29-30is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2025/0119883 A1 in view of Corgan, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2024/0323719 A1.
As to claim 1, Liang-Corgan teaches a method of operating a communications device, comprising:
obtaining a set of attributes associated with a radio frequency for sensing (RF-S) calibration target (Liang, figure 2; page 4, paragraph 53; i.e., [0053] During a process of receiving a signal, if the radio frequency module of the sensing device may perform the waveform adjusting on a received sensing signal, a waveform adjustment parameter directly affects a range of amplitude of an output signal, and the waveform adjustment parameter may be adjusted adaptively according to different signals. If different waveform adjustment parameters based on the sensing signal. adjustment parameters to determine a sensing result may affect the accuracy of the sensing result);
obtaining measurement information associated with a RF-S calibration procedure between a first set of wireless sensing nodes and the RF-S calibration target (Liang, figure 2; page 4, paragraph 53; i.e., [0053] During a process of receiving a signal, if the radio frequency module of the sensing device may perform the waveform adjusting on a received sensing signal, a waveform adjustment parameter directly affects a range of amplitude of an output signal, and the waveform adjustment parameter may be adjusted adaptively according to different signals. If different waveform adjustment parameters based on the sensing signal. adjustment parameters to determine a sensing result may affect the accuracy of the sensing result); and
determining a set of RF-S calibration compensations based on the measurement information and the set of attributes (Liang, figure 2; page 4, paragraph 53 & 73; page 5, paragraph 74-75; i.e., [0053] During a process of receiving a signal, if the radio frequency module of the sensing device may perform the waveform adjusting on a received sensing signal, a waveform adjustment parameter directly affects a range of amplitude of an output signal, and the waveform adjustment parameter may be adjusted adaptively according to different signals. If different waveform adjustment parameters are used to perform waveform adjusting on a same sensing signal, obtained channel state information will be different when the channel state information is estimated based on the sensing signal. Further, using the channel state information estimated by the sensing signal adjusted by different waveform adjustment parameters to determine a sensing result may affect the accuracy of the sensing result; [0073] performing waveform adjusting on the sensing signal by adopting a second waveform adjustment parameter).
But Liang failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the set of attributes comprises one or more material attributes associated with a material of the RF-S calibration target, one or more spatial attributes associated with the RF-S calibration target or both, and wherein the measurement information is based on one or more measurements of one or more RF-S reflections off of the RF-S calibration target.
However, Corgan teaches the limitation wherein the set of attributes comprises one or more material attributes associated with a material of the RF-S calibration target, one or more spatial attributes associated with the RF-S calibration target or both (Corgan, figure 2; page 1, paragraph 19; page 6, paragraph 81; i.e., [0019] frequency of the RF signal, a power level of the RF signal, a spatial mode of the RF signal, or a resource allocation for the RF signal; [0081] the material MLP 502 outputting (based on embedding in the material MLP 502) properties of a material at the positions 508 ( e.g., reflectivity, absorption, material/object orientation, and/or one or more other properties),), and wherein the measurement information is based on one or more measurements of one or more RF-S reflections off of the RF-S calibration target (Corgan, figure 2; page 1, paragraph 11; page 5, paragraph 72; i.e., [0011] The positions along the ray include a reflection point at which the first segment and the second segment meet. [0072] the RF-RF model to determine a reflectance (e.g., a reflection coefficient) P; associated with the ray (208). a first angle 01 characterizing the direction of the first segment du1 and a second angle <p 1 characterizing the direction of the second segment dv 1, and the RF-RF model can be used to determine (e.g., a value of) a corresponding reflectance p).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Liang to substitute RF-RF model from Corgan for modern radio frequency from Liang to optimize RF communication (Corgan, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 2, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the communications device corresponds to a network component or a first wireless sensing node from the set of wireless sensing nodes or a second wireless sensing node that does not belong to the set of wireless sensing nodes (Liang, figure 2).
As to claim 3, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the first set of wireless sensing nodes comprises one or more user equipment (UEs), one or more wireless network components, or a combination thereof (Liang, figure 2).
As to claim 4, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein transmitting the set of RF-S calibration compensations to a second set of wireless sensing nodes (Liang, figure 2; page 1, paragraph 6; i.e., [0006] performing waveform adjusting on the sensing signal by adopting a waveform adjustment parameter).
As to claim 8, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the set of RF-S calibration compensations is further based on at least one location of at least one wireless sensing node from the first set of wireless sensing nodes (Liang, figure 2; page 3, paragraph 48; i.e., [0048] detect a parameter of a physical environment, so as to achieve environmental sensing, such as target positioning, motion recognition).
As to claim 9, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein at least one attribute from the set of attributes is associated with a validity period that designates when the at least one attribute is permitted for RF-S calibration compensation determinations (Liang, figure 2; page 5, paragraph 100; i.e., [0100] a period of the at least one time window).
As to claim 10, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the set of attributes is received via assistance data, or wherein the set of attributes is received via assistance information signaling, or wherein the set of attributes is received via broadcast, or any combination thereof (Liang, figure 2).
As to claim 11, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a RF-S calibration target attribute request, wherein the set of attributes is received in response to the RF-S calibration target attribute request (Liang, figure 2).
As to claim 12, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the set of attributes is obtained in association with a capability exchange of a registration procedure of the RF-S calibration target with the communications device (Liang, figure 2; page 3, paragraph 48; i.e., [0048] detect a parameter of a physical environment, so as to achieve environmental sensing, such as target positioning, motion recognition).
As to claim 13, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the RF-S calibration procedure is monostatic and the first set of wireless sensing nodes comprises a single wireless sensing node, or wherein the RF-S calibration procedure is bistatic and the first set of wireless sensing nodes comprises multiple wireless sensing nodes (Liang, figure 2).
Claim(s) 27, 28-30 is/are directed to a device claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 14, 7-9. Therefore, claim(s) 27, 28-30 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 14, 7-9.
Claim(s) 5-7 & 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2025/0119883 A1 in view of Corgan, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2024/0323719 A1, and further in view of Hur, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2007/0019604 A1.
As to claim 5, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 4. But Liang-Corgan failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first set of wireless sensing nodes and the second set of wireless sensing nodes overlap at least in part.
However, Hur teaches the limitation wherein the first set of wireless sensing nodes and the second set of wireless sensing nodes overlap at least in part (Hur, page 1, paragraph 12-14; i.e., [0014] the sensor nodes existing in the non-overlapping area, and the sensor nodes existing in the overlapping area in a third section, and the G W transfers the beacon and the query received from the CH to a neighboring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Liang-Corgan to substitute cluster-based hierarchy structure from Hur for multiplex hardware structure from Liang-Corgan to preventing interferences between neighboring clusters, without using
different frequency channels or spread codes for each cluster (Hur, page 1, paragraph 11).
As to claim 6, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 4. But Liang-Corgan failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first set of wireless sensing nodes and the second set of wireless sensing nodes are non-overlapping.
However, Hur teaches the limitation wherein the first set of wireless sensing nodes and the second set of wireless sensing nodes are non-overlapping (Liang, figure 2; page 4, paragraph 53; i.e., [0053] During a process of receiving a signal, if the radio frequency module of the sensing device may perform the waveform adjusting on a received sensing signal, a waveform adjustment parameter directly affects a range of amplitude of an output signal, and the waveform adjustment parameter may be adjusted adaptively according to different signals. If different waveform adjustment parameters based on the sensing signal. different waveform adjustment parameters to determine a sensing result may affect the accuracy of the sensing result).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Liang-Corgan to substitute cluster-based hierarchy structure from Hur for multiplex hardware structure from Liang-Corgan to preventing interferences between neighboring clusters, without using
different frequency channels or spread codes for each cluster (Hur, page 1, paragraph 11).
As to claim 7, Liang-Corgan teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Liang-Corgan failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the set of attributes comprises: a location of the RF-S calibration target, or a shape of the RF-S calibration target, or a size of the RF-S calibration target, or a material composition of an external surface of the RF-S calibration target, or an orientation of the RF-S calibration target, or a mobility status of the RF-S calibration target, or a speed of the RF-S calibration target, or a trajectory of the RF-S calibration target, of any combination thereof.
However, Hur teaches the limitation wherein the set of attributes comprises: a location of the RF-S calibration target, or a shape of the RF-S calibration target, or a size of the RF-S calibration target, or a material composition of an external surface of the RF-S calibration target, or an orientation of the RF-S calibration target, or a mobility status of the RF-S calibration target, or a speed of the RF-S calibration target, or a trajectory of the RF-S calibration target of any combination thereof (Hur, figure 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Liang-Corgan to substitute cluster-based hierarchy structure from Hur for multiplex hardware structure from Liang-Corgan to preventing interferences between neighboring clusters, without using
different frequency channels or spread codes for each cluster (Hur, page 1, paragraph 11).
Claim(s) 27, 28-30 is/are directed to a device claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 14, 7-9. Therefore, claim(s) 27, 28-30 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 14, 7-9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 & 23-26 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Listing of Relevant Arts
Raghavan, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210321415 A1 discloses error correction and physical location.
Krapf, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20170261444 A1 discloses material property and error indication, correction factors.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416