DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite in that it fails to point out what is included or excluded by the claim language.
Examiner finds the imitation “the first ON duration is extended over at least a part of the first OFF duration except the second ON duration or until the start thereof” of claim 10 lines 2-3, to be unclear. Examiner interprets the language to mean “the first ON duration can only be extended over part of the first OFF duration”. Examiner suggest the applicant to revise limitations of claim 10 to be in a positive clear format.
Examiner finds the imitation “the second ON duration is extended over at least a part of the second OFF duration except the first ON duration or until the start thereof” of claim 10 lines 4-5, to be unclear. Examiner interprets the language to mean “the second ON duration can only be extended over part of the second OFF duration”. Examiner suggest the applicant to revise limitations of claim 10 to be in a positive clear format.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 11-12, 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US20230209643 hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1. Wang teaches the apparatus for a first device (fig. 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches method 1600 may be performed by a UE 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 6 and 11 through 14. Furthermore, fig. 2 and pars. 0130-0131, teaches the first UE 115-a. Moreover, fig. 14 and pars. 0328-0336, teaches device 1405 may be an example of a UE 115 as described herein.), comprising: at least one processor (fig. 14 and pars. 0328-0336, teaches processor 1440); and at least one memory storing instructions (fig. 14 and pars. 0328-0336, teaches memory 1430 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1435 including instructions) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the first device at least to perform (fig. 14 and pars. 0328-0336, teaches memory 1430 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1435 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 1440, cause the device 1405 to perform various functions described herein):
receiving a discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration for a direct path between the first device (fig. 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches receiving, from a first base station, first control signaling including an indication of a downlink DRX configuration for the first UE. Wherein the “first base station” reads as the second device. Wherein, par. 0341, teaches method 1600 may be performed by a UE 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 6 and 11 through 14. Furthermore, fig. 2 and pars. 0130-0131, teaches the first UE 115-a may be configured with a downlink DRX configuration (e.g., Uu DRX configuration 225-a). Moreover, the term “downlink DRX configuration” may be understood as including “Uu DRX configurations” which enable downlink and uplink communications between a UE 115 and a base station 105 during active periods of the Uu DRX configuration. Moreover, fig. 2 and pars. 0123-0124, teaches the first UE 115-a may communicate with the first base station 105-a via a communication link 205-a. Whereas, the communication with the first base station in accordance with the downlink DRX configuration utilizing the communication link 205-a reads as communicating with the second device on the direct path. Par. 0003, teaches discontinuous reception (DRX))
and a second device and an indirect path between the first and second devices via a third device (fig. 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches receiving, from a first base station, first control signaling including a sidelink DRX configuration for a second UE in wireless communication with the first UE. Whereas, the “second UE” reads as the third device. Wherein, fig. 2 and pars. 0125-0126, teaches the first UE 115-a and the second UE 115-b may communicate with one another using a communication link 210. Furthermore, fig. 2 and par. 0129 teaches the first base station 105-a may transmit a communication to the first UE 115-a, the first UE 115-a may transmit a communication to the second UE 115-b and vice versa, thus an indirect path),
the DRX configuration comprising at least one of a first DRX configuration or a second DRX configuration (fig. 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches receiving, from a first base station, first control signaling including an indication of a downlink DRX configuration and a sidelink DRX configuration for a second UE in wireless communication with the first UE. Whereas, the “downlink DRX configuration” reads as a first DRX configuration and the “sidelink DRX configuration” reads as the second DRX configuration),
the first DRX configuration used for a first communication between the first and second devices on the direct path (fig. 2 and pars. 0130-0133, teaches the first UE 115-a may be configured with a downlink DRX configuration (e.g., Uu DRX configuration 225-a). Wherein the Uu DRX configuration 225-a may include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240, where the first UE 115-a is able to communicate with the first base station 105-a during the active durations 235 (e.g., receive downlink communications, transmit uplink communications), and enter a low-power state (e.g., refrain from monitoring for downlink communications) during the inactive durations 240), and
the second DRX configuration used for a second communication between the first and third devices on the indirect path (fig. 2 and pars. 0130-0133, teaches the first UE 115-a may be configured with a sidelink DRX configuration 230-a. Wherein the sidelink DRX configuration 230-amay include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240, where the first UE 115-a is able to communicate with other UEs 115 (e.g., the second UE 115-b) during the active durations 235 (e.g., receive/transmit sidelink communications), and enter a low-power state (e.g., refrain from monitoring for sidelink communications) during the inactive durations 240); and
communicating with the second device on the direct path (figs. 2 & 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches communicating with the first base station in accordance with the downlink DRX configuration. Wherein the “first base station” reads as the second device. Wherein, par. 0341, teaches method 1600 may be performed by a UE 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 6 and 11 through 14. Moreover, fig. 2 and pars. 0123-0124, teaches the first UE 115-a may communicate with the first base station 105-a via a communication link 205-a. Whereas, the communication with the first base station in accordance with the downlink DRX configuration utilizing the communication link 205-a reads as communicating with the second device on the direct path. Par. 0003, teaches discontinuous reception (DRX)) and with the third device on the indirect path (figs. 2 & 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches transmitting, to the second UE based on the control signaling which is performed by a sidelink transmitting. Wherein, fig, 2 and pars. 0125-0128, teaches the first UE 115-a and the second UE 115-b may communicate with one another using a communication link 210, which may be an example of a sidelink communication link or PC5 link. Thus, the “transmitting, to the second UE based on the control signaling which is performed by a sidelink transmitting” reads as using communication link 210 reads as an indirect path),
based on the received DRX configuration (figs. 2 & 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches receiving, from a first base station, first control signaling including an indication of a downlink DRX configuration for the first UE and a sidelink DRX configuration for a second UE in wireless communication with the first UE).
Regarding claim 2. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Wang further teaches the at least one of the first or second DRX configuration comprises the first DRX configuration indicating a first ON duration and a first OFF duration in a first DRX cycle for the first communication (fig. 2 and par. 0132, teaches each of the DRX configurations 225, 230 may include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240 which enable UEs 115 to communicate during active durations 235, and go to “sleep” or otherwise enter low-power states during inactive durations 240. Whereas, the Uu DRX configuration 225-a (first DRX configuration) at the first UE 115-a may include active durations 235 (first ON duration) and inactive durations 240 (first OFF duration) and the sidelink DRX configuration 230-a (second DRX configuration) at the first UE 115-a may include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240), and
communicating with the second device on the direct path (figs. 2 & 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches communicating with the first base station in accordance with the downlink DRX configuration. Wherein the “first base station” reads as the second device Wherein, par. 0341, teaches method 1600 may be performed by a UE 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 6 and 11 through 14. Moreover, fig. 2 and pars. 0123-0124, teaches the first UE 115-a may communicate with the first base station 105-a via a communication link 205-a. Whereas, the communication with the first base station in accordance with the downlink DRX configuration utilizing the communication link 205-a reads as communicating with the second device on the direct path. Par. 0003, teaches discontinuous reception (DRX)) and with the third device on the indirect path (figs. 2 & 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches transmitting, to the second UE based on the control signaling which is performed by a sidelink transmitting. Wherein, fig, 2 and pars. 0125-0128, teaches the first UE 115-a and the second UE 115-b may communicate with one another using a communication link 210, which may be an example of a sidelink communication link or PC5 link. Thus, the “transmitting, to the second UE based on the control signaling which is performed by a sidelink transmitting” reads as using communication link 210 reads as an indirect path) comprises:
communicating with the second device on the direct path for the first ON duration (fig. 2 and par. 0132, teaches each of the DRX configurations 225, 230 may include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240 which enable UEs 115 to communicate during active durations 235, and go to “sleep” or otherwise enter low-power states during inactive durations 240. Whereas, the Uu DRX configuration 225-a (first DRX configuration) at the first UE 115-a may include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240); or communicating with the third device on the indirect path for the first OFF duration (duration (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Regarding claim 4. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Wang further teaches the at least one of the first or second DRX configuration comprises the second DRX configuration indicating a second ON duration and a second OFF duration in a second DRX cycle for the second communication (fig. 2 and par. 0132, teaches each of the DRX configurations 225, 230 may include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240 which enable UEs 115 to communicate during active durations 235, and go to “sleep” or otherwise enter low-power states during inactive durations 240. Whereas, the Uu DRX configuration 225-a (first DRX configuration) at the first UE 115-a may include active durations 235 (first ON duration) and inactive durations 240 (first OFF duration) and the sidelink DRX configuration 230-a (second DRX configuration) at the first UE 115-a may include active durations 235 (Second ON duration) and inactive durations 240 (Second OFF duration)), and
communicating with the second device on the direct path (figs. 2 & 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches communicating with the first base station in accordance with the downlink DRX configuration. Wherein the “first base station” reads as the second device Wherein, par. 0341, teaches method 1600 may be performed by a UE 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 6 and 11 through 14. Moreover, fig. 2 and pars. 0123-0124, teaches the first UE 115-a may communicate with the first base station 105-a via a communication link 205-a. Whereas, the communication with the first base station in accordance with the downlink DRX configuration utilizing the communication link 205-a reads as communicating with the second device on the direct path. Par. 0003, teaches discontinuous reception (DRX)) and with the third device on the indirect path (figs. 2 & 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches transmitting, to the second UE based on the control signaling which is performed by a sidelink transmitting. Wherein, fig, 2 and pars. 0125-0128, teaches the first UE 115-a and the second UE 115-b may communicate with one another using a communication link 210, which may be an example of a sidelink communication link or PC5 link. Thus, the “transmitting, to the second UE based on the control signaling which is performed by a sidelink transmitting” reads as using communication link 210 reads as an indirect path) comprises:
communicating with the third device on the indirect path for the second ON duration (fig. 2 and par. 0132, teaches the first UE 115-a is able to communicate with other UEs 115 (e.g., the second UE 115-b) during the active durations 235 according to the sidelink DRX configuration 230-a); or communicating with the second device on the direct path for the second OFF duration (Examiners note: this limitation uses alternative language (or), and thus only one of the limitations tied to the “or” statement needs to be shown by the prior art).
Regarding claim 6. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Wang further teaches the at least one of the first or second DRX configuration comprises both the first and second DRX configurations (figs. 2 and 16 and par. 0130, teaches first UE 115-a may be configured with a downlink DRX configuration (e.g., Uu DRX configuration 225-a) and a sidelink DRX configuration 230-a),
the first DRX configuration indicating a first ON duration and a first OFF duration in a first DRX cycle for the first communication (fig. 2 and par. 0132, teaches each of the DRX configurations 225, 230 may include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240 which enable UEs 115 to communicate during active durations 235, and go to “sleep” or otherwise enter low-power states during inactive durations 240. Whereas, the Uu DRX configuration 225-a (first DRX configuration) at the first UE 115-a may include active durations 235 (first ON duration) and inactive durations 240 (first OFF duration), and
the second DRX configuration indicating a second ON duration and a second OFF duration in a second DRX cycle for the second communication (fig. 2 and par. 0132, teaches each of the DRX configurations 225, 230 may include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240 which enable UEs 115 to communicate during active durations 235, and go to “sleep” or otherwise enter low-power states during inactive durations 240. Whereas, the sidelink DRX configuration 230-a (second DRX configuration) at the first UE 115-a may include active durations 235 (Second ON duration) and inactive durations 240 (Second OFF duration)), and
communicating with the second device on the direct path (figs. 2 & 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches communicating with the first base station in accordance with the downlink DRX configuration. Wherein the “first base station” reads as the second device Wherein, par. 0341, teaches method 1600 may be performed by a UE 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 6 and 11 through 14. Moreover, fig. 2 and pars. 0123-0124, teaches the first UE 115-a may communicate with the first base station 105-a via a communication link 205-a. Whereas, the communication with the first base station in accordance with the downlink DRX configuration utilizing the communication link 205-a reads as communicating with the second device on the direct path. Par. 0003, teaches discontinuous reception (DRX)) and with the third device on the indirect path (figs. 2 & 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches transmitting, to the second UE based on the control signaling which is performed by a sidelink transmitting. Wherein, fig, 2 and pars. 0125-0128, teaches the first UE 115-a and the second UE 115-b may communicate with one another using a communication link 210, which may be an example of a sidelink communication link or PC5 link. Thus, the “transmitting, to the second UE based on the control signaling which is performed by a sidelink transmitting” reads as using communication link 210 reads as an indirect path) comprises:
communicating with the third device on the indirect path for the first ON duration (fig. 2 and par. 0132, teaches each of the DRX configurations 225, 230 may include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240 which enable UEs 115 to communicate during active durations 235, and go to “sleep” or otherwise enter low-power states during inactive durations 240. Whereas, the Uu DRX configuration 225-a (first DRX configuration) at the first UE 115-a may include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240); and
communicating with the second device on the direct path for the second ON duration (fig. 2 and par. 0132, teaches the first UE 115-a is able to communicate with other UEs 115 (e.g., the second UE 115-b) during the active durations 235 according to the sidelink DRX configuration 230-a).
Regarding claim 7. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 6. Wang further teaches the first device is in a DRX OFF state for an overlapping OFF duration of the first and second OFF durations (fig. 2 and pars. 0130-0132, teaches the first UE 115-a may be configured with a downlink DRX configuration (e.g., Uu DRX configuration 225-a) and a sidelink DRX configuration 230-a.Whereas, the DRX configurations 225 and 230 include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240 which enable UEs 115 to communicate during active durations 235, and go to “sleep” or otherwise enter low-power states during inactive durations 240. Wherein, the figure teaches an overlapping of the inactive durations 240 for both Uu DRX configuration 225-a and sidelink DRX configuration 230-a, thus it is obvious to one in the ordinary skill the first device is in a DRX OFF state (“sleep” or otherwise enter low-power states) for an overlapping OFF duration of the first and second OFF durations).
Regarding claim 8. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 6. Wang further teaches receiving the at least one of the first or second DRX configuration (fig. 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches receiving, from a first base station, first control signaling including an indication of a downlink DRX configuration and a sidelink DRX configuration for a second UE in wireless communication with the first UE. Whereas, the “downlink DRX configuration” reads as a first DRX configuration and the “sidelink DRX configuration” reads as the second DRX configuration. Wherein, par. 0341, teaches method 1600 may be performed by a UE 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 6 and 11 through 14) comprises: in response to transmitting, to the second device, a request for at least one of the first or the second DRX configuration (fig. 3 and pars. 0170-0175, teaches the first UE 115-c may transmit assistance information the master base station 105-c at step 315. Whereas, the “assistance information” reads as a request for the at least one of the first or the second DRX configuration within the context of pars. 0172-0175, which teaches the master base station 105-c may transmit control signaling including an indication of the Uu DRX configuration at the first UE 115-c and the sidelink DRX configuration at the second UE 115-d based on receiving the assistance information at 315), receiving both the first and second DRX configurations (figs. 3 and pars. 0171-0175, teaches the first UE 115-c receiving the control signaling including an indication of the Uu DRX configuration at the first UE 115-c and the sidelink DRX configuration at the second UE 115-d based on receiving the assistance information at 315)
receiving both the first and second DRX configurations (fig. 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches receiving, from a first base station, first control signaling including an indication of a downlink DRX configuration and a sidelink DRX configuration for a second UE in wireless communication with the first UE. Whereas, the “downlink DRX configuration” reads as a first DRX configuration and the “sidelink DRX configuration” reads as the second DRX configuration).
Regarding claim 9. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 8. Wang further teaches the request for the at least one of the first or the second DRX configuration is transmitted to the second device directly (fig. 3 and pars. 0170-0175, teaches the first UE 115-c may transmit assistance information the master base station 105-c at step 315. Whereas, the “assistance information” reads as a request for the at least one of the first or the second DRX configuration within the context of pars. 0172-0175, which teaches the master base station 105-c may transmit control signaling including an indication of the Uu DRX configuration at the first UE 115-c and the sidelink DRX configuration at the second UE 115-d based on receiving the assistance information at 315) or via the third device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record).
Regarding claim 11. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Wang further teaches the DRX configuration is received from the second device directly (fig. 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches receiving, from a first base station, first control signaling including an indication of a downlink DRX configuration for the first UE. Wherein the “first base station” reads as the second device. Wherein, par. 0341, teaches method 1600 may be performed by a UE 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 6 and 11 through 14. Furthermore, fig. 3 and pars. 0170-0177, teaches base station 105-c may transmit control signaling to the first UE 115-c), and
the first device is further caused to perform: indicating, to the third device, the received DRX configuration (fig.3 and pars. 0170-0177, teaches the first UE 115-c may transmit (e.g., relay, forward) control signaling including an indication of the sidelink DRX configuration at the second UE 115-d, and assistance information (e.g., Assistance Info 3) including an indication of the Uu DRX configuration at the first UE 115-c to the second UE 115-d at 330 based on receiving the control signaling at 325).
Regarding claim 12. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Wang further teaches wherein the first device is further caused to perform: receiving, from the second (fig. 16 and pars. 0341-0344, teaches receiving, from a first base station, first control signaling including an indication of a downlink DRX configuration for the first UE. Wherein the “first base station” reads as the second device. Wherein, par. 0341, teaches method 1600 may be performed by a UE 115 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 6 and 11 through 14. Furthermore, fig. 2 and pars. 0130-0131, teaches the first UE 115-a may be configured with a downlink DRX configuration (e.g., Uu DRX configuration 225-a) or third device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record),
an indication whether the at least one of the first or second DRX configuration is used for controlling multipath transmissions of the first device or for both controlling multipath transmissions and power-saving of the first device (fig. 2 and par. 0136, teaches in order to improve power savings at the UEs 115-a, 115-b and facilitate communications between the respective wireless devices, DRX alignment across the respective DRX configurations 225, 230 may be required in both the first direction 220-a and the second direction 220-b. Whereas, the language “in order to improve power savings at the UE 115-a (the first device) and UE 115-b (the third device) DRX configuration 225 (DRX configurations of received by the first) may be required in both the first direction 220-a and the second direction 220-b” reads as an indication whether the at least one of the first or second DRX configuration is used for both controlling multipath transmissions and power-saving of the first device).
Regarding claim 14. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Wang further teaches the first DRX configuration is further used for a third communication between the second and third devices on the indirect path (figs. 2 and 15 and pars. 0337-0340, teaches transmitting, to the first UE an indication of a sidelink DRX configuration for the second UE. Whereas, the “second UE” reads as the third device. Wherein, fig. 2 and pars. 0125-0126, teaches the first UE 115-a and the second UE 115-b may communicate with one another using a communication link 210. Furthermore, fig. 2 and par. 0129 teaches the first base station 105-a may transmit a communication to the first UE 115-a, the first UE 115-a may transmit a communication to the second UE 115-b and vice versa, thus an indirect path).
Regarding claim 15. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 1. Wang further teaches the first device is further caused to perform: receiving, from the third device (fig. 3 (step 310) and pars. 0171-0172, teaches the second UE 115-d may transmit assistance information to the first UE 115-c. Whereas, the “second UE 115-d” reads as the third device and the “first UE 115-c” reads as the first device),
a third DRX configuration for a third communication between the second and third devices on the indirect path (fig. 3 and pars. 0171-0172, teaches the second UE 115-d may transmit assistance information to the first UE 115-c. Wherein, the assistance information may include existing sidelink DRX configurations at the second UE 115-d which are configured for sidelink communications with other UEs 115, preferred sidelink DRX configurations at the second UE 115-d, and the like. Whereas, the “assistance information including the existing sidelink DRX configurations and preferred sidelink DRX configurations” reads as a third DRX configuration for a third communication between the second and third devices on the indirect path); and
transmitting, to the second device, a DRX configuration preference for the first DRX configuration (fig. 3 (step 315-320) and pars. 0171-0172, teaches, the first UE 115-c may transmit assistance information to the master base station 105-c. Wherein, the assistance information includes the assistance information received from the second UE 115-d. Whereas, the assistance information received from the second UE 115-d includes preferred sidelink DRX configurations, reads as a DRX configuration preference for the first DRX configuration. Furthermore, pars. 0173-0174, teaches the master base station 105-c may determine a sidelink DRX configuration at the second UE 115-d and a downlink DRX configuration (e.g., Uu DRX configuration) at the first UE 115-c based on receiving the assistance information).
Regarding claim 16. Wang teaches the apparatus for a second device (figs. 2 and 15 and pars. 0337-0340, teaches a base station 105 (e.g., a master base station 105) as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 10. Furthermore, fig. 10 and pars. 0285-0296, teaches device 1005 may be an example of a base station 105 as described herein), comprising: at least one processor (fig. 10 and pars. 0285-0296, teaches processor 1040); and at least one memory storing instructions (fig. 10 and pars. 0285-0296, teaches memory 1030 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1035 including instructions) that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the second device at least to perform (fig. 10 and pars. 0285-0296, teaches memory 1030 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1035 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 1040, cause the device 1005 to perform various functions described herein):
transmitting, to at least one of a first device (figs. 2 and 15 and pars. 0337-0340, teaches a base station 105 (e.g., a master base station 105) as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 10, transmitting, to the first UE) or a third device (interpreted as alternative language/disposition limitation and therefore not required to be disclosed by the art made of record), a discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration for a direct path between the first and second devices (figs. 2 and 15 and pars. 0337-0340, teaches transmitting, to the first UE an indication of a downlink DRX configuration for the first UE. Wherein, par. 0337, teaches the method 1500 may be performed by a base station 105 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 10. Furthermore, fig. 2 and pars. 0130-0131, teaches the first UE 115-a first UE 115-a may be configured with a downlink DRX configuration (e.g., Uu DRX configuration 225-a). Moreover, the term “downlink DRX configuration” may be understood as including “Uu DRX configurations” which enable downlink and uplink communications between a UE 115 and a base station 105 during active periods of the Uu DRX configuration)
and an indirect path between the first and second devices via the third device (figs. 2 and 15 and pars. 0337-0340, teaches transmitting, to the first UE an indication of a sidelink DRX configuration for the second UE. Whereas, the “second UE” reads as the third device. Wherein, fig. 2 and pars. 0125-0126, teaches the first UE 115-a and the second UE 115-b may communicate with one another using a communication link 210. Furthermore, fig. 2 and par. 0129 teaches the first base station 105-a may transmit a communication to the first UE 115-a, the first UE 115-a may transmit a communication to the second UE 115-b and vice versa, thus an indirect path),
the DRX configuration comprising at least one of a first DRX configuration or a second DRX configuration (figs. 2 and 15 and pars. 0337-0340, teaches transmitting, to the first UE the first UE an indication of a downlink DRX configuration for the first UE and an indication of a sidelink DRX configuration for the second UE. Whereas, the “downlink DRX configuration” reads as a first DRX configuration and the “sidelink DRX configuration” reads as the second DRX configuration),
the first DRX configuration used for a first communication between the first and second devices on the direct path (fig. 2 and pars. 0130-0133, teaches the first UE 115-a may be configured with a downlink DRX configuration (e.g., Uu DRX configuration 225-a). Wherein the Uu DRX configuration 225-a may include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240, where the first UE 115-a is able to communicate with the first base station 105-a during the active durations 235 (e.g., receive downlink communications, transmit uplink communications), and enter a low-power state (e.g., refrain from monitoring for downlink communications) during the inactive durations 240), and
the second DRX configuration used for a second communication between the first and third devices on the indirect path (fig. 2 and pars. 0130-0133, teaches the first UE 115-a may be configured with a sidelink DRX configuration 230-a. Wherein the sidelink DRX configuration 230-amay include active durations 235 and inactive durations 240, where the first UE 115-a is able to communicate with other UEs 115 (e.g., the second UE 115-b) during the active durations 235 (e.g., receive/transmit sidelink communications), and enter a low-power state (e.g., refrain from monitoring for sidelink communications) during the inactive durations 240); and
communicating with the first device on the direct path based on the transmitted DRX configuration (fig. 15 and pars. 0337-0340, teaches communicating with the first UE in accordance with the downlink DRX configuration at the first UE. Moreover, fig. 2 and pars. 0123-0124, teaches the first UE 115-a may communicate with the first base station 105-a via a communication link 205-a. Whereas, the communication with the first UE in accordance with the downlink DRX configuration utilizing the communication link 205-a reads as communicating with the first device on the direct path).
Regarding claim 17. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 16. Wang further teaches transmitting the DRX configuration comprises: transmitting the DRX configuration comprising either the first or second DRX configuration to the at least one of the first or third device (figs. 2 and 15 and pars. 0337-0340, teaches a base station 105 (e.g., a master base station 105) as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 10, transmitting, to the first UE. Whereas, figs. 2 and 15 and pars. 0337-0340, teaches transmitting, to the first UE an indication of a downlink DRX configuration for the first UE. Wherein, par. 0337, teaches the method 1500 may be performed by a base station 105 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 10. Furthermore, fig. 2 and pars. 0130-0131, teaches the first UE 115-a first UE 115-a may be configured with a downlink DRX configuration (e.g., Uu DRX configuration 225-a)),
without a request for at least one of the first or the second DRX configuration from the first device (Interpreted as a negative limitation that does not restrict transmitting the DRX configuration and is therefore not required to be disclosed by the prior art of record. Examiner respectfully requests Applicant to positively cite the limitation to give it patentable weight. Please see MPEP § 2173.05(i)).
Regarding claim 18. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 16. Wang further teaches the second device is further caused to perform: transmitting, to at least one of the first or third device (figs. 2 and 15 and pars. 0337-0340, teaches transmitting, to the first UE an indication of a downlink DRX configuration for the first UE. Wherein, par. 0337, teaches the method 1500 may be performed by a base station 105 as described with reference to FIGS. 1 through 10. Furthermore, fig. 2 and pars. 0130-0131, teaches the first UE 115-a first UE 115-a may be configured with a downlink DRX configuration (e.g., Uu DRX configuration 225-a), an indication whether the at least one of the first or second DRX configuration is used for controlling multipath transmissions of the first device or for both controlling multipath transmissions and power-saving of the first device (fig. 2 and par. 0136, teaches in order to improve power savings at the UEs 115-a, 115-b and facilitate communications between the respective wireless devices, DRX alignment across the respective DRX configurations 225, 230 may be required in both the first direction 220-a and the second direction 220-b. Whereas, the language “in order to improve power savings at the UE 115-a (the first device) and UE 115-b (the third device) DRX configuration 225 (DRX configurations of received by the first device) may be required in both the first direction 220-a and the second direction 220-b” reads as an indication whether the at least one of the first or second DRX configuration is used for both controlling multipath transmissions and power-saving of the first device).
Regarding claim 19. Wang teaches the apparatus for a third device (fig. 5 and pars. 0205-0220, teaches the second UE 115-h. Moreover, fig. 14 and pars. 0328-0336, teaches device 1405 may be an example of or include the components of a device 1105, a device 1205, or a UE 115), comprising: at least one processor (fig. 14 and pars. 0328-0336, teaches the device 1405 may include processor 1440); and at least one memory storing instructions that (fig. 14 and pars. 0328-0336, teaches device 1405 includes a memory 1430 that stores computer-readable, computer-executable code 1435 including instructions),
when executed by the at least one processor, cause the third device at least to perform (fig. 14 and pars. 0328-0336, teaches the memory 1430 may store computer-readable, computer-executable code 1435 including instructions that, when executed by the processor 1440, cause the device 1405 to perform various functions described herein):
receiving a discontinuous reception, DRX, configuration for a direct path between a first device and a second device (fig. 5 (step 545) and par. 0218, teaches the second UE 115-h receiving the Uu DRX configuration for the first UE 115-g and the sidelink DRX configuration for the second UE 115-h which were selected by the master base station 105-h at 525. Whereas, the “Uu DRX configuration for the first UE 115-g” reads as the DRX configuration for a direct path between a first device and a second device within the context of the system diagram 405, which teaches the Uu connection between the UE1 115-g and gNB1 105-i. Whereas, UE1 115-g reads as a first device and the gNB1 105-i reads as a second device)
and an indirect path between the first and second devices via the third device (fig. 5 (step 545) and par. 0218, teaches the second UE 115-h receiving the Uu DRX configuration for the first UE 115-g and the sidelink DRX configuration for the second UE 115-h which were selected by the master base station 105-h at 525. Whereas, the “sidelink DRX configuration” reads as an indirect path between the first and second devices via the third device within the context of the system diagram 405 which teaches the sidelink between UE2 115-h and UE1 115-g and a Uu link between UE1 115-g and gNB1 105-i. Moreover, fig. 2 and par. 0129 teaches the first base station 105-a may transmit a communication to the first UE 115-a, the first UE 115-a may transmit a communication to the second UE 115-b. Wherein par. 0205, teaches the process flow 500 may illustrate a centralized DRX alignment process, as described with reference to FIGS. 1-2),
the DRX configuration comprising at least one of a first DRX configuration or a second DRX configuration (fig. 5 (step 545) and par. 0218, teaches the second UE 115-h receiving the Uu DRX configuration for the first UE 115-g and the sidelink DRX configuration for the second UE 115-h. Whereas, the language “the Uu DRX configuration for the first UE 115-g” reads as a first DRX configuration and “the sidelink DRX configuration for the second UE 115-h” reads as a second DRX configuration),
the first DRX configuration used for a first communication between the first and second devices on the direct path (fig. 5 (step 545) and par. 0218, teaches the second UE 115-h receiving the Uu DRX configuration for the first UE 115-g and the sidelink DRX configuration for the second UE 115-h which were selected by the master base station 105-h at 525. Whereas, the “Uu DRX configuration for the first UE 115-g” reads as the DRX configuration for a direct path between a first device and a second device within the context of the system diagram 405, which teaches the Uu connection between the UE1 115-g and gNB1 105-i. Whereas, UE1 115-g reads as a first device and the gNB1 105-i reads as a second device), and
the second DRX configuration used for a second communication between the first and third devices on the indirect path (fig. 5 (step 545) and par. 0218, teaches the second UE 115-h receiving the Uu DRX configuration for the first UE 115-g and the sidelink DRX configuration for the second UE 115-h which were selected by the master base station 105-h at 525. Whereas, the “sidelink DRX configuration” reads as an indirect path between the first and second devices via the third device within the context of the system diagram 405 which teaches the sidelink between UE2 115-h and UE1 115-g and a Uu link between UE1 115-g and gNB1 105-i. Moreover, fig. 2 and par. 0129 teaches the first base station 105-a may transmit a communication to the first UE 115-a, the first UE 115-a may transmit a communication to the second UE 115-b, thus and indirect path. Wherein par. 0205, teaches the process flow 500 may illustrate a centralized DRX alignment process, as described with reference to FIGS. 1-2); and
communicating with the first device on the indirect path based on the received DRX configuration (fig. 5 and pars. 0219-0220, teaches UEs 115-g, 115-h may transmit the indications of the sidelink DRX configurations based on receiving the control signaling at 535 and 545 via sidelink messages. Furthermore, each of the UEs 115-g, 115-h may communicate with the respective base stations 105-i, 105-j and one another using the indicated Uu and sidelink DRX configurations. Whereas, fig. 2 and par. 0125, teaches the first UE 115-a and the second UE 115-b may communicate with one another using a communication link 210. Moreover, fig. 2 and par. 0129 teaches the first base station 105-a may transmit a communication to the first UE 115-a, the first UE 115-a may transmit a communication to the second UE 115-b. Wherein par. 0205, teaches the process flow 500 may illustrate a centralized DRX alignment process, as described with reference to FIGS. 1-2).
Regarding claim 20. Wang teaches the apparatus for claim 19. Wang further teaches the third device is further caused to perform: receiving, from the first or second device (fig. 5 (step 545) and par. 0218, teaches the second UE 115-h receiving the Uu DRX configuration for the first UE 115-g and the sidelink DRX configuration for the second UE 115-h which were selected by the master base station 105-h at 525. Wherein par. 0205, teaches the process flow 500 may illustrate a centralized DRX alignment process, as described with reference to FIGS. 1-2), an indication whether the at least one of the first or second DRX configuration is used for controlling multipath transmissions of the first device or for both controlling multipath transmissions and power-saving of the first device (fig. 2 and par. 0136, teaches in order to improve power savings at the UEs 115-a, 115-b and facilitate communications between the respective wireless devices, DRX alignment across the respective DRX configurations 225, 230 may be required in both the first direction 220-a and the second direction 220-b. Whereas, the language “in order to improve power savings at the UE 115-a (the first device) and UE 115-b (the third device) DRX configuration 230 (DRX configurations of received by the third device) may be required in both the first direction 220-a and the second direction 220-b” reads as an indication whether the at least one of the first or second DRX configuration is used for both controlling multipath transmissions and power-saving of the first device).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TRACY LAUREN RAIMONDO/Examiner, Art Unit 2474
/Michael Thier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2474