DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 objected to because of the following informalities:
The dashes and parenthesis must be removed from the claims.
Dependent claims cannot depend from a section of the claim, for example 1”c”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following phrases are vague and fail to disclose the applicant’s invention: phrases “that is designed to be comfortable while snug enough to keep it in a specific orientation”, “at a particular point”, “a way to wear the bracelet..”, “a way to wear the bracelet, a way for the pick to be dropped so it stays out of the way for playing the guitar without it, and a method of retrieving it”, “which accommodates the player’s size and preference, “generally lines up to”, “that is meant to”, “A correct way to drop the pick so that it hangs out of the way”, “The way to maneuver the pick from the dropped position back to being held”, “beyond the context”, and “everyday context”.
Regarding claims 1-3, the phrase “intended use” of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Claims 1-3 are replete with lack of antecedent informalities” “the context”, “The pick leash”, “the other end”, “the guitar”, “the player’s hand”, “The system”, “the player’s size”, “The location”, “the point”, “the section”, “the anchor point”, “the instrument”, “the way”, “the hand”, “is meant to…”,and “the dropped”.
Claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention. The claimed term “calibrated” is not found in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bortree in view of CN 207590169U.
As the applicant’s invention is best understood, Bortree discloses an ergonomic bracelet (140) with a guitar pick (170) on a tethering leash (150) that is designed to be worn normally beyond the context of playing, comprising: wristband of adjustable size (paragraph 0013), a pick leash that is stretchable (paragraph 0015), with one end fastened to a guitar pick (see figure 1) and the other end fastened to the wristband making the pick accessible.
Regarding claim 2, the pick as disclosed in Bortree can be oriented based on a player’s preference and the placement of the device on the wrist is based on a user’s preference.
Bortree does not disclose the use of a device that is lightweight.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in Bortree to include a band that is lightweight since band that are lightweight are conventional devices.
Bortree does not disclose a storage means.
CN 207590169U discloses the use of a bracelet system with a storage means on the wristband the enables the pick and to stowed.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in Bortree to include a band that is lightweight since band that are lightweight are conventional devices; and the use of a storage means in order to store the pick when it is not in use.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837