DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group III, in the reply filed on 3/3/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that, by its terms, the process of Group IV requires every element of Group III. This is not found persuasive because the structure of the Group IV language does not require the entire apparatus of Group III to be provided and/or used. Claim 25 simply recites a single, generic fabricating step. There is no specific recitation of a method step that requires using the rigid chamber. Additionally, the “using the system” limitation in claim 25 is intended use. As stated above, it does not expressly require each and every component (e.g. the rigid chamber, the seal, the vacuum zone, etc) of the Group III apparatus to be used.
Applicant then asserts that, as amended, Group I requires the rigid chamber and thus is not distinct from Group III. The examiner asserts that the inventions are still independent or distinct because the process as claimed can be practiced by another and materially different apparatus such as an apparatus without the seals connected to the walls. Further the applicant assert that the claims of Group II require a rigid chamber. This is not correct. The claims of Group II are product-by-process claims, and thus do not expressly require the rigid chamber.
The applicant appears to assert the examiner must prove the restricted inventions are independent AND distinct. Respectfully, MPEP 803 I (A) states the examiner is only required to demonstrate the inventions are independent OR distinct. The examiner respectfully submits, for the reasons detailed above and in the restriction requirement, the independent or distinct requirement has been met.
The argument for lack of burden is likewise unpersuasive as the claims are classified in different areas, require different searches, and prior art applicable to one group is not necessarily applicable to both. See details of restriction.
Claim 1-20 and 25 are withdrawn with traverse.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Altan et al. (US 2021/0001575).
As o claim 21 Altan discloses a system that comprises: a rigid chamber 104 that comprises walls and a cavity 112 formed by the walls (fig 1, 14); and seals (gaskets, para 37) connected to the walls of the rigid chamber (fig 1, 14, para 37), the seals configured to maintain a vacuum zone (maintained by vacuum pump 140) formed within the cavity between the rigid chamber and a cure tool 102 when a positive pressure or a negative pressure is within the vacuum zone (figs 1, 14, para 35-52).
As to claim 23, Altan discloses the cure tool 102, the cure tool configured to support a composite laminate during curing (fig 14, para 38-39, 46); and a number of retention clamps (para 37) configured to hold the rigid chamber against the cure tool (para 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altan, as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Watson et al. (US 2016/0207256).
Altan does not expressly disclose a pressure relief valve connected to rigid chamber configured to relieve pressure above a set point. Watson discloses a pressure relief valve 26 connected to a rigid chamber configured to relieve pressure above a certain set point (fig 1, 3, 5, para 39, 56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Altan such that a pressure relief valve is connected to rigid chamber and configured to relieve pressure above a set point as taught by Watson above as such a modification enables the pressure to be controlled (para 46-47).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altan, as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Hirano et al. (US 3912542).
Hirano disclose retention clamps 11 connected to a cure tool 9. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the retention clamps of Altan to be connected to the cure tool as taught by Hirano above as such has a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746