DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 21 requires the same pump to both pull vacuum in the vacuum zone and pressurize the vacuum zone. While the specification supports a first pump for pulling vacuum and second pump for pressurizing, the specification does not support a single pump capable of performing both functions. Additionally, the specification does not support the system being capable of both pressuring a vacuum zone, and pulling a vacuum within the same vacuum zone. Rather, the specification only supports pulling a vacuum in a first vacuum zone and pressurizing a second vacuum zone.
Claims 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 22 recites “a pressure relief valve connected to the rigid chamber configured to release pressure above a set point.” This limitation is not clear because claim 21 already recites “a pressure relief valve connected to the rigid chamber, the pressure relief valve configured to release pressure above a set point”. The difference between the two limitations is not clear.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 22 recites “a pressure relief valve connected to the rigid chamber configured to release pressure above a set point.” Claim 21, upon which claim 22 is dependent, recites “a pressure relief valve connected to the rigid chamber, the pressure relief valve configured to release pressure above a set point to prevent over pressurization of the rigid chamber.” The claim 21 limitation is more limiting, and thus claim 22 does not further limit claim 21, nor does it contain all of the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altan in view of Watson et al. (US 2016/0207256).
As to claim 21 Altan discloses a system that comprises: a rigid chamber 104 that comprises walls and a cavity 112 formed by the walls (fig 1, 14); and seals (gaskets, para 37) connected to the walls of the rigid chamber (fig 1, 14, para 37), the seals configured to maintain a vacuum zone (figs 1-4, 14, para 35-52) formed within the cavity between the rigid chamber and a cure tool 102 when a positive pressure or a negative pressure is within the vacuum zone (figs 1, 14, para 35-52); a pump (pump system shown in fig 14) connected to the vacuum zone, the pump configured to: pull a vacuum within the vacuum zone (via 140, para 40-46, 52, figs 1-4, 14); release the vacuum within the vacuum zone (figs 1-4, para 46); and pressurize (via 136) the vacuum zone to greater than atmospheric pressure (para 45) during debulking (para 40-46, 52, figs 1-4, 14)
Altan does not expressly disclose a pressure relief valve connected to rigid chamber configured to relieve pressure above a set point to prevent over pressurization of the rigid chamber. Watson discloses a pressure relief valve 26 connected to a rigid chamber configured to relieve pressure above a certain set point to prevent over pressurization of the rigid chamber (fig 1, 3, 5, para 39, 56). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the device of Altan such that a pressure relief valve is connected to rigid chamber and configured to relieve pressure above a set point to prevent over pressurization of the rigid chamber as taught by Watson above as such a modification enables the pressure to be controlled (para 46-47).
As to claim 23, Altan discloses the cure tool 102, the cure tool configured to support a composite laminate during curing (fig 14, para 38-39, 46); and a number of retention clamps (para 37) configured to hold the rigid chamber against the cure tool (para 37).
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Altan and Watson, as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Hirano et al. (US 3912542).
Hirano discloses retention clamps 11 connected to a cure tool 9. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for the retention clamps of Altan and Watson to be connected to the cure tool as taught by Hirano above as such has a reasonable expectation of success.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/26 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Although the same references are used, the grounds of rejection are new as necessitated by the applicant’s amendments. The references meet the claims for the reasons detailed in the body of the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746