DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the recitations of claims 4-5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 11, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 1, there is no antecedent basis for “the real-time current”.
In claim 11, line 1, there is no antecedent basis for “the real-time current”.
In claim 20, line 3, there is no antecedent basis for “the real-time current”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HEYNE (US Pub. No. 2021/0138926; cited on IDS with date 3/9/2026).
Regarding claim 1, HEYNE discloses a system for communicating the real-time current available (¶ 0037: a load management system 20 for managing loads present in a power distribution grid 100, comprising a control unit 30 and at least two current transformers 40, 42, 44, which are each connected to the control unit 30 by means of a signal cable 41, 43, 45. A first current transformer 40 of the at least two current transformers 40, 42, 44 is arranged in the power distribution grid 100 such that said first current transformer is suitable for measuring a current level that is dominant in a grid connecting line 110 of the power distribution grid 100, which grid connecting line is connected to a power supply company. A second current transformer 42 of the at least two current transformers 40, 42, 44 is arranged in the power distribution grid 100 such that said second current transformer is suitable for measuring the current level that is dominant in a power line 112 of the power distribution grid 100, which power line feeds at least one charging station 120 of the power distribution grid 100; ¶ 0076: reducing a charging current of the charging station 120 if the current level measured in the grid connecting line 110 is above a predetermined first threshold value; it is implied that the control unit 30 communicates available current to the charging stations) to electric vehicle (EV) chargers (120, Fig. 1), comprising:
a power line communication device (20/30, Fig. 1; ¶ 0092: load management system 20 and in particular the control unit 30 of the load management system 20 is capable of exchanging information via power lines, in particular by means of what is known as Powerline Communication (PLC)) that measures a total current flowing through one or more power lines (110, 112, Fig. 1) providing power to m EV chargers (120, Fig. 1; ¶ 0037: see above) and
establishes communications with the one or more of the m EV chargers using the one or more power lines as the communications medium (¶ 0076: see above; ¶ 0093: control unit 30 is furthermore capable of using this Powerline Communication to also use the transformer of the distribution grid operator to actuate the charging stations 120 for electric vehicles from different households in order to avoid an overload in the line phase).
Regarding claim 2, HEYNE discloses the power line communication device further includes a preset maximum current for the one or more power lines (¶ 0076, 0078, 0093).
Regarding claim 11, HEYNE discloses a method for communicating the real-time current available (¶ 0037: a load management system 20 for managing loads present in a power distribution grid 100, comprising a control unit 30 and at least two current transformers 40, 42, 44, which are each connected to the control unit 30 by means of a signal cable 41, 43, 45. A first current transformer 40 of the at least two current transformers 40, 42, 44 is arranged in the power distribution grid 100 such that said first current transformer is suitable for measuring a current level that is dominant in a grid connecting line 110 of the power distribution grid 100, which grid connecting line is connected to a power supply company. A second current transformer 42 of the at least two current transformers 40, 42, 44 is arranged in the power distribution grid 100 such that said second current transformer is suitable for measuring the current level that is dominant in a power line 112 of the power distribution grid 100, which power line feeds at least one charging station 120 of the power distribution grid 100; ¶ 0076: reducing a charging current of the charging station 120 if the current level measured in the grid connecting line 110 is above a predetermined first threshold value; it is implied that the control unit 30 communicates available current to the charging stations) to electric vehicle (EV) chargers (120, Fig. 1), comprising:
measuring a total current flowing through one or more power lines (110, 112, Fig. 1) providing power to m EV chargers (120, Fig. 1; ¶ 0037: see above) using a power line communication device (20/30, Fig. 1; ¶ 0092: load management system 20 and in particular the control unit 30 of the load management system 20 is capable of exchanging information via power lines, in particular by means of what is known as Powerline Communication (PLC)) and
establishing communications with the one or more of the m EV chargers using the one or more power lines as the communications medium using the power line communication device (¶ 0076: see above; ¶ 0093: control unit 30 is furthermore capable of using this Powerline Communication to also use the transformer of the distribution grid operator to actuate the charging stations 120 for electric vehicles from different households in order to avoid an overload in the line phase).
Regarding claim 20, HEYNE discloses a computer program product, comprising a non-transitory tangible computer-readable storage medium whose contents cause a processor (processor and memory shown in Fig. 2; “computer program product” is implied for the process/memory to perform the disclosed functions; ¶ 0058: control unit 30 of the load management system 20 can be configured by means of a user interface, which is available in particular in the form of a web interface. As such, the user interface can be used to configure startup and/or power monitoring, and remote diagnosis of the load management system can be performed; ¶ 0111: Maintenance provides device information (make and model, part number, serial number, software version and hardware version). It also provides connection information, including e.g the MAC address. A software update can likewise be performed. The update can be provided online or via further connections, for which purpose the current software version is indicated and checked for whether it is consistent with the latest available software version) to perform a method for communicating the real-time current available (¶ 0037: a load management system 20 for managing loads present in a power distribution grid 100, comprising a control unit 30 and at least two current transformers 40, 42, 44, which are each connected to the control unit 30 by means of a signal cable 41, 43, 45. A first current transformer 40 of the at least two current transformers 40, 42, 44 is arranged in the power distribution grid 100 such that said first current transformer is suitable for measuring a current level that is dominant in a grid connecting line 110 of the power distribution grid 100, which grid connecting line is connected to a power supply company. A second current transformer 42 of the at least two current transformers 40, 42, 44 is arranged in the power distribution grid 100 such that said second current transformer is suitable for measuring the current level that is dominant in a power line 112 of the power distribution grid 100, which power line feeds at least one charging station 120 of the power distribution grid 100; ¶ 0076: reducing a charging current of the charging station 120 if the current level measured in the grid connecting line 110 is above a predetermined first threshold value; it is implied that the control unit 30 communicates available current to the charging stations) to electric vehicle (EV) chargers (120, Fig. 1), comprising:
providing a system (comprising at least 20, Fig. 1), wherein the system comprises one or more distinct software modules (¶ 0058, 0111: see above), and wherein the distinct software modules comprise a measurement module (¶ 0040: signal cables 41, 43, 45 are used for transmitting analog or digital measurement data from the respective current transformer 40, 42, 44 to the control unit 30; “measurement module” of control unit 30 is implied) and a communications module (¶ 0092: load management system 20 and in particular the control unit 30 of the load management system 20 is capable of exchanging information via power lines, in particular by means of what is known as Powerline Communication (PLC); “communication module” of control unit is implied);
measuring a total current flowing through one or more power lines (110, 112, Fig. 1) providing power to m EV chargers (120, Fig. 1; ¶ 0037: see above) using the measurement module (¶ 0040: see above); and
establishing communications with the one or more of the m EV chargers using the one or more power lines as the communications medium using the communications module (¶ 0076: see above; ¶ 0093: control unit 30 is furthermore capable of using this Powerline Communication to also use the transformer of the distribution grid operator to actuate the charging stations 120 for electric vehicles from different households in order to avoid an overload in the line phase).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEYNE as applied to claims 1-2, 11, and 20 above, and further in view of BAXTER (US Pub. No. 2014/0266046).
Regarding claim 3, HEYNE discloses the system as applied to claim 2, and further discloses the power line communication device establishes communication with each of n chargers of the m EV chargers, where n≤m, the power line communication device calculates a current for each of the n chargers from the total current, the preset maximum current, or both the total current and the preset maximum current, and the power line communication device communicates a calculated current to each of the n chargers (¶ 0042, 0076, 0081, 0093).
HEYNE fails to disclose the power line communication device further receives a request for power from the n chargers.
BAXTER discloses the power line communication device (305, Fig. 3; ¶ 0029) further receives a request for power from the n chargers (¶ 0035, 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include receiving a request for power from the n chargers in order to facilitate load balancing/management.
Regarding claim 4, HEYNE discloses the power line communication device calculates a current for each of the n chargers based on a first-in, first-charged principle (¶ 0104-0105).
Regarding claim 5, HEYNE discloses the power line communication device calculates a current for each of the n chargers based on a phase aware algorithm (¶ 0069-0072, 0077).
Regarding claim 6, HEYNE as modified by BAXTER teaches the system as applied to claim 3, but HEYNE fails to disclose the power line communication device calculates a current for each of the n chargers by evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers.
BAXTER further discloses the power line communication device calculates a current for each of the n chargers by evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers (¶ 0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers in order to prevent overloading, prevent overcurrent, and/or to provide stable charger current.
Regarding claim 12, HEYNE discloses the method as applied to claim 11, and further discloses the power line communication device establishes communication with each of n chargers of the m EV chargers, where n≤m, the power line communication device calculates a current for each of the n chargers from the total current, the preset maximum current, or both the total current and the preset maximum current, and the power line communication device communicates a calculated current to each of the n chargers (¶ 0042, 0076, 0081, 0093).
HEYNE fails to disclose the power line communication device further receives a request for power from the n chargers.
BAXTER discloses the power line communication device (305, Fig. 3; ¶ 0029) further receives a request for power from the n chargers (¶ 0035, 0051).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include receiving a request for power from the n chargers in order to facilitate load balancing/management.
Regarding claim 13, HEYNE discloses the power line communication device calculates a current for each of the n chargers based on a first-in, first-charged principle (¶ 0104-0105).
Regarding claim 14, HEYNE discloses the power line communication device calculates a current for each of the n chargers based on a phase aware algorithm (¶ 0069-0072, 0077).
Regarding claim 15, HEYNE as modified by BAXTER teaches the method as applied to claim 12, but HEYNE fails to disclose the power line communication device calculates a current for each of the n chargers by evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers.
BAXTER further discloses the power line communication device calculates a current for each of the n chargers by evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers (¶ 0071).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers in order to prevent overloading, prevent overcurrent, and/or to provide stable charger current.
Claim(s) 7-10 and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEYNE as applied to claims 1-2, 11, and 20 above, and further in view of ROBERS (WO 2012/128626 A2; cited on IDS with date 3/9/2026) and BAXTER (US Pub. No. 2014/0266046).
Regarding claim 7, HEYNE discloses the system as applied to claim 2, and HEYNE further discloses a power managing [unit] (part of “power line communication device” 20, Fig. 1), the power line communication device communicates the total current, the preset maximum current, or both the total current and the preset maximum current to the power managing [unit], the power managing [unit] establishes communications with each of n chargers of the m−1 chargers, where n≤; m−1, using the one or more power lines as the communications medium, the power managing [unit] calculates a current for each of the n chargers from the total current, the preset maximum current, or both the total current and the preset maximum current, and the power managing [unit] communicates a calculated current to each of the n chargers (¶ 0042, 0076, 0081, 0093).
HEYNE fails to disclose the power managing unit is a power managing EV charger, wherein the power managing EV charger is one of the m EV chargers; and the power managing EV charger calculates a current for each of the n chargers and the power managing EV charger.
ROBERS discloses a power managing EV charger (92, Fig. 10), wherein the power managing EV charger is one of the m EV chargers (comprising chargers 92, 95, 98, 102, and 105, Fig. 10); and the power managing EV charger calculates a current for each of the n chargers and the power managing EV charger (page 12, line 31 – page 14, line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the power managing EV charger as recited in order to avoid a separate external control unit, which could, e.g., lower hardware costs or simplify installation.
HEYNE as modified by ROBERS fails to teach the power managing EV charger further receives a request for power from the n chargers.
BAXTER discloses the power managing [unit] (305, Fig. 3; ¶ 0029) further receives a request for power from the n chargers (¶ 0035, 0051). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to receive the request for power as disclosed in BAXTER in the power managing EV charger of HEYNE as modified by ROBERS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include receiving a request for power from the n chargers in order to facilitate load balancing/management.
Regarding claim 8, HEYNE discloses the power managing EV charger calculates a current for each of the n chargers based on a first-in, first-charged principle (¶ 0104-0105).
Regarding claim 9, HEYNE discloses the power managing EV charger calculates a current for each of the n chargers based on a phase aware algorithm (¶ 0069-0072, 0077).
Regarding claim 10, HEYNE as modified by ROBERS and BAXTER teaches the system as applied to claim 7, but HEYNE as modified by ROBERS fails to teach the power managing EV charger calculates a current for each of the n chargers by evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers.
BAXTER further discloses the power managing [unit] calculates a current for each of the n chargers by evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers (¶ 0071). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to evenly divide the total current as disclosed in BAXTER by the power managing EV charger of HEYNE as modified by ROBERS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers in order to prevent overloading, prevent overcurrent, and/or to provide stable charger current.
Regarding claim 16, HEYNE discloses the method as applied to claim 11, and further discloses a power managing [unit] (part of “power line communication device” 20, Fig. 1), the power line communication device communicates the total current, a preset maximum current, or both the total current and the preset maximum current to the power managing [unit], the power managing [unit] establishes communications with each of n chargers of the m−1 EV chargers, where n ≤ m−1, using the one or more power lines as the communications medium, the power managing [unit] calculates a current for each of the n chargers from the total current, the preset maximum current, or both the total current and the preset maximum current, and the power managing [unit] communicates a calculated current to each of the n chargers (¶ 0042, 0076, 0081, 0093).
HEYNE fails to disclose the power managing unit is a power managing EV charger, the m EV chargers include the power managing EV charger, the power managing EV charger calculates a current for each of the n chargers and the power managing EV charger from the total current.
ROBERS discloses the m EV chargers (comprising chargers 92, 95, 98, 102, and 105, Fig. 10) include a power managing EV charger (92, Fig. 10), the power managing EV charger calculates a current for each of the n chargers and the power managing EV charger from the total current (page 12, line 31 – page 14, line 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the power managing EV charger as recited in order to avoid a separate external control unit, which could, e.g., lower hardware costs or simplify installation.
HEYNE as modified by ROBERS fails to disclose the power managing EV charger further receives a request for power from the n chargers.
BAXTER discloses the power managing [unit] (305, Fig. 3; ¶ 0029) further receives a request for power from the n chargers (¶ 0035, 0051). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to receive the request for power as disclosed in BAXTER in the power managing EV charger of HEYNE as modified by ROBERS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include receiving a request for power from the n chargers in order to facilitate load balancing/management.
Regarding claim 17, HEYNE discloses the power managing EV charger calculates a current for each of the n chargers based on a first-in, first-charged principle (¶ 0104-0105).
Regarding claim 18, HEYNE discloses the power managing EV charger calculates a current for each of the n chargers based on a phase aware algorithm (¶ 0069-0072, 0077).
Regarding claim 19, HEYNE as modified by ROBERS and BAXTER teaches the method as applied to claim 16, but HEYNE as modified by ROBERS fails to teach the power managing EV charger calculates a current for each of the n chargers by evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers.
BAXTER further discloses he power managing [unit] calculates a current for each of the n chargers by evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers (¶ 0071). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill to evenly divide the total current as disclosed in BAXTER by the power managing EV charger of HEYNE as modified by ROBERS.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include evenly dividing the total current among the n chargers in order to prevent overloading, prevent overcurrent, and/or to provide stable charger current.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Manuel Hernandez/Examiner, Art Unit 2859 6/22/2026
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859