DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to application 18/491,307 filed on 10/20/2023.
Claims 1-11 have been examined and are pending. As per Preliminary Amendment filed on 10/20/2023 claims 1-11 have been amended.
The examiner notes the IDS filed on 10/20/2023 has been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an access management master module... configured to store... and an access management satellite module... configured to store... wherein the access management master module and the access management satellite module are configured... to access.... in claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jackson et al. (US 2017/0295154 A1) in view of Arumugam (US 2016/0269392 A1).
Regarding Claim 1;
Jackson discloses a method for managing access of at least one user to at least one application (FIG. 1-2 and FIG. 4-5 and [0017] - Discovery, authentication, and authorization of computing devices and/or users to gain access to applications and services typically utilize an access control service that is implemented or hosted on a server, bank of computers, or computing cloud and [0036] and [0057]), method for managing access implementing an access management master module connected to a first network and configured to store first authentication information of each user of said at least one user for each application of said at least one application ([0058] - Referring again to the example illustrated in FIG. 2, the master access control information or data 260 may be implemented or stored in one or more databases and/or data storage devices within the ground-based network 202 or other remote location and, in an embodiment, may be implemented as a master Access Control List (e.g., a master ACL). The master access control information or data 260 may be an originating or primary source of access control, permissions, and credentials for local services, local applications, and/or client applications within dis-connectable environments. The contents of the master access control data 260 may be provisioned, for example, by a ground-based provisioning system 262 that is a part of the ground-based network 202 or that is accessible via the ground-based network 202), wherein, in response to an access request by the at least one user, on a user terminal connected to a second network distinct from the first network, to access a local application hosted on an application a first application server connected to said second network ([0049] and [0057]-[0058] - Further, discovery, authentication, and authorization of local services and applications may be performed within the environment 102 even when the environment 102 as a whole is in a dis-connected state, at least because the discovery service 105, the authentication/authorization service 108, and the local access control data 212 are locally disposed within the network 110 of the environment 102, and therefore are locally accessible to nodes of the network 110 even when the environment 102 as a whole is in a dis-connected state), the method comprising:
when the second network is connected to the first network ([0036] - FIG. 2 depicts an example block diagram of a portion 200 of the system 100 of FIG. 1, and a portion 202 of a ground system with which the system 100 may communicate via one or more of the data delivery wireless links or bearers 122a-122c. For example, the system portion 200 may communicate with the ground system portion 202 by using one, two, or more of the bearers or wireless links 122a-122c. As such, when the desired bearer(s) 122 are operational and/or have a sufficient transmission quality, the system portion 200 (and indeed, the entire system 100) is in a connected state. Similarly, when the desired bearer(s) 122 are unavailable, not operational, or otherwise have insufficient transmission quality, the system portion 200 (and therefore the entire system 100) is in a dis-connected state. That is, in a dis-connected state, the system 100 is disconnected from or is not able to communicate with the ground network portion 202 and [0049] - In some embodiments, the client application 210 may be particularly configured to allow and/or enable communications between the device on which it is executing and ground-based networks (e.g., ground-based devices connected to the ground-based networks, or applications executing on the ground-based devices connected to the ground-based network) via the network 110 while the vehicle is in transit, e.g., the aircraft is in-flight.)
receiving the access request by the access management master module ([0049] - In some embodiments, the client application 210 may be particularly configured to allow and/or enable communications between the device on which it is executing and ground-based networks (e.g., ground-based devices connected to the ground-based networks, or applications executing on the ground-based devices connected to the ground-based network) via the network 110 while the vehicle is in transit, e.g., the aircraft is in-flight).
when the second network is not connected to the first network (FIG. 2 and [0057] - Further, discovery, authentication, and authorization of local services and applications may be performed within the environment 102 even when the environment 102 as a whole is in a dis-connected state, at least because the discovery service 105, the authentication/authorization service 108, and the local access control data 212 are locally disposed within the network 110 of the environment 102, and therefore are locally accessible to nodes of the network 110 even when the environment 102 as a whole is in a dis-connected state and [0058] and [0071]),
receiving the access request by a satellite module located in the second network and configured to store second authentication information of said each user for each local application (FIG. 1 and FIG. 2 – Discovery Service and A/A and Local Access Control Data and FIG. 4 and FIG. 5 and [0021] - . Also for purposes of clarity of discussion, the discovery service 105 and the AA service 108 are discussed herein as separate services, however it is understood that in some embodiments the discovery service 105 and the AA service 108 may be provided via a single, integral service. and [0058] - The contents of the local or on-board access control information or data 212, however, may be a local copy of master access control information or data 260 that is stored in a ground-based network 202 or in another location that is remote from the environment 102 (e.g., another vehicle or aircraft, a satellite, or other airborne data storage location). Referring again to the example illustrated in FIG. 2, the master access control information or data 260 may be implemented or stored in one or more databases and/or data storage devices within the ground-based network 202 or other remote location and, in an embodiment, may be implemented as a master Access Control List (e.g., a master ACL) and [0068] - In some embodiments, at authorizing and/or authenticating the client application may include authorizing and/or authenticating the client application to access more than one local service or application that is available within the dis-connectable environment and [0075] - At a block 295, the method 290 may include receiving a request for local services. The request may be received, for example, at the discovery service from a client application that is executing on a computer device or node that is onboard the vehicle, e.g., the client application 210. The request for local services may be a request specifically indicating a particular local service, a request specifically indicating more than one local service, or a general request for all available local services);
determining by the satellite module, based on the second authentication information, access confirmation or denial data for user access to the local application (FIG. 2 and FIG. 4 and FIG. 5 and [0058] and [0068] and [0075]-[0076] - At a block 298, the method may include causing the client application (e.g., the client application 210) to be at least one of authenticated or authorized. For example, upon reception of the request for services, the client application may be authenticated and/or authorized. In an embodiment, the client application may first be authenticated, and then may be authorized. In an embodiment, the client application may be authenticated and/or authorized for accessing or consuming a particular local service/application or group of local services/applications. Authenticating and/or authorizing the client application may be based on locally stored access control information that is onboard the vehicle... For example, the authentication and/or authorization of the client application may be performed by an authentication and authorization service (e.g., the AA service 108) that is on-board the vehicle and in communicative connection with a discovery service (e.g., the discovery service 105), and may be based on local access control information or data stored in one or more data storage devices that are on board the vehicle (e.g., the local access control information or data 212)); and
transmitting the determined access confirmation or denial data that is determined from the satellite module to the first application server (FIG. 2 and [0075]-[0078] - At a block 300, the method 290 may include providing an indication of a session key which may be utilized by the node and the client application to establish a secure connection therebetween. For example, the discovery service 105 may provide an indication of a session key to a local service and/or to a node hosting the local service (e.g., a local service provider), and may provide a session key to the authorized client application 210. As previously discussed with respect to FIG. 3, the session key may be at least partially randomly generated, and/or the session key may be configured to expire based on a time interval, a shutdown or restart of one or more components, applications, services, and/or other portions of the system 200, or the occurrence of an event corresponding to the environment 102, such as at the end of a flight of an aircraft).
Jackson fails to explicitly disclose:
determining, by the access management master module, based on the first authentication information, access confirmation or denial data for user access to the local application; and
transmitting the determined access confirmation or denial data that is determined from the access management master module to the first application server.
However, in an analogous art, Arumugam teaches [concepts of]:
[receiving the access request by the access management master module] (FIG. 1 CAS Server/Database and [0049] and [0057]- In an exemplary implementation, when a user attempts to log into a network element 104, the element 104 checks if the CAS 112 is accessible, wherein if the CAS 112 is accessible, the online authentication is conducted by means of the CAS and based on the online password);
determining, by the access management master module, based on the first authentication information, access confirmation or denial data for user access to the local application (FIG. 1 and [0049] and [0057] and [0062] - According to another embodiment, online password authentication module 208 can be configured to enable a user to authenticate himself/herself on a network element by means online authentication through the CAS, which uses the online password to match/check if the password received from the user matches with the online password stored in the CAS); and
transmitting the determined access confirmation or denial data that is determined from the access management master module to the first application server (FIG. 1 and [0005] – granted permission [0049] and [0057] and [0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Arumugam to the managing access of at least one user to at least one application of Jackson to include [receiving the access request by the access management master module]; determining, by the access management master module, based on the first authentication information, access confirmation or denial data for user access to the local application; and transmitting the determined access confirmation or denial data that is determined from the access management master module to the first application server.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Arumugam to Jackson to do so as it provides / allows for managing offline and/or online password based authentication in order to enhance security (Arumugam, [0002]).
Regarding Claim 2;
Jackson in view of Arumugam disclose the method to Claim 1.
Jackson discloses wherein the access request is received by the access management master module by access management master module from the satellite module (FIG. 1 – Data Distribution Service and [0024] - It is noted that although FIG. 1 illustrates the rules node or engine 130, the discovery service node 105, the authentication and authorization node 108, and the data distribution node 118 as being distinct and separate nodes, in some embodiments (not shown) any two or more of the nodes 105, 108, 118, 130 may be integrally implemented on a single node and [0049] - In some embodiments, the client application 210 may be particularly configured to allow and/or enable communications between the device on which it is executing and ground-based networks (e.g., ground-based devices connected to the ground-based networks, or applications executing on the ground-based devices connected to the ground-based network) via the network 110 while the vehicle is in transit, e.g., the aircraft is in-flight).
Regarding Claim 3;
Jackson in view of Arumugam disclose the method to Claim 1.
Jackson discloses ... the access management master module is transmitted to the application server the satellite module (FIG. 1 – Data Distribution Service and FIG. 4 – Authentication and/or Authorize Client Application and [0024] - It is noted that although FIG. 1 illustrates the rules node or engine 130, the discovery service node 105, the authentication and authorization node 108, and the data distribution node 118 as being distinct and separate nodes, in some embodiments (not shown) any two or more of the nodes 105, 108, 118, 130 may be integrally implemented on a single node and [0049] - In some embodiments, the client application 210 may be particularly configured to allow and/or enable communications between the device on which it is executing and ground-based networks (e.g., ground-based devices connected to the ground-based networks, or applications executing on the ground-based devices connected to the ground-based network) via the network 110 while the vehicle is in transit, e.g., the aircraft is in-flight).
Arumugam further teaches ...wherein the access confirmation or denial data that is determined by the access management master module... (FIG. 1 CAS Server/Database and [0049] and [0057]- In an exemplary implementation, when a user attempts to log into a network element 104, the element 104 checks if the CAS 112 is accessible, wherein if the CAS 112 is accessible, the online authentication is conducted by means of the CAS and based on the online password).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Arumugam to Jackson in view of Arumugam, as per Claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 4;
Jackson in view of Arumugam disclose the method to Claim 1.
Jackson discloses further comprising, in response to an access request by the at least one user, on the user terminal connected to the second network, to access a remote application hosted on a second application server connected to the first network ([0049] - In some embodiments, the client application 210 may be particularly configured to allow and/or enable communications between the device on which it is executing and ground-based networks (e.g., ground-based devices connected to the ground-based networks, or applications executing on the ground-based devices connected to the ground-based network) via the network 110 while the vehicle is in transit, e.g., the aircraft is in-flight):
receiving the access request by the access management master module from the second network ([0049] - In some embodiments, the client application 210 may be particularly configured to allow and/or enable communications between the device on which it is executing and ground-based networks (e.g., ground-based devices connected to the ground-based networks, or applications executing on the ground-based devices connected to the ground-based network) via the network 110 while the vehicle is in transit, e.g., the aircraft is in-flight).
Arumugam further teaches determining, by the access management master module, based on the first authentication information relative to the at least one user, access confirmation or denial data for user access to the remote application (FIG. 1 and [0005] – denied or granted permission and [0049] and [0057] and [0062] - According to another embodiment, online password authentication module 208 can be configured to enable a user to authenticate himself/herself on a network element by means online authentication through the CAS, which uses the online password to match/check if the password received from the user matches with the online password stored in the CAS); and
transmitting the determined access confirmation or denial data that is determined from the access management master module to the first application server (FIG. 1 and [0005] – denied or granted permission and [0049] and [0057] and [0062]).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Arumugam to Jackson in view of Arumugam, as per Claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 5;
Jackson in view of Arumugam disclose the method to Claim 1.
Jackson discloses further comprising, in response to an access request by the at least one user, on the user terminal connected to the second network, to access a remote application hosted on a third application server connected to a third network distinct from the first network and second network... ([0049] and [0052] - In an embodiment, certain local services and/or applications may be considered to be “private.” For example, certain local services may only allowed to be accessed by client applications particular to aircraft maintenance, and other services may be only allowed to be accessed by client applications particular to aircraft flight and navigation and [0057]-[0058] - Further, discovery, authentication, and authorization of local services and applications may be performed within the environment 102 even when the environment 102 as a whole is in a dis-connected state, at least because the discovery service 105, the authentication/authorization service 108, and the local access control data 212 are locally disposed within the network 110 of the environment 102, and therefore are locally accessible to nodes of the network 110 even when the environment 102 as a whole is in a dis-connected state):
receiving the access request by the access management master module from the second network ([0049] - In some embodiments, the client application 210 may be particularly configured to allow and/or enable communications between the device on which it is executing and ground-based networks (e.g., ground-based devices connected to the ground-based networks, or applications executing on the ground-based devices connected to the ground-based network) via the network 110 while the vehicle is in transit, e.g., the aircraft is in-flight).
Arumugam further teaches determining, by the access management master module, based on the first authentication information relative to the at least one user, access confirmation or denial data fur user access to the external application (FIG. 1 and [0005] – denied or granted permission and [0049] and [0057] and [0062] - According to another embodiment, online password authentication module 208 can be configured to enable a user to authenticate himself/herself on a network element by means online authentication through the CAS, which uses the online password to match/check if the password received from the user matches with the online password stored in the CAS); and
transmitting the determined access confirmation or denial data that is determined from the access management master module to the third application server hosting the external application (FIG. 1 – depicts different network element clusters (i.e. noted to be an external application server hosting external application) and [0005] – denied or granted permission and [0049] and [0057] and [0062]).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Arumugam to Jackson in view of Arumugam, as per Claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 6;
Jackson in view of Arumugam disclose the method to Claim 1.
Jackson further discloses wherein the access management master module is configured to store harmonization rules, wherein the satellite module being configured, during a connection of the second network to the first network, to transmit the corresponding second authentication information to the access management master module ([0059] - In some embodiments, the ground-based provisioning system 262 and/or other node of the ground-based network 202 may initiate and/or perform a synchronization of the access control data 212, 260); compare the received second authentication information that is received to the current first authentication information that is current ([0060] - In some scenarios, local or on-board access control information or data 212 within a particular environment 102 is synchronized with only a portion of the master access control information or data 260); depending on a result of the comparison compare and on the harmonization rules, one or more of: update at least part of the first authentication information; for at least one satellite module, issue update instructions for updating the second authentication information ([0060] - For example, a subset of access control permissions stored in the master access control data 260 may be selected based on the passenger and crew list of a particular flight and the selected subset may be uploaded to or synchronized with the local access control data 212 servicing the particular flight. In another example, master access control permissions for local services that are provided on board short-haul flights may be uploaded to and/or synchronized with the local access control information 212 servicing a short-haul flight, while master access control permissions for local services that are only provided on board long-haul flights may be omitted. Other criteria based on which contents of the master access control information or data 260 may be filtered for upload and/or synchronization with a local access control information or data 212 may be possible)
Regarding Claim 7;
Jackson in view of Arumugam disclose the method to Claim 1.
Jackson further discloses wherein the access management master module is configured, in response to a command to modify the first authentication information ([0058] - Referring again to the example illustrated in FIG. 2, the master access control information or data 260 may be implemented or stored in one or more databases and/or data storage devices within the ground-based network 202 or other remote location and, in an embodiment, may be implemented as a master Access Control List (e.g., a master ACL). The master access control information or data 260 may be an originating or primary source of access control, permissions, and credentials for local services, local applications, and/or client applications within dis-connectable environments. The contents of the master access control data 260 may be provisioned, for example, by a ground-based provisioning system 262 that is a part of the ground-based network 202 or that is accessible via the ground-based network 202), and when the modification command to modify relates to a local application hosted on an application the first application server to the second network, to issue update instructions for updating the corresponding second authentication information ([0060] - For example, a subset of access control permissions stored in the master access control data 260 may be selected based on the passenger and crew list of a particular flight and the selected subset may be uploaded to or synchronized with the local access control data 212 servicing the particular flight. In another example, master access control permissions for local services that are provided on board short-haul flights may be uploaded to and/or synchronized with the local access control information 212 servicing a short-haul flight, while master access control permissions for local services that are only provided on board long-haul flights may be omitted. Other criteria based on which contents of the master access control information or data 260 may be filtered for upload and/or synchronization with a local access control information or data 212 may be possible)
Regarding Claim 8;
Jackson in view of Arumugam disclose the method to Claim 1.
Jackson wherein the access management master module and the satellite module are configured to each display, to a specific user provided with specific rights, a respective management interface on the corresponding user terminal associated with said specific user provided with specific rights, the satellite module being further configured to redirect the specific user to the respective management interface of the access management master module if the second network is connected to the first network ([0048] - For example, a particular computing device may first be authenticated and/or authorized, and then the client application 210 executing on the device may be separately authenticated and/or authorized. Additionally or alternatively, a user of the client application 210 and/or of the physical device may be separately authenticated and/or authorized (e.g., via a login/password, biometrically, etc.) from the authentication and/or authorization of the device itself and/or from the authentication and/or authorization of the client application 210 executing thereon and [0049] - In an embodiment, the client application 210 may provide a portal or access mechanism to selected portions of the on-board communication network 110 and various local services and/or applications provided therein.)
Regarding Claim 9;
Jackson in view of Arumugam disclose the method to Claim 1.
Jackson further discloses wherein the access management master module and the satellite module are configured to communicate with one another by implementing an encryption protocol (FIG. 1 – Data Distribution Service and [0024] - It is noted that although FIG. 1 illustrates the rules node or engine 130, the discovery service node 105, the authentication and authorization node 108, and the data distribution node 118 as being distinct and separate nodes, in some embodiments (not shown) any two or more of the nodes 105, 108, 118, 130 may be integrally implemented on a single node and [0049] - In some embodiments, the client application 210 may be particularly configured to allow and/or enable communications between the device on which it is executing and ground-based networks (e.g., ground-based devices connected to the ground-based networks, or applications executing on the ground-based devices connected to the ground-based network) via the network 110 while the vehicle is in transit, e.g., the aircraft is in-flight and [0080] - In an embodiment, a registered local service with which the client application has established a secured connection may enable the client application to communicate with devices and/or applications executing on computing devices that are not onboard the vehicle (e.g., that are on the ground), and in particular, communicate with such devices and/or applications while the vehicle is in transit).
Regarding Claim(s) 10; claim(s) 10 is/are directed to a/an program product associated with the method claimed in claim(s) 1. Claim(s) 10 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 1, and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim(s) 11; claim(s) 11 is/are directed to a/an system associated with the method claimed in claim(s) 1. Claim(s) 11 is/are similar in scope to claim(s) 1, and is/are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 attached.
/KARI L SCHMIDT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439