DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 11, 13, 23, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The amendments to claim 1 state “wherein the neurological state is pain comprising sub-threshold or unconscious pain”. There is no description in the specification showing or stating “pain comprising a sub-threshold or unconscious pain”. The applicant shows no support in the arguments or anywhere in citations in the specification for this new claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-9, 12-18, 20-21, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Donoghue et al. (US 20210267523) in view of Young et al (US 20160144165), both cited previously.
Regarding claim 1, Donoghue discloses performing deep brain stimulation on a brain of a patient (sections 0189, 0197, System 10 can also provide stimulation to the brain (e.g. electrical stimulation such as transcranial electrical stimulation delivered by one or more sensors and/or direct cerebral stimulation e.g. deep brain stimulation, DBS. Sensors can be configured and arranged to be positioned below the skin and under the skull, and to stimulate brain tissue areas that in current clinical practice are stimulated using a commercially available deep brain stimulation (DBS) device), the system comprising: one or more recording arrays 160 (section 0095, Implantable device can include lead assembly which can include one or more electrodes and/or other sensing elements, sensors, that provide signals related to one or more physiologic parameters of the patient e.g. electrical activity of the brain and/or other tissue of the patient.) configured to be minimally invasively inserted to a target recording site of the brain (Section 0214, implantable device is configured to be implanted in a minimally invasive procedure), and configured to record electrical signals from the target recording site (section 0194, one or more sensors of system record EEG or other brain activity); at least one stimulation array configured to be inserted to a target stimulation site within a deep brain region of the brain (sections 0189, 0197, System 10 can also provide stimulation to the brain (e.g. electrical stimulation such as transcranial electrical stimulation delivered by one or more sensors and/or direct cerebral stimulation e.g. deep brain stimulation, DBS. Sensors can be configured and arranged to be positioned below the skin and under the skull, and to stimulate brain tissue areas that in current clinical practice are stimulated using a commercially available deep brain stimulation (DBS) device), each stimulation array comprising at least one stimulation electrode configured to deliver electrical stimulation to the target stimulation site (section 0187, system can provide always available neurofeedback, and/or stimulation e.g. transcranial stimulation provided by sensors and/or transcranial, epidural, subdural and/or other stimulation provided by any stimulation element of system); a processor 120; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to: receive, via the one or more recording arrays, one or more recorded signals from the target recording site (Section 0095, Implantable device can include lead assembly which can include one or more electrodes and/or other sensing elements, sensors, that provide signals related to one or more physiologic parameters of the patient e.g. electrical activity of the brain and/or other tissue of the patient), determine a neurological state of the brain based on the one or more recorded signals (section 0176, One layer of analysis provided by system 10 (e.g. via algorithm 50 and/or server 500) can be a statistical report of EEG features (e.g. continuously gathered EEG features such as power in a frequency band, epileptiform, and/or other pathological activity). Another layer of analysis can include taking all recorded variables as input features to define brain states at the multi-dimensional level. Recorded EEG can be enhanced with recordings from other physiological monitoring (e.g. as recorded by one or more sensors of system 10 as described herein). Brain states can be reflected in nearly all physiological variables, which allows not only the identification of temporal patterns in brain activity but also the correlation of these patterns with other physiological variables and rhythms), and deliver, via the at least one stimulation array, electrical stimulation to the target stimulation site based on the determined neurological state, wherein the electrical stimulation is configured to electrically stimulate the brain (Section 0193, 0195, system is configured to diagnose, prognose, and/or treat dyslexia used herein to include dyslexia and other dyscognitive disorders such as dyscalculia, dysphasia, and the like. System can be configured to provide brain stimulation e.g. transcranial stimulation provided by sensors positioned on the top of the skull or other stimulation as described herein to treat dyslexia. System 10 can be configured to stimulate tissue of the patient, such as stimulation that is delivered based on the analysis of brain activity and/or other physiologic parameter information recorded by system 10 e.g. recorded by sensors 160 and/or other sensors of system 10); wherein the neurological state is pain comprising a sub-threshold or unconscious pain (Section 0169, 0189, system is configured to diagnose, prognose, and/or treat, one, two, or more medical conditions selected from the group consisting of: epilepsy, Parkinson's disease, pain. System is configured to diagnose, prognose, and/or treat neuropsychiatric disorders. Among psychiatric disorders, depression), and wherein the electrical stimulation is configured to electrically stimulate the brain to prevent the perception of the pain (section 0187, system 10 provides motor cortex stimulation for pain management. second device 900 comprises a stimulation device to provide pain-relief or other therapy to the patient).
However Donoghue does not disclose each recording array comprising a plurality of recording electrodes having a spacing of less than about 1 mm therebetween, each recording electrode having a diameter of less than about 1 mm. Young discloses each recording array comprising a plurality of recording electrodes 132 having a spacing of less than about 1 mm therebetween, each recording electrode having a diameter of less than about 1 mm (section 0092, electrodes may have a diameter of a several hundreds of microns, e.g., when electrode surface take the shape of a circular dot, and may be spaced apart from one another at a distance of about one to two hundred microns). This allows proper placement and proper effectiveness of electrodes in sensing electrical signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing this application, to modify the device of Donoghue by adding a plurality of recording electrodes having a spacing of less than about 1 mm therebetween, each recording electrode having a diameter of less than about 1 mm as taught by Young in order to facilitate proper placement and proper effectiveness of electrodes in sensing electrical signals.
Regarding claim 2, Donoghue discloses the one or more recording arrays comprise a thin-film electrode array (Fig. 3A-C, section 0103, Leads can each comprise a substrate on which sensors are mounted. The substrate of lead can have a relatively flat cross section).
Regarding claim 3, Donoghue discloses the one or more recording arrays comprise a two-dimensional electrode array (Figs. 3A-C).
Regarding claim 8, Donoghue discloses the electrical stimulation is configured to electrically stimulate the brain to prevent or reduce one or more of dyskinesia, tremor, and freezing of gait (Section 0169, 0174, System is configured to treat, one, two, or more medical conditions selected from the group consisting of a movement disorder or essential tremor. System can be further configured to stimulate tissue of the patient, such as electrical stimulation delivered by implantable device e.g. transcranial stimulation delivered by sensors or direct cerebral stimulation).
Regarding claim 9, Donoghue discloses the neurological state is a pre-seizure state associated with onset of an epileptic seizure, and wherein the electrical stimulation is configured to electrically stimulate the brain to prevent the epileptic seizure (section 0176, The characterization can be used to predict or (early) detect onsets of events (such as seizures).
Regarding claim 12, Donoghue discloses the target stimulation site of the brain is selected from the group consisting of a ventrolateral thalamus, a globus pallidus, and a subthalamic nucleus (Section 0197, stimulated tissue includes, but is not limited to, tissue of the: motor cortex; nucleus accumbens; subthalamic nucleus (STN); and/or globus pallidus internal).
Regarding claim 13, Donoghue discloses performing deep brain stimulation on a brain of a patient (sections 0189, 0197, System 10 can also provide stimulation to the brain (e.g. electrical stimulation such as transcranial electrical stimulation delivered by one or more sensors and/or direct cerebral stimulation e.g. deep brain stimulation, DBS. Sensors can be configured and arranged to be positioned below the skin and under the skull, and to stimulate brain tissue areas that in current clinical practice are stimulated using a commercially available deep brain stimulation (DBS) device), the method comprising: receiving one or more recorded signals from a target recording site via one or more recording arrays positioned at the target recording site (section 0095, Implantable device can include lead assembly which can include one or more electrodes and/or other sensing elements, sensors, that provide signals related to one or more physiologic parameters of the patient e.g. electrical activity of the brain and/or other tissue of the patient), determining a neurological state of the brain based on the one or more recorded signals (section 0176, One layer of analysis provided by system 10 (e.g. via algorithm 50 and/or server 500) can be a statistical report of EEG features (e.g. continuously gathered EEG features such as power in a frequency band, epileptiform, and/or other pathological activity). Another layer of analysis can include taking all recorded variables as input features to define brain states at the multi-dimensional level. Recorded EEG can be enhanced with recordings from other physiological monitoring (e.g. as recorded by one or more sensors of system 10 as described herein). Brain states can be reflected in nearly all physiological variables, which allows not only the identification of temporal patterns in brain activity but also the correlation of these patterns with other physiological variables and rhythms); and delivering, based on the determined neurological state, electrical stimulation to a target stimulation site via at least one stimulation array positioned at the target stimulation site to electrically stimulate the brain, wherein the target stimulation site is within a deep brain region of the brain (Section 0193, 0195, system is configured to diagnose, prognose, and/or treat dyslexia used herein to include dyslexia and other dyscognitive disorders such as dyscalculia, dysphasia, and the like. System can be configured to provide brain stimulation e.g. transcranial stimulation provided by sensors positioned on the top of the skull or other stimulation as described herein to treat dyslexia. System can be configured to stimulate tissue of the patient, such as stimulation that is delivered based on the analysis of brain activity and/or other physiologic parameter information recorded by system e.g. recorded by sensors and/or other sensors of system); wherein the neurological state is pain comprising a sub-threshold or unconscious pain (Section 0169, 0187, 0189, system is configured to diagnose, prognose, and/or treat, one, two, or more medical conditions selected from the group consisting of: epilepsy, Parkinson's disease, pain. System is configured to diagnose, prognose, and/or treat neuropsychiatric disorders. Among psychiatric disorders, depression), and wherein the electrical stimulation is configured to electrically stimulate the brain to prevent the perception of the pain (section 0187, system 10 provides motor cortex stimulation for pain management. second device 900 comprises a stimulation device to provide pain-relief or other therapy to the patient).
However Donoghue does not disclose each recording array comprising a plurality of recording electrodes having a spacing of less than about 1 mm therebetween, each recording electrode having a diameter of less than about 1 mm; Young discloses each recording array comprising a plurality of recording electrodes having a spacing of less than about 1 mm therebetween, each recording electrode having a diameter of less than about 1 mm (section 0092, electrodes may have a diameter of a several hundreds of microns, e.g., when electrode surface take the shape of a circular dot, and may be spaced apart from one another at a distance of about one to two hundred microns). This allows proper placement and proper effectiveness of electrodes in sensing electrical signals. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing this application, to modify the device of Donoghue by adding a plurality of recording electrodes having a spacing of less than about 1 mm therebetween, each recording electrode having a diameter of less than about 1 mm as taught by Young in order to facilitate proper placement and proper effectiveness of electrodes in sensing electrical signals.
Regarding claim 14, Donoghue discloses the one or more recording arrays comprise a thin-film electrode array (Fig. 3A-C, section 0103, Leads can each comprise a substrate on which sensors are mounted. The substrate of lead can have a relatively flat cross section).
Regarding claim 15, Donoghue discloses the one or more recording arrays comprise a two-dimensional electrode array (Figs. 3A-C).
Regarding claim 20, Donoghue discloses the electrical stimulation is configured to electrically stimulate the brain to prevent or reduce one or more of dyskinesia, tremor, and freezing of gait (Section 0169, 0174, System is configured to treat, one, two, or more medical conditions selected from the group consisting of a movement disorder or essential tremor. System can be further configured to stimulate tissue of the patient, such as electrical stimulation delivered by implantable device e.g. transcranial stimulation delivered by sensors or direct cerebral stimulation).
Regarding claim 21, Donoghue discloses the neurological state is a pre-seizure state associated with onset of an epileptic seizure, and wherein the electrical stimulation is configured to electrically stimulate the brain to prevent the epileptic seizure (section 0176, The characterization can be used to predict or (early) detect onsets of events (such as seizures).
Regarding claim 24, Donoghue discloses the target stimulation site of the brain is selected from the group consisting of a ventrolateral thalamus, a globus pallidus, and a subthalamic nucleus (Section 0197, stimulated tissue includes, but is not limited to, tissue of the: motor cortex; nucleus accumbens; subthalamic nucleus (STN); and/or globus pallidus internal).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-6, 13-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-6, 12-17 of copending Application No. 18491333 (reference application), cited previously. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both the current application and the copending application claims one or more recording arrays configured to be minimally invasively inserted to a target recording site of the brain, each recording array comprising a plurality of recording electrodes having a spacing of less than about 1 mm therebetween, each recording electrode having a diameter of less than about 1 mm and configured to record electrical signals from the target recording site; at least one stimulation array configured to be inserted to a target stimulation site within a deep brain region of the brain, each stimulation array comprising at least one stimulation electrode configured to deliver electrical stimulation to the target stimulation site; a processor; and a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause the processor to: receive, via the one or more recording arrays, one or more recorded signals from the target recording site, determine a neurological state of the brain based on the one or more recorded signals, and deliver, via the at least one stimulation array, electrical stimulation to the target stimulation site based on the determined neurological state, wherein the electrical stimulation is configured to electrically stimulate the brain.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner still finds that the amended claim language has no description in the specification showing or stating “pain comprising a sub-threshold or unconscious pain”. The applicant shows no support in the arguments or anywhere with citations from the application specification for this new claim language. Examiner still finds that Donoghue discloses wherein the neurological state is pain comprising sub-threshold or unconscious pain (Section 0169, 0171, 0187, 0189, system is configured to manage chronic pain and/or neuropathic pain. System is configured to diagnose, prognose, and/or treat, one, two, or more medical conditions selected from the group consisting of: epilepsy, Parkinson's disease, pain. System is configured to diagnose, prognose, and/or treat neuropsychiatric disorders. Among psychiatric disorders, depression), and wherein the electrical stimulation is configured to electrically stimulate the brain to prevent the perception of the pain (section 0187, system 10 provides motor cortex stimulation for pain management. second device 900 comprises a stimulation device to provide pain-relief or other therapy to the patient). The Double Patenting rejection has not been overcome.
Conclusion
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/J.C.M/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796