Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 6/28/2024 has been considered by the examiner and an initialed copy of the IDS is hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Akamine et al (WO 2021240927 A1), hereinafter Akamine in view of Reisenfeld et al (US 20190293743), hereinafter Reisenfeld.
Regarding claim 1, Akamine discloses:
a system, comprising (Akamine, para [0029], FIG. 4 is an angular directional spectrum obtained by processing the received signal of the receiving array antenna in the spatial direction. Further, FIG. 4 shows the complex information (201) using the target angle directional spectrum (401) calculated by spatial FFT processing and the virtual complex information extended by the polynomial approximation curve (307). It is a figure which shows the target angle direction spectrum (402) which processed the space FFT. The vertical axis shows the power level (dB) for the received electromagnetic wave, and the horizontal axis shows the angular direction (deg.) With the front as 0 degree):
a receiver operable to receive a return signal reflected from an object (Akamine, para [0029]),
the receiver including a plurality of virtual antennae (Akamine, para [0020], FIG. 2 is an image of a received signal from a certain angle direction by the receiving array antenna (102) and the virtual antenna in the first embodiment.
[0021] For each antenna element in the receiving array antenna (102), the time / frequency FFT processing unit (106) has complex information (201) x1, x2, x3, x4, regarding the received signal from the angular orientation (203) of the target. Generate x5. The electromagnetic wave of the received signal is the wavelength (204). A phase difference occurs in the signal received by each antenna element when the angular direction of the target is oblique from the front. In this embodiment, a virtual received signal is generated by the virtual antenna (205). In FIG. 2, the virtual antenna (205) is arranged on the right side of the receiving array antenna (102) made of a real antenna element, but it may be arranged on the left side);
and a processor in communication with the receiver and a memory (Akamine, para [0018], In the digital unit, the time / frequency FFT processing unit (106) processes the time / frequency FFT with respect to the received signal received by each antenna element constituting the reception array antenna (102). Here, FFT represents a Fast Fourier Transform. The processing of each block constituting the digital unit may be executed by a CPU such as a microcomputer by reading a program recorded in a recording device and executing it as software, or by using dedicated hardware such as a circuit. You may do so),
the memory including instructions executable by the processor to (Akamine, para [0018]):
determine, by a range and angle estimation process (Akamine, para [0033], As a solution to this problem, the complex information (201) of the real antenna is subjected to spatial FFT processing by the first spatial FFT processing unit (107) in FIG. 1 before expansion by the approximate curve or the learner. .. By this first angle / direction estimation process, the rough angle / direction of the target can be estimated in advance from the received signal from the target. Here, the spatial FFT process is executed as the first angle direction estimation process because the angle direction can be estimated by a lightweight process. As the processing of the first angular direction estimation, the angle direction may be estimated by digital beamforming instead of the first spatial FFT processing unit (107)),
an angle of arrival of the return signal (Akamine, para [0022], The complex information (201) is determined by the arrival direction of the electromagnetic wave, that is, the angular direction of the target (203), the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave (204), and the arrangement of the receiving array antenna (102). The complex information (201) changes regularly among the receiving antenna elements constituting the receiving array. The angular direction (203) of the target can be obtained by the regular change of the complex information (201)),
the angle of arrival being indicative of an angular position of the object (Akamine, para [0022]);
and apply an angle correction function to the angle of arrival yielding a corrected angle of arrival (Akamine, para [0042], In FIG. 7, the polynomial approximation curve (307) is extended to a range of 2.5 times the opening length (202) as in FIG. In FIGS. 3 and 7, extrapolation processing is performed to extend to the outside of the antenna arrangement in order to obtain high resolution, but depending on the antenna arrangement, complex information between the antennas is estimated as a measure to suppress the virtual image of the angular direction. It is also possible to easily perform the interpolation process) Examiner interprets the suppression of the virtual image of the angular direction as the angle correction function, and the polynomial approximation curve as calibration,
the angle correction function being a polynomial and including a plurality of correction coefficients (Akamine, paras [0029] and [0030], FIG. 4 shows the simulation results when the target exists at the positions of +0.8 degrees and -0.8 degrees from the front, and the resolution is obtained by expanding the aperture length by 2.5 times with the polynomial approximation curve. Is improved, and it can be seen that the two targets can be detected separately) and [0042]),
wherein the processor is operable to determine the plurality of correction coefficients through at least one of (Akamine, Fig. 3, polynomial approximation curve 307 and plot 306 and paras [00018] and [0030]):
(Akamine, para [0021]);
post-production characterization of an error profile obtained using one or more calibration objects (Akamine, para [0031], In FIGS. 3 and 4, the target detection near the front, which is +/- 0.8 degrees, is taken as an example, but the deviation of the complex information (201) between adjacent antennas becomes large at an angle away from the front, and the polynomial. It becomes difficult to approximate and estimate the extended range by the learner) Examiner interprets the deviation of the complex information at larger angle away as the post-production characterization and error profile (further references paras [0052-0053]) Examiner also interprets the prevention of divergence by adding zeros as calibration;
Reisenfeld discloses:
simulation of a system model corresponding with a hardware of the receiver
(Reisenfeld, para [0223], A simulation was carried out on N=180 angular grid points, with
ω=2πN.
The scanning angle ranges between [−π,π) radians. The signal is considered to be transmitted at centre frequency of fc MHz, and the wavelength is λ. A simulated UCA consists of 13 isotropic antenna elements distributed evenly on a circular ring with r=ropt=6λ. The inter-element distance d between the antenna elements is approximately 3λ. The simulation scenario has one source, transmitting from any angle in the range between [−π,π) radians. The signals have been supposed to be arriving on the antenna with equal strength in order to perform an unbiased analysis of the accuracy of the method with respect to the angles of arrival).
and/or iterative fitting of the angle correction function to one or more candidate angles of arrival to determine an optimal set of correction parameters of the angle correction function (Reisenfeld, para [0191], α1 and β1 are then the input to D(α1,β1) and the output of this discriminant is the correction factor ΔΘ1. The angle of arrival estimate after the first iteration is {hacek over (θ)}1={hacek over (θ)}0ΔΘ1 ) and (para [0220], In some embodiments, the second plane is perpendicular to the first plane. In some embodiments, the second plane intersects the first plane along a line having a direction corresponding to the first estimated direction of arrival. In some embodiments the method further comprises repeating the determinations in respect of a grid of candidate angles of arrival located in a third plane, the third plane intersecting points on a line in three-dimensional space corresponding to the second estimated direction of arrival. In some embodiments, the method comprises iteratively determining estimated directions of arrival in planes with substantial components transverse to the preceding plane until a threshold minimum variation in estimated direction of arrival is reached) and (further reference (para [0221])
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akamine with Reisenfeld to incorporate the features of: simulation of a system model corresponding with a hardware of the receiver, and/or iterative fitting of the angle correction function to one or more candidate angles of arrival to determine an optimal set of correction parameters of the angle correction function. Both arts disclose antenna array systems and angular determination schemes. The modification would render the predictable results of improved calibration, improved accuracy of angle estimation prediction, and reduction of false positives. [MPEP 2144: The rationale to modify or combine the prior art does not have to be expressly stated in the prior art; the rationale may be expressly or impliedly contained in the prior art or it may be reasoned from knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, established scientific principles, or legal precedent established by prior case law. In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988); In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992); see also In re Kotzab, 217 F.3d 1365, 1370, 55 USPQ2d 1313, 1317 (Fed. Cir. 2000) (setting forth test for implicit teachings); In re Eli Lilly & Co., 902 F.2d 943, 14 USPQ2d 1741 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (discussion of reliance on legal precedent); In re Nilssen, 851 F.2d 1401, 1403, 7 USPQ2d 1500, 1502 (Fed. Cir. 1988) (references do not have to explicitly suggest combining teachings); Ex parte Clapp, 227 USPQ 972 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985) (examiner must present convincing line of reasoning supporting rejection); and Ex parte Levengood, 28 USPQ2d 1300 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (reliance on logic and sound scientific reasoning)]
Regarding claim 2, Akamine discloses:
the system of claim 1, the angle of arrival being one of a plurality of candidate angles of arrival and the memory further including instructions executable by the processor to (Akamine, para [0018] and [0021]):
determine, based on an initial value of the angle of arrival of the return signal, an index error and an updated peak frequency for each respective virtual antenna (Akamine, para [0045], FIG. 8 is an angular directional spectrum obtained by processing the received signal of the receiving array antenna in the spatial direction. The vertical axis of FIG. 8 shows the power level (dB), and the horizontal axis shows the angular direction (deg.) With the front as 0 degree. Further explaining, FIG. 8 is an example of the angle-direction spectrum after the spatial FFT processing when the target is present at the positions of the angle directions of 2.2 degrees and 3.8 degrees. The target angle-direction spectrum (601) having one peak at the position of 3 degrees is the result of spatial FFT processing of the complex information of the real antenna, that is, the plot (306) of the real part and the imaginary part in FIG. ..
[0046] The target angle azimuth spectrum (802) having one peak near the angle azimuth 0 degrees is the result of spatial FFT processing of the virtual complex information expanded by the polynomial approximation curve (307) in FIG. It can be seen that it differs from the target position of);
generate an updated set of complex angle data at each updated peak frequency (Amakine, para [0022]) Examiner interprets the complex information (201) from the received angular orientation as the complex angle data;
and apply a second Fourier Transform operation to the updated set of complex angle data to yield a set of updated transformed angle data (Amakine, para [0043], This extrapolation and interpolation processing is executed by the extrapolation / interpolation processing unit (109) in FIG. In the second phase conversion processing unit (110), the complex information calculated by the extrapolation / interpolation processing is phase-converted to the original direction. After the phase transform, the second spatial FFT processing unit (111) performs spatial FFT processing based on the received signal and the virtual received signal, and executes the second angular direction estimation processing. The second spatial FFT processing unit (111) outputs position information such as the angular direction of the target, the distance to the target, and the speed of the target as radar output) and (further reference para [0045]).
Regarding claim 3, Akamine discloses:
the system of claim 1, the memory further including instructions executable by the processor to apply the range and angle estimation process including (Akamine, Abstract, he purpose of the present invention is to provide a radar device that reduces a calculation load and enables high resolution processing. The radar device according to the present invention comprises: a reception antenna (102) that receives a reception signal from a target; a processing unit that, on the basis of the reception signal, generates a virtual reception signal for when reception is carried out by a virtual antenna (205); and a target azimuth calculation unit that calculates the azimuth of the target on the basis of the reception signal and the virtual reception signal. The processing unit implements an angle azimuth estimation process for estimating the azimuth of the target from the reception signal and generating the virtual reception signal based on the estimated azimuth) and (para [0018]):
access a set of signal data indicative of the return signal (Akamine, Abstract);
apply a calibration process to the set of signal data yielding a set of calibrated data (Akamine, paras [0052], Fig 9 FIG. 9 is an image of preventing the divergence of the polynomial approximation by arranging zeros in a pseudo manner. In FIG. 9, the vertical axis shows the real value, and the horizontal axis shows the antenna position. As a device for not greatly deviating from the correct answer, a pseudo plot (901) with a zero value is arranged outside the plot of complex information (306) as shown in FIG. As a result, it is possible to prevent the polynomial approximation curve (902) away from the plot (306) from being extremely deviated from the plot (306), resulting in a realistic curve such as the polynomial approximation curve (903).
[0053] Here, by placing a pseudo plot (901), the credibility of the polynomial approximation curve (903) arises as a concern. In order to suppress the influence of the pseudo plot (901), the complex information about the received signal is emphasized and the pseudo plot (901) is disregarded when the polynomial approximation is performed. A polynomial approximation with varying weights may be performed between the plot of information (306) and the pseudo plot (901). In this case, the process is the same as obtaining the polynomial approximation curve (903) after overwriting the plot (306) of the complex information)) Examiner also interprets the prevention of divergence by adding zeros as a calibration process;
the calibration process including a set of saved calibration coefficients that, when applied to the set of signal data, result in the set of calibrated data (Akamine, paras [0052-0053] and Fig. 9, plot information 306);
apply a first Fourier Transform operation to the set of calibrated data to yield a set of transformed data by frequency (Akamine, para [0033]);
determine, based on the set of transformed data, a peak frequency of the return signal (Akamine, para [0033]),
determine, based on the peak frequency of the return signal, a range of the object that reflected the return signal (Akamine, para [0045], FIG. 8 is an angular directional spectrum obtained by processing the received signal of the receiving array antenna in the spatial direction. The vertical axis of FIG. 8 shows the power level (dB), and the horizontal axis shows the angular direction (deg.) With the front as 0 degree. Further explaining, FIG. 8 is an example of the angle-direction spectrum after the spatial FFT processing when the target is present at the positions of the angle directions of 2.2 degrees and 3.8 degrees. The target angle-direction spectrum (601) having one peak at the position of 3 degrees is the result of spatial FFT processing of the complex information of the real antenna, that is, the plot (306) of the real part and the imaginary part in FIG. ..
[0046] The target angle azimuth spectrum (802) having one peak near the angle azimuth 0 degrees is the result of spatial FFT processing of the virtual complex information expanded by the polynomial approximation curve (307) in FIG. It can be seen that it differs from the target position of);
generate a set of complex angle data at the peak frequency (Amakine, para [0022]);
apply a second Fourier Transform operation to the set of complex angle data to yield a set of transformed angle data (Amakine, para [0043]);
and determine one or more peak values and a peak angle for each respective peak value from the set of transformed angle data (Amakine, paras [0045-0046]),
wherein the peak angle is indicative of an angular position of the object (Amakine, paras [0045-0046]).
Regarding claim 4, Akamine discloses:
the system of claim 1, further comprising (Akamine, Abstract and para [0018]):
a transmitter operable to transmit a radiofrequency signal whose frequency linearly changes with time within a given bandwidth (Akamine, para [0016], The array antenna / analog section outputs a transmission signal from the transmission antenna (101). Here, a synthesizer (103) is used as the transmission signal, and a chirp signal whose frequency is linearly changed with time is often used. The transmitted transmission signal is reflected by the target, and a part of the reflected wave is returned to the reception array antenna (102) and received. The receiving array antenna (102) is composed of a plurality of antenna elements);
the return signal received at the receiver being resultant of the radiofrequency signal being reflected from the object (Akamine, para [0021]) Examiner references electromagnetic signal of which radio frequency signal are a sub-set.
Regarding claim 5, Akamine discloses:
a system, comprising: a receiver operable to receive a return signal reflected from an object (Akamine, Abstract and para [0018]),
the receiver including a plurality of virtual antennae (Akamine, Abstract and para [0018]);
and a processor in communication with the receiver and a memory (Akamine, Abstract and para [0018]),
the memory including instructions executable by the processor to (Akamine, Abstract and para [0018]):
determine, at the processor and by a range and angle estimation process (Akamine, para [0033]),
an angle of arrival of the return signal, the angle of arrival being indicative of an angular position of the object (Akamine, para [0022]);
iteratively determine, based on an initial value of the angle of arrival of the return signal, an index error and an updated peak frequency for each respective virtual antenna (Akamine, paras [0045-0046]);
iteratively generate an updated set of complex angle data at each updated peak frequency (Akamine, para [0022]);
iteratively apply a Fourier Transform operation to the updated set of complex angle data to yield a set of updated transformed angle data (Akamine, para [0043]);
and iteratively determine one or more peak values and a peak angle for each respective peak value from the set of updated transformed angle data (Akamine, paras [0045-0046]),
wherein the peak angle is indicative of an angular position of the object (Akamine, paras [0045-0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Akamine discloses:
the system of claim 5, the memory further including instructions executable by the processor to (Akamine, para [0018]):
apply an angle correction function to the angle of arrival yielding a corrected angle of arrival (Akamine, para [0029]),
the angle correction function being a polynomial and including a plurality of correction coefficients (Akamine, Fig. 3, polynomial approximation curve 307 and plot 306 and paras [00018] and [0030]),
Reisenfeld discloses:
wherein the processor is operable to determine the plurality of correction coefficients through iterative fitting of the angle correction function to one or more candidate angles of arrival to determine an optimal set of correction parameters of the angle correction function (Reisenfeld, [003], in an initial determination and in at least a first and a second iteration determining, by a processor, based on phase information in the input signals and a known geometry of the spatially separated sensor elements, a sparse solution indicating one or more estimated directions of arrival amongst a set of candidate directions of arrival, wherein for each iteration the set of candidate directions of arrival are rotated, the rotation selected based on preceding sparse solutions to cause the iterations to display convergence in the sparse solution) and (further reference paras [0191] and [0220-0221]).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akamine with Reisenfeld to incorporate the features of: wherein the processor is operable to determine the plurality of correction coefficients through iterative fitting of the angle correction function to one or more candidate angles of arrival to determine an optimal set of correction parameters of the angle correction function. Both arts disclose antenna array systems and angular determination schemes. The modification would render the predictable results of improved calibration, improved accuracy of angle estimation prediction, and reduction of false positives
Regarding claim 7, Akamine discloses:
the system of claim 6 (Akamine, Abstract and para [0018]),
the plurality of correction coefficients being determined through at least one of (Akamine, Fig. 3, polynomial approximation curve 307 and plot 306 and paras [00018] and [0030]):
simulation of a system model corresponding with a hardware of the receiver (Akamine, para [0021]);
post-production characterization of an error profile obtained using one or more calibration objects (Akamine, para [0031]);
Reisenfeld discloses:
and/or iterative fitting of the angle correction function to the one or more candidate angles of arrival to determine the optimal set of correction parameters of the angle correction function (Reisenfeld, paras [0191] and [0220-0221]).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Akamine with Reisenfeld to incorporate the features of: and/or iterative fitting of the angle correction function to the one or more candidate angles of arrival to determine the optimal set of correction parameters of the angle correction function. Both arts disclose antenna array systems and angular determination schemes. The modification would render the predictable results of improved calibration, improved accuracy of angle estimation prediction, and reduction of false positives.
Claim 8 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 3.
Claim 9 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 4.
Regarding claim 10, Akamine discloses:
A system, comprising (Akamine, Abstract, para [0018]):
a receiver operable to receive a return signal reflected from an object (Akamine, Abstract, para [0018]),
the receiver including a plurality of virtual antennae (Akamine, Abstract, para [0018]);
a processor in communication with the receiver and a memory (Akamine, Abstract, para [0018]),
the memory including instructions executable by the processor to (Akamine, Abstract, para [0018]):
access a set of signal data indicative of the return signal (Akamine, Abstract);
apply a calibration process to the set of signal data yielding a set of calibrated data (Akamine, paras [0052-0053]) Examiner also interprets the prevention of divergence by adding zeros as calibration,
the calibration process including a set of saved calibration coefficients that, when applied to the set of signal data, result in the set of calibrated data (Akamine, paras [0052-0053] and Fig. 9, plot information 306);
apply a first Fourier Transform operation to the set of calibrated data to yield a set of transformed data by frequency (Akamine, para [0033]);
determine, based on the set of transformed data, an average peak value and an average peak frequency associated with the average peak value (Akamine, para [0046], The target angle azimuth spectrum (802) having one peak near the angle azimuth 0 degrees is the result of spatial FFT processing of the virtual complex information expanded by the polynomial approximation curve (307) in FIG. It can be seen that it differs from the target position of.
[0047] The target angle azimuth spectrum (803), which has two peaks at the azimuth angles 2.2 and 3.8 degrees, is spatially FFT processed with virtual complex information extended by the polynomial approximation curve (307) in FIG. It can be said that it is a processing result according to the configuration shown in FIG. 1 as a whole. High resolution is achieved in an angle direction different from that of the front);
identify, based on the transformed data, a set of individual peak values and a set of individual peak frequencies for each respective virtual antenna of the plurality of virtual antennae within a predetermined bin range of the average peak frequency (Akamine, paras [0045-0046]);
and identify one or more final peak values and one or more final peak angles based on the set of individual peak values (Akamine, paras [0045-0046]),
wherein a final peak angle is indicative of an angular position of the object (Akamine, para [0047]).
Regarding claim 11, Akamine discloses:
the system of claim 10, the memory further including instructions executable by the processor to determine the angle of arrival, including (Akamine, Abstract, para [0018]):
apply a second Fourier Transform operation to the set of individual peak values and the set of individual peak frequencies for each respective virtual antenna of the plurality of virtual antennae to yield a set of transformed angle data (Akamine, para [0043]);
and determine the one or more final peak values and the one or more final peak angles for each respective final peak value from the set of transformed angle data (Akamine, paras [0046-0047],
each final peak value of the one or more final peak values corresponding with a virtual antenna of the plurality of virtual antennae (Akamine, paras [0046-0047]).
Claim 12 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 4
Claim 13 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 1.
Claim 14 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 2.
Claim 15 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 3.
Claim 16 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 4.
Claim 17 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 10.
Claim 18 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 11.
Claim 19 is rejected under the same analysis as claim 4.
References Cited But Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as thus:
Shabtay et al US 11789143 B2 discloses a virtual antenna array system that has an angle determination scheme and processing of first (fast),second (slow), and third (spatial) FFT, and also the determination of angle compensation
Wu et al US 20220026530 A1 discloses a system, method and apparatus that include regression that is used to determine the calibration that is applied to correct the measurement; polynomial functions para [0169] and [0191], complex angle data ie IQ compensation setting para [0135], curve fitting [0190]
Landsberg et al US 20210364619 A1 discloses simulation model corresponding with a hardware of the receiver (paras [0024-0025]) a virtual array [0161], the first (fast), second (slow), and third (spatial) FFT [0155] and [0166], polynomial may arise due to frequency control schemes [0678],
Wang et al 20210247483 discloses a system and method that may include a virtual array, at iterations measurements/index may be computed/considered [0124], correction and calibration such as magnitude cleaning/correction [0175], polynomial function [0176], and regressions may be cubic, linear, quadratic [0198]
Shin et al WO 2021236143 A1 discloses a radar system and method that may comprise a virtual radar antenna [0166], adaptive calibration based on targets [0297], and calibration processes may end after a number of iterations [0310]
Conclusion
/KIMBERLY JENKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/VLADIMIR MAGLOIRE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648