DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
This action is in response to RCE for application 18491424 filed on 10/31/2025. Claims 1-14 and 16-20 are presented for examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Prior Art Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 ,14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US Patent Pub. No. 2016/0179222 A1) in view of Hiramatsu (US Patent Pub. No. 2009/0267896 A1), Suto et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2022/0067356 A1) and Hatano (Japanese Patent Publication JP2006259267A)
Regarding claim 1, Chang teaches a controller that communicates with a computer configured to control an input device (Chang, Fig. 3, control circuitry 60), the controller comprising:
a pen part that is formed in a pen shape (Chang, Figs. 1 and 3, stylus 10);
a first pressure pad that, in operation, detects a first pressure that is transmitted to the computer (Chang, [0032], Figs. 1 and 5-9 multiple touch sensors 50 are arranged on the body of the stylus; Chang, [0040], sensor 50 may incorporate force sensor and can be used to detect user pinch or gripped the stylus tightly);
a second pressure pad that, in operation, detects a second pressure that is transmitted to the computer(Chang, [0032], Figs. 1 and 5-9 multiple touch sensors 50 are arranged on the body of the stylus; Chang, [0040], sensor 50 may incorporate force sensor and can be used to detect user pinch or gripped the stylus tightly); and
a pen tip portion that is a tip of the pen part and receives a pressure when a user presses the pen tip portion against a surface (Chang, [0028], force sensor to detect force-based input when press tip of stylus against a surface),
wherein the first pressure pad is disposed on a first side surface of a pen portion corresponding to a thumb contact region and the second pressure pad is disposed on a second side surface of the pen portion corresponding to an index finger contact region (Chang, [0032], Figs. 1 and 5-9 multiple touch sensors 50 are arranged on the body of the stylus; Chang, [0040], sensor 50 may incorporate force sensor and can be used to detect user pinch or gripped the stylus tightly; Chang, Fig. 7, the different sensor electrodes corresponds to the two side of the thumb and index finger), and
wherein the first pressure pad is different from the second pressure pad (Chang, Fig. 9 the electrodes 52-1 of touch sensor 50 can be formed in a separate manner on the body of the stylus).
Chang does not seem to explicitly teach the first pressure pad operable independently from the second pressure pad to detect the first pressure independently of the second pressure different form the first pressure.
However, in a related art of sensing pressure on the body of a stylus/input device, Hiramatsu teaches pressure sensors/pads on the body of a stylus/input device where a first pressure pad operable independently from a second pressure pad to detect a first pressure independently of a second pressure different form the first pressure (Hiramatsu, Figs. 3A, 3B and 5A, pressure sensed at different points A-D; Hiramatsu, [0035], detect pressures independently at points A-D).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to sense pressures independently as suggested by Hiramatsu in the stylus/input device of Chang. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to discriminate unintended input made by a user when using the stylus/input device (Hiramatsu, [0035]).
While Chang in view of Hiramatsu teaches the stylus can also be used for spray air brush in [0035], Chang in view of Hiramatsu does not seem to explicitly teach that the output is a three-dimensional object in an extended reality space and that is operated away from a surface to input a line of the three-dimensional object,
wherein the computer is configured to control a thickness of the line of the three-dimensional object in the extended reality space based on the first pressure, the first pressure changing according to an operation made in mid-air by a user to change the thickness of the line of the three-dimensional object in a state where the user grips the pen part with a first finger and a second finger in a pinching manner;
control the thickness of the line of the three-dimensional object in the extended reality space based on the second pressure, the second pressure changing according to the operation made in mid-air by the user to change the thickness of the line of the three-dimensional object in the state where the user grips the pen part with the first finger and the second finger in the pinching manner; and
a line thickness in the extended reality space is controlled based on the first pressure detected by the first pressure pad or the second pressure detected by the second pressure pad.
However, in a related art of using a stylus as an input device, Suto teaches an output is a three-dimensional object in an extended reality space and that is operated away from a surface to input a line of the three-dimensional object (Suto, [0007] and [0410], render a line in midair),
wherein the computer is configured to control a thickness of the line of the three-dimensional object in the extended reality space based on the first pressure, the first pressure changing according to an operation made in mid-air by a user to change the thickness of the line of the three-dimensional object in a state where the user grips the pen part with a first finger and a second finger in a pinching manner;
control the thickness of the line of the three-dimensional object in the extended reality space based on the second pressure, the second pressure changing according to the operation made in mid-air by the user to change the thickness of the line of the three-dimensional object in the state where the user grips the pen part with the first finger and the second finger in the pinching manner (Suto, [0416], thickness of the line is designated in accordance with the magnitude of gripping force applied to the pen 80 during the rendering process); and
a line thickness in the extended reality space is controlled based on the first pressure detected by the first pressure pad or the second pressure detected by the second pressure pad (Suto, [0416], thickness of the line is designated in accordance with the magnitude of gripping force applied to the pen 80 during the rendering process).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to include the adjustment of thickness of lines rendered as suggested by Suto in the system of Chang in view of Hiramatsu. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to improve user experience by allowing the change of thickness without performing an extra step of selecting through a menu.
Chang in view of Hiramatsu and Suto does not seem to explicitly teach a grip part that intersects an axial direction of the pen part and is in contact with a palm of the user.
However, in a related art of providing a stylus input device, Hatano teaches a stylus with a grip part that intersects an axial direction of a pen part and is in contact with a palm of the user (Hatano, Figs. 1, 6, 8, 11 and 12, grip portion 120 and 120A in contact with palm of user when holding the device).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art further include a grip part as suggested by Hatano in the stylus of Chang in view of Hiramatsu and Suto. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to allow the stylus to be easily held by a user when using it in a three-dimensional input and can accommodate both right-handed and left-handed users (Hatano, [0014]).
Hatano further teaches that when holding the device as suggested, the hand would be in a state where a palm contacts the grip part, a thumb and an index finger directly press a first and a second sides of the axial direction portion, respectively (Hatano, Figs. 6, 8 and 12, when a user is holding the device, both the index finger and thumb of the user is in contact with the axial direction portion of the device and the contact points are on different side surfaces of the axial direction portion).
When incorporating the design of Hatano into the pen of Chang in view of Hiramatsu and Suto, where the two pressure pads are located on two different side surfaces of the axial direction portion. And when the user is holding the device as show in Figs. 6, 8 and 12 of Hatano, the user’s fingers would be in contact with the two pressure pads respectively.
Regarding claim 2, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano teaches the limitations of the claim 1 and further teaches a battery that is arranged in the grip part along a longitudinal direction of the grip part (Hatano, Figs. 1, 9 and 11, battery 191 inside the grip part).
Regarding claim 3, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano teaches the limitations of the claim 2 and further teaches the grip part has a first portion including a first end adjacent to the pen part and a second portion including a second end away from the pen part, and wherein the battery is arranged in the second portion of the grip part (Hatano, Fig. 2, two grip portions and battery can be in either or both of the grip portion).
Regarding claim 4, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano teaches the limitations of the claim 2 and further teaches the pen part has a circuit, and wherein the battery, in operation, supplies electric power to the circuit (Chang, Fig. 3 and [0042], control circuitry and power management unit).
Regarding claim 14, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano teaches the limitations of the claim 1 and further teaches the first pressure pad includes a first capacitive touch sensor and a first pressure sensitive sensor, and
wherein the second pressure pad includes a second capacitive touch sensor and a second pressure sensitive sensor (Chang, [0032] touch sensor 50 may have capacitive sensor electrodes; Chang, [0040], sensor 50 may also incorporate force sensor).
Regarding claim 16, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano teaches the limitations of the claim 1 and further teaches a first communication device that, in operation, transmits the first pressure detected by the first pressure pad or the second pressure detected by the second pressure pad (Chang, Fig. 3, wireless circuitry 72 and internal connection between sensors and control circuitry).
Regarding claim 17, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano teaches the limitations of the claim 16 and further teaches the first communication device, in operation, transmits the first pressure detected by the first pressure pad or the second pressure detected by the second pressure pad, to the computer configured to control the thickness of the line of the three-dimensional object in the extended reality space based on the first pressure detected by the first pressure pad or the second pressure detected by the second pressure pad (Chang, Fig. 3, wireless circuitry 72 and internal connection between sensors and control circuitry; Suto, [0416], thickness of the line is designated in accordance with the magnitude of gripping force applied to the pen 80 during the rendering process).
Regarding claim 18, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano teaches the limitations of the claim 16 and further teaches a pen pressure sensor that, in operation, detects a third pressure applied to a pen tip of the pen part (Chang, [0021] and [0028], force sensor may detect tip press event).
Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano teaches that communication is done but does not seem to explicitly teach a second communication device that, in operation, transmits the third pressure detected by the pen pressure sensor, wherein the second communication device is different from the first communication device.
The recitation of the second communication can be achieve by separating the communication device of Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano into multiple communication devices. And according to MPEP 2144 V.C. making separable does not patently distinguish the invention from the prior art. Hence, claim 18 is not patentable over Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano.
Regarding claim 19, Chang teaches a computer (Chang, external equipment 40) that communicates with a controller including a pen part that is formed in a pen shape, a first pressure pad that includes a first pressure sensitive sensor provided in the pen part, and a second pressure pad that includes a second pressure sensitive sensor provided in the pen part (Chang, Fig. 3, stylus 10 with control circuitry 60; Chang, [0032], Figs. 1 and 5-9 multiple touch sensors 50 are arranged on the body of the stylus; Chang, [0032] touch sensor 50 may have capacitive sensor electrodes; Chang, [0040], sensor 50 may also incorporate force sensor), and a pen tip portion that is a tip of the pen part and receives a pressure when a user presses the pen tip portion against a surface (Chang, [0028], force sensor to detect force-based input when press tip of stylus against a surface), the first pressure pad being different from the second pressure pad (Chang, Fig. 9 the electrodes 52-1 of touch sensor 50 can be formed in a separate manner on the body of the stylus), the first pressure pad is disposed on a first side surface of a pen portion corresponding to a thumb contact region and the second pressure pad is disposed on a second side surface of the pen portion corresponding to an index finger contact region (Chang, [0032], Figs. 1 and 5-9 multiple touch sensors 50 are arranged on the body of the stylus; Chang, [0040], sensor 50 may incorporate force sensor and can be used to detect user pinch or gripped the stylus tightly; Chang, Fig. 7, the different sensor electrodes corresponds to the two side of the thumb and index finger), the computer comprising:
a communication device that, in operation, receives information transmitted from the controller (Chang, [0048]-[0049], support wireless communication between stylus and external equipment 40; it is inherent that a communication device is included in order to perform wireless communication); and
a processor (Chang, [0035], equipment 40 gather input from stylus and output image such as line 70; it is inherent that in order to receive input and render image, a processor is included),
wherein the processor, in operation, controls, based on the information received by the communication device and detected by the first capacitive touch sensor or the second capacitive touch sensor, outputting of a pen pressure value that is related to a pressing value detected by the first pressure sensitive sensor or the second pressure sensitive sensor (Chang, [0035], equipment 40 gather input from stylus and output image such as line 70; Chang, [0032], Figs. 1 and 5-9 multiple touch sensors 50 are arranged on the body of the stylus; Chang, [0040], sensor 50 may incorporate force sensor and can be used to detect user pinch or gripped the stylus tightly and adjusting drawing precision based on the measurement).
Chang does not seem to explicitly teach the first pressure sensitive sensor detects a first pressure and the second pressure sensitive sensor detects a second pressure, and
the first pressure pad operable independently from the second pressure pad to detect the first pressure independently of the second pressure different form the first pressure.
However, in a related art of sensing pressure on the body of a stylus/input device, Hiramatsu teaches pressure sensors/pads on the body of a stylus/input device where a first pressure sensitive sensor detects a first pressure and a second pressure sensitive sensor detects a second pressure, and
a first pressure pad operable independently from a second pressure pad to detect a first pressure independently of a second pressure different form the first pressure (Hiramatsu, Figs. 3A, 3B and 5A, pressure sensed at different points A-D; Hiramatsu, [0035], detect pressures independently at points A-D).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to sense pressures independently as suggested by Hiramatsu in the stylus/input device of Chang. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to discriminate unintended input made by a user when using the stylus/input device (Hiramatsu, [0035]).
While Chang in view of Hiramatsu teaches the stylus can also be used for spray air brush in [0035], Chang in view of Hiramatsu does not seem to explicitly teach controls a three-dimensional object in an extended reality space,
the processor outputting a link thickness in the extended reality space, and
wherein the line thickness in the extended reality space is controlled based on the first pressure detected by the first pressure pad or the second pressure detected by the second pressure pad.
However, in a related art of using a stylus as an input device, Suto teaches an output is a three-dimensional object in an extended reality space and that is operated away from a surface to input a line of the three-dimensional object (Suto, [0007] and [0410], render a line in midair),
wherein the line thickness in the extended reality space is controlled based on a first pressure detected by a first pressure pad or a second pressure detected by a second pressure pad (Suto, [0416], thickness of the line is designated in accordance with the magnitude of gripping force applied to the pen 80 during the rendering process).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to include the adjustment of thickness of lines rendered as suggested by Suto in the system of Chang in view of Hiramatsu. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to improve user experience by allowing the change of thickness without performing an extra step of selecting through a menu.
Chang in view of Hiramatsu and Suto does not seem to explicitly teach a grip part that intersects an axial direction of the pen part and is in contact with a palm of the user.
However, in a related art of providing a stylus input device, Hatano teaches a stylus with a grip part that intersects an axial direction of a pen part and is in contact with a palm of the user (Hatano, Figs. 1, 6, 8, 11 and 12, grip portion 120 and 120A in contact with palm of user when holding the device).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art further include a grip part as suggested by Hatano in the stylus of Chang in view of Hiramatsu. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to allow the stylus to be easily held by a user when using it in a three-dimensional input and can accommodate both right-handed and left-handed users (Hatano, [0014]).
Hatano further teaches that when holding the device as suggested, the hand would be in a state where a palm contacts the grip part, a thumb and an index finger directly press a first and a second sides of the axial direction portion, respectively (Hatano, Figs. 6, 8 and 12, when a user is holding the device, both the index finger and thumb of the user is in contact with the axial direction portion of the device and the contact points are on different side surfaces of the axial direction portion).
When incorporating the design of Hatano into the pen of Chang in view of Hiramatsu, where the two pressure pads are located on two different side surfaces of the axial direction portion. And when the user is holding the device as show in Figs. 6, 8 and 12 of Hatano, the user’s fingers would be in contact with the two pressure pads respectively.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US Patent Pub. No. 2016/0179222 A1) in view of Hiramatsu (US Patent Pub. No. 2009/0267896 A1), Suto et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2022/0067356 A1), Hatano (Japanese Patent Publication JP2006259267A) and Yang et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0124437 A1)
Regarding claim 5, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano teaches the limitations of the claim 2. Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano does not seem to explicitly teach the grip part has a button that operable by the user, and wherein the button includes:
a tactile switch that, in operation, is turned on and off, and
a light emitting diode which, in operation, detects the controller by the computer.
However, in a related art of providing a stylus, Yang teaches a rear end has a button that operable by the user, and wherein the button (Yang, Fig. 10, button unit 41) includes:
a tactile switch that, in operation, is turned on and off (Yang, [0033]-[0034] and Fig. 11, sensing unit 30 detects if the button is pressed), and
a light emitting diode which, in operation, detects the controller by the computer (Yang, [0033]-[0034] and Fig. 11, light emitting unit/diode 32 change color according to the press).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art further include a button at the rear end as suggested by Yang in the stylus of Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to allow user to intuitively change the color desired and remind the user what color is selected (Yang, [0004] and [0034]).
When provided at the rear end of the stylus for Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano, it will correspond to the grip part of the stylus.
Regarding claim 6, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano and Yang teaches the limitations of the claim 5 and further teaches an upper surface of the button includes a transparent member (Yang, [0033], button 41 made by a transparent material), and
wherein the light emitting diode is arranged under the transparent member (Yang, Fig. 11, light emitting unit/diode 32).
Claims 7-10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US Patent Pub. No. 2016/0179222 A1) in view of Hiramatsu (US Patent Pub. No. 2009/0267896 A1), Suto et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2022/0067356 A1), Hatano (Japanese Patent Publication JP2006259267A) and Tseng et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2014/0320462 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano teaches the limitations of the claim 2. Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano does not seem to explicitly teach a haptic element;
wherein the haptic element is arranged in the grip part.
However, in a related art of providing a stylus, Tseng teaches a stylus provided with a haptic element;
wherein the haptic element is arranged in the rear end (Tseng, Fig. 2, second region 110_c; Tseng, [0025], haptic feedback unit 115 can be disposed in a second region 110_c).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art further include a haptic element at the rear end as suggested by Tseng in the stylus of Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide feedback with respect to the input of the user while maintaining a strength of the feedback (Tseng, [0025]).
When provided at the rear end of the stylus for Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano, it will correspond to the grip part of the stylus.
Regarding claim 8, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano and Tseng teaches the limitations of the claim 7 and further teaches the haptic element is arranged in the grip part in a vicinity of a portion gripped by the user (Hatano, Fig. 6, user holds part of the rear end/gripping portion 120).
Regarding claim 9, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano and Tseng teaches the limitations of the claim 7 and further teaches the haptic element is arranged in the grip part at a position adjacent to the pen part (Hatano, Fig. 1, rear end/grip portion 120 is adjacent to the pen part).
Regarding claim 10, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano and Tseng teaches the limitations of the claim 7 and further teaches the grip part has a first side surface positioned on a pen tip side of the pen part and a second side surface positioned on a pen rear side of the pen part (Hatano, Fig. 1, the two sides of the grip portion 120, one facing the tip 130 and one away from tip 130), and
wherein the haptic element is arranged in a vicinity of the first side surface (the combination of Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano and Tseng teaches haptic element in the entirety of grip portion 120, hence in the vicinity of the surface).
Regarding claim 13, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano and Tseng teaches the limitations of the claim 7 and further teaches the grip part has a first portion including a first end adjacent to the pen part and a second portion including a second end away from the pen part (Hatano, Fig. 1, portion closer to the pen portion and portion further away from the pen portion), and
wherein the haptic element is arranged in the second portion of the grip part (the combination of Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano and Tseng teaches haptic element in the entirety of grip portion 120, hence in the second portion as well).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US Patent Pub. No. 2016/0179222 A1) in view of Hiramatsu (US Patent Pub. No. 2009/0267896 A1), Suto et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2022/0067356 A1), Hatano (Japanese Patent Publication JP2006259267A), Tseng et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2014/0320462 A1) and Ide et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2021/0072847 A1)
Regarding claim 11, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano and Tseng teaches the limitations of the claim 10. Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano and Tseng does not seem to explicitly teach the grip part has a recess portion provided in a vicinity of the second side surface.
However, in a related art of providing a stylus, Ide teaches a grip part has a recess portion provided in a vicinity of a surface away from the tip of the stylus (Ide, Fig. 14A, recess where the area between thumb and index finger rest).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art further include a recess on a surface away from the tip of a stylus as suggested by Ide in the stylus of Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano and Tseng. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to better accommodate the ergonomic of a human hand (Ide, Fig. 14A).
Regarding claim 12, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano, Tseng and Ide teaches the limitations of the claim 11 and further teaches the battery is arranged between the haptic element and the recess portion (Hatano, Fig. 1, battery is in interior of the grip portion 120 and the combination teaching teaches haptic element in the entirety of the surface grip portion 120 and the recess is on a surface away from the tip of the stylus, hence, the battery is between the haptic element facing the tip of the stylus and the recess facing away from the tip of the stylus).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (US Patent Pub. No. 2016/0179222 A1) in view of Hiramatsu (US Patent Pub. No. 2009/0267896 A1), Suto et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2022/0067356 A1), and Hatano (Japanese Patent Publication JP2006259267A) and Fukushima et al. (US Patent Pub. No. 2009/0114459 A1)
Regarding claim 20, Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano teaches the limitations of the claim 1. Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano does not seem to explicitly teach a pen tip portion is a tip of the pen part and receives a pen pressure when a user presses the pen tip portion against a surface, and
wherein the pen tip portion is interposed between the first pressure pad and the second pressure pad.
However, in a related art of detecting a force/pressure of a stylus/pen tip, Fukushima teaches a pen tip portion is a tip of the pen part and receives a pen pressure when a user presses the pen tip portion against a surface (Fukushima, [0083], detect pressure applied to the pen-tip), and
wherein the pen tip portion is interposed between the exterior housing of the stylus/pen body (Fukushima, Fig. 1, pen-tip 3a inside/interposed of the exterior housing 8).
Before the time of the first effective filing of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person ordinary skill in the art to implement the force sensor for a stylus/pen tip of Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano in the manner as suggested by Fukushima. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to have a high accuracy and sensitivity of pressure detection (Fukushima, [0014]).
Furthermore, the first pressure pad and second pressure pad of Chang in view of Hiramatsu, Suto and Hatano are disposed on the housing of the stylus/pen and the pen tip portion of Fukushima is interpose between the housing of the stylus/pen. Hence, when incorporating the pen tip portion of Fukushima in the stylus/pen of Chang to be inside the housing, it would also be interposed between the first pressure pad and second pressure pad. In view of that, claim 20 is unpatentable over the combination of Chang, Hiramatsu, Suto, Hatano and Fukushima.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/31/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, Fig. 7 of Chang shows that when a user holding the pen, the thumb and index finger of the user directly press first and second pressure pads respectively. And Figs. 6, 8 and 12 of Hatano shows that even incorporating Hatano’s grip part, the using holding the device would still rest the user’s thumb and index finger on different sides of the pen. In light of that, the combination of references cited above would still teaches the limitation of the amended claims.
Conclusion
/DONG HUI LIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629