DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed 1/02/26.
Response to Amendment
The examiner acknowledges the amendment of claims 1,5-6,13,15.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argued that the prior art of Ledvina and Tertinek is silent on teaching the limitation of operating the anchor in a second mode, the second mode comprising second ranging operations for determining a second ranging result or the anchor relative to the key. It is the examiner’s position that the reference of Ledvina teaches performing a first and second ranging operation between the anchor (vehicle antenna) and the key device between (fig. 1, paragraph 023-024), Tertinek teaches the use of UWB-based radar for performing the ranging function based on radar signal reflection by the target object (paragraph 035, 050). the first ranging result fulfils the predetermined condition, operating the anchor in a second mode, the second mode comprising second RF ranging operations for determining a second ranging result for the anchor relative to the key device, and RF operations for determining a result for the anchor relative to a holder of the key device (paragraph 074). The reference of Tertinek is relied upon for teaching determining the position information associated with the key device based on the second ranging result and the radar ranging result (the radar is used to detect the moving human being, the detection of the kicking action and location of the mobile device is used to operate the vehicle trunk, paragraph 035).
Claim Objections
Claims 18-20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 18-20 depends on cancelled claim 7. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, and 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ledvina et al. US Patent Application Publication 20190135229 in view of Tertinek US Patent Application Publication 20230156429.
Regarding claim 1, Ledvina teaches a method of operating an RF access system, the system comprising an anchor (antennas on vehicle, fig.2) arranged at a predetermined location and configured to communicate with one or more key devices (paragraph 033) the method comprising:
operating the anchor in a first mode, the first mode comprising first RF ranging operations for determining a first ranging result for the anchor relative to a key device (paragraph 068);
determining whether the first ranging result fulfills a predetermined condition (measured distance and authentication, paragraph 063);
if the first ranging result fulfils the predetermined condition, operating the anchor in a second mode, the second mode comprising second RF ranging operations for determining a second ranging result for the anchor relative to the key device, and RF operations for determining a result for the anchor relative to a holder of the key device (paragraph 074); and
determining position information associated with the key device based on the second ranging result (paragraph 073-074). Ledvina teaches the used of UWB signal for ranging but is silent on teaching performing a radar operation determining the position information associated with the key device based on the second ranging result and the radar result. the use of radar signal for ranging. Tertinek in an analogous art teaches performing a ranging operation using UWB signal and performing a radar operation (paragraph 035, 050). the use of UWB-based radar for performing the ranging function based on radar signal reflection by the target object (paragraph 035, 050). Tertinek teaches determining the position information associated with the key device based on the second ranging result and the radar ranging result (the radar is used to detect the moving human being, the detection of the kicking action and location of the mobile device is used to operate the vehicle trunk, paragraph 035)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Ledvina as disclosed by Tertinek because such modification represents the substitution of one frequency band for another for producing the expected result of detecting objects over the desired range and further representing the improvement of the system of Ledvina by combing the result of the ranging operation and the radar operation to operate the vehicle trunk. .
Regarding claim 2, Ledvina teaches the first ranging result comprises a first plurality of distance estimates, each distance estimate being indicative of an estimated distance between the anchor and the key device (paragraph 068), and wherein the second ranging result comprises a second plurality of distance estimates, each distance estimate being indicative of an estimated distance between the anchor and the key device (paragraph 074).
Regarding claim 3, Ledvina is silent on teaching the second ranging result further comprises a plurality of angle estimates, each angle estimate being indicative of an angle between the anchor and the key device. Tertinek in an analogous art teaches the second ranging result further comprises a plurality of angle estimates, each angle estimate being indicative of an angle between the anchor and the key device (paragraph 049).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Ledvina as disclosed by Tertinek because such modification represents the substitution of one distance measurement means for another and producing the predictable result of determining the distance between the mobile device and the anchor device.
Regarding claim 4, Ledvina teaches the result comprises a plurality of position estimates indicative of a position of the holder of the key device relative to the anchor (paragraph 063). Ledvina teaches the used of UWB signal for ranging but is silent on teaching the use of radar signal for ranging. Tertinek in an analogous art teaches the use of UWB-based radar for performing the ranging function (paragraph 035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Ledvina as disclosed by Tertinek because such modification represents the substitution of one frequency band for another for producing the expected result of detecting objects over the desired range.
Regarding claim 5, Ledvina teaches determining the position information comprises identifying one or more distance estimate (paragraph 030-031). Ledvina is silent on teaching the second ranging result further comprises a plurality of angle estimates, each angle estimate being indicative of an angle between the anchor and the key device. Tertinek in an analogous art teaches the second ranging result further comprises a plurality of angle estimates, each angle estimate being indicative of an angle between the anchor and the key device (paragraph 049). Tertinek teaches determining that the second ranging result matches the radar result by determining that the mobile device is in the proximity of the vehicle and the radar detect the kicking action of the user behind the bumper in order to open the trunk (paragraph 035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Ledvina as disclosed by Tertinek because such modification represents the substitution of one frequency band for another for producing the expected result of detecting objects over the desired range and further representing the improvement of the system of Ledvina by combing the result of the ranging operation and the radar operation to operate the vehicle trunk. .
Regarding claim 14, Ledvina teaches operating the anchor or respectively the plurality of anchors in an initial mode in order to establish communication with the key device via another RF communication channel prior to operating anchor or respectively the anchors in the first mode (pairing mode, paragraph 034).
Regarding claim 15, Ledvina teaches an RF access system, comprising:
at least one anchor arranged at a predetermined location (antennas on vehicle, fig.2)and configured to communicate with one or more key devices (paragraph 033); and
a controller (ECU) in communication with the at least one anchor,
wherein the at least one anchor and the controller are configured to perform ranging (paragraph 053,064).
operate the anchor in a first mode, the first mode comprising first RF ranging operations for determining a first ranging result for the anchor relative to a key device (two different wireless protocol is used for ranging, paragraph 03,018,068); determine whether the first ranging result fulfills a predetermined condition (authentication and coarse ranging is first conducted with BLE, measured distance, paragraph 018,063,0120);
when the first ranging result fulfils the predetermined condition, operate the anchor in a second mode, the second mode comprising second RF ranging operations for determining a second ranging result for the anchor relative to the key device (second protocol using UWB is used for ranging, paragraph 021-022,030,045-046,074). Ledvina teaches determining position information associated with the key device based on the second ranging result (paragraph 073-074). Ledvina teaches the used of UWB signal for ranging but is silent on teaching the use of radar signal for ranging. Tertinek in an analogous art teaches the use of UWB-based radar for performing the ranging function based on radar signal reflection by the target object (paragraph 035, 050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Ledvina as disclosed by Tertinek because such modification represents the substitution of one frequency band for another for producing the expected result of detecting objects over the desired range.
Regarding claim 16, Ledvina teaches the UWB measurement result comprises a plurality of position estimates indicative of a position of the holder of the key device relative to the anchor (fig. 4, paragraph 074,114). Ledvina teaches the used of UWB signal for ranging but is silent on teaching the use of radar signal for ranging. Tertinek in an analogous art teaches the use of UWB-based radar for performing the ranging function based on radar signal reflection by the target object (paragraph 035, 050).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Ledvina as disclosed by Tertinek because such modification represents the substitution of one frequency band for another for producing the expected result of detecting objects over the desired range.
Regarding claim 17, Ledvina teaches determining the position information comprises identifying one or more distance estimate (paragraph 030-031). Ledvina is silent on teaching the second ranging result further comprises a plurality of angle estimates, each angle estimate being indicative of an angle between the anchor and the key device. Tertinek in an analogous art teaches the second ranging result further comprises a plurality of angle estimates, each angle estimate being indicative of an angle between the anchor and the key device (paragraph 049). Tertinek teaches determining that the second ranging result matches the radar result by determining that the mobile device is in the proximity of the vehicle and the radar detect the kicking action of the user behind the bumper in order to open the trunk (paragraph 035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Ledvina as disclosed by Tertinek because such modification represents the substitution of one frequency band for another for producing the expected result of detecting objects over the desired range and further representing the improvement of the system of Ledvina by combing the result of the ranging operation and the radar operation to operate the vehicle trunk. .
.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 6,8-13, the prior art of record is silent on teaching selecting an anchor of the subset of anchors based on one or more signal parameters; placing the other anchors of the subset into a standby mode;
Second RF ranging operation for determining a second ranging result for the selected anchor.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERNAL U BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686