Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remark’s filed 24 May 2026 AD, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-24, and 26-30 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John in view of John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John HPA in further view of Zhou et al. (CN 111182576 A) or Zhou for claims 1, 2, 7-9, 11, 12, 17-19, 21, 22, and 27-29.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John in view of John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John HPA in further view of Zhou et al. (CN 111182576 A) or Zhou in further view of Tsai (US 2012/0088495 A1) for claims 3, 4, 13, 14, 23, and 24.
However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John in view of John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John HPA in further view of Zhou et al. (CN 111182576 A) or Zhou in view of Wallentin (US 2021/0007041 A1) or Wallentin for claims 6, 10, 16, 20, 26, and 30.
John teaches a user equipment or UE transmitting a radio resource control or RRC message including a first establishment cause value indicating the UE fails to possesses priority access. In addition to a UE transmitting a RRC message including a first establishment cause value indicating the UE fails to possesses priority access, John discloses determining the priority access may be used by the UE, a second RRC message including a second establishment cause value indicating the UE possesses priority access and accessing a wireless network with the priority access. However, John fails to explicitly teach determining the priority access may be utilized based on a request to use the priority access received by a user interface and transmitting the response to request to use priority access through a second RRC message.
Zhou teaches determining the priority access may be utilized based on a request to use the priority access received by a user interface and transmitting the response to request to use priority access through a second RRC message.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7-9, 11, 12, 17-19, 21, 22, and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John in view of John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John HPA in further view of Zhou et al. (CN 111182576 A) or Zhou.
Claim 1 (Currently Amended)
John teaches,
An apparatus for wireless communications, comprising:
at least one memory comprising instructions; and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory and configured to:…
(See John paragraph 0054, Memory 430 may include any type of dynamic storage device that may store information and/or instructions, for execution by processor 420, and/or any type of non-volatile storage device that may store information for use by processor 420.)
…the first RRC message including a first establishment cause value indicating that the apparatus does not have priority access;
(See John paragraph 0060, If UE device 110-2 determines paging messages does not have a paging priority indicator (block 510—no), UE device 110-2 may perform a normal RRC procedure (block 515). For example, UE device 110-2 may respond to the paging message by submitting a RRC connection request as a non-HPA subscriber.)
Shows the transmission of a RRC message with no priority access as non- high priority access or HPA subscriber by UE device 110-2
(See John paragraph 0088, UE device 110-1 may be attached to network with RRC establishment cause HPA, and UE device 110-2 may be attached to the network with a non-HPA establishment cause...)
Shows UE device 110-2 device attached to the network with a non-HPA establishment cause indicating no priority access
determine that priority access may be used by the apparatus;…
(See John paragraph 0061, Alternatively, if UE device 110-2 determines the paging message includes a paging priority indicator (block 510—yes), UE device 110-2 may modify the access class or access identity (block 520).)
…the second RRC message including a second establishment cause value indicating that the apparatus has priority access; and
(See John paragraph 0062, UE device 110-2 may then send a RRC connection request with elevated priority to RAN 115 (block 525). For example, UE device 110-2 may generate and send a RRC connection request to base station 120. The RRC connection request may include the elevated status indicator (e.g., for HPA status).)
access a wireless network using the priority access.
(See John paragraph 0063, Base station 120 may receive the RRC connection request with the HPA status, admit UE device 110-2, and temporally elevate UE device 110-2 to elevated priority status (e.g., HPA) prior to establishing a call session.)
However, John fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the determination that priority access may be used is based on a request to use priority access received via a user interface; transmit, in response to the request to use priority access, a second RRC message,…
Nevertheless, Zhou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the determination that priority access may be used is based on a request to use priority access received via a user interface;
(See Zhou page 8 paragraph 5, ...the user can be adjusted according to the actual need to select the implementation, and setting corresponding options in the UE interface priority access cell indication information by the UE interface operation to set the policy of priority access cell, the UE according to the user interface setting result to determine and set the priority access cell indication parameter value of the information cell, and reporting to the network side. In this way, the user according to own preference and needs to set the desired priority access type of the cell.)
transmit, in response to the request to use priority access, a second RRC message,…
(See Zhou page 7 paragraph 11, Specifically, a UE in unlicensed spectrum access capability can by expanding an existing RRC message or a newly added RRC message carries cell priority access cell indication information, sending the information to the network side.)
Shows the user equipment or UE sending the priority access indication to the base station by an RRC message
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of transmitting a first RRC message indicating no priority access, transmitting a second RRC message with priority access, and accessing a wireless network as disclosed by John with determining the priority access based on a request to use priority access received by a user interface and transmitting a response to the request to use priority access with a second RRC message as disclosed by Zhou to increase the user-friendless of the system (i.e. to increase the amount of control by the user to instigate a priority access request).
However, John fails to explicitly teach,
…transmit a first radio resource control (RRC) message while the apparatus is configured for priority access,…
Nevertheless, John HPA, teaches,
…transmit a first radio resource control (RRC) message while the apparatus is configured for priority access,…
(See John HPA FIG. 8A)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of transmitting a first RRC message indicating no priority access, transmitting a second RRC message with priority access, and accessing a wireless network as disclosed by John with an user equipment or UE transmitting a RRC message while the UE is configured for priority access as disclosed by John with HPA to increase efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the probability of successful connection between a high priority access or HPA UE and a non-HPA UE).
Claim 2 (Original)
John teaches,
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine that priority access may be used based on an indication of network congestion.
(See John paragraph 0065, Upon receiving the paging message (608), eNB 220/gNB 310 may detect RAN congestion (610), and identify the paging message as having a high priority status (612). ENB 220/gNB 310 may send a paging message, along with a paging priority, via RAN 115, to UE device 110-2 (614).)
The motivation to combine John, Zhou, and John HPA in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 7 (Original)
John teaches,
The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the stored priority access configuration information is stored on one of a universal subscriber identity module, or the at least one memory.
(See John paragraph 0061, According to an implementation, UE device 110-2 may update a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) ACC to AI 1, 2 or 11-15 (for 5G) or AC 11-15 (for 4G).)
The motivation to combine John, Zhou, and John HPA in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 8 (Original)
John teaches,
The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:
receive a message including priority access configuration information; and
cause the priority access configuration information to be stored in the at least one memory.
(See John paragraph 0061, ...upon reception of the priority paging message, the UE device 110-2 may update the Access Control Class (ACC) Elementary File (EF) defined from the current AI/AC to a corresponding determined AI/AC value based on the paging priority indicator to transition into a “Public Safety mode” or “PS mode.”)
The motivation to combine John, Zhou, and John HPA in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9 (Original)
John teaches,
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first RRC message and the second RRC message comprises RRC Connection Request messages.
(See John paragraph 0060, If UE device 110-2 determines paging messages does not have a paging priority indicator (block 510—no), UE device 110-2 may perform a normal RRC procedure (block 515). For example, UE device 110-2 may respond to the paging message by submitting a RRC connection request as a non-HPA subscriber.)
Shows the first RRC message as a RRC Connection Request
(See John paragraph 0062, UE device 110-2 may then send a RRC connection request with elevated priority to RAN 115 (block 525). For example, UE device 110-2 may generate and send a RRC connection request to base station 120. The RRC connection request may include the elevated status indicator (e.g., for HPA status).)
Shows the second RRC message as a RRC Connection Request
The motivation to combine John, Zhou, and John HPA in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11 (Currently Amended)
John teaches,
A method for wireless communications, comprising:…
…the first RRC message including a first establishment cause value indicating that the apparatus does not have priority access;
(See John paragraph 0060, If UE device 110-2 determines paging messages does not have a paging priority indicator (block 510—no), UE device 110-2 may perform a normal RRC procedure (block 515). For example, UE device 110-2 may respond to the paging message by submitting a RRC connection request as a non-HPA subscriber.)
Shows the transmission of a RRC message with no priority access as non- high priority access or HPA subscriber by UE device 110-2
(See John paragraph 0088, UE device 110-1 may be attached to network with RRC establishment cause HPA, and UE device 110-2 may be attached to the network with a non-HPA establishment cause...)
Shows UE device 110-2 device attached to the network with a non-HPA establishment cause indicating no priority access
determining that priority access may be used by the apparatus;…
(See John paragraph 0061, Alternatively, if UE device 110-2 determines the paging message includes a paging priority indicator (block 510—yes), UE device 110-2 may modify the access class or access identity (block 520).)
…the second RRC message including a second establishment cause value indicating that the apparatus has priority access; and
(See John paragraph 0062, UE device 110-2 may then send a RRC connection request with elevated priority to RAN 115 (block 525). For example, UE device 110-2 may generate and send a RRC connection request to base station 120. The RRC connection request may include the elevated status indicator (e.g., for HPA status).)
accessing a wireless network using the priority access.
(See John paragraph 0063, Base station 120 may receive the RRC connection request with the HPA status, admit UE device 110-2, and temporally elevate UE device 110-2 to elevated priority status (e.g., HPA) prior to establishing a call session.)
However, John fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the determination that priority access may be used is based on a request to use priority access received via a user interface; transmitting, in response to the request to use priority access, a second RRC message,…
Nevertheless, Zhou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the determination that priority access may be used is based on a request to use priority access received via a user interface;
(See Zhou page 8 paragraph 5, ...the user can be adjusted according to the actual need to select the implementation, and setting corresponding options in the UE interface priority access cell indication information by the UE interface operation to set the policy of priority access cell, the UE according to the user interface setting result to determine and set the priority access cell indication parameter value of the information cell, and reporting to the network side. In this way, the user according to own preference and needs to set the desired priority access type of the cell.)
transmitting, in response to the request to use priority access, a second RRC message,…
(See Zhou page 7 paragraph 11, Specifically, a UE in unlicensed spectrum access capability can by expanding an existing RRC message or a newly added RRC message carries cell priority access cell indication information, sending the information to the network side.)
Shows the user equipment or UE sending the priority access indication to the base station by an RRC message
The motivation to combine John and Zhou in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, John fails to explicitly teach,
…transmitting a first radio resource control (RRC) message while an apparatus is configured for priority access,…
Nevertheless, John HPA, teaches,
…transmitting a first radio resource control (RRC) message while an apparatus is configured for priority access,…
(See John HPA FIG. 8A)
The motivation to combine John and John HPA in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 12 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 12 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine John, Zhou, and John HPA in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 17 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 17 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine John, Zhou, and John HPA in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 18 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 18 as stated in claim 8. The motivation to combine John, Zhou, and John HPA in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 19 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 19 as stated in claim 9. The motivation to combine John, Zhou, and John HPA in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 21 (Currently Amended)
John teaches,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon instructions that, when executed by at least one processor, cause the at least one processor to:…
(See John paragraph 0056, Device 400 may perform these operations in response to processor 420 executing software instructions contained in a computer-readable medium, such as memory 430. The software instructions may be read into memory 430 from another computer-readable medium or from another device. The software instructions contained in memory 430 may cause processor 420 to perform processes...)
…the first RRC message including a first establishment cause value indicating that an apparatus does not have priority access;
(See John paragraph 0060, If UE device 110-2 determines paging messages does not have a paging priority indicator (block 510—no), UE device 110-2 may perform a normal RRC procedure (block 515). For example, UE device 110-2 may respond to the paging message by submitting a RRC connection request as a non-HPA subscriber.)
Shows the transmission of a RRC message with no priority access as non- high priority access or HPA subscriber by UE device 110-2
(See John paragraph 0088, UE device 110-1 may be attached to network with RRC establishment cause HPA, and UE device 110-2 may be attached to the network with a non-HPA establishment cause...)
Shows UE device 110-2 device attached to the network with a non-HPA establishment cause indicating no priority access
determine that priority access may be used by the apparatus;…
(See John paragraph 0061, Alternatively, if UE device 110-2 determines the paging message includes a paging priority indicator (block 510—yes), UE device 110-2 may modify the access class or access identity (block 520).)
…the second RRC message including a second establishment cause value indicating that the apparatus has priority access; and
(See John paragraph 0062, UE device 110-2 may then send a RRC connection request with elevated priority to RAN 115 (block 525). For example, UE device 110-2 may generate and send a RRC connection request to base station 120. The RRC connection request may include the elevated status indicator (e.g., for HPA status).)
access a wireless network using the priority access.
(See John paragraph 0063, Base station 120 may receive the RRC connection request with the HPA status, admit UE device 110-2, and temporally elevate UE device 110-2 to elevated priority status (e.g., HPA) prior to establishing a call session.)
However, John fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the determination that priority access may be used is based on a request to use priority access received via a user interface; transmit, in response to the request to use priority access, a second RRC message,…
Nevertheless, Zhou, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the determination that priority access may be used is based on a request to use priority access received via a user interface;
(See Zhou page 8 paragraph 5, ...the user can be adjusted according to the actual need to select the implementation, and setting corresponding options in the UE interface priority access cell indication information by the UE interface operation to set the policy of priority access cell, the UE according to the user interface setting result to determine and set the priority access cell indication parameter value of the information cell, and reporting to the network side. In this way, the user according to own preference and needs to set the desired priority access type of the cell.)
transmit, in response to the request to use priority access, a second RRC message,…
(See Zhou page 7 paragraph 11, Specifically, a UE in unlicensed spectrum access capability can by expanding an existing RRC message or a newly added RRC message carries cell priority access cell indication information, sending the information to the network side.)
Shows the user equipment or UE sending the priority access indication to the base station by an RRC message
The motivation to combine John and Zhou in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
However, John fails to explicitly teach,
…transmit a first radio resource control (RRC) message while an apparatus is configured for priority access,…
Nevertheless, John HPA, teaches,
…transmit a first radio resource control (RRC) message while an apparatus is configured for priority access,…
(See John HPA FIG. 8A)
The motivation to combine John and John HPA in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 22 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 22 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine John, Zhou, and John HPA in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 27 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 27 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine John, Zhou, and John HPA in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 28 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 28 as stated in claim 8. The motivation to combine John, Zhou, and John HPA in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 29 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 29 as stated in claim 9. The motivation to combine John and Zhou in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 3, 4, 13, 14, 23, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John in view of John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John HPA in further view of Zhou et al. (CN 111182576 A) or Zhou in further view of Tsai (US 2012/0088495 A1).
Claim 3 (Original)
John fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 3. However, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the indication of network congestion comprises a message received from the wireless network, the message indicating that the wireless network is congested.
(See Tsai paragraph 0025, The service network 320 further prepares an RRC CONNECTION REJECT message with a rejection cause indicating network congestion, and then transmits the RRC CONNECTION REJECT message to the mobile communication apparatus 310 (step S420).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of transmitting a first RRC message indicating no priority access, transmitting a second RRC message with priority access, and accessing a wireless network as disclosed by John with transmitting an indication of network congestion from the wireless network as disclosed by Tsai to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the probability of lost data during transmission).
Claim 4 (Original)
John fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 4. However, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the indication of network congestion comprises no response to the first RRC message.
(See Tsai paragraph 0026, When receiving the RRC CONNECTION REQUEST message, the service network 320 tries to reply to the mobile communication apparatus 310 with an RRC CONNECTION REJECT message due to network congestion, but the delivery of the RRC CONNECTION REJECT message has failed. Since no response message has been received from the service network 320, the guard timer keeps counting and expires when T300 is reached.)
The motivation to combine John, John HPA, Zhou, and Tsai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 13 (Original)
John fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 13. However, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 13 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine John, John HPA, Zhou, and Tsai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 14 (Original)
John fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 14. However, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 14 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine John, John HPA, Zhou, and Tsai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 23 (Original)
John fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 23. However, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 23 as stated in claim 3. The motivation to combine John, John HPA, Zhou, and Tsai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claim 24 (Original)
John fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 24. However, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 24 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine John, John HPA, Zhou, and Tsai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 3.
Claims 6, 10, 16, 20, 26, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John in view of John et al. (US 2022/0182872 A1) or John HPA in further view of Zhou et al. (CN 111182576 A) or Zhou in view of Wallentin (US 2021/0007041 A1) or Wallentin.
Claim 6 (Original)
John teaches,
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to access stored priority access configuration information to determine a value for…
(See John paragraph 0061, According to an implementation, UE device 110-2 may update a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) ACC to AI 1, 2 or 11-15 (for 5G) or AC 11-15 (for 4G).)
Shows the updating of access class in the universal subscriber identity module or USIM
However, John fails to explicitly teach,
…the second establishment cause value.
Nevertheless, Wallentin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the second establishment cause value.
(See Wallentin paragraph 0129, ...if the appropriate access category indicates “emergency” (e.g. value 2), and the access identity of value 1 is configured in the UE, the establishment cause value “High Priority Emergency” is used.)
Shows upon establishment cause value updating from the access class or access identity updating
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the method of transmitting a first RRC message indicating no priority access, transmitting a second RRC message with priority access, and accessing a wireless network as disclosed by John with determining the priority access based upon user input from a user interface as disclosed by Wallentin to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of determining priority access).
Claim 10 (Original)
John teaches,
The apparatus of claim 1,… …are determined based on configured access class identity values.
(See John paragraph 0059, Since the terminating user (UE device 110-2) is a non-HPA subscriber, UE device 110-2 does not have the 5G Access Identity (AI) of 1-2, 11-15 or in 4G, the Special Access Class 11-15.)
Shows the configured access class identity values for the first establishment cause value
(See John paragraph 0061, ...upon reception of the priority paging message, the UE device 110-2 may update the Access Control Class (ACC) Elementary File (EF) defined from the current AI/AC to a corresponding determined AI/AC value based on the paging priority indicator to transition into a “Public Safety mode” or “PS mode.” According to an implementation, UE device 110-2 may update a universal subscriber identity module (USIM) ACC to AI 1, 2 or 11-15 (for 5G) or AC 11-15 (for 4G).)
Shows the configured access class identity values for the second establishment cause value
However, John fails to explicitly teach,
…wherein the first establishment cause value and the second establishment cause value…
Nevertheless, Wallentin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein the first establishment cause value and the second establishment cause value…
(See Wallentin paragraph 0129, ...if the appropriate access category indicates “emergency” (e.g. value 2), and the access identity of value 1 is configured in the UE, the establishment cause value “High Priority Emergency” is used.)
Shows upon establishment cause value updating from the access class or access identity updating
The motivation to combine John, John HPA, Zhou, and Wallentin in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 6.
Claim 16 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 6. However, John fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 6. Nevertheless, Wallentin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 6. The motivation to combine John, John HPA, Zhou, and Wallentin in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 6.
Claim 20 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 10. However, John fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 10. Nevertheless, Wallentin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 10. The motivation to combine John, John HPA, Zhou, and Wallentin in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 6.
Claim 26 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 6. However, John fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 6. Nevertheless, Wallentin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 16 as stated in claim 6. The motivation to combine John, John HPA, Zhou, and Wallentin in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 6.
Claim 30 (Original)
John teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 10. However, John fails to explicitly teach limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 10. Nevertheless, Wallentin, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 20 as stated in claim 10. The motivation to combine John, John HPA, Zhou, and Wallentin in dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 6.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong (US 20150341830 A1) teaches controlling connection and traffic transmission and reception with a Packet Data Network Gateway or PGW.
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/ Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414