DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention III in the reply filed on 08/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 08/17/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 7-8, have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 2-6, 9-20 remain pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 5-6, 13-14, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by WU et al. US 2019/0176636 (hereinafter Wu).
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses a balancing circuit (Title, Abstract and claim 1) comprising:
a plurality of cell group stacks (¶ 0049 and fig. 2, elements 110_1 to 110_10), each stack (110_1; as an example) comprising:
a plurality of cell groups (fig. 3, elements 120_1 to 120_4); and
a plurality of balancing controllers (¶ 0049; battery modules 120_1-120_ 4 and four corresponding battery module balance circuits MBC_1-MBC_4), each balancing controller configured to control a different circuit for balancing a different subset of the plurality of cell groups (Claim 1, ¶¶ 0049-0050, 0056-0057; The battery management unit BMU transmits the second charge command and/or the second discharge command to the battery module balance circuits MBC_1-MBC_ 4 ( or MBC_5-MBC_8, MBC_9-MBC_12, ..., MBC_37-MBC_ 40)); and
a plurality of stack controllers (fig. 2, elements [GBC_1…GBC_10]+BMU), each stack controller(GBC_1 + BMU; as an example) configured to control a different subset of the plurality of balancing controllers (¶¶ 0048, 0055-0057, and claim 1; the battery group balance circuits GBC_1-GBC_10 arrange in parallel and each of them connects to corresponding one battery group for executing a first charge command or a first discharge command to the connected battery group; the battery management unit BMU can generate the second charge command and/or the second dis charge command in a battery group according to the battery cell information of the battery group…).
Regarding claim 2, Wu discloses the balancing circuit further comprising a power source arranged to deliver electrical power to the plurality of cell group stacks (¶ 0048; The power bus of the battery system 100 can directly/indirectly connect to an output end of an external charging device).
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses the balancing circuit further comprising a voltage source (¶ 0048) and a load (¶ 0003).
Regarding claim 6, Wu discloses the balancing circuit further comprising wherein the plurality of balancing controllers (¶¶ 0048, 0055-0057, and claim 1) are configured to balance the plurality of cell groups (120_1 to 120_4) based on aggregated data for each of the plurality of cell groups (¶¶ 0055-0056).
Regarding claim 13, Wu discloses the balancing circuit wherein the balancing
circuit is configured to charge or discharge specific cell groups of the plurality of cell
groups via the plurality of balancing controllers and the plurality of string stack controllers (¶¶ 0054-0056 and claim 1).
Regarding claim 16, Wu discloses the balancing circuit wherein each of the plurality of stack controllers (fig. 2, elements [GBC_1…GBC_10]+BMU) is configured to operate based on a balancing mode received from the BMS (¶ 0048), wherein the balancing mode comprises a target voltage mode for equalizing voltages of the plurality of cell groups (¶ 0035; the third charge command is executed to charge one battery cell with a lowest monitored voltage among the N battery cells in the battery module and the third discharge command is executed to discharge another battery cell with a highest monitored voltage among the N battery cells in the battery module).
Regarding claim 17, Wu discloses the balancing circuit wherein the target voltage mode comprises: an average mode configured to charge, to discharge, or to charge and discharge one or more of the plurality of cell groups to a target voltage set to an average voltage of the plurality of cell groups (¶¶ 0055-0057, 0068-0070 and claims 1-3); or a fixed target voltage mode configured to charge, to discharge, or to charge and discharge one or more of the plurality of cell groups to a target voltage set as a fixed voltage for the plurality of cell groups.
Regarding claim 18, Wu discloses the balancing circuit wherein the target voltage mode comprises: a low target voltage mode configured to charge, to discharge, or to charge and discharge one or more of the plurality of cell groups to a target voltage set to a lowest voltage of the plurality of cell groups (¶¶ 0091-0092, 0094 and claims 4, 9); or a high target voltage mode configured to charge, to discharge, or to charge and discharge one or more of the plurality of cell groups to a target voltage set to a highest voltage of the plurality of cell groups.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Song et al. US 2014/0312850 (hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses the balancing circuit further comprising a battery management system (fig. 3, elements CMU_1 to CMU_40), wherein at least one of the plurality of stack controllers (fig. 2, elements [GBC_1…GBC_10]+BMU) is communicatively coupled to the battery management system (¶ 0053-0054; The battery management unit BMU receives the battery cell information from each battery cell monitor units CMU_1-CMU_ 40) and at least one of the plurality of cell group stacks (¶ 0052 and fig. 2 and 3; The battery management unit BMU also connects to each of battery group balance circuits GBC_1-GBC_10 and battery module balance circuits MBC_l-MBC_40), and
wherein the at least one stack controller is configured to control a given balancing controller of the plurality of balancing controllers (¶¶ 0053, 0056; The battery management unit BMU transmits the second charge command and/or the second discharge command to the battery module balance circuits) that corresponds to the at least one cell group stack based on an external configuration received from the battery management system.
However, Wu does not disclose the stack controllers are able to control the balancing controller of the cell group stacks based on an external configuration received from the battery management system.
Song further discloses the stack controllers can control the balancing controller of the cell group stacks based on an external configuration received from the battery management system (¶¶ 0011, 0014, 0021, 0041, 0045, 0069 and Claim 1; the manager 300 determines the battery 100 to be balanced among the batteries 100 of which the voltage unbalance is sensed and may determine anyone selected from a charging mode and a discharging mode for balancing the battery 100 to be balanced. That choice is the external configuration. The power conditioning system 400 controls the current amount of the charging mode or the discharging mode based on the information received from the transmitting of the battery information).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to incorporate with the teaching of Song by separating configuration/mode sent from a BMS to stack controller that then runs a balancing controller, because it would be advantageous to prevent the battery from deteriorating and increase the stability of the whole system.
Regarding claim 4, Wu discloses the balancing circuit further comprising wherein a balancing state of each of the plurality of cell group stacks is selected from the group consisting of a charge balancing state (¶¶ 0034, 0048, 0050; executing a first charge command), a discharge balancing state (¶¶ 0010-0012, 0014-0015, 0019), and a no balance state.
However, Wu fails to disclose the balancing circuit further comprising wherein a balancing state of each of the plurality of cell group stacks is selected from a no balance state.
However, Song further discloses the balancing circuit further comprising wherein a balancing state of each of the plurality of cell group stacks is selected from a no balance state (¶ 0076; the contacts between the relays serially connected to the batteries determined that the balancing is completed among the batteries to
be balanced in the determining of the balancing completion (S46) are cut off by controlling the manager 300).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to incorporate with the teaching of Song by cutting off the relay after determining the balancing completion, because it would be advantageous to reduce energy loss and prolong the service life of the whole system.
Regarding claim 11, Wu in view of Song discloses the balancing circuit wherein a balancing state of each of the plurality of balancing controllers is one of in a plurality of states comprising:
a charge balancing state for charging one of the plurality of cell groups to a target
voltage (Wu, ¶ 0064 and claim 4; The charge amount of the battery cell 130_1 can be substantially equal to the discharge amount of the battery cell 130_ 4);
a discharge balancing state for discharging one of the plurality of cell groups to a
target voltage (Wu, ¶ 0064 and claim 4);
a no balance state for decoupling a subset of the plurality of cell groups from the
balancing circuit (Song, ¶ 0076; the contacts between the relays serially connected to the batteries determined that the balancing is completed among the batteries to
be balanced in the determining of the balancing completion (S46) are cut off by controlling the manager 300).
Regarding claim 12, Wu in view of Song discloses the balancing circuit wherein the plurality of balancing controllers are configured to transition to the no balance state (Song, ¶ 0076) before charging or discharging a different cell group (Wu, claims 1, 6).
Claim(s) 9-10, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Hwang (US 2014/0145678).
Regarding claim 9, Wu fails to disclose the balancing circuit further comprising an energy management system configured to control power delivery to the
balancing circuit.
Hwang further discloses the balancing circuit (¶¶ 0044-0050) further comprising an energy management system configured to control power delivery to the balancing circuit (¶¶ 0025, 0030, 0032; the power conversion system (PCS) 10 may convert the electric power from the power generation system 2, the power distribution system 3, and the battery system 20 to provide power to the battery system 20, the load 4, or the power distribution system).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to incorporate with the teaching of Hwang by including the energy management system/ PCS in the system, because it would be advantageous to increase the life span of the battery and improved stability in the supply of electric power in ¶ 0005.
Regarding claim 10, Wu in view of Hwang discloses the balancing circuit wherein the energy management system is configured to control power delivery from a power supply based upon a balancing profile received via an application programming interface (API) from a user device (Hwang, ¶¶ 0082-0083, 0087, 0089).
Regarding claim 15, Wu discloses the balancing circuit further comprising:
a power supply configured to deliver power to the plurality of cell group stacks (¶ 0048; the power bus of the battery system 100 can directly/indirectly connect to an output end of an external charging device);
a battery management system (BMS) [fig. 3, elements CMU_1 to CMU_40] configured to control power distribution to the plurality of cell groups by controlling the plurality of stack controllers (¶¶ 0053, 0056; The battery management unit BMU transmits the second charge command and/or the second discharge command to the battery module balance circuits).
Wu does not disclose an energy management system (EMS) configured to control power delivery by the power supply.
Hwang discloses an energy management system (EMS) configured to control power delivery by the power supply (¶¶ 0025, 0030, 0032; the power conversion system (PCS) 10 may convert the electric power from the power generation system 2, the power distribution system 3, and the battery system 20 to provide power to the battery system 20, the load 4, or the power distribution system).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to incorporate with the teaching of Hwang by including the energy management system/ PCS in the system, because it would be advantageous to increase the life span of the battery and improved stability in the supply of electric power in ¶ 0005.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Matsumoto et al. US 2016/0254683 (hereinafter Matsumoto).
Regarding claim 19, Wu fails to disclose the balancing circuit wherein the balancing mode includes a charge voltage dead-band configured to ignore cell groups with voltages less than a threshold below a target voltage.
However, Matsumoto further discloses the balancing circuit (¶¶ 0070, 0072-0073) wherein the balancing mode includes a charge voltage dead-band (¶¶ 0088-0089; the controller 40 specifies a first reference voltage value Vb_tag1 and a first dead-band value (corresponding to the first threshold value in the claims)) configured to ignore cell groups with voltages less than a threshold below a target voltage (¶¶ 0154-0156).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to incorporate with the teaching of Matsumoto by including a charge voltage dead-band in the balancing mode, because it would be advantageous to suppress unevenness in the voltage values of the electric storage elements and further prolong the service life of the whole system.
Regarding claim 20, Wu discloses the balancing circuit wherein the balancing mode includes a discharge voltage dead-band configured to ignore cell groups having voltages greater than a threshold above a target voltage.
However, Matsumoto further discloses the balancing circuit (¶¶ 0070, 0072-0073) mode includes a discharge voltage dead-band (¶¶ 0088-0089; the controller 40 specifies a first reference voltage value Vb_tag1 and a first dead-band value (corresponding to the first threshold value in the claims)) configured to ignore cell groups having voltages greater than a threshold above a target voltage (¶¶ 0154-0156; The charging quantity Ah_ref is a charging quantity when the SOC of a battery cell 12 is a target SOC greater than the current SOC).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu to incorporate with the teaching of Matsumoto by including a charge voltage dead-band in the balancing mode, because it would be advantageous to suppress unevenness in the voltage values of the electric storage elements and further prolong the service life of the whole system.
Conclusion
/ZIXUAN ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 08/28/2026