DETAILED ACTION
After the amendments filed 12/31/2025, claims 1-28 remain pending, of which, 1-10 and 19 were amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 10-12, 14-17, 20-22 and 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ochi (U.S. 2022/0410008).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 19 and 20, Ochi discloses:
Controlling, based on an operation input, a player character within a virtual space that includes a plurality of item objects (¶138-141, a player 2 uses player terminal 1500 to control character 4);
in response to a first instruction based on an operation input while the player character is within the virtual space (¶299, Fig. 19, an input of a predetermine composition start operation), newly generating a first composite equipment item object so that a first equipment item object and a first item object are replaced with the first composite equipment item object, the first equipment item object being designated from among a plurality of equipment item objects that the player character possesses and is able to equip and use, the first item object being designated from among the plurality item objects present in the virtual space, the first composite equipment item object being obtained by compositing the first equipment item object and the first item object (¶4, ¶143-144, ¶304, Fig. 3, a game medium 3a and a game medium 3b are combined to create a new game medium 3c, one game medium 3c is generated the composition material (e.g., game media 3a and 3b) are deleted from the game medium management data 610),
causing the player character to possess the first composite equipment item object including being able to equip and use the first composite equipment item object (¶114, ¶143-144, ¶304, the composed game medium 3cc is added to the owned game medium management data 610 and the player is able to utilize the composed medium during gameplay),
newly generating a three-dimensional model of the first composite equipment item object, based on a three-dimensional model of the first equipment item object and a three- dimensional model of the first item object (¶141, ¶254, ¶295, Fig. 3, game images are generated in 3D, display mode setting change content data 559 combines the display characteristics from the material game media to generate the display characteristics for the composition game medium), and
newly generating an icon image of the first composite equipment item object by capturing an image the three-dimensional model of the first composite equipment item object with a virtual camera, and storing the icon image in the information processing apparatus (¶108, ¶291, Fig. 3, image generation section 292 generates composite images if the composition medium to display on display 392, a 3D model of a character is represented in a rendering image captured by a virtual camera); and
in response to a second instruction based on an operation input, displaying, on a display device, a list image including one or more equipment item objects and one or more composite equipment item objects possessed by the player character so as to include the icon image (¶312-313, server system 1100 displays a list of all the game media owned on the player terminal 1500 in response to an input).
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 21, Ochi discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the icon image of the first composite equipment item object is generated according to that the first composite equipment item object has been possessed by the player character (¶114, the player uses game media which the player owns to generate the composite game medium).
Regarding claims 3, 12 and 22, Ochi discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the game processing further comprises displaying, in the list image, icon images of the one or more composite equipment item objects in a display mode different from that for icon images of the one or more equipment item objects possessed by the player character (¶144, ¶307, the composition medium 3c has a higher ability parameter value than the material game media the list of media 3a and 3b, the list of game media includes indications, such as a star, which are indicative of the of the specs (i.e., parameters) of the media possessed by a player).
Regarding claims 5, 14 and 24, Ochi discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the game processing further comprises, in order to generate the icon image of the first composite equipment item object, setting the virtual camera such that an orientation of the three- dimensional model of the first composite equipment item object with respect to the virtual camera becomes an orientation according to an orientation that is set in advance with respect to the first equipment item object, and the entire three-dimensional model is within an imaging range of the virtual camera (¶108, ¶181, ¶191, different types of display modes are produced depending on differences in the pose set to the 3D model and differences in imaging conditions such as settings of imaging angle and imaging field of view of the virtual camera).
Regarding claims 6, 15 and 25, Ochi discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
during display of the list image, in response to a third instruction based on an operation input,
performing a process of returning a second composite equipment item object possessed by the player character to a second equipment item object before composition (¶219-221, ¶271, Fig. 3, a decomposition may be performed which causes composited game medium to revert back to the material media which were used to composite, for example composited game media 3c is reverted back to material game media 3a and 3b), and
changing an icon image of the second composite equipment item object in the list image to an icon image of the second equipment item object that is stored in advance (¶312-313, server system 1100 displays a list of all the game media owned on the player terminal 1500 in response to an input).
Regarding claims 7, 16 and 26, Ochi discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
the game processing further comprises displaying the list image so as to include, in addition to the icon image, a name of at least a designated composite equipment item object or a designated equipment item object (¶274, game medium ID lists 711 which lists all the composition materials and game media 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8-9, 13, 17-18, 23 and 27-28is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi (U.S. 2022/0410008).
Regarding claims 4, 13, 23, Ochi discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses:
displaying icon images of the one or more composite equipment item objects in a display mode different from that for icon images of the one or more equipment item objects possessed by the player character (¶144, ¶307, the composition medium 3c has a higher ability parameter value than the material game media the list of media 3a and 3b, the list of game media includes indications, such as a star, which are indicative of the of the specs (i.e., parameters) of the media possessed by a player). Although Ochi does not specifically disclose that the icon image of the first composite equipment item object has a contour added to the image indicating the first composite equipment item object, it would have been a simple matter of design choice to utilize a contour added to the image instead of a star.
Regarding claims 8-9, 17-18 and 27-28, Ochi discloses that which is discussed above, and further discloses that:
each item object is associated in advance with pieces of information on at least a name of the item object and an effect at composition of the item object (¶274, the composition control data includes material game medium ID lists 711 which includes a list of game media 3 as composition materials and the composition result game media data 713),
each equipment item object is associated in advance with pieces of information on at least a name, a type, and performance of the equipment item object (¶275, composition result game medium data 713 includes a game medium type 715 and spec information 720, wherein the spec information 720 includes a unique parameter value 721, a skill type 722, a skill parameter value 723, an original effect parameter value 724, an inheritance effect parameter value 725, original display mode data 726, inheritance display mode data 727, and an applied display mode ID 728).
Ochi further discloses that game medium definition data 520 contains for each game media an in-game name 523 (¶243-244). Although Ochi does not specifically disclose generating, in response to the first instruction, a name composed of a first part, a second part following the first part, and a third part following the second part, as a name of the first composite equipment item object, based on a combination of the first item object and the first equipment item object, the generating the name including, determining the first part to be a name representing the first item object or a name representing an effect at composition of the first item, determining the second part to be a predetermined postpositional particle or a predetermined suffix, or to be omitted, and determining the third part to be a name representing a type of the first equipment item, or a name according to a combination of the effect at composition associated with the first item object and the type associated with the first equipment item object, the convention for how to name the composited game medium is a simple matter of design choice to allow a game operator to generate a name for the composited game medium in a manner to yield the predictable result of providing player’s with a clear composited name to allow for a player to more easily distinguish the composited characters.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see Remarks, filed 12/31/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 101rejection has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments and amendments, see Remarks, filed 12/31/2025, with respect to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Ochi does not disclose “newly generating a three dimensional model” (See Remarks, pg. 13). The examiner must respectfully disagree. Ochi discloses that a 3D model of the combined character is generated (¶141, ¶254, ¶295, Fig. 3, game images are generated in 3D, display mode setting change content data 559 combines the display characteristics from the material game media to generate the display characteristics for the composition game medium) and Ochi further disclose that by combining the different game media “new” media (e.g., character) is generated by the system (¶4, a new game medium is generated by composition because the game medium is different from the original game media).
Applicant argues that Ochi does not disclose “newly generating an icon image of the first composite equipment item” (See Remarks, pg. 13). The examiner must respectfully disagree. Ochi discloses generating a composite image of the composited medium which is displayed on the display device of the gaming system (¶108, ¶291, Fig. 3, image generation section 292 generates composite images if the composition medium to display on display 392, a 3D model of a character is represented in a rendering image captured by a virtual camera).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jason Pinheiro/ Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/DMITRY SUHOL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715