DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “a cylinder tube” of claim 3 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1, 10, 12, and 18 recite the term, “and/or” and it is interpreted as --or--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8-14, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hohensee (US 2007/0271762 A1) in view of Stankus et al (US 6,283,451 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Hohensee (‘762) discloses a cable tensioning unit comprising: a unit housing (figA, para[0016]), a hydraulic jack 14 (para[0020]), and a controller 28 (para[0017]); wherein the hydraulic jack 14 is coupled to a top portion (figA) of the unit housing (figA); and wherein the controller 28 is configured to control, monitor, and/or record pull information (para[0018]). It is noted that fig 1 of Hohensee shows that the hydraulic jack is coupled to the top portion of the unit housing via ports A,B and a feedback line 52 (para[0016],[0021]). Though fig 1 of Hohensee shows that ports A,B and a feedback line 52 seem to be removed from the hydraulic jack 14 and the top portion of the unit housing, Hohensee does not explicitly disclose in the written description that the hydraulic jack is removably coupled to the unit housing. It has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP2144.04 V.C.). Also, Stankus et al (‘451) teaches a use of fittings 115 (col.4 line30) to connect hydraulic lines 112,114 (col.4 lines28-30) to a hydraulic jack (col.2 line52, “hydraulic” cable tensioning device) of a hydraulic tensioning unit 2 (fig2, abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure to removably couple the hydraulic jack to the unit housing, since constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP2144.04 V.C.), and also as taught by Stankus et al, to provide easy storage by removing the hydraulic jack from the unit housing when not in use.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 1. Hohensee further discloses wherein the hydraulic jack includes one or more position sensors 48 (para[0021]) configured to transmit piston position to the controller (para[0021]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 1. Hohensee further discloses wherein the hydraulic jack comprises: a jack frame 40 (para[0020]), a piston rod 44 (para[0020]), a cylinder tube 42 (para[0020]), and a yoke 45 (para[0020]); wherein the piston rod 44 is configured to move the yoke 45 along the jack frame 40 (para[0020]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 1. Hohensee further discloses wherein the controller further comprises a control panel 30,32 (para[0018]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 1. Hohensee further discloses wherein the controller further comprises a controller interface 32 mounting to the unit housing; and wherein the controller interface 32 is configured to display real-time diagnostics (para[0018]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 8. Hohensee further discloses wherein the real-time diagnostics include one or more of cylinder position, fluid temperature, and hydraulic pressure (para[0023]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 8. Hohensee further discloses wherein the controller 28 is configured to monitor a cylinder position and/or a fluid pressure (para[0023]) in real-time and display the cylinder position and/or the fluid pressure on the controller interface (para[0023],[0019]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 8. Hohensee further discloses wherein the controller interface is configured to enable a user to input pull information (para[0018],[0019]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 11. Hohensee further discloses wherein the pull information includes one or more of bed number, bed length, strand size, strand number, target initial tension (para[0022]), target final tension (para[0022]), target final elongation, date, time, actual initial tension, and/or actual final tension (para[0022]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 2. Hohensee further discloses wherein the controller is configured to use a combination of the one or more position sensors 48 and one or more fluid pressure sensors (para[0023]) to generate at least a portion of the pull information for each strand pull (para[0021],[0023],[0026]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 13. Hohensee further discloses wherein the controller is configured to automatically load at least a portion of the pull information for a second strand after a first strand pull is complete (para[0025]-[0027]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 1. Hohensee further discloses wherein the controller is configured to display if at least a portion of the pull information is within a tolerance during a pull operation (para[0023]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 1. Hohensee further discloses wherein the controller is configured to generated calibration reports (para[0019]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 1. Hohensee further discloses wherein the controller is configured to record, display and/or update elongation corrections (para[0019]).
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hohensee (US 2007/0271762 A1) and Stankus et al (US 6,283,451 B1) in further view of Simms (3,755,880).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 3. Hohensee however does not explicitly disclose a use of a cable chuck and a clamp release. Simms (‘880) teaches a use of a cable chuck 225, wherein the cable chuck 225 (col.3 line46) is configured to enable a cable to slide along an interior portion thereof; and wherein the cable chuck 225 includes a clamp release 203 (col.3 line18) configured to be pushed to release a gripping force on the cable (col.3 lines44-53). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hohensee to use a cable chuck with a clamp release, as taught by Simms, for the purpose of releasing the cable after the tensioning of the cable has been completed (col.3 lines33-35).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hohensee, Stankus et al, and Simms teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 4, wherein the yoke 45 (Hohensee) is configured to abut against a front portion of the cable chuck (Simms); and wherein the piston rod 44 (Hohensee) is configured to pull the yoke 45 (Hohensee) toward the cylinder tube 42 (Hohensee) which pulls the cable chuck (Simms) against the yoke 45 (Hohensee) applying tension to the cable (para[0020]-Hohensee).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hohensee (US 2007/0271762 A1) and Stankus et al (US 6,283,451 B1) in further view of Jackson et al (US 2020/0295555 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 6. Hohensee discloses wherein the control panel 30,32 includes a hydraulic actuator, a start button, a stop button, an initial tension actuator, a final tension actuator, an auxiliary actuator, and a controller interface (para[0018],[0019]), however, does not explicitly disclose a use of an emergency stop. Jackson et al (‘555) teaches a use of an emergency stop 12 (para[0052]) that can be pressed in the event of an emergency situation to request the halt of operation (para[0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hohensee to use an emergency stop, as taught by Jackson et al, so that the emergency stop can be pressed in the event of an emergency situation to request the halt of operation (para[0052]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Hohensee (US 2007/0271762 A1) and Stankus et al (US 6,283,451 B1) in further view of MacDonald et al (US 2021/0044093 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Hohensee and Stankus et al teaches the cable tensioning unit of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose that the controller is configured to automatically save data. MacDonald et al (‘093) teaches a use of a controller which is configured to automatically save data during one or more transient operations (para[0047],[0048]) so that the collected/stored data can be queried and analyzed (para[0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hohensee to use a controller which is configured to automatically save data, as taught by MacDonald et al, so that the collected/stored data can be queried and analyzed (para[0048]).
Conclusion
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723