DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 2 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Fasching (US 20240326048)1.
With respect to claim 1, Fasching discloses a nucleic acid amplification system comprising a fluidic consumable (see Fig. 120) configured to contain a test sample including target nucleic acids. At least paragraph [0164] states that the fluidic device is disposable. A temperature sensor (Figure 128A:12805) is configured to measure a temperature of the test sample in the fluidic consumable (“A second temperature probe (12805) was used to measure fluid temperature inside the sample chamber”). Paragraphs [0195] and [0200] teach that a computer device and a detection system are also provided to detect target nucleic acids and regulate device operations. Fasching further states in paragraphs [0011]-[0014], [0439]-[0442], [0445] and [0457]-[0460] that a single use chemical heater and a multi-use heater are used to heat the fluidic consumable. Fasching states that the single use chemical heater may take a variety of forms, including a pouch containing sodium acetate configured to undergo an exothermic chemical reaction. The multi-use heater may take a variety of forms, including a resistive heating element, an induction heater and a Peltier element. It is believed that Fasching teaches that both the chemical heater and the multi-use heater are provided such that the chemical heater and multi-use heater each heat the same fluidic consumable when the fluidic consumable is on the chemical heater. In the event that Fasching instead discusses the multi-use heater and chemical heater as alternative options, it would have nonetheless been obvious to use them together in the same embodiment to collectively heat the fluidic consumable. The chemical and multi-use heaters each operate in a highly predictable manner and the provision of both types of heaters would produce an expected cumulative and/or redundant result. The chemical and multi-use heaters may also be located at different portions of the same fluidic consumable to controllably heat selected areas at different temperatures.
With respect to claim 2, Fasching discloses the system as described above. P, PI and PID feedback controllers are considered to be notoriously well known in the art.
With respect to claim 5, Fasching discloses the system as described above. Fasching further states in paragraphs [0228], [0438], [0445] and [0459] that the multi-use heater may be a resistive heater or an inductive heater.
With respect to claim 6, Fasching discloses the system as described above. Fasching teaches in paragraphs [0438] and [0445] that the system may include a Peltier device.
With respect to claim 7, Fasching discloses the system as described above. Fasching shows that the fluidic consumable includes at least one chip plate and microfluidic channel. See Fig. 120.
With respect to claims 8-12, Fasching discloses the system as described above. Fasching additionally teaches that the test sample includes a target nucleic acid and that an additive is mixed with the test sample. The additive includes BSA, PEG (e.g., TEG), a chaotrope/denaturant, and Triton-X 100 as a detergent. This is taught in paragraphs [0225], [0302], [0307], [0396], [0468] and [0518]-[0520]. It would have been within the ability of one of ordinary skill to select specific additives at varying amounts to improve operation of the Fasching amplification system. Absent a showing of criticality, it would have been obvious to select an additive concentration through routine experimentation.
With respect to claim 13, Fasching discloses the system as described above. Fasching states in paragraphs [0260]-[0263] and [0294] that a light source and a camera are provided for detecting an optical signal.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 4 are allowed.
The Seip (US 20030092173) reference is believed to be the closest prior art by disclosing a porous bag containing iron oxide powder and configured to produce an exothermic reaction. Seip, however, is directed to an anaerobic culture operation, as opposed to nucleic acid amplification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 21 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant primarily argues that Fasching describes chemical and multi-use heaters as alternative options and does not teach that the multi-use heater is configured to heat both the chemical, single-use heater and the fluidic consumable. However, it would have been obvious to use a multi-use heater and a single-use heater together in the same embodiment to collectively heat the fluidic consumable. Chemical and resistive heaters, for example, each operate in a highly predictable manner and the provision of both types of heaters would produce an expected cumulative and/or redundant result. Furthermore, one heater may be used as a “backup” for the other in the case of operational error. Fasching does not appear to describe the different heaters as mutually exclusive or include any concern or warning that would discourage one from utilizing more than one of the many enumerated heating options.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHAN A BOWERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799
1 The previous office action incorrectly identified this reference using the related WIPO publication WO 2021243308 with Ching as the first-named inventor