DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs), submitted on 20 October 2023, 31 May 2024, and 03 May 2025, were filed after the mailing date of the patent application on 20 October 2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings, received on 20 October 2023, are acceptable for examination.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Said claim recites “of programmable devices” in the preamble and further recites “a plurality of programmable devices”. Here, Applicant appears to be referring to a same group of devices. In order to improve claim clarity, Examiner respectfully suggests amending “of programmable devices” to “of a plurality of programmable devices” and further amending “a plurality of programmable devices, each comprising:” to “the plurality of programmable devices, each comprising:”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Said claim recites “establish a data communication connection between the configuring device and the programmable device via their respective short-range radio transceivers”. Here, the recitation “their respective short-range radio transceivers” is not supported by antecedent basis. In order to improve claim clarity, Examiner respectfully suggests amending to “the short-range radio transceiver of each programmable device and the short-range radio transceiver of the configuring device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: Said claim recites “a programmable device” in the preamble of said claim and further recites “a programmable device” in the first limitation of said claim. In order to improve claim clarity, Examiner respectfully suggests amending “a programmable device” in the first limitation of said claim to “the programmable device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 the claim(s) encompass non-statutory subject matter. “Products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as information (often referred to as "data per se") or a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se") when claimed as a product without any structural recitations” (MPEP §2106.03). Moreover, “software expressed as code or a set of instructions detached from any medium is an idea without physical embodiment” (See Microsoft Corp. v. AT&T Corp., 550 U.S. 437, 449, 82 USPQ2d 1400, 1407 (2007)). Thus, a product claim to a software program that does not also contain at least one structural limitation (such as a "means plus function" limitation) has no physical or tangible form, and thus does not fall within any statutory category.
Given that claims 8-15 are drawn to a software program, or software application, that does not also contain at least one structural limitation, the claim encompasses non-statutory subject matter (i.e., a product not having a physical or tangible form), the claim as a whole is non-statutory. The Examiner suggests either adding the at least one structural limitation to claim(s) 8 to limit the claim scope to encompass only statutory subject matter or changing the statutory category of the invention to a non-transitory medium that stores a software application. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (US 20130271288 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Liang”).
Regarding Claim 8, Liang discloses a software application for configuring a programmable device into an ephemeral secure wireless ad hoc network (¶84, Liang discloses computer program instructions for configuring the sensor device in a personal area network), comprising instructions that when executed cause a configuring device to:
establish a data communication connection between the configuring device and the programmable device (¶60 & ¶77 & Fig. 4 (S401 & S402), Liang discloses establishing a data communication connection between the personal network area (PAN) coordinator and a sensor device. Examiner correlates the PAN coordinator to “the configuring device”. Examiner correlates the sensor device to “the programmable device”);
send an interrupt signal to a programmable device to wake the programmable device from a low-power sleep state to a configuration state (¶77 & Fig. 4 (S402) & ¶3-4, Liang discloses sending, by the PAN coordinator to the sensor device, a beacon frame where a beacon frame causes the sensor device to wake from a radio-frequency (RF) sleep mode to a periodic procedure where the sensor device is configured/re-configured. Examiner correlates the RF sleep mode to a “low power sleep state”. Examiner correlates the periodic procedure to “a configuration state” because the PAN coordinator configures/re-configures the sensor during the periodic procedure. Examiner correlates the beacon to “an interrupt signal”);
read an encoded device identifier disposed with the programmable device (¶65 & Fig. 4 (S404), Liang discloses reading, by the PAN coordinator, a source address (Src. Addr.) of the sensor device by receiving, by the PAN coordinator, data frame where the data frame comprises a source address where the source address identifies the sensor device);
send configuration information via the data communication connection (¶76 & Fig. 4 (S407), Liang discloses sending, by a personal area network coordinator, a next beacon frame an active duration and a duty cycle); and
send a command to the programmable device from the configuring device via the data communication connection (¶76 & Fig. 4 (S407), Liang discloses sending, by the PAN coordinator, a next beacon frame instructing the sensor device to implement the adjusted active duration and the adjusted duty cycle), causing the programmable device to transition from the configuration state to an operational state (¶76 & Fig. 4 (S407), Liang discloses that the next beacon frame ends the periodic procedure to an operating state that implements the adjusted duration and the adjusted duty cycle).
Regarding Claim 9, Liang discloses the software application of claim 8.
Liang further discloses the data communication connection is a personal area network (¶54 & Fig. 1, Liang discloses a personal area network with a data connection between the PAN coordinator and the sensor device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang et al. (US 20130271288 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Liang”) in view of Howell et al. (US 20180005295 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Howell”) in further view of Mohan et al. (US 20160121487 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Mohan”).
Regarding Claim 1, Liang discloses an ephemeral secure wireless ad hoc network of programmable devices, comprising:
a plurality of programmable devices (¶54 & Fig. 1, Liang discloses a plurality of sensor devices),
a configuring device (¶54 & Fig. 1, Liang discloses a personal area network (PAN) coordinator), comprising:
a software application for execution by the configuring device, comprising instructions that when executed cause the configuring device (¶84, Liang discloses computer program instructions for causing the PAN coordinator to configure the sensor device in a personal area network) to:
establish a data communication connection between the configuring device and the programmable device (¶60 & ¶77 & Fig. 4 (S401 & S402), Liang discloses establishing a data communication connection between the personal network area (PAN) coordinator and a sensor device. Examiner correlates the PAN coordinator to “the configuring device”. Examiner correlates the sensor device to “the programmable device”) via their respective short-range radio transceivers (¶2-4, Liang discloses that both devices are able to transmit and receive frames via IEEE 802.15.4 WPAN standard. Here, the standard is a short-range communication standard. Examiner also identifies the presence of a short-range transceiver in each of the PAN coordinator and the sensor device as inherent features);
send an interrupt signal to a programmable device to wake the programmable device from a low-power sleep state to a configuration state (¶77 & Fig. 4 (S402) & ¶3-4, Liang discloses sending, by the PAN coordinator to the sensor device, a beacon frame where a beacon frame causes the sensor device to wake from a radio-frequency (RF) sleep mode to a periodic procedure where the sensor device is configured/re-configured. Examiner correlates the RF sleep mode to a “low power sleep state”. Examiner correlates the periodic procedure to “a configuration state” because the PAN coordinator configures/re-configures the sensor during the periodic procedure. Examiner correlates the beacon to “an interrupt signal”);
read the encoded device identifier (¶65 & Fig. 4 (S404), Liang discloses reading, by the PAN coordinator, a source address (Src. Addr.) of the sensor device by receiving, by the PAN coordinator, data frame where the data frame comprises a source address where the source address identifies the sensor device);
send configuration information via the data communication connection (¶76 & Fig. 4 (S407), Liang discloses sending, by a personal area network coordinator, a next beacon frame an active duration and a duty cycle); and
send a command to the programmable device from the configuring device via the data communication connection (¶76 & Fig. 4 (S407), Liang discloses sending, by the PAN coordinator, a next beacon frame instructing the sensor device to implement the adjusted active duration and the adjusted duty cycle), causing the programmable device to transition from the configuration state to an operational state (¶76 & Fig. 4 (S407), Liang discloses that the next beacon frame ends the periodic procedure to an operating state that implements the adjusted duration and the adjusted duty cycle).
However, Liang does not disclose each [programmable device] comprising: a housing, in which is disposed: a short-range radio transceiver; and sensors for data collection; and an encoded device identifier, disposed with the housing; and a configuring device, [further] comprising: a short-range radio transceiver; a reader for the encoded device identifier; and a display.
Howell, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches each [programmable device] comprising:
a housing (¶19-20 & Fig. 1, Howell discloses that the plurality of sensors, either individually or in a group, may be attached to or integrated with cases, flats, pallets, or other containers), in which is disposed:
a short-range radio transceiver (¶17, Howell discloses that a sensor reader of a portable device comprises a short range frequency band receiver or Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) receiver in order to communicate with the plurality of sensors. Examiner identifies the presence of a short range frequency band transceiver and/or BLE transceiver as inherent to each sensor of the plurality of sensors in order to exchange communications); and
sensors for data collection (¶14 & ¶17 & ¶19-20 & Fig. 1, Howell discloses a plurality of sensors); and
an encoded device identifier, disposed with the housing (¶19-20 & Fig. 1, Howell discloses a product identifier such as a color or pattern changing label); and
a configuring device (¶14 & ¶17 & ¶19-20 & Fig. 1, Howell discloses a portable device 110), [further] comprising:
a short-range radio transceiver (¶17, Howell discloses that a sensor reader of the portable device comprises a short range frequency band receiver or Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE) receiver);
a reader for the encoded device identifier (¶17, Howell discloses the sensor reader of the portable device); and
a display (¶15, Howell discloses that the portable device comprises a display 112).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liang by requiring each [programmable device] comprising: a housing, in which is disposed: a short-range radio transceiver; and sensors for data collection; and an encoded device identifier, disposed with the housing; and a configuring device, [further] comprising: a short-range radio transceiver; a reader for the encoded device identifier; and a display as taught by Howell because access to accurate freshness information can reduce waste and improve efficiency of a retail operation as well as improve a customer's experience with the perishable product (Howell, ¶3).
However, Liang in view of Howell does not disclose [a housing, in which is further disposed:] a long-range radio transceiver; [and] a long-range radio antenna.
Mohan, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches [a housing, in which is further disposed:]
a long-range radio transceiver (¶22, Mohan discloses a component, such as a robot, comprising a long-range wireless signaling unit, such as cellular modem); [and]
a long-range radio antenna (¶22, Mohan discloses a component, such as a robot, comprising a long-range wireless signaling unit, such as cellular antenna).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liang in view of Howell by requiring [a housing, in which is further disposed:] a long-range radio transceiver; [and] a long-range radio antenna as taught by Howell because configuration of robots in certain environments is improved by enabling updates to algorithms accounting for changes in said environment (Mohan, ¶1).
Regarding Claim 2, Liang in view of Howell in further view of Mohan discloses the ephemeral secure wireless ad hoc network of programmable devices of claim 1.
Howell, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches wherein the configuring device is a smartphone (¶15, Howell discloses that the portable device is a smart phone) and the reader for the encoded device identifier is a camera of the smartphone (¶15, Howell discloses that the input device of the portable device is a camera).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liang in view of Howell in further view of Mohan by requiring that the configuring device is a smartphone and that and the reader for the encoded device identifier is a camera of the smartphone as taught by Howell because access to accurate freshness information can reduce waste and improve efficiency of a retail operation as well as improve a customer's experience with the perishable product (Howell, ¶3).
Regarding Claim 3, Liang in view of Howell in further view of Mohan discloses the ephemeral secure wireless ad hoc network of programmable devices of claim 1.
Howell, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, further teaches wherein the encoded device identifier is a barcode (¶15, Howell discloses that the product identifier may be a bar code).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liang in view of Howell in further view of Mohan by requiring that the encoded device identifier is a barcode as taught by Howell because access to accurate freshness information can reduce waste and improve efficiency of a retail operation as well as improve a customer's experience with the perishable product (Howell, ¶3).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Howell in view of Mohan in further view of Sidi et al. (US 20160018895 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Sidi”).
Regarding Claim 6, Liang in view of Howell in further view of Mohan discloses the ephemeral secure wireless ad hoc network of programmable devices of claim 1.
However, Liang in view of Howell in further view of Mohan do not disclose the instructions further comprise instructions that when executed cause the configuring device to erase any session information upon closing the software application.
Sidi, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the instructions further comprise instructions that when executed cause the configuring device to erase any session information upon closing the software application (¶66, Sidi discloses that the application on the mobile device will delete all of the data from the application once the user exits the application).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liang in view of Howell in further view of Mohan by requiring that the instructions further comprise instructions that when executed cause the configuring device to erase any session information upon closing the software application as taught by Howell because digital conversations remain private and ephemeral, while also making it simple and convenient to switch between a private chat and a normal chat (Sisi, ¶66).
Claims 10 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Howell.
Regarding Claim 10, Liang discloses the software application of claim 8.
However, Liang does not disclose the instructions that when executed cause the configuring device to read the encoded device identifier comprise instructions that capture an optically readable device identifier with a camera of the configuring device.
Howell, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the instructions that when executed cause the configuring device to read the encoded device identifier comprise instructions that capture an optically readable device identifier (¶28-29 & Fig. 3 (305), Howell discloses reading, by the portable device, a color or pattern changing label) with a camera of the configuring device (¶15, Howell discloses that the input device of the portable device is a camera).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liang by requiring that the instructions that when executed cause the configuring device to read the encoded device identifier comprise instructions that capture an optically readable device identifier with a camera of the configuring device as taught by Howell because access to accurate freshness information can reduce waste and improve efficiency of a retail operation as well as improve a customer's experience with the perishable product (Howell, ¶3).
Regarding Claim 16, Liang discloses a method of configuring a programmable device into an ephemeral secure wireless ad hoc network, comprising:
sending an interrupt signal via the data communication connection from the configuring device to the programmable device (¶77 & Fig. 4 (S402) & ¶3-4, Liang discloses sending, by the PAN coordinator to the sensor device, a beacon frame where a beacon frame causes the sensor device to wake from a radio-frequency (RF) sleep mode to a periodic procedure where the sensor device is configured/re-configured. Examiner correlates the RF sleep mode to a “low power sleep state”. Examiner correlates the periodic procedure to “a configuration state” because the PAN coordinator configures/re-configures the sensor during the periodic procedure. Examiner correlates the beacon to “an interrupt signal”);
waking the programmable device from a low-power sleep state responsive to receiving the interrupt signal and transitioning the programmable device into a configuration state (¶77 & Fig. 4 (S402) & ¶3-4, Liang discloses waking up the sensor device from a radio-frequency (RF) sleep mode to a periodic procedure where the sensor device is configured/re-configured in response to sending, by the PAN coordinator to the sensor device, a beacon frame where a beacon frame. Examiner correlates the RF sleep mode to a “low power sleep state”. Examiner correlates the periodic procedure to “a configuration state” because the PAN coordinator configures/re-configures the sensor during the periodic procedure. Examiner correlates the beacon to “an interrupt signal”);
sending configuration information via the data communication connection from the configuring device to the programmable device (¶76 & Fig. 4 (S407), Liang discloses sending, by a personal area network coordinator, a next beacon frame an active duration and a duty cycle); and
sending a command via the data communication connection from the configuring device to the programmable device (¶76 & Fig. 4 (S407), Liang discloses sending, by the PAN coordinator, a next beacon frame instructing the sensor device to implement the adjusted active duration and the adjusted duty cycle), causing the programmable device to complete configuration and transition to an operational state (¶76 & Fig. 4 (S407), Liang discloses that the next beacon frame ends the periodic procedure to an operating state that implements the adjusted duration and the adjusted duty cycle).
However, Liang does not disclose reading by a configuring device an encoded device identifier disposed with a housing of a programmable device and establishing a data communication connection between the configuring device and the programmable device based on the encoded device identifier.
Howell, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches reading by a configuring device an encoded device identifier disposed with a housing of a programmable device (¶26 & Fig. 3 (301) & ¶19-20 & Fig. 1, Howell discloses reading, by the camera of the portable device, a product identifier where the product identifier is disposed on or near the plurality of sensors, either individually or in a group, or may be attached to or integrated with cases, flats, pallets, or other containers) and establishing a data communication connection between the configuring device and the programmable device based on the encoded device identifier (¶28 & Fig. 3 (305), Howell discloses establishing, by the portable device and at least one sensor, a data connection based upon the product identifier).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liang by reading by a configuring device an encoded device identifier disposed with a housing of a programmable device and establishing a data communication connection between the configuring device and the programmable device based on the encoded device identifier as taught by Howell because access to accurate freshness information can reduce waste and improve efficiency of a retail operation as well as improve a customer's experience with the perishable product (Howell, ¶3).
Regarding Claim 17, Liang in view of Howell discloses the method of claim 16.
Liang further discloses the data communication connection uses a short-range radio to form a personal area network between the programmable device and the configuring device (¶54 & Fig. 1, Liang discloses a personal area network with a data connection between the PAN coordinator and the sensor device).
Claims 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Howell in view of Sheleheda et al. (US 20130127618 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Sheleheda”).
Regarding Claim 11, Liang in view of Howell discloses the software application of claim 8.
However, Liang in view of Howell do not disclose the configuration information comprises an encryption key and a network address for the programmable device.
Sheleheda, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the configuration information comprises an encryption key and a network address for the programmable device (¶27, Sheleheda discloses that the configuration information comprises an encryption key and a network address for the programmable device).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liang in view of Howell by requiring that the configuration information comprises an encryption key and a network address for the programmable device as taught by Sheleheda because the operation of a machine-to-machine network, or wireless sensor network, is improved by enabling higher security monitoring functions needed to detect a cyber-attack or a malware infection (Sheleheda, ¶2-4).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Howell in view of Sheleheda in further view of Montemurro et al. (US 20200259650 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Montemurro”).
Regarding Claim 12, Liang in view of Howell in further view of Sheleheda discloses the software application of claim 8.
However, Liang in view of Howell in further view of Sheleheda do not disclose the programmable device is programmed to generate the encryption key responsive to a request for an encryption key.
Montemurro, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the programmable device is programmed to generate the encryption key responsive to a request for an encryption key (¶32, Montemurro discloses that the sensor is programmed to generate an encryption key in response to an authentication request message).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to modify Liang in view of Howell in further view of Sheleheda by requiring that the programmable device is programmed to generate the encryption key responsive to a request for an encryption key as taught by Montemurro because future communications are encrypted between the sensor and another device, which, in turn, improves overall privacy and security (Montemurro, ¶32).
Claims 13-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang in view of Howell in view of Sidi et al. (US 20160018895 A1; hereinafter referred to as “Sidi”).
Regarding Claim 13, Liang in view of Howell discloses the software application of claim 8.
However, Liang in view of Howell does not disclose the instructions further comprise instructions that when executed instruct the programmable device to erase all network data upon closing the software application.
Sidi, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the instructions further comprise instructions that when executed instruct the programmable device to erase all network data upon closing the software application (¶66, Sidi discloses that the application on the mobile device will delete all of the data from the application once the user exits the application).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liang in view of Howell by requiring that the instructions further comprise instructions that when executed instruct the programmable device to erase all network data upon closing the software application as taught by Sisi because digital conversations remain private and ephemeral, while also making it simple and convenient to switch between a private chat and a normal chat (Sidi, ¶66).
Regarding Claim 14, Liang in view of Howell discloses the software application of claim 8.
However, Liang in view of Howell does not disclose the instructions further comprise instructions that when executed instruct the programmable device to erase all network data upon closing the software application.
Sidi, a prior art reference in the same field of endeavor, teaches the instructions further comprise instructions that when executed instruct the programmable device to erase all network data upon closing the software application (¶66, Sidi discloses that the application on the mobile device will delete all of the data from the application once the user exits the application).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify Liang in view of Howell by requiring that the instructions further comprise instructions that when executed instruct the programmable device to erase all network data upon closing the software application as taught by Howell because digital conversations remain private and ephemeral, while also making it simple and convenient to switch between a private chat and a normal chat (Sidi, ¶66).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 7, and 18-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101 set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
/ERIC NOWLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2474