DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 04/10/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
A. Applicant's argument with respect to claim(s) 1 regarding wherein a second bit sequence corresponding to each of the at least one time domain unit set comprises uplink control information (UCI) multiplexed in the each of the at least one time domain unit set to be transmitted. The Examiner respectfully disagree, Li teach, “the terminal device sends the first bit sequence and the second bit sequence to the network device on the first uplink resource, wherein the first uplink resource is part or all of the resource in the second uplink resource… when the first UCI and the second UCI perform multiplexing transmission”, see para. 104-105; for further clarification Li teaches, “the resource for transmitting the second UCI are partially or completely overlapped on the time domain, and the resource for transmitting the first UCI and the resource for transmitting the second UCI satisfy the preset time sequence relationship and, the end symbol of the resource for transmitting the first UCI is not later than the end symbol of the new resource determined after the first UCI and the second UCI multiplexing… the second bit sequence is the bit sequence of the terminal device after channel coding the second UCI”, see para. 42, 62. One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would clearly understand Li to teach second bit sequence comprising uplink control information (UCI) multiplexed. Thus, Yu in view of Li still meet the scope of the limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1,12,13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2022133754) in view of Li et al. (WIPO. Pub. CN114391230).
Regarding claim 1 Yu disclose, a wireless communication method, comprising:
encoding a transport block which is transmitted based on a plurality of time domain unit sets and obtaining a first bit sequence, para. 24, “performing channel coding on the data block to obtain an encoded bit sequence”
wherein the plurality of time domain unit sets comprises at least one time domain unit set para. 19, “the same data block is repeatedly sent N times on N time domain units, where N is an integer greater than 1 or equal to 1; at the first time in the N time domain units”;
performing a rate matching process on the first bit sequence based on the plurality of time domain unit sets and obtaining a plurality of second bit sequences respectively corresponding to the plurality of time domain unit sets para. 304, “the rate matching is performed according to 12 available time domain symbols (that is, there is no unavai1lable time domain symbol x), assuming that the bit selection for rate matching is performed from the RV0 position, the bit string selected corresponding to the 12 time domain symbols is the encoded bit string (that is, the first bit sequence may be shown as the shaded part in the encoded bit string”, and
modulating and transmitting the plurality of second bit sequences, respectively, based on the plurality of time domain unit sets para. 251, “the network device sends modulation and coding strategy (modulation and coding scheme, MCS) information to the terminal device, indicating the code rate used by the terminal device for uplink repeated transmission”.
Yu does not specifically disclose, wherein a second bit sequence corresponding to each of the at least one time domain unit set comprises uplink control information (UCI) multiplexed in the each of the at least one time domain unit set to be transmitted. However, Li teach, para. 104-105, “the terminal device sends the first bit sequence and the second bit sequence to the network device on the first uplink resource, wherein the first uplink resource is part or all of the resource in the second uplink resource… when the first UCI and the second UCI perform multiplexing transmission”.
Yu and Li are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to uplink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li in the system of Yu so the system can be adjusted to fit in multiple transmission opportunities. The motivation for doing so would have been to efficiently increase the transmission reliability and resource utilization of the communication channel.
Regarding claim 12 Yu disclose, wherein each of the plurality of time domain unit sets only comprises one time domain unit para. 8, “The total number of times the data block is sent on one time domain unit reaches N”, or
the each time domain unit set comprises at least one continuous time domain unit; and the time domain unit comprises a slot or a symbol. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 13 the limitations of claim 13 are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 20, recites a terminal device, comprising a processor read as: “the communication device 400 comprises a processor 410”, see para. 106; and a memory read as: “a memory 430”; furthermore claim 20 recites an apparatus performing functions corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim(s) 2-3, 6-7, 9 and 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2022133754) in view of Li et al. (WIPO. Pub. CN114391230); further in view of Hoshino et al. (US. Pub. 20200177332); further in view of Kinnunen et al. (WIPO. Pub. WO2014060028).
Regarding claim 2 Yu disclose, wherein the performing a rate matching process on the first bit sequence based on the plurality of time domain unit sets and obtaining a plurality of second bit sequences respectively corresponding to the plurality of time domain unit sets, comprises: for a xth time domain unit set of the at least one time domain unit set para. 364, “sending a second bit sequence on the first time domain unit, the time domain symbols occupied by the second bit sequence on the first time domain unit are discontinuous”, determining a second bit sequence corresponding to the xth time domain unit set in a following manner para. 26, “in some implementations, in the first bit sequence, the bit sequence mapped to the first time domain symbol is deleted to obtain a second bit sequence, and the first time domain symbol is the first bit sequence”:
Yu does not specifically disclose, determining a starting position of the second bit sequence corresponding to the xth time domain unit set in a circular buffer. However, Li teach, para. 5, “performing channel coding to the second UCI to obtain the second bit sequence. the terminal device sends the first bit sequence and the second bit sequence to the network device on the first uplink resource, wherein the first uplink resource is part or all of the resource in the second uplink resource”;
Li further disclose, performing a second rate matching process on the first bit sequence based on a resource of UCI multiplexed in the xth time domain unit set para. 50, “the real channel coding code rate matching after the rate matching or near the code rate”, and obtaining the second bit sequence corresponding to the xth time domain unit set based on the starting position and the ending position para. 104-105, “the terminal device sends the first bit sequence and the second bit sequence to the network device on the first uplink resource, wherein the first uplink resource is part or all of the resource in the second uplink resource… when the first UCI and the second UCI perform multiplexing transmission”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li in the system of Yu so the system can be adjusted to fit in multiple transmission opportunities and into selected resources. The motivation for doing so would have been to efficiently increase the transmission reliability and resource utilization of the communication channel.
Yu and Li does not specifically disclose, determining a position offset factor corresponding to the xth time domain unit set. However, Hoshino teach, “data corresponding to RV_a+N by the use of a predetermined offset value N are arranged on the cell-dependent resource, respectively”, see para. 28.
Hoshino further teach, performing a first rate matching process on the first bit sequence based on a version number of a redundancy version (RV) and the position offset factor corresponding to the xth time domain unit set para. 20, “the data signal that has been subjected to the rate-matching process on the second resource, corresponding to the redundancy version notified to the communicating party by the control signal, to which an offset is applied, on the resource which the communication apparatus uses individually for transmission; and a transmission section that transmits the data signal containing a control signal and a cell-specific reference signal using the frequency-time domain resources”, and
determining an ending position of the second bit sequence corresponding to the xth time domain unit set in the circular buffer. para. 50, “MIMO demodulation section 204 specifies a position of a resource on the frequency domain assigned to simultaneous transmission addressed to itself from information of assigned resource block of the acquired control information”.
Yu, Li and Hoshino are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to uplink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoshino and Kinnunen in the system of Yu and Li so the system can make use of the available resources and be able to transmit control information while still transmitting data efficiently. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the management and prioritization of the control information during data transmissions.
Yu, Li and Hoshino does not specifically disclose, circular buffer. However, Kinnunen teach, page 2, para. 7, “The memory may be a circular buffer”.
Yu, Li, Hoshino and Kinnunen are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to uplink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoshino and Kinnunen in the system of Yu and Li so the system supports seamless, continuous writing and consumption of data transmissions efficiently. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the managing of the signal processing.
Regarding claim 3 Yu disclose, wherein the performing a second rate matching process on the first bit sequence based on a resource of UCI multiplexed in the xth time domain unit set, and determining an ending position of the second bit sequence corresponding to the xth time domain unit set in the circular buffer, comprises: determining a number of resource elements (REs) available to transmit the multiplexed UCI in the xth time domain unit set para. 104-105, “the number of available REs in a current resource block (resource block, RB) = 12*12 = 144, using quadrature phase shift keying (quadrature phase shift keying, QPSK) modulation”;
determining a number of REs available to transmit the first bit sequence based on the number of the REs available to transmit the multiplexed UCI and a number of REs allocated for transmitting the transport block in the xth time domain unit set para. 104-105, “The first bit sequence corresponds to L time domain symbols, and L represents the number of time domain symbols configured for one transmission of the data block”; and
Yu does not specifically disclose, performing the second rate matching process on the first bit sequence based on the number of the REs available to transmit the first bit sequence. However, Li teach, para. 50, “the real channel coding code rate matching after the rate matching or near the code rate”, and
determining the ending position of the second bit sequence corresponding to the xth time domain unit set in the circular buffer para. 104-105, “and for transmitting the end symbol of the resource of the first UCI is not later than the first UCI and the second UCI multiplexing after determining the new resource of the end symbol”.
Yu, and Li Hoshino does not specifically disclose, circular buffer. However, Kinnunen teach, page 2, para. 7, “The memory may be a circular buffer”.
Yu, Li, Hoshino and Kinnunen are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to uplink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoshino and Kinnunen in the system of Yu and Li so the system supports seamless, continuous writing and consumption of data transmissions efficiently. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the managing of the signal processing.
Regarding claim 6 Yu, and Li does not specifically disclose wherein the determining a position offset factor corresponding to the xth time domain unit set, comprises:
determining the position offset factor corresponding to the xth time domain unit set based on the version number of the RV and an ending position of a second bit sequence corresponding to a (x-1)th time domain unit set of the plurality of the time domain unit sets in the circular buffer. However, Hoshino teach, para. 28, 54 “data corresponding to RV_a+N by the use of a predetermined offset value N are arranged on the cell-dependent resource, respectively… MIMO demodulation section 204 specifies a position of a resource on the frequency domain assigned to simultaneous transmission addressed to itself from information of assigned resource block of the acquired control information”.
Yu, and Li Hoshino does not specifically disclose, circular buffer. However, Kinnunen teach, page 2, para. 7, “The memory may be a circular buffer”.
Yu, Li, Hoshino and Kinnunen are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to uplink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoshino and Kinnunen in the system of Yu and Li so the system supports seamless, continuous writing and consumption of data transmissions efficiently. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the managing of the signal processing.
Regarding claim 7 Yu disclose, wherein the determining a position offset factor corresponding to the xth time domain unit set, comprises: determining the position offset factor corresponding to the xth time domain unit set as a total number of bits occupied by second bit sequences corresponding to all time domain unit sets prior to the xth time domain unit set in the circular buffer. para. 105, “the total number of time domain symbols that can be used for transmitting data blocks on the first time domain unit”
Yu, and Li Hoshino does not specifically disclose, circular buffer. However, Kinnunen teach, page 2, para. 7, “The memory may be a circular buffer”.
Yu, Li, Hoshino and Kinnunen are analogous because they pertain to the field of wireless communication and, more specifically, to uplink configuration parameters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hoshino and Kinnunen in the system of Yu and Li so the system supports seamless, continuous writing and consumption of data transmissions efficiently. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve the managing of the signal processing.
Regarding claim 9 Yu disclose, wherein the determining a position offset factor corresponding to the xth time domain unit set, comprises: determining the position offset factor corresponding to the xth time domain unit set as a total number of transmittable bits in all time domain unit sets prior to the xth time domain unit set para. 105, “the number of time-domain symbols actually occupied when the data block is repeatedly transmitted can be guaranteed, and the transmission performance can be improved”.
Regarding claims 14-19 the limitations of claims 14-19, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 2-3, 6-7 and 9, respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 8 and 10-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/SUJOY K KUNDU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2471