DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the Non-Final Office Action dated 10/29/2025, filed with the office on 02/12/2026, has been entered and made of record.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-22 are pending. Claims 3-4, second instance of claim 5, 13-14, and 22-23 are cancelled. Claims 19 and 20 are new.
Response to Amendments
In light of Applicant’s amendments, the objections of record with respect to the drawings are withdrawn.
In light of Applicant’s amendments, the objections of record with respect to the specification are withdrawn.
In light of Applicant’s amendments, the objections of record with respect to claim 1-22 is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments of independent claims 1,8,12 and 21, which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, in response to Applicant’s arguments that are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Consequently, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 12 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites:
“…the spraying head moveable…” should be “… each spraying head moveable…”
“…position of the spraying head to…” should be “…position of one of the spraying heads to…”
Claim 8 recites”
“…the spraying head moveable..” should be “…each spraying head moveable…”
“…from the one of the spraying heads…” should be “…from one of the spraying heads…”
Claim 12 (claim 16) recites “…the one more processors…” should be “…wherein the one or more processors…”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite. Both claims 6 and 7 recite the limitation "one or more additional images". For example, the scope of claim 6 is unclear as claim 6 depends on claim 5 and further depends on claim 1. Both claims 1 and 5 do not contain any reference to “one or more additional images” rendering claim 6 indefinite.
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 6 dependent on claim 5 and further dependent on claim 1 fails to further limit the claims upon which it depends on. Claim 6 and 7 are further limiting “one or more additional images” which are not recited in any of the base claims. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 12-13, and 14-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garner in view of Humpal et al. (US 2022/0192175 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Garner teaches “A method of calibrating a treatment apparatus, the method comprising:
accessing a treatment apparatus (Garner paragraph [0103] “agricultural observation and treatment system 311”), the treatment apparatus comprising:
a support structure (Garner Figure 21B and paragraph [0103] "The agricultural scene can also include an agricultural observation and treatment system 311, supported by an example vehicle 310, performing observations and actions in the agricultural scene");
Garner Figure 21B
one or more image sensors configured to obtain image data (Garner paragraph [0091] "one or more image sensors, including stereoscopic cameras to obtain digital imagery"); and
at least one multiple spraying heads each configured to emit a fluid projectile (Garner Figure 21B and paragraph [0287] "Each modular treatment system supported by the vehicle 2110 can include treatment units 2112 for emitting a treatment projectile or droplet onto a treatment target 2132, including agricultural objects of interest"), the spraying head moveable about an
Θ
position and a
ψ
position (Garner paragraph [0150] "The treatment unit 470 can include a gimbal assembly, such that the treatment head 472 can be embedded in, or supported by the gimbal assembly, effectively allowing the treatment head 472 to rotate itself and orient itself about one or more rotational axes"), wherein the multiple spraying heads are attached to the support structure (Garner Figure 21B and paragraph [0287] "Each modular treatment system supported by the vehicle 2110 can include treatment units 2112 for emitting a treatment projectile or droplet onto a treatment target 2132, including agricultural objects of interest");
performing
m
t
h
operations, wherein
m
t
h
an integer value greater than or equal to 2 (Garner paragraph [0271] "As the sensor scans the scene while a vehicle supporting the sensor is moving in a lateral direction, the sensor will capture one or more image frames in sequence from one to another illustrated in image frames 1862, 1864, and 1866 where image frame 1864 and 1866 are frames captured by a sensor that captured image frame 1862 subsequently, but not necessarily the immediate next frame captured by the image sensor"), of:
moving the spraying head to an
m
t
h
Θ
position (Garner paragraph [0150] "control module of the treatment unit can control the gimbal assembly which changes the rotation of the gimbal assembly about its first gimbal axis, second gimbal axis, or both. The compute module 424 can determine a location on the ground scene, terrain, or tree in an orchard, or other agricultural environment, and instruct the control module of the treatment unit 470 to rotate and orient the gimbal assembly of the treatment unit 470");
emitting an
m
t
h
fluid projectile at an
m
t
h
target location (Garner paragraph [0271] "During the capturing of images, if component treatment system having sensors and treatment units sends instructions to the treatment unit to perform a spray action, such as emit a fluid projectile");
obtaining, via the image sensors, a plurality of images (Garner paragraph [0091] "The system utilizes one or more image sensors, including stereoscopic cameras to obtain digital imagery, including 3D imagery") of the emitted
m
t
h
fluid projectile (Garner paragraph [0271] "the image sensors would capture the spray action as it comes into the frame and then eventually disappears as the projectile is fully splashed onto the surface of the intended target or ground");
determining an
m
t
h
group of pixels representing the emitted
m
t
h
fluid projectile (Garner paragraph [0127] "the spray projectile, such as projectile 1875, can be detected and indexed by the image sensors and the treatment system, as well as the splat area 1877 after the spray has completed. The system can detect the splat size and location"); and
determining an
m
t
h
line extending (Garner Figure 18B and paragraph [0272] "one or more statistical and image analysis techniques, including line fitting, and masking function to determine that the pixels detected in frame 1864 but not detected in frame 1862 is a spray projectile. Since spray projectiles are likely line shaped, the pixels related to the spray can be line fitted") through the
m
t
h
group of pixels of the emitted
m
t
h
fluid projectile (Garner paragraph [0127] "the spray projectile, such as projectile 1875, can be detected and indexed by the image sensors and the treatment system, as well as the splat area 1877 after the spray has completed. The system can detect the splat size and location");
Garner Figure 18B
m
t
h
Θ
position value and an
m
t
h
ψ
position value are associated with an
m
t
h
x, y, z location value of the target location (Garner paragraph [0290] "also have coordinates associated with rotational movement including that of roll about an X axis, pitch about a Y axis, and yaw about a Z axis, as well as translational coordinates associated with lateral movement including an X, Y, and Z position in a geographic boundary. This can include rotating and moving a gimbal assembly of the treatment unit 1653 to a desired pitch angle 2002 and desired yaw angle 2004 when the treatment unit is configuring and orienting itself to position a nozzle or head of the treatment unit 1653 at a target or aligning a line of sight towards a target for emitting a projectile");
determining a target location of a first target agricultural object for treatment, wherein the target location of the first target object comprises a first x, y, z location value (Garner Figure 18E and paragraph [0271] "one or more image sensors is scanning a local scene comprising a plurality of plants 1872 including target plants for treatment and crop plants for observation and indexing");
comparing the first x, y, z location value (Garner Figure 18E and paragraph [0271] "one or more image sensors is scanning a local scene comprising a plurality of plants 1872 including target plants for treatment and crop plants for observation and indexing") to
Θ
position value and a first P position value (Garner paragraph [0150] "the compute module 424 can determine a position and orientation for the gimbal assembly to position and orient the treatment head 472 in real time and make adjustments in the position and orientation of the treatment head 472 as the agricultural treatment system 400 is moving relative to any target plants or agricultural objects of interest on the ground either in a fixed position on the ground, or is also moving"), wherein determining comprises:
if an x, y, z value is found in the
Θ
position value and a matched
ψ
position value from the lookup table (Garner paragraph [0299] "each object identified, can be indexed in the real world such that if the vehicle operates on the same geographic area in a subsequent day, or any subsequent time where a break in operation has occurred, an object detected in the subsequent time can be matched and associated with an object previously identified") respectively as the first
Θ
position value and the first
ψ
position value (Garner paragraph [0300] "At step 2458, the agricultural observation and treatment system can determine a first pose estimation of the first treatment unit. This is done by accounting for the pose estimation of the first treatment module operably and rigidly connected to the treatment unit and knowing the prior orientation, such as the first orientation, of a treatment head of the treatment unit, such as the orientation of the treatment head when it last sprayed a projectile"), and if the x, y, z value is not found in the lookup table, then
Θ
ψ
Θ
position value as the first
Θ
position value, and the interpolated
ψ
position value as first
ψ
position value (Garner paragraph [0290] "This can include rotating and moving a gimbal assembly of the treatment unit 1653 to a desired pitch angle 2002 and desired yaw angle 2004 when the treatment unit is configuring and orienting itself to position a nozzle or head of the treatment unit 1653 at a target or aligning a line of sight towards a target for emitting a projectile");
moving one of the spraying heads, via a first motor according to the first
Θ
position value (Garner paragraph [0325] "the system may determine a spraying assembly pose to orient a spraying head of the spraying assembly such that the spraying head may emit a projective fluid at the target object. At steps 2664, 2666, the system instructs the motors to rotate in one direction or another. The motors may be instructed to be moved simultaneously or one after another. The system instructs a first motor to rotate in a rotational direction, thereby moving the spraying head assembly in a first direction") and via a second motor according to the first
ψ
position value (Garner paragraph [0325] "The system instructs a second motor to rotate in a rotational direction, thereby moving a spraying head assembly in a second direction"); and
emitting a first fluid projectile from the one of the spraying heads and impacting the first target object with the emitted first fluid projectile (Garner paragraph [0329] "the system 400 could spray the target object 2720 and then move onto the next target object, and then stop and spray the next target object").”
However, Garner is not relied on to teach “generating a lookup table wherein the lookup table”, “if an x, y, z value is found in the lookup table” and “if the x, y, z value is not found in the lookup table, then interpolating for an interpolated
Θ
position value and an interpolated
ψ
position value”.
Humpal teaches “generating a lookup table wherein the lookup table (Humpal paragraph [0101] "Prior weed map/prescription processing system 201 obtains a prior weed map such as the weed locations stored by weed location storage component 390 during a prior pass through a field […] Prior weed locator 398 locates the weeds on the prior weed map and substance/dosage identifier 400 identifies one or more of the substance or dosage or application rate to be applied to those weeds")” and “if an x, y, z value is found in the lookup table (Humpal paragraph [0101] "Prior weed map/prescription processing system 201 obtains a prior weed map such as the weed locations stored by weed location storage component 390 during a prior pass through a field […] Prior weed locator 398 locates the weeds on the prior weed map and substance/dosage identifier 400 identifies one or more of the substance or dosage or application rate to be applied to those weeds")” and “if the x, y, z value is not found in the lookup table, then interpolating for an interpolated
Θ
position value and an interpolated
ψ
position value (Humpal paragraph [0120] "block 484, it is determined that there are no more target positions for calibration, then the camera calibration systems 230 on the image processing modules 124 can interpolate transforms between different positions")”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine an agricultural treatment system and method for spraying target location with a fluid as taught by Garner to create and use a look-up table as taught by Humpal.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that " some current agricultural sprayers and agricultural applicators apply product uniformly across a field, regardless of any specific localized needs. This approach, sometimes referred to as a "broadcast" approach, results in the application of chemical and other materials where it is not required. This increases production costs and may have a potentially negative environmental impact. In some cases where herbicide is applied, for instance, up to 80% of the total product is applied where it is not needed" as noted by the Humpal disclosure in paragraph 57.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Garner with the Humpal disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 8 recites a method with steps corresponding to the method with steps
recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps of this claim are mapped to the
proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps of method
claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Garner and Humpal references, presented in rejection of claim 1 apply to this claim. Finally, the combination of Garner and Humpal teaches “a non-transitory data storage (Humpal paragraph [0247] "Memory 21 stores operating system 29, network settings 31, applications 33, application configuration settings 35, data store 37, communication drivers 39, and communication configuration settings 41. Memory 21 can include all types of tangible volatile and non-volatile computer-readable memory devices. It can also include computer storage media (described below)")” and “using the data source (Humpal paragraph [0101] "Location comparison system 394 compares the location of machine 100 ( or the location of the spray areas treated by the nozzle bodies 120 on machine 100) to the location of the weeds and spray decision system 396 determines whether any nozzle bodies 120 are to be activated, which nozzle bodies 120 are to be activated, and the timing of activation of those nozzle bodies 120 in order to apply a particular material to the weed locations obtained from the prior weed map" – for clarification purposes the data source is interpretated to be the same as the lookup table)”.
Claim 12 recites a system including elements corresponding to the steps of the method recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited elements of the device of claim 12 are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps of the method claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine Garner and Humpal presented in rejection of claim 1, apply to this claim. Finally, the combination of Garner and Humpal teaches “one or more processors (Garner paragraph [0339] “The treatment unit may have one or more processors and microcontrollers”)”.
Claim 21 recites a method with steps corresponding to the method with steps recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited steps of this claim are mapped to the proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps of method claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Garner and Humpal references, presented in rejection of claim 1 apply to this claim. Finally, the combination of Garner and Humpal teaches “a non-transitory data storage (Humpal paragraph [0247] "Memory 21 stores operating system 29, network settings 31, applications 33, application configuration settings 35, data store 37, communication drivers 39, and communication configuration settings 41. Memory 21 can include all types of tangible volatile and non-volatile computer-readable memory devices. It can also include computer storage media (described below)")” and “using the data source (Humpal paragraph [0101] "Location comparison system 394 compares the location of machine 100 ( or the location of the spray areas treated by the nozzle bodies 120 on machine 100) to the location of the weeds and spray decision system 396 determines whether any nozzle bodies 120 are to be activated, which nozzle bodies 120 are to be activated, and the timing of activation of those nozzle bodies 120 in order to apply a particular material to the weed locations obtained from the prior weed map" – for clarification purposes the data source is interpretated to be the same as the lookup table)”.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Garner and Humpal teaches “The method of claim 1, further comprising: based on the received plurality images, determining an
m
t
h
location value of an impact location on of the emitted
m
t
h
fluid projectile (Garner paragraph [0127] "the spray projectile, such as projectile 1875, can be detected and indexed by the image sensors and the treatment system, as well as the splat area 1877 after the spray has completed. The system can detect the splat size and location"); and
associating the
m
t
h
position of the sparying head to an
Θ
position the
m
t
h
location value of the target
m
t
h
location (Garner paragraph [0150] "the compute module 424 can determine a position and orientation for the gimbal assembly
to position and orient the treatment head 472 in real time and make adjustments in the position and orientation of the treatment head 472 as the agricultural treatment system 400 is moving relative to any target plants or agricultural objects of interest on the ground either in a fixed position on the ground, or is also moving").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Garner and Humpal references presented in the rejection of claim 1, applies to claim 2. Finally the method recited in claim 2 is met by Garner and Humpal.
Regarding claim 5 (similarly claim 9 and claim 15), the combination of Garner and Humpal teaches “The method of claim [[3]]1, further wherein interpolating comprises(Humpal paragraph [0120] "block 484, it is determined that there are no more target positions for calibration, then the camera calibration systems 230 on the image processing modules 124 can interpolate transforms between different positions"), and calculating an interpolated
Θ
position value and an interpolated
ψ
position value (Humpal paragraph [0120] "the mapping coefficients for additional positions (in addition to the target positions) can be generated using interpolation"), wherein the first
Θ
position value is the interpolated
Θ
position value and the first
ψ
position value is the interpolated
ψ
position value (Garner paragraph [0290] "This can include rotating and moving a gimbal assembly of the treatment unit 1653 to a desired pitch angle 2002 and desired yaw angle 2004 when the treatment unit is configuring and orienting itself to position a nozzle or head of the treatment unit 1653 at a target or aligning a line of sight towards a target for emitting a projectile").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Garner and Humpal references presented in the rejection of claim 3, applies to claim 5. Finally the method recited in claim 5 is met by Garner and Humpal.
Regarding claim 10 (similarly claim 16), the combination of Garner and Humpal teaches “The method of claim 9, further comprising: obtaining one or more additional images, the one or more additional images each comprising pixels depicting the target object (Garner paragraph [0271] "one or more image sensors is scanning a local scene comprising a plurality of plants 1872 including target plants for treatment and crop plants for observation and indexing") and pixels depicting the first fluid projectile (Garner Figure 18A and paragraph [0270] "the image capture system can capture and trace the liquid projectile itself, for example fluid projectile 1830. Because the projectile is a fluid, it may not flow it an exact straight line").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Garner and Humpal references presented in the rejection of claim 1, applies to claim 10. Finally the method recited in claim 10 is met by Garner and Humpal.
Regarding claim 6 (similarly claim 11 and claim 17), the combination of Garner and Humpal teaches “The method of claim 5, further comprising: evaluating the one or more additional images to determine a spray line of the fluid projectile (Garner paragraph [0270] "the image capture system can capture and trace the liquid projectile itself, for example fluid projectile 1830. Because the projectile is a fluid, it may not flow it an exact straight line").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Garner and Humpal references presented in the rejection of claim 1, applies to claim 6. Finally the method recited in claim 6 is met by Garner and Humpal.
Regarding claim 7 (similarly claim 18), the combination of Garner and Humpal teaches “The method of claim 6, wherein evaluating the one or more additional images to determine a spray line comprises: identifying pixels in the images depicting the first fluid projectile (Garner Figure 18A and paragraph [0270] "the image capture system can capture and trace the liquid projectile itself, for example fluid projectile 1830. Because the projectile is a fluid, it may not flow it an exact straight line"); and
line fitting the identified pixels to determine the spray line of the fluid projectile (Garner paragraph [0272] "one or more statistical and image analysis techniques, including line fitting, and masking function to determine that the pixels detected in frame 1864 but not detected in frame 1862 is a spray projectile. Since spray projectiles are likely line shaped, the pixels related to the spray can be line fitted").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Garner and Humpal references presented in the rejection of claim 1, applies to claim 7. Finally the method recited in claim 7 is met by Garner and Humpal.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Garner and Humpal in view of Li et al. (CN108776803A - Translation from Espacenet).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Garner and Humpal teaches “The system of claim 17, wherein evaluating the one or more additional images to determine a spray line comprises: (Garner paragraph [0270] "the image capture system can capture and trace the liquid projectile itself, for example fluid projectile 1830. Because the projectile is a fluid, it may not flow it an exact straight line").
However, Garner is not relied on to teach “performing a Hough line detection”.
Li teaches “performing a Hough line detection (Li paragraph [0035] "The most basic Hough transform is used to detect straight lines (line segments) in a black and white image")”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine an agricultural treatment system and method for spraying target location with a fluid as taught by Garner and Humpal to include using Hough line detection as taught by Li.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that Some existing methods for precision spraying of weeds have low weed identification rates, and sometimes even mistake peanut seedlings for weeds. This not only fails to effectively remove weeds, but also affects the growth of peanut seedlings, causes long-term pesticide resistance in the soil where peanut seedlings are planted, and also causes huge pollution to the ecological environment. The challenge lies in accurately removing weeds while minimizing their damage to the ecological environment. Therefore, finding effective methods for precise weed identification has become an urgent problem to be solved" as noted by the Li disclosure in paragraph 5.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Garner and Humpal with the Li disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 19 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Garner, Humpal, and Li teaches “The system of claim 19, further comprising: determining a emission pattern of the fluid projectile (Garner paragraph [0276] "At step 1812, the observation and treatment system or server can detect a first emission pattern") and indexing a spray object as the emission pattern (Garner paragraph [0277] "At step 1813, the observation and treatment system or server can index the first emission pattern. This can be stored as a 3D vector, or a 2D or 3D model of the full 3D profile with shape and orientation mapped into a virtual scene").”
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JASPREET KAUR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662