DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on December 12, 2025. Claims 1, 3-14, 16-22 are still pending in the present application. This action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 12, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features the Li reference fails to disclose determining neighbor cells, with the RAN, that are affected by the change (e.g. an addition of a cell to the RAN or a removal of a cell from the RAN) in cell composition of the RAN and determining one or more RAN resource partitions that includes RAN resource partitions of neighbor cells that are affected by the change in cell composition of the RAN.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that Li discloses determining neighbor cells (par. 230, lines 1-9), with the RAN (par. 50, lines 1-3), that are affected by the change (e.g. an addition of a cell to the RAN or a removal of a cell from the RAN) in cell composition of the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)] and determining one or more RAN resource partitions that includes RAN resource partitions of neighbor cells (par. 230, lines 1-9, 13-18; par. 243, 244) that are affected by the change in cell composition of the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)].
In view of the above, the rejection using Li is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-14, 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable by Li et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2017/0079059).
Consider claim 1; Li discloses a method, performed by a domain manager of a radio access network (RAN), of managing network slices in a communications network, the method comprising:
determining a change in cell composition of the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)], comprising an addition of a cell to the RAN or a removal of a cell from the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)];
determining neighbor cells (par. 230, lines 1-9), with the RAN (par. 50, lines 1-3), that are affected by the change in cell composition of the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)];
determining one or more RAN resource partitions that includes RAN resource partitions of neighbor cells (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 230, lines 1-9, 13-18; par. 243, 244) that are affected by the change in cell composition of the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)]; and
adapting one or more configurations of the one or more affected RAN resource partitions for a network slice by introducing changes in the one or more configurations (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 230, lines 1-9, 13-18; par. 243, 244) corresponding to the change in cell composition of the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)],
wherein a configuration of a RAN resource partition defines network elements of the RAN that are assigned to the RAN resource partition of the network slice (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 230, lines 1-9, 13-18; par. 243, 244).
Consider claim 3; Li discloses determining the change in cell composition comprises determining an addition of a new cell to the RAN [e.g. addition of a small cell (par. 79, lines 6-15)]; determining neighbor cells within the RAN affected by the change in cell composition comprises determining a set of cells of the RAN that are neighbor cells of the new cell (par. 219, 220; par. 230, lines 1-6); determining the one or more RAN resource partitions affected by the change in cell composition comprises determining a set of RAN resource partitions that includes RAN resource partitions to which neighbor cells of the affected set are assigned (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 79, lines 6-15; par. 219, 220); and adapting the one or more configurations of RAN resource partitions of the affected set comprises assigning a network element of the new cell to the one or more configurations of the RAN resource partitions of the affected set [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 79, lines 6-15)].
Consider claim 4; Li discloses selecting all the cells of the RAN that are neighbor cells of the new cell (par. 79, lines 6-15; par. 219, 220).
Consider claim 5; Li discloses selecting all RAN resource partitions to which neighbor cells of the affected set are assigned [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 79, lines 6-15)].
Consider claim 6; Li discloses assigning a network element of the new cell to the one or more configurations of all RAN resource partitions in the affected set [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 79, lines 6-15)].
Consider claim 7; Li discloses determining the change in cell composition of the RAN comprises the domain manager (par. 141, lines 1-10) determining a removal of an unwanted cell from the RAN [e.g. close operation on a small cell (par. 72, lines 5-14)]; determining neighbor cells within the RAN affected by the change in cell composition comprises determining a set of neighbor cells of the unwanted cell [e.g. close operation on a small cell (par. 72, lines 5-14; par. 219, 220)]; determining the one or more RAN resource partitions affected by the change in cell composition comprises determining a set of RAN resource partitions that include the unwanted cell [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 72, lines 5-14)]; and adapting the one or more configurations of RAN resource partitions of the affected set comprises assigning a network element of the set of neighbor cells, of the unwanted cell, to the one or more configurations of the RAN resource partitions of the affected set [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 72, lines 5-14)].
Consider claim 8; Li discloses selecting all cells of the RAN that are neighbor cells of the unwanted cell [e.g. close operation on a small cell (par. 72, lines 5-14; par. 219, 220)].
Consider claim 9; Li discloses selecting all RAN resource partitions that include the unwanted cell [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 72, lines 5-14)].
Consider claim 10; Li discloses assigning a network element of each neighbor cell of the set of neighbor cells to the configuration of each RAN resource partition [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 219, 220)].
Consider claim 11; Li discloses determining the neighbor cells and the one or more RAN resource partitions affected by the change [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 219, 220; par. 230, lines 1-6)], and adapting the one or more configurations of RAN resource partitions [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9)], are performed in response to receiving a trigger from a cell administration function [e.g. network central controller (par. 219)].
Consider claim 12; Li discloses receiving reports indicating an amount of traffic, of the network slice in an observation time window (par. 126, lines 1-5), handled by a network element assigned to a configuration of a RAN resource partition of the affected set [e.g. network central controller (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 219)]; and based on the reports (par. 219, 220; par. 230, lines 1-6), adapting the configuration of the RAN resource partition by removing the network element from the configuration of the RAN resource partition [e.g. close operation on a small cell (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 72, lines 5-14)].
Consider claim 13; Li discloses a non-transitory, computer-readable medium storing computer-executable instructions that, when executed by processing circuitry, cause a domain manager of a radio access network (RAN) to perform operations corresponding to the method of claim 1 (par. 185, lines 1-6).
Consider claim 14; Li discloses a domain manager for a Radio Access Network (RAN) (par. 140, line 1 – par. 141, line 10), the domain manager configured to manage network slices of a communications network (par. 140, line 1 – par. 141, line 10), the domain manager comprising: processing circuitry and a memory containing instructions executable by said processing circuitry (par. 185, lines 1-11) whereby said domain manager is operative to (par. 140, line 1 – par. 141, line 10):
determine a change in cell composition of the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)], comprising an addition of a cell to the RAN or a removal of a cell from the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)];
determine neighbor cells (par. 230, lines 1-9), with the RAN (par. 50, lines 1-3), that are affected by the change in cell composition of the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)];
determine one or more RAN resource partitions that includes RAN resource partitions of neighbor cells (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 230, lines 1-9, 13-18; par. 243, 244) that are affected by the change in cell composition of the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)]; and
adapt one or more configurations of the one or more affected RAN resource partitions for a network slice by introducing changes in the one or more configurations (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 230, lines 1-9, 13-18; par. 243, 244) corresponding to the change in cell composition of the RAN [e.g. the addition of a booster cell (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 79, lines 1-4, 8-12)],
wherein a configuration of a RAN resource partition defines network elements of the RAN that are assigned to the RAN resource partition of the network slice (par. 50, lines 1-3; par. 230, lines 1-9, 13-18; par. 243, 244).
Consider claim 16; Li discloses determining the change in cell composition comprises determining an addition of a new cell to the RAN [e.g. addition of a small cell (par. 79, lines 6-15)]; determining neighbor cells within the RAN affected by the change in cell composition comprises determining a set of cells of the RAN that are neighbor cells of the new cell (par. 219, 220; par. 230, lines 1-6); determining the one or more RAN resource partitions affected by the change in cell composition comprises determining a set of RAN resource partitions that includes RAN resource partitions to which neighbor cells of the affected set are assigned (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 79, lines 6-15; par. 219, 220); and adapting the one or more configurations of RAN resource partitions of the affected set comprises assigning a network element of the new cell to the one or more configurations of the RAN resource partitions of the affected set [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 79, lines 6-15)].
Consider claim 17; Li discloses determine neighbor cells within the RAN affected by the change in cell composition by selecting all the cells of the RAN that are neighbor cells of the new cell (par. 79, lines 6-15; par. 219, 220).
Consider claim 18; Li discloses determine the one or more RAN resource partitions affected by the change in cell composition by selecting all RAN resource partitions to which neighbor cells of the affected set are assigned [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 79, lines 6-15)].
Consider claim 19; Li discloses adapt the one or more configurations of RAN resource partitions of the affected set by assigning a network element of the new cell to the one or more configurations of all RAN resource partitions in the affected set [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 79, lines 6-15)].
Consider claim 20; Li discloses determining the change in cell composition of the RAN comprises the domain manager (par. 141, lines 1-10) determining a removal of an unwanted cell from the RAN [e.g. close operation on a small cell (par. 72, lines 5-14)]; determining neighbor cells within the RAN affected by the change in cell composition comprises determining a set of neighbor cells of the unwanted cell [e.g. close operation on a small cell (par. 72, lines 5-14; par. 219, 220)]; determining the one or more RAN resource partitions affected by the change in cell composition comprises determining a set of RAN resource partitions that include the unwanted cell [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 72, lines 5-14)]; and adapting the one or more configurations of RAN resource partitions of the affected set comprises assigning a network element of the set of neighbor cells, of the unwanted cell, to the one or more configurations of the RAN resource partitions of the affected set [e.g. flexibility, scalability (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 72, lines 5-14)].
Consider claim 21; Li discloses determine neighbor cells within the RAN affected by the change in cell composition by selecting all cells of the RAN that are neighbor cells of the unwanted cell [e.g. close operation on a small cell (par. 72, lines 5-14; par. 219, 220)].
Consider claim 22; Li discloses receiving reports indicating an amount of traffic, of the network slice in an observation time window (par. 126, lines 1-5), handled by a network element assigned to a configuration of a RAN resource partition of the affected set [e.g. network central controller (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 219)]; and based on the reports (par. 219, 220; par. 230, lines 1-6), adapting the configuration of the RAN resource partition by removing the network element from the configuration of the RAN resource partition [e.g. close operation on a small cell (par. 70, lines 1-9; par. 72, lines 5-14)].
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within
TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not
mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the
shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any
extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this final action.
Examiner should be directed to Joel Ajayi whose telephone number is (571) 270-1091. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday from 7:30am to 5:00pm and Friday 7:30am to 4:00 pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Anderson can be reached on (571) 272-4177. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646