DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on July 8, 2026 has been entered. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 11. Applicant has cancelled claims 10. Claim 21 is newly added. Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are now pending, have been examined and currently stand rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 11-12, 14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta et al, (US 2007/0156611 A1) hereinafter “Gupta” in view of Thomas et al (US 2022/0391890 A1) “Thomas” in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0049594 A1) hereinafter “Liu”, in view of Gupta ‘613, (US 7783613 B2).
Regarding claim 1: Gupta disclose:
A system (See at least Gupta, Fig. 3 Computer System) comprising:
one or more processors; (See at least Gupta, Fig. 3 CPU) and
one or more non-transitory, computer-readable mediums (See at least Gupta, Fig. 3 memory) including instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to
receive, from a user system, over a communication network, rule data for defining an expiration for transaction authorizations, the rule data including an expiration value and one or more attribute field-value pairs; (See at least Gupta, Fig. 1A; Fig. 1B; Fig 1D; [0021]; [0030-0034]; [0048]; [0054]; [0095] where rule data (i.e., usage instruction rule sets) for defining an expiration for transaction authorizations is received, the rule data including an expiration value (i.e., expiration date/ durationTimeLimit ) and one or more attribute field-value pairs (i.e., one or more parameter values).)
receive, from an issuing processor of the set of issuing processors , over the communication network, a transaction authorization request for a transaction, the transaction authorization request including transaction data one or more attributes for the transaction;; (See at least Gupta, [0018-0019]; [0022-0025]; where a request for a transaction (i.e., a potential transaction) is received from an issuer (i.e., payment provider); the transaction authorization request including transaction data (i.e., information) one or more attributes for the transaction (e.g., transaction amount, a type of transaction, additional details).)
establish a transaction record, including the transaction data (See at least Gupta, [0044]; [0181-0188]; The transaction authorizer also generates a Transaction ID. The references and descriptions, along with the dispute resolution variables, are all stored in the transaction data. A reference to the transaction that can be supplied back to the transaction…)
In such situations, information about the subscription or other multiuse purchase may be stored by the Account System in various ways so that the Transaction System 210 will later be able to determine that a payment transaction is authorized.);
compare, one or more attributes of the transaction data to the one or more attribute field-value pairs of the rule data to determine whether one or more attributes for the transaction match values of the one or more attribute field-value pairs; (See at least Gupta, [0026-0027]; [0042]; [0065] Fig. 1B. where the one or more attributes of the transaction data (i.e., information about the potential transaction e.g. transaction amount and transaction type) and one or more attributes of the rule data (i.e., disallowed transaction types/ instruction rules) are compared to determine whether one or more attributes for the transaction match values of the one or more attribute field-value pairs (e.g., and information about the transaction and/or those other parties is retrieved in order to determine whether the rules are satisfied).)
for a match occurrence
[validation of the transaction) (See at least Gupta, [0077])
transmit, the transaction data, wherein the system is configured to update an available balance based on the transaction data; (See at least Gupta, [0095]; [0024] This rule specifies that if the sender registers a dispute within 15 days of the transaction, an automatic refund will be issued; various information about the potential transaction can then be supplied to the transaction authorization system for automatic determination of whether the transaction is authorized .).)
monitor for expiration of the transaction authorization according to the transaction by comparing that a current time is greater than or equal to the transaction authorization expiration field (See at least Gupta, [0095]; [0126-0127]; [0171-0172]; [0135-0136]; [0153-0154]. E.g., This rule specifies that if the sender registers a dispute within 15 days of the transaction, an automatic refund will be issued; # recipient must allow dispute refunds for 10 days or more; SenderwinsTimeLimit>='l0 days';.)
and
transmit, an indication of expiration of the transaction authorization, the indication including the transaction identifier, wherein, the system is configured to reverse the update to the available balance, according to the transaction authorization expiration. (See at least Gupta, [0095]; [0175]; [0181] The recipient specifies a dispute resolution policy that allows the sender to receive a 100% refund for up to ten days after the transaction date; The transaction authorizer also generates a Transaction ID that will be returned to the caller..)
Gupta does not explicitly disclose; however Thomas teaches the transaction record including a transaction authorization expiration field to specify an expiration of the transaction authorization; for a match occurrence based on the comparison, set the transaction authorization expiration field of the transaction record according to the expiration value; and monitor for expiration of the transaction authorization according to the transaction authorization expiration field of the transaction record;. (See at least Thomas, [0107-0108]; [0127]; For example, the resource manager 210 may place a hold on resources recorded in the resource pool 242 when the proposed transfer indicates that resources are to be transferred from the resource pool 242 to the resource pool 244, and a hold authorization from the party that owns the resource pool; As used herein a hold (or "lock") timeout refers to a specified amount of time that an intermediary will agree to have its resource held at a resource tracking system. If the transfer from the sending party to the receiving party does not complete before a lock timeout expires, the hold on the resources may be released, and the transfer may fail.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gupta and include Thomas’s teachings in order to reduce manual intervention and ensure consistent, automated enforcement in the time related rules.
The combination of Gupta and Thomas disclose a system where rules sets are received, receiving a potential transaction, determining combability between transaction information and rule sets and updating balances based on rules. (Gupta, [0030-0034]; [0025]; [0095]). However, Gupta does not explicitly disclose transmitting to a ledger the transaction data of the transaction and a ledger configured to update balances (e.g., reverse balances).
Liu, on the other hand teaches transmitting to a ledger the transaction data a ledger configured to update balances (e.g., reverse balances). (See at least Lui, [0033]; [0054]; [0088]; [0101]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention have transmitted the transaction data and to configure ledger to update balances (e.g., reverse balances) by including the ledger for communication with the system executing the system of Gupta, as in the improvement discussed in Liu in the system executing the system of Gupta. As in Liu, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to attach and configure ledger functionality to Gupta’s transaction processing system, to securely update and reverse balances as needed in Gupta.
The combination of Gupta, Thomas and Liu does not explicitly disclose; however Gupta 613’ teaches; operate an authorization engine as middleware between a set of issuing processors having heterogeneous authorization message formats and a ledger system via a uniform interface that uses a standardized format, (See at least Gupta ‘613, claim 1; Col. 5 lines 43-67; receiving a request for transaction processing from the client device, wherein the request comprises one or more transaction parameters as submitted via a transaction form; (D) at a middleware service configured to communicate with the client device, receiving an indication of a security protocol supported by the client device; (E) transforming the request into a format supported by a backend transaction server, thereby generating a transformed request, wherein the transaction model of the transaction type specifies how to transform the one or more transaction parameters into the format supported by the backend transaction server)
translate, via an issuing processor integration interface, the transaction data from a heterogeneous authorization message format into the standardized format; (See at least Gupta ‘613, claim 1 receiving a request for transaction processing from the client device, wherein the request comprises one or more transaction parameters as submitted via a transaction form; (D) at a middleware service configured to communicate with the client device, receiving an indication of a security protocol supported by the client device; (E) transforming the request into a format supported by a backend transaction server, thereby generating a transformed request, wherein the transaction model of the transaction type specifies how to transform the one or more transaction parameters into the format supported by the backend transaction server)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination and include Gupta 613’s teachings in order to use uniform format and configuration in the computing system.
Regarding claim 11: Gupta disclose: A method for configuring transaction authorization expiration, comprising:
receiving, at an authorization engine, rule data for defining an expiration for transaction authorizations, the rule data including one or more attribute fields, a set of one or more values for each of the one or more attribute fields, and an expiration value; (See at least Gupta, Fig. 1A; Fig. 1B; Fig 1D; [0021]; [0030-0034]; [0048]; [0054]; [0095] where rule data (i.e., usage instruction rule sets) for defining an expiration for transaction authorizations is received, the rule data including an expiration value (i.e., expiration date/ durationTimeLimit ) and one or more attribute field-value pairs (i.e., one or more parameter values).)
receiving, at the authorization engine, from an issuing processor, over a communication network, a transaction authorization request for a transaction, the transaction authorization
request including transaction data; (See at least Gupta, [0018-0019]; [0022-0025]; where a request for a transaction (i.e., a potential transaction) is received from an issuer (i.e., payment provider); the transaction authorization request including transaction data (i.e., information).)
establishing an electronic transaction record, including the transaction data and a transaction authorization expiration field to specify an expiration of the transaction authorization; (See at least Gupta, [0044] In such situations, information about the subscription or other multiuse purchase may be stored by the Account System in various ways so that the Transaction System 210 will later be able to determine that a payment transaction is authorized.);
comparing, by the authorization engine, the transaction data to the rule data to determine whether a match occurs for the transaction data and the rule data; (See at least Gupta, [0026-0027]; [0042]; [0065] where the transaction data (i.e., information about the potential transaction) and the rule data (i.e., instruction rules) are compared to determine whether a match occurs for the transaction data and the rule data (i.e., when a compatibility is determined).)
transmitting, by the authorization engine, the transaction data, wherein the system is configured to update an available balance based on the transaction data; ; (See at least Gupta, [0095]; [0024] This rule specifies that if the sender registers a dispute within 15 days of the transaction, an automatic refund will be issued; various information about the potential transaction can then be supplied to the transaction authorization system for automatic determination of whether the transaction is authorized).
monitoring for expiration of the transaction authorization according to the transaction authorization expiration field of the transaction record by comparing that a current time is greater than or equal to the transaction authorization expiration field; (See at least Gupta, [0095]; [0126-0127]; [0171-0172]; [0135-0136]; [0153-0154]. E.g., This rule specifies that if the sender registers a dispute within 15 days of the transaction, an automatic refund will be issued; # recipient must allow dispute refunds for 10 days or more; SenderwinsTimeLimit>='l0 days';.)
upon transaction remaining pending at a current time corresponding to the transaction authorization expiration, effecting, by the authorization engine, expiration of the transaction authorization; (See at least Gupta, [0153-0157] where if the transaction remains pending at a current time corresponding to the transaction authorization expiration (i.e., TransactionDate<='2004-Oct-1 ') effecting, by the authorization engine, expiration of the transaction authorization (e.g., when token expires after Oct. 1, 2004.)
transmitting, by the authorization engine, in indication of expiration of the transaction authorization, wherein system is configured to reverse the update to the available balance, according to the transaction authorization expiration. (See at least Gupta, [0095]; [0175] The recipient specifies a dispute resolution policy that allows the sender to receive a 100% refund for up to ten days after the transaction date.)
Gupta does not explicitly disclose; however Thomas teaches according to a match, setting a transaction authorization expiration to the expiration value. See at least Thomas, [0107-0108]; [0127]; For example, the resource manager 210 may place a hold on resources recorded in the resource pool 242 when the proposed transfer indicates that resources are to be transferred from the resource pool 242 to the resource pool 244, and a hold authorization from the party that owns the resource pool; As used herein a hold (or "lock") timeout refers to a specified amount of time that an intermediary will agree to have its resource held at a resource tracking system. If the transfer from the sending party to the receiving party does not complete before a lock timeout expires, the hold on the resources may be released, and the transfer may fail.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gupta and include Thomas’s teachings in order to reduce manual intervention and ensure consistent, automated enforcement in the time related rules.
The combination of Gupta and Thomas disclose a system where rules sets are received, receiving a potential transaction, determining combability between transaction information and rule sets and updating balances based on rules. (Gupta, [0030-0034]; [0025]; [0095]). However, Gupta does not explicitly disclose transmitting to a ledger the transaction data of the transaction and a ledger configured to update balances (e.g., reverse balances).
Liu, on the other hand teaches transmitting to a ledger the transaction data a ledger configured to update balances (e.g., reverse balances). (See at least Lui, [0033]; [0054]; [0088]; [0101])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention have transmitted the transaction data and to configure ledger to update balances (e.g., reverse balances) by including the ledger for communication in the system of Gupta, as in the improvement discussed in Liu. As in Liu, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to attach and configure ledger functionality to Gupta’s transaction processing system, to securely update and reverse balances as needed in Gupta.
The combination of Gupta, Thomas and Liu does not explicitly disclose; however Gupta 613’s teaches; translating, via an issuing processor integration interface, the transaction data from a heterogeneous authorization message format into the standardized format; (See at least Gupta ‘613, claim 1; Col. 5 lines 43-67; receiving a request for transaction processing from the client device, wherein the request comprises one or more transaction parameters as submitted via a transaction form; (D) at a middleware service configured to communicate with the client device, receiving an indication of a security protocol supported by the client device; (E) transforming the request into a format supported by a backend transaction server, thereby generating a transformed request, wherein the transaction model of the transaction type specifies how to transform the one or more transaction parameters into the format supported by the backend transaction server)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination and include Gupta 613’s teachings in order to use uniform format and configuration in the computing system.
Regarding claims 2 and 12: The combination of Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta 613 disclose the method of claims 1 and 11. The combination further disclose comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to:
receive, the updated available balance; and (See at least Gupta, [0182-0186] $50.00 from the sender's bank account; account balances are updated in the course of executing the above transaction.)
receive, the available balance with the update reversed. (See at least Gupta, [0095]; [0174]; [0182-0186]; an automatic refund will be issued.)
However, Gupta does not specifically disclose receive updated balances from a ledger system.
Liu, on the other hand teaches, receive updated balances from a ledger system (i.e., blockchain). (See at least Liu, [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention have transmitted the transaction data and to configure ledger to update balances (e.g., reverse balances) by including the ledger for communication in the system of Gupta, as in the improvement discussed in Liu. As in Liu, it is within the capabilities of one of ordinary skill in the art to attach and configure ledger functionality to Gupta’s transaction processing system, to securely update and reverse balances as needed in Gupta.
Regarding claims 4 and 14: The combination of Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta 613 disclose the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. The combination further disclose wherein the rule data further includes one or more of set logic and Boolean logic for combining attribute field-value pairs, wherein the comparing the transaction data to the rule data to determine whether a match occurs is according to the one or more of the set logic and Boolean logic. (See at least Gupta, Fig. 1B; Fig. 1E; [0189]; [0189]; [0196] Boolean expressions and logical operators.)
Regarding claims 6 and 16: The combination of Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta 613 disclose the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. The combination further disclose wherein the comparing, by the authorization engine, the transaction data to the rule data comprises comparing each value of the set of one or more values of the one or more attribute fields to corresponding attribute data of the transaction data to determine whether a match occurs. (See at least Gupta, [0022]; [0026]; [0042]; [0147] whether one or more corresponding rules in the other instruction rule set(s) match or are otherwise compatible with the rule; TransactionAmount<='USD 50'; The sender is limiting the amount of each transaction
to $50. This does not limit the total usage of the token).
Regarding claims 7 and 17: The combination of Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta 613 disclose the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. The combination further disclose wherein the expiration value is one of: a point in time, a time period, or a duration. (See at least Gupta, [0095] it’s a time period and/or duration e.g., duration SenderWinsTimeLimit :- '15 days').
Regarding claims 8 and 18: The combination of Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta 613 disclose the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. The combination further disclose comprising instructions which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to provide a user interface to a client computing device, for presenting to a user, the user interface to receive and transmit to the authorization engine the rule data. (See at least Gupta, Fig. 1 item 224; [0034]; [0039] In addition, usage instruction rule sets and their rules can be created in various ways in various embodiments, such as interactively via a graphical user interface ("GUI") provided by the transaction authorization system; including defining usage
instruction rule sets for use with the account. In some embodiments, the routine may be implemented as part of an interactive user interface with which a user can interact.)
Regarding claim 9: The combination of Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta 613 disclose the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. The combination further disclose wherein the attribute field-value pairs each comprise an attribute field and a set of one or more values that correspond to the attribute field. (See at least Gupta, Fig. 1D; [0170]; [0179] e.g., attribute field:=value; number SenderwinsFractionLimit:=100%; SenderWinsTimeLimit:=10 days. And in Fig. 1B attribute field would be “Dispute Time Window” and the value “30days”.)
Regarding claim 19: The combination of Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta 613 disclose the method of claim 11. The combination further disclose wherein a given attribute field of the one or more attribute fields is one of: merchant name.(See at least Gupta, Fig. 1B; Fig. 1E. AllowedPayers; DisallowedPayers; e.g., the attribute field is: Payer and the value is Company XYZ).
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta 613 disclose the method of claim 11. The combination further disclose wherein monitoring for expiration of the transaction comprises considering a status of the transaction. (See at least Gupta, [0095]; where monitoring for expiration of the transaction comprises considering the transaction expiration relative to a current time (i.e., duration SenderWinsTimeLimit :- '15 days; This rule specifies considering a status of the transaction (i.e., refund or no automatic refund).)
Regarding claim 21: The combination of Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta 613 disclose the system of claim 1. The combination further disclose wherein the one or more processors are configured to compare the one or more attributes of the transaction data to the one or more attribute field value pairs of the rule data by:
comparing attributes between the transaction data and the rule data comprising one or more of merchant category code, merchant name, merchant descriptor, merchant currency, merchant address, merchant city, merchant state, merchant postal code, or merchant country. (See at least Gupta, [0052]; merchant category code, merchant name, merchant descriptor, merchant, merchant address, merchant city, merchant state, merchant postal code, or merchant country (e.g., a specific payment recipient) and merchant currency (e.g., allowed or disallowed types of payment instruments and currencies for received payments).)
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta ‘613 as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Manapat et al. (US 10,867,303 B1), “Manapat”.
Regarding claims 3 and 13: The combination of Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta ‘613 disclose the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. The combination further disclose:
receive at the authorization engine, over a communication network, a default expiration value; and (See at least Gupta, [0052]; instruction rule set has a specified expiration date).
However, the combination does not explicitly disclose according to a match not occurring, set a transaction authorization expiration to the default expiration value.
Manapat, on the other hand teaches than it was known in the art if a match fails to occur, set a default rule (e.g., transaction authorization expiration to the default expiration value). (See at least Manapat, Col. 9 lines 5-15 However, where a rule exists and matches the conditions associated with the transaction in question then the system will apply the action specified by the user rule by overriding the default system behavior to either accept or reject the transaction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine teaching of Gupta in view of Liu to Manapat in order to improve system reliability by ensuring that the system behaves in a secure way when no specific rule applies.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta ’613 as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Roe et al. (US 2012/0221397 A1), “Roe”.
Regarding claims 5 and 15: The combination of Gupta, Thomas, Liu and Gupta 613 disclose the system of claim 1 and the method of claim 11. The combination further disclose component retrieves stored information about the usage instruction rule sets that correspond to the reference tokens and determines whether those usage instruction rule sets are satisfied for the potential transaction under the current conditions. Gupta further disclose a data retrieved including available balance. Gupta, [0065]; [0113]. However, the combination does not explicitly disclose compare, by the authorization engine, the transaction data to an available balance to determine an authorization status; and transmit, by the authorization engine, to the issuing processor, the authorization status.
Roe, on the other hand teaches a known technique of compare, by the authorization engine, the transaction data to an available balance to determine an authorization status; and transmit, by the authorization engine, to the issuing processor, the authorization status. (See at least Roe, Abs.; [0009]; [0034]; claim 3; where the transaction data (i.e., bank account data) is compared to an available balance (i.e., available balance) to determine authorization status; and the authorization status (i.e., authorization for the transaction) is transmitted to an issuing processor (i.e., to the account server).)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the known technique of Roe would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved system. It would have been recognized that applying the technique of comparing available balance and transmitting authorization, as taught by Roe to the teachings of the combination of Gupta and Liu would have yielded predictable results because the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate such features into similar systems. Further, applying the functionality of comparing available balance and transmitting authorization to the above combination, would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that ensures transaction validity based on funds available.
Response to Arguments
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Applicant argues that the Gupta does not teach or suggest “determining an expiration value for a particular transaction based on attributes of the transaction itself”. Remarks, pp. 9-10. Examiner respectfully disagrees. In the claims, the expiration value itself is not calculated or determined by the comparison of the attributes.
Applicant asserts that Gupta does not disclose “Thus, Gupta does not teach or suggest "establish a transaction record, including the transaction data and a transaction authorization expiration field to specify an expiration of the transaction authorization; compare the one or more attributes of the transaction data to the one or more attribute field-value pairs of the rule data to determine whether one or more attributes of the transaction data match values of the one or more attribute field-values pairs; for a match occurrence based on the comparison, set the transaction authorization expiration field of the transaction record according to the expiration value”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Gupta disclose establish a transaction record, including the transaction data (See at least Gupta, [0044]; [0181-0188]; The transaction authorizer also generates a Transaction ID. The references and descriptions, along with the dispute resolution variables, are all stored in the transaction data. A reference to the transaction that can be supplied back to the transaction…) compare, one or more attributes of the transaction data to the one or more attribute field-value pairs of the rule data to determine whether one or more attributes for the transaction match values of the one or more attribute field-value pairs; (See at least Gupta, [0026-0027]; [0042]; [0065] Fig. 1B. where the one or more attributes of the transaction data (i.e., information about the potential transaction e.g. transaction amount and transaction type) and one or more attributes of the rule data (i.e., disallowed transaction types/ instruction rules) are compared to determine whether one or more attributes for the transaction match values of the one or more attribute field-value pairs (e.g., and information about the transaction and/or those other parties is retrieved in order to determine whether the rules are satisfied).) for a match occurrence [validation of the transaction) (See at least Gupta, [0077])
Thomas further disclose establish a transaction record, a transaction authorization expiration field to specify an expiration of the transaction authorization and for a match occurrence based on the comparison, set the transaction authorization expiration field of the transaction record according to the expiration value. (See at least Thomas, [0107-0108]; [0127]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Merchant Administration User Guide: P. 15 Authorization Expiry Authorizations have a validity period after which they expire. The authorization validity period (in milliseconds) can be configured in the gateway for an acquirer, card type, and order certainty combination. Where configured, expired authorizations are automatically reversed by the gateway.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.G.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/EDUARDO CASTILHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3698