Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 18, the claims recite “wherein the NSTR link pair further comprises one or more links in addition to the first link and the second link”. A link pair normally has exactly two links and the NSTR link pair already consists of the first and second links. How can the link pair further comprise one or more links in addition to the first and second links? Hence, the claims are nonsensical.
Double patenting
Claims 1-7, 9-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of patent US12219637. Please see the direct claim comparison below.
US Patent 12219637 claim 1
Instant application, claim 1
A method for channel state feedback implemented in a first communication device, the first communication device being configured with a plurality of links for communicating with a second communication device, the method comprising:
A method for channel state feedback implemented in a first communication device, the first communication device being configured with a plurality of links for communicating with a second communication device, the method comprising:
receiving first data over a channel of a first link of the plurality of links;
determining whether a channel of a second link of the plurality of links is idle in a case that no data is received over the channel of the second link and the first link and the second link belong to a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair; and
receiving first data over a channel of a first link of the plurality of links;
determining whether a channel of a second link of the plurality of links is idle in a case that no data is received over the channel of the second link and the first link and the second link belong to a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair; and
transmitting a feedback frame over the channel of the first link, wherein the feedback frame comprises a first field indicating whether the channel of the second link is idle, wherein determining whether the channel of the second link is idle comprises: ….
transmitting a feedback frame over the channel of the first link, wherein the feedback frame comprises a first field indicating whether the channel of the second link is idle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-15, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 20230379999) in view of Xia (US 20220312506).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a method for channel state feedback implemented in a first communication device, the first communication device being configured with a plurality of links for communicating with a second communication device (figs. 1-2, [0009][0268], a multi-link device), the method comprising:
receiving first data over a channel of a first link of the plurality of links ([0024], receiving an initial control frame which initiates the frame exchange in the first link ; [0224][0228]) ;
determining whether a channel of a second link of the plurality of links is idle in a case that no data is received over the channel of the second link ([0103-04][0186][0193][0331], the station may sense the channel state, when it is sensed that whether the channel is idle or not; the corresponding link is detected to be idle for a predetermined time ; Abstract, ¶9-11, 17, 23-25, 158-159 ; figs. 9-10) and the first link and the second link belong to a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair;
transmitting a feedback frame over the channel of the first link, wherein the feedback frame comprises a first field indicating whether the channel of the second link is idle ([0193][0217][0238-239][[0359-363], transmits, to the beam former, channel state information (CSI), where the channel state can be idle or busy, indicated by the signaling field)
Kim does not explicitly disclose the first link and the second link belong to a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair.
Xia discloses the first link and the second link belong to a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair in a method for channel state feedback implemented in a first communication device, the first communication device being configured with a plurality of links for communicating with a second communication devices for the purpose of achieving the synchronized channel access on different links of a NSTR link pair for a shared TXOP holder MLD (Xia, [0009] [0106], stations affiliated with the same NSTR MLD on different links of a NSTR link pair perform synchronized transmission). Hence, it whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to incorporate the use of first link and the second link belong to a non-simultaneous transmit and receive (NSTR) link pair a method for channel state feedback implemented in a first communication device, the first communication device being configured with a plurality of links for communicating with a second communication devices for the purpose of achieving the synchronized channel access on different links of a NSTR link pair for a shared TXOP holder MLD, as taught by Xia in the method for channel state feedback implemented in a first communication device, the first communication device being configured with a plurality of links for communicating with a second communication device of Kim, in order to achieve more rapid (faster) channel access to initiate shared TXOP among MLDs.
Claims 11, 12, 18, 20 are rejecte4d similarly noting that Kim discloses a receiver/transmitter and circuit (Kim, figs. 3-4).
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Xia disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the feedback frame is based on a feedback frame for notifying whether the first data is received successfully (Kim, [0332], an ACK normally indicates the data is received successfully).
Regarding claim 3, 13, Kim and Xia disclose the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving second data over the channel of the second link, wherein the second data is transmitted by the second communication device synchronously with the first data transmission over the channel of the first link in response to the first field indicating the channel of the second link is idle (Kim, figs. 22, 23, .¶50, 234-236, 239-243; Xia, [0106], stations affiliated with the same NSTR MLD on different links of a NSTR link pair perform synchronized transmission).
Regarding claim 4, 14, Kim and Xia disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first data is transmitted by the second communication device in a transmission opportunity (TXOP) in response to the first link obtaining the TXOP without waiting idleness of the channel of the second link (Kim, Abstract, ¶9, 17, 23).
Regarding claim 5, 15, Kim and Xia disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first field includes a bitmap for indicating whether channels of links of the NSTR link pair are idle, and wherein each bit of the bitmap corresponds to one of the links (Kim, ¶124, 397, fig. 49).
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Xia disclose the method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the channel of the second link is idle comprises: detecting a medium activity of the channel of the second link after receiving the first data over the channel of the first link; and determining the channel of the second link to be idle in response to that the medium activity of the channel of the second link is not detected for a duration of a predefined number of backoff slots (Kim, ¶103-105, 160-162, 176-178, 0193, 0331, the station may sense the channel state, when it is sensed that whether the channel is idle or not; the corresponding link is detected to be idle for a predetermined time).
Regarding claim 9, 18, Kim and Xia disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the NSTR link pair further comprises one or more links in addition to the first link and the second link, the method further comprising: determining whether channels of the one or more links are idle in a case that no data is received over the channels of the one or more links, wherein the first field further indicates whether the channels of the one or more links are idle (Kim, [0006][0022-23][0193][0223], the station may sense the channel state, when it is sensed that whether the channel is idle or not; the corresponding link is detected to be idle for a predetermined time).
Regarding claim 10, 19, Kim and Xia disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the first communication device is an access point (AP) and the second communication device is a station (STA), or the first communication device is the STA and the second communication device is the AP, or both the first communication device and the second communication device are the APs, or both the first communication device and the second communication device are the STAs (Kim, Abstract, figs. 1-2, STAs, APs; [0223])
Claims 6, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Xia further in view of Kim2 (US 20230413343).
Regarding claim 6, Kim and Xia disclose the method of claim 2,
Kim and Xia do not explicitly disclose the feedback frame for notifying whether the first data is received successfully is a BlockAck frame, and wherein the feedback frame further comprises a second field indicating whether the feedback frame comprises the first field, the second field occupying a bit of a reserved field in the BlockAck frame.
Kim2 discloses the feedback frame for notifying whether the first data is received successfully is a BlockAck frame, and wherein the feedback frame further comprises a second field indicating whether the feedback frame comprises the first field, the second field occupying a bit of a reserved field in the BlockAck frame (Kim2, fig. 26, [0135][0168] [0178][0183], may send an Ack frame or a BlockAck frame 2132 in response to frame 2131).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the time of effective filing to combine the teachings of multilink communications system as given by Kim with the teachings of block acknowledgement feedback system given by Kim2. The motivation for doing so would have been to effectively provide feedback by using block acknowledgement.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected similarly as claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/ZHENSHENG ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474