Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the embodiments described using the phrase “and/or” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Claim 2 requires an embodiment wherein the rear side only is formed with a hook-and-loop element and an embodiment wherein the function side only is formed from a hook-and-loop element. Claim 3 requires an embodiment wherein only the function side is formed from a velour and an embodiment wherein only the rear side is formed from velour. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 3 both use the phrase “and/or” followed by the term “each”. However, the term “each” would only apply under the “and” portion of the “and/or”. Clarification of how the term “each” applies with the use of “or”.
Claims 4, 5 and 12-14 depend from the above claims and inherit the issues under 35 USC 112 and are rejected herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poulakis (US 7,670,663) in view of Perina et al. (US 3,696,472).
Regarding claim 1, Poulakis discloses an apparatus comprising:
a rear side (34) being a first fabric (Column 5, lines 36-40 describe a woven material) configured to be bonded to a rubber material by integral bonding utilizing vulcanization (the material described is capable of being bonded integrally in the claimed manner);
a function side (14) being a second fabric (Column 4, lines 26-27), which has individual hook-and-loop elements (18) that are kept free of the rubber material and produce a releasable hook-and-loop closure when engaged with corresponding hook-and-loop elements (Column 4, lines 7-16); and
a barrier layer (32) between the rear side and the function side, wherein the barrier layer is configured to prevent liquid rubber material and/or flowable vulcanization products from entering the function side from the rear side during the integral bonding utilizing vulcanization (the material of the layer is capable of preventing flow of vulcanization material).
Poulakis fails to disclose wherein the first and second fabric are knitted instead of woven.
Perina et al. teach wherein fabrics can be provided by knitting or weaving (Column 4, lines 58-65).
From this teaching of Perina et al. it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to the fabric of the connecting component (34) and backing fabric (14) of Poulakis from knitting methods. Knitting provides enhanced characteristics of stretch and flexibility over woven fabrics.
Regarding claim 2, the combination device of Poulakis and Perina et al. further disclose wherein the first knitted fabric of the rear side and/or the second knitted fabric of the function side is/are each formed from a hook-and-loop element (Fig. 2 of Poulakis shows a function side with loop elements).
Regarding claim 3, Poulakis further discloses wherein the rear side and/or the function side are each formed from a velour (Figs. 1 and 2 show a velour loop material on the function side).
Regarding claim 4, the combination device of Poulakis and Perina et al. further disclose wherein the velour used for the rear side and/or the function side consists of the knitted fabric with the fiber covering made of closed pile loops (16, 18, Fig. 2 as shown of Poulakis).
Regarding claim 5, Poulakis further discloses wherein the velour of the rear side is formed thinner relative to the velour of the function side, (Claims 3 and 4 above do not require the rear side to comprise velour, as such the limitations of Claim 5 are met insomuch as Claims 3 and 4 do not require the rear side to have velour of the description of the current claim), and the respective velour for the rear and function side consists of a polyamide (Column 2, line 10 describes the use of polyamide for the closure material).
Regarding claim 7, Poulakis further discloses wherein the barrier layer consists of a temperature-resistant film having a melting point greater than 180 C (Column 5, lines 1-9 list possible materials for the barrier layer including at least red phosphorus. Red phosphorus has a melting temperature in excess of 180 C, See US 2023/0038150 lines 12-16 lists a melting point of 590 C).
Regarding claim 12, Poulakis further discloses wherein the barrier layer is joined to the two opposite velours by an adhesive layer (Claim 3 above does not require the rear side to comprise velour, as such the limitations of Claim 12 are met insomuch as Claim 3 does not require the rear side to have velour of the description of the current claim).
Regarding claim 13, Poulakis further discloses wherein the respective adhesive layer is formed from a polyurethane (Column 4, lines 55-58).
Regarding claim 14, Poulakis further discloses wherein the respective adhesive layer is formed from a polyurethane being a reactive polyurethane adhesive (Column 4, lines 55-58).
Regarding claim 15, Poulakis further discloses an apparatus according to claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above) and a corresponding hook-and-loop element, the closure part being connected to the corresponding hook-and-loop element via the hook-and-loop elements of the function side (Column 4, lines 8-12).
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poulakis as applied to claim 7 above.
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Poulakis discloses the invention except for wherein the barrier layer is made of a polyethylene terephthalate film and is fluorinated on both sides. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use fluorinated polyethylene terephthalate for the barrier layer of Poulakis in place of the materials listed in column 5, lines 2-9 for the backing layer since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. The use of the fluorinated polyethylene terephthalate would ensure sufficient bonding with an applied adhesive.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poulakis as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Poulakis (US 2008/0222856; hereafter referred to as ‘856).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Poulakis discloses the invention except for wherein the barrier layer is treated by means of a gas phase fluorination for increasing the surface energy and for increasing the surface energy on both sides.
‘856 teach wherein gas phase fluorination is used for increasing surface energy (Paragraph 27, last 4 lines).
From this teaching of ‘856, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to pretreat the surface of the barrier layer with gas fluorination to prepare the surfaces for enhanced bonding to adhesives.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the drawing objections, Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 do not appear to address the issues regarding the usage of the term “and/or” noted above.
Regarding the rejections under 112, the issues previously noted with claims 2 and 3 persist and are included above.
Regarding the prior art rejections, Applicant has noted the substrate layer of Poulakis is used for its “flame-retardant and/or extinguishing properties”. Applicant further notes Poulakis is silent to the substrate layer’s inhibition or prevention of material transport during a vulcanization process. However, Applicant has not made it clear that the barrier layer film serves any enhanced ability at preventing this material transport. The substrate layer of the prior art appears to also be capable of inhibiting the transport of material. Applicant also argues Poulakis does not have “any corresponding second adhesive layer”. However, this limitation is never claimed and does not appear to be currently pertinent.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677