DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 5, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hwang et al. (US publication 2015/0207038 A1), hereinafter referred to as Hwang038.
Regarding claim 1, Hwang038 teaches a vertical-type light-emitting diode (fig. 4a-4b and related text), comprising: a semiconductor stack layer (130/150, [0071-0074]) having an upper surface (top surface of 150) and a lower surface (bottom surface of 130) opposite to each other, wherein the semiconductor stack layer comprises a first semiconductor layer (130/152, [0071-0074]), a light-emitting layer (154, [0071-0074]) and a second semiconductor layer (156, [0071-0074]) stacked in sequence along a direction from the lower surface to the upper surface (fig. 4a-4b); a first electrode (184B/184C, [0119]) located at the lower surface of the semiconductor stack layer and connected to the first semiconductor layer (fig. 4a-4b); a second electrode (160, [0086-0087]) located at the upper surface of the semiconductor stack layer and connected to the second semiconductor layer (fig. 4a-4b); a protruding protective electrode (182, [0091]) connected to the second electrode; wherein an upper surface of the protruding protective electrode is higher than an upper surface of the second electrode (fig. 4a-4b).
Regarding claim 2, Hwang038 teaches wherein a first distance from the upper surface of the protruding protective electrode to the upper surface of the semiconductor stack layer is greater than a second distance from the upper surface of the second electrode to the upper surface of the semiconductor stack layer (fig. 4a-4b).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang038 teaches wherein a material of the protruding protective electrode comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of Au, Pt, Ti, Ni, Ge, Be, Zn, Al, and Cr ([0099]).
Regarding claim 11, Hwang038 teaches a light-emitting device, which adopts the vertical-type light-emitting diode according to claim 1 (fig. 4a-4b).
Claim 1, 6-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cha et al. (US publication 2013/0112944 A1), hereinafter referred to as Cha944.
Regarding claim 1, Cha944 teaches a vertical-type light-emitting diode (fig. 6 and related text), comprising: a semiconductor stack layer (15/26, [0033-0039]) having an upper surface (top surface of 26) and a lower surface (bottom surface of 15) opposite to each other, wherein the semiconductor stack layer comprises a first semiconductor layer (15/20, [0033-0039]), a light-emitting layer (23, [0033-0039]) and a second semiconductor layer (25, [0033-0039]) stacked in sequence along a direction from the lower surface to the upper surface (fig. 6); a first electrode (60, [0045]) located at the lower surface of the semiconductor stack layer and connected to the first semiconductor layer (fig. 6); a second electrode (30/35/40, [0040-0042]) located at the upper surface of the semiconductor stack layer and connected to the second semiconductor layer (fig. 6); a protruding protective electrode (65, [0045]) connected to the second electrode; wherein an upper surface of the protruding protective electrode is higher than an upper surface of the second electrode (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 6, Cha944 teaches wherein the second electrode comprises a pad electrode (30) and a finger electrode (35), and the pad electrode is connected to the finger electrode (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 7, Cha944 teaches wherein the protruding protective electrode has a first width, the pad electrode has a second width, and the first width is less than the second width (fig. 6).
Regarding claim 9, Cha944 teaches wherein the upper surface of the semiconductor stack layer has a groove, and the pad electrode is disposed within the groove (fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang038, as applied to claim 1 or 2 above.
Regarding claim 3, Hwang038 discloses all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Hwang038 does not explicitly teach wherein the first distance is at least 1000 angstroms greater than the second distance. However, Hwang038 teaches the first distance is greater than the second distance and these values depend on the thickness of the protruding protective electrode and the second electrode and it is well-known in the art that a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer depends on a process technology, overall size of the device, and is a result-effective variable as electrical properties (conductivity, current, resistance, doping, insulation, withstanding breakdown, etc.) depend on the width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer. So, a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer is a parameter that one must consider and decide upon and is something that can be optimized through routine experimentation.
Furthermore, it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (MPEP §2144.05 II/III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hwang038 so that wherein the first distance is at least 1000 angstroms greater than the second distance for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Regarding claim 4, Hwang038 discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Hwang038 does not explicitly teach wherein the protruding protective electrode has a height ranging from 1000 angstroms to 5 microns. However, it is well-known in the art that a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer depends on a process technology, overall size of the device, and is a result-effective variable as electrical properties (conductivity, current, resistance, doping, insulation, withstanding breakdown, etc.) depend on the width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer. So, a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer is a parameter that one must consider and decide upon and is something that can be optimized through routine experimentation.
Furthermore, it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (MPEP §2144.05 II/III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Hwang038 so that wherein the protruding protective electrode has a height ranging from 1000 angstroms to 5 microns for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Claim 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha944, as applied to claim 1 or 6 or 7 or 9 above.
Regarding claim 8, Cha944 discloses all the limitations of claim 7 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Cha944 does not explicitly teach wherein the second width is at least 85% wider than the first width. However, Cha944 teaches wherein the second width is wider than the first width and these values depend on the thickness/width of the protruding protective electrode and the pad electrode and it is well-known in the art that a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer depends on a process technology, overall size of the device, and is a result-effective variable as electrical properties (conductivity, current, resistance, doping, insulation, withstanding breakdown, etc.) depend on the width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer. So, a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer is a parameter that one must consider and decide upon and is something that can be optimized through routine experimentation.
Furthermore, it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (MPEP §2144.05 II/III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cha944 so that wherein the second width is at least 85% wider than the first width for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Regarding claim 10, Cha944 discloses all the limitations of claim 9 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Cha944 does not explicitly teach wherein a depth of the groove ranges from 1000 angstroms to 5 microns. However, Cha944 teaches a depth of the groove depends on the height of the light emitting nanorods (26, fig. 6) and it is well-known in the art that a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer depends on a process technology, overall size of the device, and is a result-effective variable as electrical properties (conductivity, current, resistance, doping, insulation, withstanding breakdown, etc.) depend on the width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer. So, a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer is a parameter that one must consider and decide upon and is something that can be optimized through routine experimentation and by doing so a depth of the groove will be determined and optimized.
Furthermore, it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (MPEP §2144.05 II/III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Cha944 so that wherein a depth of the groove ranges from 1000 angstroms to 5 microns for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897