DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 4/15/2026, with respect to amended independent claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Doe (US publication 2023/0337450 A1), and response to the arguments have been fully incorporated into the claim rejection set forth below in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 5-6, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Doe (US publication 2023/0337450 A1), hereinafter referred to as Doe450.
Regarding claim 1, Doe450 teaches a vertical-type light-emitting diode (fig. 2 below and related text), comprising: a semiconductor stack layer (32/33/34, [0027]) having an upper surface (top surface of 32) and a lower surface (bottom surface of 34) opposite to each other, wherein the semiconductor stack layer comprises a first semiconductor layer (34), a light-emitting layer (33) and a second semiconductor layer (32) stacked in sequence along a direction from the lower surface to the upper surface (fig. 2 below); a first electrode (35, [0027]) located at the lower surface of the semiconductor stack layer and connected to the first semiconductor layer (fig. 2 below); a second electrode (A (31), examiner markup below) located at the upper surface of the semiconductor stack layer and connected to the second semiconductor layer (fig. 2 below); a protruding protective electrode (B (31), examiner markup below) connected to the second electrode; wherein an upper surface of the protruding protective electrode is higher than an upper surface of the second electrode (fig. 2 below), and wherein an entire contact surface between the second electrode and the second semiconductor layer is a flat surface parallel to the lower surface of the semiconductor stack layer (fig. 2 below).
Regarding claim 2, Doe450 teaches wherein a first distance from the upper surface of the protruding protective electrode to the upper surface of the semiconductor stack layer is greater than a second distance from the upper surface of the second electrode to the upper surface of the semiconductor stack layer (fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 5, Doe450 teaches wherein a material of the protruding protective electrode comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of Au ([0030], Pt, Ti, Ni, Ge, Be, Zn, Al ([0030], and Cr.
Regarding claim 6, Doe450 teaches wherein the second electrode comprises a pad electrode (A, examiner markup above) and a finger electrode (C, examiner markup above, [0032]), and the pad electrode is connected to the finger electrode (fig. 2 above).
Regarding claim 11, Doe450 teaches a light-emitting device, which adopts the vertical-type light-emitting diode according to claim 1 (fig. 2 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doe450, as applied to claim 1 or 2 above.
Regarding claim 3, Doe450 discloses all the limitations of claim 2 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Doe450 does not explicitly teach wherein the first distance is at least 1000 angstroms greater than the second distance. However, Doe450 teaches the first distance is greater than the second distance and these values depend on the thickness of the protruding protective electrode and the second electrode and it is well-known in the art that a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer depends on a process technology, overall size of the device, and is a result-effective variable as electrical properties (conductivity, current, resistance, doping, insulation, withstanding breakdown, etc.) depend on the width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer. So, a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer is a parameter that one must consider and decide upon and is something that can be optimized through routine experimentation.
Furthermore, it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (MPEP §2144.05 II/III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Doe450 so that wherein the first distance is at least 1000 angstroms greater than the second distance for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Regarding claim 4, Doe450 discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above on which this claim depends.
Doe450 does not explicitly teach wherein the protruding protective electrode has a height ranging from 1000 angstroms to 5 microns. However, it is well-known in the art that a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer depends on a process technology, overall size of the device, and is a result-effective variable as electrical properties (conductivity, current, resistance, doping, insulation, withstanding breakdown, etc.) depend on the width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer. So, a width/thickness of a semiconducting or insulation or conductive layer is a parameter that one must consider and decide upon and is something that can be optimized through routine experimentation.
Furthermore, it has been held where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. (MPEP §2144.05 II/III).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Doe450 so that wherein the protruding protective electrode has a height ranging from 1000 angstroms to 5 microns for the purpose of optimizing device performance and overall size of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The claims contain limitations that none of the prior art of record discloses, teaches or fairly suggests, alone or in combinations when taken in combination with all other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED R ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897