DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Examiner's Note
The instant application has a lengthy prosecution history and the examiner encourages the applicant to have a telephonic interview with the examiner prior to filing a response to the instant office action. Also, prior to the interview the examiner encourages the applicant to present multiple possible claim amendments, so as to enable the examiner to identify claim amendments that will advance prosecution in a meaningful manner.
Acknowledgment
Claims 1 and 12-13, amended on 11/21/2025, are acknowledged by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Presented arguments with respect to claims 1, 12, 13, and their dependent claims have been fully considered, but some are rendered moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments initiated by the applicants. Examiner addresses the main arguments of the Applicant as below.
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph because of a new matter. The amended independent claims 1, 12, and 13 include “automatically detects/detecting … without user intervention and outputs”. It is noted that there is nowhere in the specification uses the word “automatically” or “automatic”. Therefore the amended limitations “automatically detects/detecting … without user intervention and outputs” are new matters, which are not described in the application as originally filed. The new matter is required to be canceled from the claims (Please see MPEP 608.04). In this Office action, the claim limitation “automatically … without user intervention” has no patentable weight.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph because of a new matter. The amended independent claims 1, 12, and 13 include “automatically outputs”. It is noted that there is nowhere in the specification uses the word “automatically” or “automatic”. Therefore the amended limitations “automatically outputs” are new matters, which are not described in the application as originally filed. The new matter is required to be canceled from the claims (Please see MPEP 608.04). In this Office action, the claim limitation “automatically” has no patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnhack (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0217212 A1), (“Birnhack”), in view of 健太 米倉 et al. (JP Patent JP7595421B2), (“健太 米倉”).
Regarding claim 1, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as follows:
A data generation apparatus (a system for automatically colorizing night-vision images) [Birnhack: para. 0002] comprising:a memory and at least one processor which function as (Each of the prediction functions stored in the memory associated with the processor can be adaptively re-trained) [Birnhack: para. 0123]: a first image acquiring unit ((a color camera) [Birnhack: para. 0096]; (several cameras or imaging sensors are helpful for capturing the different color and night-vision channels) [Birnhack: para. 0014]) that acquires a visible light image (a color image, preferably taken under daylight or using visible illumination) [Birnhack: para. 0076];
a second image acquiring unit ((an NIR camera) [Birnhack: para. 0096]; (several cameras or imaging sensors are helpful for capturing the different color and night-vision channels) [Birnhack: para. 0014]) that acquires an invisible light image (Night-vision images capture invisible radiation of objects) [Birnhack: para. 0003] that corresponds temporally to the visible light image and has an identical field of view to the visible light image ((When capturing training images, at least the color images need to be captured with visible light. One option for capturing the pairs of training images, therefore, is to simultaneously capture a night-vision image and a color image under day-light conditions, for example using a night-vision camera and a "regular" color camera, which are positioned next to each other, with the two cameras having parallel optical axes. Preferably, the distance between the two cameras is small, such as between 1 cm and 10 cm, preferable under 5 cm. Thus, the night-vision image and the corresponding color image captured this way contain substantially identical regions of interest) [Birnhack: para. 0059] – Note: Birnhack teaches that the night-vision camera and the "regular" color camera in his system can be only 1 cm apart. They can simultaneously take images. As a result, they can capture substantially identical field of view);a subject detection unit (a processor) [Birnhack: para. 0096] that automatically detects at least one subject in the visible light image without user intervention ((detect local patterns in the input image) [Birnhack: para. 0095; Fig. 1]; (Each of the selected prediction functions f1Pred, f2Pred then determines chrominance values for the input luminance values by scanning S602-1, S602-2, using a grid or tiling of the input image or respective luminance, the luminance values of the input image in order to detect objects) [Birnhack: para. 0121] – Note: Birnhack teaches that prediction functions detect the objects without user intervention) and outputs (output color image by combining the luminance values of the first night-vision image with the predicted chrominance values) [Birnhack: para. 0025], as a subject detection result (The processing unit is, in this case, furthermore configured for determining the first color image by combining, or "stitching", the luminance values of the first night-vision image with the predicted chrominance values and to display the resulting first color image on a display within the vehicle) [Birnhack: para. 0083], positional and/or class information of the detected subject (Identifying features such as cars, people, trees, traffic signs, general road-side signs, different vehicle classes, animals etc. in a night-vision input image may be beneficial, as features often have specific associated color schemes.) [Birnhack: para. 0066]; and a supervisory data generation unit (a processor) [Birnhack: para. 0096] that generates supervisory data (This method has the advantageous effect that the generated first color image retains the sharpness of the first night-vision image, as only the chrominance is predicted but the luminance is kept from the first night-vision image.) [Birnhack: para. 0029] including pair of ((an NIR camera 201-1 as well as a color camera 201-2 are provided and connected to a processor 203. The processor 203 is configured for receiving and images from either of the cameras) [Birnhack: para. 0096]; (Alternatively, the night-vision image and the color image of a training pair may be captured simultaneously using a multi-chip camera, which can simultaneously capture, e.g., an infrared and a color image using the same camera lens.) [Birnhack: para. 0060]) (i) the invisible light image as input data (the prediction function comprises identifying feature maps based on characteristic shapes and shading of the pairs of training images and wherein the predicted chrominance values are determined by the prediction function based on the first night-vision image taking into account said feature maps) [Birnhack: claim 9] and (ii) the subject detection result (detect local patterns in the input image) [Birnhack: para. 0095; Fig. 1] as output data (The processing unit is, in this case, furthermore configured for determining the first color image by combining, or "stitching", the luminance values of the first night-vision image with the predicted chrominance values and to display the resulting first color image on a display within the vehicle) [Birnhack: para. 0083], the supervisory data being adapted for to train a learning model such that ((training a machine learning model on the training images to predict the chrominance of the color images from the luminance of the night-vision images) [Birnhack: claim 3]; (Each of the prediction functions stored in the memory associated with the processor can be adaptively re-trained) [Birnhack: para. 0123]) when the invisible light image is input (The prediction function is, preferably, trained to predict the predicted chrominance values based on the luminance values of the first night-vision image without taking into account color and/or chrominance values) [Birnhack: para. 0050], the learning model automatically outputs ((training a machine learning model on the training images to predict the chrominance of the color images from the luminance of the night-vision images) [Birnhack: claim 3]; (Each of the prediction functions stored in the memory associated with the processor can be adaptively re-trained) [Birnhack: para. 0123]) a subject detection result for the invisible light image (In particular, the night-vision images which capture energy and/or distance distributions are transformed into a visible monochromic image) [Birnhack: para. 0096]; (This method has the advantageous effect that the generated first color image retains the sharpness of the first night-vision image, as only the chrominance is predicted but the luminance is kept from the first night-vision image.) [Birnhack: para. 0029]; (a processing unit configured for determining, by using a prediction function which maps luminance values of night-vision images to chrominance values of corresponding color images, predicted chrominance values for the luminance values of the first night-vision image) [Birnhack: claim 10].
Birnhack does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a supervisory data generation unit that generates supervisory data to train a learning model so that the learning model for subject detection of the invisible light image outputs a subject detection result by inputting the invisible light image based on the invisible light image.
However, in the same field of endeavor 健太 米倉 further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a supervisory data generation unit that generates supervisory data to train a learning model (a learning data creation unit that acquires a visible light image in a state where the visible light is irradiated onto the object, and an invisible light image in a state where the invisible light is irradiated onto the object and the light emitting unit is emitting light) [健太 米倉: page 10] so that the learning model for subject detection of the invisible light image outputs a subject detection result by inputting the invisible light image based on the invisible light image (a trained model that is trained using as learning data a training visible light image in which a training object is captured under visible light and a training invisible light image in which the training object is irradiated under invisible light and a light-emitting unit that is recognizable under invisible light and is provided on the training object is emitting light) [健太 米倉: page 10].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Birnhack with 健太 米倉 to program the system to implement of 健太 米倉s method.
Therefore, the combination of Birnhack with 健太 米倉 will enable the system to improve the estimation ability of the trained model and improves the accuracy [健太 米倉: page 5].
Regarding claim 2, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1.Birnhack further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the visible light image and the invisible light image are simultaneously (the night-vision image and the color image of a training pair may be captured simultaneously using a multi-chip camera, which can simultaneously capture, e.g., an infrared and a color image using the same camera lens.) [Birnhack: para. 0060; , 0059] or consecutively captured images (the two respective images
of a training pair are taken right after another, e.g. within a few seconds, preferably within less than one second, for example within just a few milliseconds) [Birnhack: para. 0061] of the same angle of view ((The pictures depicting an overlapping and/or substantially identical region of interest essentially means that the night-vision image and the corresponding color image show the same scenery. The two corresponding images can, for example, be taken simultaneously and/or from the same or almost the same position) [Birnhack: para. 0040]; (wherein the night-vision image and the color image depict an overlapping and/or substantially identical region of interest) [Birnhack: para. 0039]; ( In order to determine the prediction function used for determining the predicted chrominance values based on luminance values of a night-vision image, as discussed with respect to the foregoing embodiments, a training data set of pairs of, on the one hand, NIR images and, on the other hand, corresponding color images, needs to be collected. This can be done by using an NIR camera as well as a color camera which are placed right next to each other and which simultaneously capture images of the same setting. The two cameras have parallel optical axes and are, preferably, placed less than 5 cm apart. For capturing the training images, it is possible to use two identical color cameras which are each equipped with corresponding filters for blocking either the NIR components or the visual components, so that one camera effectively captures NIR images while the other camera effectively captures color images) [Birnhack: para. 0110, 0059] – Note: Two cameras are set in parallel in 5 cm apart should provide same angle of view]).
Regarding claim 3, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Birnhack further meets the claim limitations as follow. wherein the at least one processor functions as (a processor) [Birnhack: para. 0096]
a supervisory data generation determination unit (a processor) [Birnhack: para. 0096] that determines whether the supervisory data can be generated ((training images is obtained by simultaneously, using daylight or artificial light, capturing a night-vision image and a color image containing overlapping regions of interest) [Birnhack: claim 6]; (an NIR camera 201-1 as well as a color camera 201-2 are provided and connected to a processor 203. The processor 203 is configured for receiving and images from either of the cameras, to determine which image to display, to process the received image, if necessary and to display an output image on the display 204. The processor is furthermore connected to a transceiver 202, via which additional data or information may be sent or received. The transmitter/receiver can also be used for data transfer to a server and a decentralized data processing could be established. Furthermore, with the uploaded images an online-training of the DNNs is possible. The transmission of increased trained models to the processing unit (203) is possible as the transmission of uploaded and online colorized NIR images back to the system.) [Birnhack: para. 0096]).
Regarding claim 4, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 3. Birnhack further meets the claim limitations as follow.
the supervisory data generation determination unit (a processor) [Birnhack: para. 0096] performs the determination based on the invisible light image ((training images is obtained by simultaneously, using daylight or artificial light, capturing a night-vision image and a color image containing overlapping regions of interest) [Birnhack: claim 6]; (The NIR camera 201-1 then captures NIR images. The processor 203 receives these images from the NIR camera 201 and determines, based on a prediction function stored within the processor or associated memory, chrominance values for the NIR images and generates a colorized output image by combining the predicted chrominance values with the luminance values of the received NR image. The colorized output image is then displayed on the display 204.) [Birnhack: para. 0099]).
Regarding claim 5, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 4. Birnhack further meets the claim limitations as follow.
the supervisory data generation determination unit (a processor) [Birnhack: para. 0096] performs the determination based on luminance values of the invisible light image in the same region as a region of the subject detected in the visible light image ((training images is obtained by simultaneously, using daylight or artificial light, capturing a night-vision image and a color image containing overlapping regions of interest) [Birnhack: claim 6]; (The NIR camera 201-1 then captures NIR images. The processor 203 receives these images from the NIR camera 201 and determines, based on a prediction function stored within the processor or associated memory, chrominance values for the NIR images and generates a colorized output image by combining the predicted chrominance values with the luminance values of the received NR image. The colorized output image is then displayed on the display 204.) [Birnhack: para. 0099, 0059] – Note: The combining the predicted chrominance values are from visible image with the luminance values of the received NR image would cover the same region) ; (Each of the selected prediction functions f1Pred, f2Pred then determines chrominance values for the input luminance values by scanning S602-1, S602-2, using a grid or tiling of the input image or respective luminance, the luminance values of the input image in order to detect objects) [Birnhack: para. 0121]).
Regarding claim 6, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 3. Birnhack further meets the claim limitations as follow.
the supervisory data generation determination unit (a processor) [Birnhack: para. 0096] performs the determination based on a predesignated type of subject ((detect local patterns in the input image) [Birnhack: para. 0095; Fig. 1]; (Each of the selected prediction functions f1Pred, f2Pred then determines chrominance values for the input luminance values by scanning S602-1, S602-2, using a grid or tiling of the input image or respective luminance, the luminance values of the input image in order to detect objects) [Birnhack: para. 0121]; (Each feature map 104 is trained to detect a specific pattern, with the weights of each feature map being fixed, so that the same pattern may be detected at different locations in the input image. Applying a feature map 104 as a filter across the input image 101 in order to detect specific local patterns, therefore, amounts to a convolution of the respective weights with the input image.) [Birnhack: para. 0019; Fig. 1]).
Regarding claim 7, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Birnhack further meets the claim limitations as follow.
the supervisory data generation unit (a processor) [Birnhack: para. 0096] the performs at least one of processing for creating bokeh, processing for creating blurring (A convolutional neural network (CNN) is trained on these image pairs and the trained CNN is then used to simultaneously predict all three color channels of the target RGB image from input NIR image. The result is rather blurry) [Birnhack: para. 0022], and processing for correcting luminance on the invisible light image (post-processing is used in order to enhance and sharpen the raw output) [Birnhack: para. 0022].
Regarding claim 8, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Birnhack further meets the claim limitations as follow.
a display unit that displays the subject detection result (a display for displaying the first color image to a user) [Birnhack: para. 0096] acquired by the subject detection unit (The NIR camera 201-1 then captures NIR images. The processor 203 receives these images from the NIR camera 201 and determines, based on a prediction function stored within the processor or associated memory, chrominance values for the NIR images and generates a colorized output image by combining the predicted chrominance values with the luminance values of the received NR image. The colorized output image is then displayed on the display 204.) [Birnhack: para. 0099] and a type of detected subject in a superimposed manner on one or both (alternatively, colorized sub-images or objects may be added successively into the original first night-vision image by overlaying the predicted chrominance values over the respective object or sub-image of the first night-vision image) [Birnhack: para. 0072] of the visible light image and the invisible light image (The system also comprises a processing unit which is configured for determining, by using a prediction function, predicted chrominance values for the luminance values of the first night-vision image and for generating the first color image by combining, or "stitching", the luminance values of the first night-vision image with the predicted chrominance values. The prediction function is a, preferably predetermined, mapping which maps luminance values of night vision images to chrominance values of corresponding color images. The system furthermore comprises a display for displaying the first color image to a user.) [Birnhack: para. 0071].
Regarding claim 9, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Birnhack further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the first image acquiring unit (a color camera) [Birnhack: para. 0096] and the second image acquiring unit (an NIR camera) [Birnhack: para. 0096] acquire a visible light image and an invisible light image (several cameras or imaging sensors are helpful for capturing the different color and night-vision channels) [Birnhack: para. 0014] of the same angle of view that have been simultaneously (the night-vision image and the color image of a training pair may be captured simultaneously using a multi-chip camera, which can simultaneously capture, e.g., an infrared and a color image using the same camera lens.) [Birnhack: para. 0060] or consecutively captured images (the two respective images of a training pair are taken right after another, e.g. within a few seconds, preferably within less than one second, for example within just a few milliseconds) [Birnhack: para. 0061] by an image capture apparatus ((The pictures depicting an overlapping and/or substantially identical region of interest essentially means that the night-vision image and the corresponding color image show the same scenery. The two corresponding images can, for example, be taken simultaneously and/or from the same or almost the same position) [Birnhack: para. 0040]; (wherein the night-vision image and the color image depict an overlapping and/or substantially identical region of interest) [Birnhack: para. 0039]; ( In order to determine the prediction function used for determining the predicted chrominance values based on luminance values of a night-vision image, as discussed with respect to the foregoing embodiments, a training data set of pairs of, on the one hand, NIR images and, on the other hand, corresponding color images, needs to be collected. This can be done by using an NIR camera as well as a color camera which are placed right next to each other and which simultaneously capture images of the same setting. The two cameras have parallel optical axes and are, preferably, placed less than 5 cm apart. For capturing the training images, it is possible to use two identical color cameras which are each equipped with corresponding filters for blocking either the NIR components or the visual components, so that one camera effectively captures NIR images while the other camera effectively captures color images) [Birnhack: para. 0110, 0059] – Note: Two cameras are set in parallel in 5 cm apart should provide same angle of view]).
Regarding claim 10, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Birnhack further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the first image acquiring unit is a first image capturing unit (a color camera) [Birnhack: para. 0096] for capturing the visible light image (a color image, preferably taken under daylight or using visible illumination) [Birnhack: para. 0076] and the second image acquiring unit is a second image capturing unit (an NIR camera) [Birnhack: para. 0096] for capturing the invisible light image (Night-vision images capture invisible radiation of objects) [Birnhack: para. 0003], and
wherein the first image capturing unit and the second image capturing unit capture a simultaneously (the night-vision image and the color image of a training pair may be captured simultaneously using a multi-chip camera, which can simultaneously capture, e.g., an infrared and a color image using the same camera lens) [Birnhack: para. 0060]; (When capturing training images, at least the color images need to be captured with visible light. One option for capturing the pairs of training images, therefore, is to simultaneously capture a night-vision image and a color image under day-light conditions, for example using a night-vision camera and a "regular" color camera, which are positioned next to each other, with the two cameras having parallel optical axes. Preferably, the distance between the two cameras is small, such as between 1 cm and 10 cm, preferable under 5 cm) [Birnhack: para. 0059] or consecutively captured images (the two respective images of a training pair are taken right after another, e.g. within a few seconds, preferably within less than one second, for example within just a few milliseconds) [Birnhack: para. 0061] visible light image and invisible light image of the same angle of view ((The pictures depicting an overlapping and/or substantially identical region of interest essentially means that the night-vision image and the corresponding color image show the same scenery. The two corresponding images can, for example, be taken simultaneously and/or from the same or almost the same position) [Birnhack: para. 0040; 0059]; (the night-vision image and the color image of a training pair may be captured simultaneously using a multi-chip camera, which can simultaneously capture, e.g., an infrared and a color image using the same camera lens.) [Birnhack: para. 0060]; (wherein the night-vision image and the color image depict an overlapping and/or substantially identical region of interest) [Birnhack: para. 0039]; ( In order to determine the prediction function used for determining the predicted chrominance values based on luminance values of a night-vision image, as discussed with respect to the foregoing embodiments, a training data set of pairs of, on the one hand, NIR images and, on the other hand, corresponding color images, needs to be collected. This can be done by using an NIR camera as well as a color camera which are placed right next to each other and which simultaneously capture images of the same setting. The two cameras have parallel optical axes and are, preferably, placed less than 5 cm apart. For capturing the training images, it is possible to use two identical color cameras which are each equipped with corresponding filters for blocking either the NIR components or the visual components, so that one camera effectively captures NIR images while the other camera effectively captures color images) [Birnhack: para. 0110, 0059] – Note: Two cameras are set in parallel in 5 cm apart should provide same angle of view]).
Regarding claim 11, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as set forth in claim 1. Birnhack further meets the claim limitations as follow.
wherein the invisible light image is one of a near-infrared image, a far-infrared image, and an ultraviolet image (The first night-vision image may, preferably, be captured using a sensor or camera capable of detecting invisible radiation based, e.g. on infrared, near infrared (NIR), radar, LiDAR, ultrasound etc.) [Birnhack: para. 0027].
Regarding claim 12, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as follows:
A method (a method) [Birnhack: para. 0002] of controlling a data generation apparatus (FIG. 5 shows a detailed control-flow diagram of a preprocessing method in accordance with the described method) [Birnhack: para. 0093; Fig. 5], the method (a method) [Birnhack: para. 0002] comprising: acquiring a visible light image (a color image, preferably taken under daylight or using visible illumination) [Birnhack: para. 0076] and an invisible light image (Night-vision images capture invisible radiation of objects) [Birnhack: para. 0003] that acquires an invisible light image (Night-vision images capture invisible radiation of objects) [Birnhack: para. 0003] that corresponds temporally to the visible light image and has an identical field of view to the visible light image ((When capturing training images, at least the color images need to be captured with visible light. One option for capturing the pairs of training images, therefore, is to simultaneously capture a night-vision image and a color image under day-light conditions, for example using a night-vision camera and a "regular" color camera, which are positioned next to each other, with the two cameras having parallel optical axes. Preferably, the distance between the two cameras is small, such as between 1 cm and 10 cm, preferable under 5 cm. Thus, the night-vision image and the corresponding color image captured this way contain substantially identical regions of interest) [Birnhack: para. 0059] – Note: Birnhack teaches that the night-vision camera and the "regular" color camera in his system can be only 1 cm apart. They can simultaneously take images. As a result, they can capture substantially identical field of view); automatically detecting at least one subject in the visible light image without user intervention ((detect local patterns in the input image) [Birnhack: para. 0095; Fig. 1]; (Each of the selected prediction functions f1Pred, f2Pred then determines chrominance values for the input luminance values by scanning S602-1, S602-2, using a grid or tiling of the input image or respective luminance, the luminance values of the input image in order to detect objects) [Birnhack: para. 0121] – Note: Birnhack teaches that prediction functions detect the objects without user intervention) and outputs (output color image by combining the luminance values of the first night-vision image with the predicted chrominance values) [Birnhack: para. 0025], as a subject detection result (The processing unit is, in this case, furthermore configured for determining the first color image by combining, or "stitching", the luminance values of the first night-vision image with the predicted chrominance values and to display the resulting first color image on a display within the vehicle) [Birnhack: para. 0083], positional and/or class information of the detected subject (Identifying features such as cars, people, trees, traffic signs, general road-side signs, different vehicle classes, animals etc. in a night-vision input image may be beneficial, as features often have specific associated color schemes.) [Birnhack: para. 0066]; and generating supervisory data ((This method has the advantageous effect that the generated first color image retains the sharpness of the first night-vision image, as only the chrominance is predicted but the luminance is kept from the first night-vision image.) [Birnhack: para. 0029]; (training images is obtained by simultaneously, using daylight or artificial light, capturing a night-vision image and a color image containing overlapping regions of interest) [Birnhack: claim 6]; (the two respective images of a training pair are taken right after another, e.g. within a few seconds, preferably within less than one second, for example within just a few milliseconds) [Birnhack: para. 0061] (Alternatively, the night-vision image and the color image of a training pair may be captured simultaneously using a multi-chip camera, which can simultaneously capture, e.g., an infrared and a color image using the same camera lens.) [Birnhack: para. 0060]) including pair of ((an NIR camera 201-1 as well as a color camera 201-2 are provided and connected to a processor 203. The processor 203 is configured for receiving and images from either of the cameras) [Birnhack: para. 0096]; (Alternatively, the night-vision image and the color image of a training pair may be captured simultaneously using a multi-chip camera, which can simultaneously capture, e.g., an infrared and a color image using the same camera lens.) [Birnhack: para. 0060]) (i) the invisible light image as input data (the prediction function comprises identifying feature maps based on characteristic shapes and shading of the pairs of training images and wherein the predicted chrominance values are determined by the prediction function based on the first night-vision image taking into account said feature maps) [Birnhack: claim 9] and (ii) the subject detection result (detect local patterns in the input image) [Birnhack: para. 0095; Fig. 1] as output data (The processing unit is, in this case, furthermore configured for determining the first color image by combining, or "stitching", the luminance values of the first night-vision image with the predicted chrominance values and to display the resulting first color image on a display within the vehicle) [Birnhack: para. 0083], the supervisory data being adapted for to train a learning model such that ((training a machine learning model on the training images to predict the chrominance of the color images from the luminance of the night-vision images) [Birnhack: claim 3]; (Each of the prediction functions stored in the memory associated with the processor can be adaptively re-trained) [Birnhack: para. 0123]) when the invisible light image is input (The prediction function is, preferably, trained to predict the predicted chrominance values based on the luminance values of the first night-vision image without taking into account color and/or chrominance values) [Birnhack: para. 0050], the learning model automatically outputs ((training a machine learning model on the training images to predict the chrominance of the color images from the luminance of the night-vision images) [Birnhack: claim 3]; (Each of the prediction functions stored in the memory associated with the processor can be adaptively re-trained) [Birnhack: para. 0123]) a subject detection result for the invisible light image (In particular, the night-vision images which capture energy and/or distance distributions are transformed into a visible monochromic image) [Birnhack: para. 0096]; (This method has the advantageous effect that the generated first color image retains the sharpness of the first night-vision image, as only the chrominance is predicted but the luminance is kept from the first night-vision image.) [Birnhack: para. 0029]; (a processing unit configured for determining, by using a prediction function which maps luminance values of night-vision images to chrominance values of corresponding color images, predicted chrominance values for the luminance values of the first night-vision image) [Birnhack: claim 10].
Birnhack does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
supervisory data to train a learning model so that the learning model for subject detection of the invisible light image outputs a subject detection result by inputting the invisible light image based on the invisible light image.
However, in the same field of endeavor 健太 米倉 further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
supervisory data to train a learning model (a learning data creation unit that acquires a visible light image in a state where the visible light is irradiated onto the object, and an invisible light image in a state where the invisible light is irradiated onto the object and the light emitting unit is emitting light) [健太 米倉: page 10] so that the learning model for subject detection of the invisible light image outputs a subject detection result by inputting the invisible light image based on the invisible light image (a trained model that is trained using as learning data a training visible light image in which a training object is captured under visible light and a training invisible light image in which the training object is irradiated under invisible light and a light-emitting unit that is recognizable under invisible light and is provided on the training object is emitting light) [健太 米倉: page 10].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Birnhack with 健太 米倉 to program the system to implement of 健太 米倉s method.
Therefore, the combination of Birnhack with 健太 米倉 will enable the system to improve the estimation ability of the trained model and improves the accuracy [健太 米倉: page 5].
Regarding claim 13, Birnhack meets the claim limitations as follows:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program for causing a computer to function (prediction function is loaded into the memory associated with the processor) [Birnhack: para. 0115] as a data generation apparatus (a method as well as a system for automatically colorizing night-vision images) [Birnhack: para. 0002] comprising: a first image acquiring unit ((a color camera) [Birnhack: para. 0096]; (several cameras or imaging sensors are helpful for capturing the different color and night-vision channels) [Birnhack: para. 0014]) that acquires a visible light image (a color image, preferably taken under daylight or using visible illumination) [Birnhack: para. 0076];
a second image acquiring unit ((an NIR camera) [Birnhack: para. 0096]; (several cameras or imaging sensors are helpful for capturing the different color and night-vision channels) [Birnhack: para. 0014]) that acquires an invisible light image (Night-vision images capture invisible radiation of objects) [Birnhack: para. 0003] that corresponds temporally to the visible light image and has an identical field of view to the visible light image ((When capturing training images, at least the color images need to be captured with visible light. One option for capturing the pairs of training images, therefore, is to simultaneously capture a night-vision image and a color image under day-light conditions, for example using a night-vision camera and a "regular" color camera, which are positioned next to each other, with the two cameras having parallel optical axes. Preferably, the distance between the two cameras is small, such as between 1 cm and 10 cm, preferable under 5 cm. Thus, the night-vision image and the corresponding color image captured this way contain substantially identical regions of interest) [Birnhack: para. 0059] – Note: Birnhack teaches that the night-vision camera and the "regular" color camera in his system can be only 1 cm apart. They can simultaneously take images. As a result, they can capture substantially identical field of view);a subject detection unit (a processor) [Birnhack: para. 0096] that automatically detects at least one subject in the visible light image without user intervention ((detect local patterns in the input image) [Birnhack: para. 0095; Fig. 1]; (Each of the selected prediction functions f1Pred, f2Pred then determines chrominance values for the input luminance values by scanning S602-1, S602-2, using a grid or tiling of the input image or respective luminance, the luminance values of the input image in order to detect objects) [Birnhack: para. 0121] – Note: Birnhack teaches that prediction functions detect the objects without user intervention) and outputs (output color image by combining the luminance values of the first night-vision image with the predicted chrominance values) [Birnhack: para. 0025], as a subject detection result (The processing unit is, in this case, furthermore configured for determining the first color image by combining, or "stitching", the luminance values of the first night-vision image with the predicted chrominance values and to display the resulting first color image on a display within the vehicle) [Birnhack: para. 0083], positional and/or class information of the detected subject (Identifying features such as cars, people, trees, traffic signs, general road-side signs, different vehicle classes, animals etc. in a night-vision input image may be beneficial, as features often have specific associated color schemes.) [Birnhack: para. 0066]; and a supervisory data generation unit (a processor) [Birnhack: para. 0096] that generates (This method has the advantageous effect that the generated first color image retains the sharpness of the first night-vision image, as only the chrominance is predicted but the luminance is kept from the first night-vision image.) [Birnhack: para. 0029] supervisory data including pair of ((an NIR camera 201-1 as well as a color camera 201-2 are provided and connected to a processor 203. The processor 203 is configured for receiving and images from either of the cameras) [Birnhack: para. 0096]; (training images is obtained by simultaneously, using daylight or artificial light, capturing a night-vision image and a color image containing overlapping regions of interest) [Birnhack: claim 6]; (the two respective images of a training pair are taken right after another, e.g. within a few seconds, preferably within less than one second, for example within just a few milliseconds) [Birnhack: para. 0061]; (Alternatively, the night-vision image and the color image of a training pair may be captured simultaneously using a multi-chip camera, which can simultaneously capture, e.g., an infrared and a color image using the same camera lens.) [Birnhack: para. 0060]) (i) the invisible light image as input data (the prediction function comprises identifying feature maps based on characteristic shapes and shading of the pairs of training images and wherein the predicted chrominance values are determined by the prediction function based on the first night-vision image taking into account said feature maps) [Birnhack: claim 9] and (ii) the subject detection result (detect local patterns in the input image) [Birnhack: para. 0095; Fig. 1] as output data (The processing unit is, in this case, furthermore configured for determining the first color image by combining, or "stitching", the luminance values of the first night-vision image with the predicted chrominance values and to display the resulting first color image on a display within the vehicle) [Birnhack: para. 0083], the supervisory data being adapted for to train a learning model such that ((training a machine learning model on the training images to predict the chrominance of the color images from the luminance of the night-vision images) [Birnhack: claim 3]; (Each of the prediction functions stored in the memory associated with the processor can be adaptively re-trained) [Birnhack: para. 0123]) when the invisible light image is input (The prediction function is, preferably, trained to predict the predicted chrominance values based on the luminance values of the first night-vision image without taking into account color and/or chrominance values) [Birnhack: para. 0050], the learning model automatically outputs ((training a machine learning model on the training images to predict the chrominance of the color images from the luminance of the night-vision images) [Birnhack: claim 3]; (Each of the prediction functions stored in the memory associated with the processor can be adaptively re-trained) [Birnhack: para. 0123]) a subject detection result for the invisible light image (In particular, the night-vision images which capture energy and/or distance distributions are transformed into a visible monochromic image) [Birnhack: para. 0096]; (This method has the advantageous effect that the generated first color image retains the sharpness of the first night-vision image, as only the chrominance is predicted but the luminance is kept from the first night-vision image.) [Birnhack: para. 0029]; (a processing unit configured for determining, by using a prediction function which maps luminance values of night-vision images to chrominance values of corresponding color images, predicted chrominance values for the luminance values of the first night-vision image) [Birnhack: claim 10].
Birnhack does not explicitly disclose the following claim limitations (Emphasis added).
a supervisory data generation unit that generates supervisory data to train a learning model so that the learning model for subject detection of the invisible light image outputs a subject detection result by inputting the invisible light image based on the invisible light image.
However, in the same field of endeavor 健太 米倉 further discloses the deficient claim limitations as follows:
a supervisory data generation unit that generates supervisory data to train a learning model (a learning data creation unit that acquires a visible light image in a state where the visible light is irradiated onto the object, and an invisible light image in a state where the invisible light is irradiated onto the object and the light emitting unit is emitting light) [健太 米倉: page 10] so that the learning model for subject detection of the invisible light image outputs a subject detection result by inputting the invisible light image based on the invisible light image (a trained model that is trained using as learning data a training visible light image in which a training object is captured under visible light and a training invisible light image in which the training object is irradiated under invisible light and a light-emitting unit that is recognizable under invisible light and is provided on the training object is emitting light) [健太 米倉: page 10].
It would have been obvious to one with an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Birnhack with 健太 米倉 to program the system to implement of 健太 米倉s method.
Therefore, the combination of Birnhack with 健太 米倉 will enable the system to improve the estimation ability of the trained model and improves the accuracy [健太 米倉: page 5].
Reference Notice
Additional prior arts, included in the Notice of Reference Cited, made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact Information
/Philip P. Dang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488