DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-28, drawn to linker-drug compounds of Formula I, and antibody-linker drug compounds of Formula IV, and the species of Example 1, in the reply filed on 8/27/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the claims share a single general inventive concept, namely a camptothecin-derived payload attached through a maleimide-peptide linker, with optional PEG units, terminating in a hemiaminal or PABC connection. Applicant further argues that a search of the claimed ADCs would encompass the claimed method, so no serious burden exists. This is not found persuasive.
Under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 37 CFR 1.141, restriction is proper where the inventions are independent or distinct as claimed and examining them together would impose a serious search and/or examination burden. See MPEP 803. The “single general inventive concept” standard relied on by Applicant is most like the unity of invention standard that applies to international applications and to national stage applications under 35 U.S.C. 371 (see 37 CFR 1.475).
As noted in the restriction entered on August 27, 2026, the inventions are separately classified (A61K 47/6889 and C07D 491/22) and a serious search burden remains. Due to their divergent subject matter, and they require different fields of search. Thus, examining the method of Group II would require additional search queries and consideration of issues not raised by the product claims. Therefore, the requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-30 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 3, 5, 9, 11, 13-19, 21, and 25-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 29-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected group. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/27/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10, 12, 20, 22-24, and 28 are being examined on the merits.
Specification
The use of the term “cremaphorEL” (page 46-47, ¶ [0148]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Note that “cremaphorEL” is merely an example and all improper uses of trademarks in the specification should be identified by Applicant and properly addressed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10, 12, 20, 22-24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (Masuda et al, U.S. Patent No. 9,808,537B2; Priority to October 11, 2012, IDS entered on 1/30/2024; hereinafter Masuda), and further in view of Widdison (U.S. Patent No. 10,494,423B2, Priority to June 21, 2011), Zhu (Zhu et al, US20250059296A1, Priority to November 15, 2021; hereinafter Zhu), and Qin (Qin et al, US20250064957A1, Priority to November 16, 2021; hereinafter Qin).
Masuda teaches an antibody-drug conjugate in which exatecan is conjugated to an antibody via a linker of the structure -L1-L2-LP-NH-(CH2)n1-La-Lb-Lc, wherein the antibody is connected to the terminal of L1, and the antitumor compound is connected to the terminal of Lc (page 1, Abstract; page 27, column 4, lines 30-57; page 55, column 60, lines 22-37), wherein:
L1 is a –(succinimid-3-yl-N)-(CH2)n2-C(O)-, wherein n2 is 2, and position 3 of the succinimidyl group is the point of thioether attachment to the antibody (page 27, column 4, lines 60-65; page 55, column 60, line 40-page 56, column 61, line 4);
LP is a peptide residue consisting of 4 amino acids (column 5, lines 3-4; page 57, column 63, lines 20-61);
n1=1, La is -O-, Lb is -CH2, and Lc is -C(O)- (page 27, column 4, line 32-page 28, column 5, line 54; and
The average drug-linker moieties per antibody is 1 to 10 (page 55, column 59, line 56-column 60, line 16).
Masuda also teaches acylating the free amine intermediate with N-succinimidyl 3-maleimidepropionate in place of the six carbon N-succinimidyl 6-maleimidehexanoate, yielding the maleimidopropanoyl drug linker as shown below:
(Example 13; page 89, column 127, line 1-column 128, line 5). Masuda discloses that this compound is then conjugated to an antibody to synthesize the antibody drug conjugate with an average of 3.4 drug molecules per antibody (Example 13; page 89, column 128, §Process 2: Antibody Drug Conjugate (12)). Masuda further teaches the general route for forming the aminomethoxy linkage from a payload alcohol, wherein Masuda teaches reacting an N-acyloxymethyl compound with a hydroxyl-bearing compound to form the -NH-CH2-O-CR2R3-C(O)- unit,
, wherein R2 and R3 are hydrogen atoms (page 69, column 88-page 71, column 91, §7. Production Method 7).
However, Masuda does not teach an Ala-Ala dipeptide as the enzyme cutting unit, LP, an acyl unit comprising three carbon atoms that separate the aminomethoxy oxygen from the carbonyl, and a payload bearing a free hydroxyl on the carbon alpha to that carbonyl.
The deficiency is resolved by Widdison, Zhu, and Qin.
Widdison teaches cell-binding agent-cytotoxic agent conjugates of formula (I),
, wherein A is the dipeptide Ala-Ala (page 26, column 1, lines 39-50; page 30, column 9, lines 25-50; page 35, column 20, lines 8-19; claim 5). Widdison also teaches the synthesis of Ala-Ala-PAB-DM1 compounds containing natural and non-natural amino acids at either position of the dipeptide and discloses conjugating these compounds to antibodies (page 27, column 3, lines 48-54; Example 10; FIGs 19-22). Widdison further discloses in vitro cytotoxicity for the resulting Ala-Ala conjugate, EGFR-7R-3c, against six cell lines and compares it directly against a corresponding Val-Cit conjugate (FIG. 26).
Zhu teaches a ligand-camptothecin derivative conjugate of general formula I,
, comprising a camptothecin payload joined to the linker through an acyl unit X (page 19, ¶ [0009]-page 21, ¶[0037]; page 23, ¶ [0061]-[0065]), wherein:
X comprises -C(O)-CRaRb-(CR3R4)m-O- wherein m=2 (page 21, ¶ [0029]-[0037]);
L4 is an enzyme cutting unit, e.g. -GGFG- (page 23, ¶ [0061]-[0065]); and
The payload is an exatecan payload of formula d,
, wherein the chiral carbon atom has two chiral configurations, the R absolute configuration or the S absolute configuration (page 29, ¶ [0118]-page 37, ¶ [0134]).
Zhu also teaches a linker-drug compound of formula III,
, wherein the compound of formula III may be used as an intermediate for coupling with an Ab to form the conjugate of formula I (page 38, ¶ [0140]-page 39, ¶ [0156]; page 56, ¶ [0161]). In this context, Zhu discloses a method of preparing the conjugate by coupling a reduced antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof with the said linker-drug compound (page 56, ¶ [0162]-page 58, ¶ [0166]), wherein the linker is covalently attached to the sulfur atom of a cysteine residue of the Ab, including cysteine residues forming interchain disulfide bonds of the antibody (page 153-154, ¶ [0252]). Furthermore, Zhu teaches that drug loading ranges from 0 to 12, and that n is an integer selected from 1 to 10 (page 157, ¶ [0285]-[0286]). Zhu also teaches a pharmaceutical preparation comprising the said linker-drug compound or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or solvate thereof (page 39, ¶ [0157]).
Qin teaches exatecan-derived linker-payload compounds and antibody-drug conjugates thereof (page 9, ¶ [0001]), wherein Qin joins the payload to the remainder of the linker through a -GGFG-NH-CH2-O- combination of a protease-cleavable peptide and a self-immolative spacer (page 55, ¶ [0174]). Qin also teaches that the acyl unit attached to the exocyclic amino group of the camptothecin payload is -C(O)-L1-, optionally continued as -M-L2-, wherein L1 is a C1-C6 alkylene that is substituted with OH; M is CH2; and L2 is a C1-C3 alkylene (page 56, ¶ [0186]-page 57, ¶ [0202]). Qin discloses a specific payload comprising a compound in which the acyl unit on the exatecan is -C(O)-CH(OH)-CH2-CH2-O, a free hydroxyl on the carbon alpha to the carbonyl, two intervening methylene groups, and the ether oxygen at the terminal position where the acyl unit joins the remainder of the linker as shown below:
(pages 39-46, ¶ [0110]-[0111]). Qin also discloses that the substituted carbon atoms of the payload are asymmetric centers and may be S configured, R configured, or racemic (page 57, ¶ [0198]). Furthermore, Qin teaches preparing hydroxyl-bearing acyl chains on the exatecan amine in worked examples, coupling a hydroxy acid to the exatecan amine with HATU and a tertiary amine base in DMF to give the corresponding hydroxy amide as shown below:
(page 85, ¶ [0299]; §Procedure of C518).
Regarding instant claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 10, 12, 20, 22 and 28, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the linker-drug compound comprising the linker -(succinimid-3-yl-N)—CH2CH2—C(═O)-GGFG-NH—CH2—O—CH2—C(═O)- linked to the drug unit (NH-DX) of Masuda by selecting an Ala-Ala dipeptide as the enzyme cutting unit as taught by Widdison, substituting for Masuda’s acyl unit -O—CH2—C(═O)- the alpha-hydroxy acyl unit -C(O)-CH(OH)-CH2-CH2-O- that Qin discloses for the same exatecan payload in the same -GGFG-NH-CH2-O- architecture, and selecting the R configuration from the R and S configurations that both Zhu and Qin contemplate, thereby arriving at the compound or a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound as shown below:
.
This is obvious because, Masuda teaches a linker-drug compound comprising the linker -(succinimid-3-yl-N)—CH2CH2—C(═O)-GGFG-NH—CH2—O—CH2—C(═O)- linked to the drug unit (NH-DX), a maleimidopropanoyl tether and the general method for forming the aminomethoxy linkage from a payload-alcohol under acid or base catalysis, Widdison teaches a drug-linker compound comprising the Ala-Ala dipeptide unit, Zhu teaches a linker-drug scaffold for an exatecan-type camptothecin payload—a maleimide-baring attachment unit, an enzyme cutting unit (e.g. -GGFG-), a self-immolative -NH-CH2-O- unit, and an acyl unit X joining the self immolative unit to the payload amine—along with the R and S configurations at the chiral carbon, and Qin teaches an exatecan payload linked to a -GGFG-NH-CH2-O- unit, the acyl unit -C(O)-CH(OH)-CH2-CH2-O comprising the required free hydroxyl on the carbon alpha to the carbonyl with the ether oxygen at the terminal position, wherein the carbon unit attached to the carbonyl may be a C1-C6 alkylene substituted with OH, and the asymmetric centers may be R configured, S configured, or racemic. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant linker-drug compound or a pharmaceutical composition comprising the instant linker-drug compound,
.
Regarding instant claims 23 and 24, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the linker-drug compound taught by the combined teachings of Masuda, Widdison, Zhu, and Qin to form an antibody drug conjugate by connecting the antibody through the maleimide group of the linker-drug compound, wherein the antibody drug conjugate comprises p drug-linker moieties and wherein p is an integer from 1 to 12. This is obvious because, the combined teachings of Masuda, Widdison, Zhu, and Qin teach the linker drug compound comprising a maleimidopropanoyl attachment unit, an Ala-Ala dipeptide as the protease-cleavable unit, an aminomethoxy self immolative unit, and an acyl unit comprising a free hydroxyl in the R configuration on the carbon alpha to the carbonyl, wherein the exocyclic amino group at position 1 of the exatecan payload is joined through that carbonyl, as shown below:
, and Zhu further teaches conjugating a linker-drug compound to an antibody by coupling it to a reduced antibody at the sulfur atom of a cysteine residue at a drug loading of 0 to 12. Therefore, it is obvious to a skilled artisan with reasonable expectation of success to have been motivated to form the instant antibody drug conjugate comprising
, wherein Ab is an antibody and p is an integer 1 to 12.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/J.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643