DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments/Amendment
Applicant argument and amendment filed on 04/13/2026 are considered. Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 12, 13, 16, 17, 20 are amended. Claims 2, 4, 11 and 19 are cancelled. New claims 21 and 22 are added in the application.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C 101: Applicant included patent eligible subject matter from claim 2 in the independent claims 1, 12 and 16. The independent claims integrate the abstract ideas into practical application of managing the drilling fluid. Therefore, the rejection is withdrawn.
Rejection under 35 U.S.C 102/103: A further search and consideration revealed that the prior art Clarke US 20220243544 A1 teaches/suggests the amended limitations. Please the prior art rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 7, 8, 10, 12-14, 16-18, 20, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Clarke (US 20220243544 A1).
Regarding claim 12 Clarke teaches a drilling system (Fig. 1), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 8, 801); and
memory, the memory including instructions which, when accessed by the processor (Fig. 8 memory 803 instructions accessed by processor 801), cause the processor to:
receive a measurement of measured drilling fluid properties for a drilling fluid (para [0052] In some embodiments, the drilling fluid manager may measure drilling fluid parameters, or receive measurements of drilling fluid parameters at 446);
compare the measurement of the measured drilling fluid properties to setpoint drilling fluid properties to generate a difference between the measurement and the setpoint drilling fluid properties (para [0054] If the measured parameters are outside of the threshold, then the drilling fluid manager may determine a difference between the measured drilling fluid parameters and the setpoint fluid properties at 448.);
Here determining difference between the measured drilling fluid parameters and the setpoint fluid is viewed to compare the measured and setpoint fluid properties.
identify future drilling plans, the future drilling plans including a change in wellbore status based on a comparison between a bit location and an interception with a geological feature; (para [0026] The BHA 106 may further include a rotary steerable system (RSS). The RSS may include directional drilling tools that change a direction of the bit 110, and thereby the trajectory of the wellbore. At least a portion of the RSS may maintain a geostationary position relative to an absolute reference frame, such as gravity, magnetic north, and/or true north. Using measurements obtained with the geostationary position, the RSS may locate the bit 110, change the course of the bit 110, and direct the directional drilling tools on a projected trajectory.
Para [0028] The bit 110 in the BHA 106 may be any type of bit suitable for degrading downhole materials. For instance, the bit 110 may be a drill bit suitable for drilling the earth formation 101. Example types of drill bits used for drilling earth formations are fixed-cutter or drag bits. In other embodiments, the bit 110 may be a mill used for removing metal, composite, elastomer, other materials downhole, or combinations thereof.)
From above paragraph examiner views the rotary steerable system (RSS) determines the drill bit location and the drill bit interception with the geological feature (i.e., wellbore materials) in the projected trajectory of the drill bit using geostationary position. The RSS change the direction of the drill bit (i.e., the future drilling plan) that includes a change in wellbore trajectory, wellbore materials materials (i.e., wellbore status).
based at least in part on the difference between the measurement and the setpoint drilling fluid properties Para [0024] The measurement station 116 may measure the parameters of the re-mixed drilling fluid and compare them to the setpoint fluid properties. Using the measured parameters, the drilling fluid engineer may continue to add additives until the measured parameters are within the setpoint fluid properties. para [0054] If the measured parameters are outside of the threshold, then the drilling fluid manager may determine a difference between the measured drilling fluid parameters and the setpoint fluid properties at 448. Based on the difference and the additive model, the drilling fluid manager may determine an additive amount for each of the additives at 450.) and responsive to the change in the wellbore status from the future drilling plans (para [0021] The drilling fluid discharges through selected-size nozzles, jets, or other orifices in the bit 110 for the purposes of cooling the bit 110 and cutting structures thereon, and for lifting cuttings out of the wellbore 102 as it is being drilled. The drilling fluid may be engineered with particular drilling fluid properties to facilitate cooling the bit 110, the cutting structures thereon, lifting cuttings out of the wellbore, supporting the walls of the wellbore, and so forth) prepare a recommendation to return the drilling fluid to the setpoint drilling fluid properties and (para [0054] Based on the difference and the additive model, the drilling fluid manager may determine an additive amount for each of the additives at 450.
Herein based on the differences between the measured fluid properties, fluid properties being within or outside the threshold set point and change in the trajectory and the materials in wellbore (i.e., wellbore status), the addition of additive amount is recommended util the measured parameters within or return to the set point fluid properties.
and implement the recommendation by adding an additive to the drilling fluid (para [0040] In some embodiments, the drilling fluid manager 218 includes a fluid mixer 230. The fluid mixer 230 may cause the amounts of the additives determined by the additive quantity manager 226 to be added to the returned drilling fluid. For example, the additive tanks may have valves or other additive mechanisms, and the fluid mixer 230 may cause the valves to open to add the determined amount of each additive. In some examples, the fluid mixer 230 may send a message to a drilling operator or an engineer, instructing the drilling operator or engineer to add the amounts of the additives.).
Here examiner views, when the additive tank valve is opened to be mixed with the drilling fluid at drilling fluid tank, an additive quantity (i.e., recommended) is added from the additive tank to the drilling fluid tank, managed by processor.
Regarding claim 13 Clarke teaches the drilling system of claim 12, further comprising: a drilling fluid tank ([0022] The drilling fluid may be stored in a mud pit 112 at a surface location 111.);
mud pit is viewed as a tank and
an additive tank in communication with the drilling fluid tank, wherein adding the additive to the drilling fluid includes the additive from the additive tank to the drilling fluid tank (para [0040] In some embodiments, the drilling fluid manager 218 includes a fluid mixer 230. The fluid mixer 230 may cause the amounts of the additives determined by the additive quantity manager 226 to be added to the returned drilling fluid. For example, the additive tanks may have valves or other additive mechanisms, and the fluid mixer 230 may cause the valves to open to add the determined amount of each additive. In some examples, the fluid mixer 230 may send a message to a drilling operator or an engineer, instructing the drilling operator or engineer to add the amounts of the additives.).
Here examiner views, when the additive tank valve is opened to be mixed with the drilling fluid at drilling fluid tank, an additive quantity (i.e., recommended) is added from the additive tank to the drilling fluid tank, managed by processor.
Regarding claim 14 Clarke teaches the drilling system of claim 13, wherein the recommendation includes an additive volume and an additive schedule, and wherein adding the additive to the drilling fluid tank includes adding the additive with the additive volume and the additive schedule(para [0063] In some embodiments, after adding the additives to the returned drilling fluid, the re-mixed returned drilling fluid may be circulated through the wellbore again, and the method 662 may be repeated indefinitely. For example, after adding the additive to the returned drilling fluid, the drilling operation may continue to drill and circulate the re-mixed drilling fluid for a second period of time. When the re-mixed drilling fluid is returned to the surface, the drilling fluid parameters may be measured and any differences between the measured fluid parameters used to determine additional additive amounts of the various additives.).
Here examiner views the required amount or volume of additive is added to the drilling fluid tank based on the time period of circulation and return of drilling fluid (i.e. additive schedule).
Claim 1 and 16 are rejected as claim 12 having same claim limitations/elements.
Claim 17 is rejected as claim 13 having same claim limitations/elements.
Claim 3 is rejected as claim 14 having same claim limitations/elements.
Regarding claim 5, Clarke teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the measurement includes at least one of density, shear stress, or viscosity (para [0022] The cuttings, swarf, and other material may cause a change to the properties of the drilling fluid, such as a change in density, shear stress, viscosity, and so forth. When the drilling fluid is returned to the surface location 111, such as to the mud pit 112, the properties of the drilling may be changed by the introduction of contaminants from the wellbore 102. Para [0023] A measurement station 116 or sensor station may measure the parameters of the drilling fluid).
Regarding claim 7, Clarke teaches the method of claim 1, Clarke teach wherein the recommendation includes a modification to the setpoint drilling fluid properties (para [0024] The measurement station 116 may measure the parameters of the re-mixed drilling fluid and compare them to the setpoint fluid properties. Using the measured parameters, the drilling fluid engineer may continue to add additives until the measured parameters are within the setpoint fluid properties.)
Here examiner views the fluid properties are modified to the set point drilling fluid properties by adding recommended additives.
Regarding claim 8, Clarke teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving a measurement of drilling parameters, and wherein preparing the recommendation includes preparing the recommendation based at least in part on the drilling parameters ([0067] During drilling operations, the drilling fluid manager may measure drilling fluid parameters of a returned drilling fluid at 784. Using the measured drilling parameters and the developed functions, including the inverted interpolation function, the drilling fluid manager may determine the additive amounts of the additives to place the returned drilling fluid within a threshold of setpoint drilling properties at 786.)
Herein examiner views the amount to additive to be added (i.e., recommended) to the drilling fluid is based on the measured drilling parameters.
Regarding claim 10, Clarke teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the recommendation includes a volume recommendation (para [0054] Based on the difference and the additive model, the drilling fluid manager may determine an additive amount for each of the additives at 450.
Regarding claim 18, Clarke teaches the method of claim 17, wherein adding the volume of the additive to the drilling fluid includes automatically adding the volume of additive with an additive control system (para [0047] For example, the drilling fluid manager may instruct one or more valves or other control systems to automatically add the additive to the drilling fluid and mix them together.)
Regarding claim 20, Clarke teaches the method of claim 18, further comprising:
circulating, with the additive added to the drilling fluid, the drilling fluid through a drilling system, resulting in a circulated drilling fluid (para [0063] In some embodiments, after adding the additives to the returned drilling fluid, the re-mixed returned drilling fluid may be circulated through the wellbore again);
monitoring the drilling fluid properties of the circulated drilling fluid (para [0018] In some embodiments, the drilling fluid manager may determine additive quantities throughout the drilling process.;
determining whether the drilling fluid properties of the circulated drilling fluid are within the setpoint drilling fluid properties (para [0018] For example, as drilling fluid is returned to the surface, the drilling fluid manager may receive and/or collect measurements of the returned drilling fluid. When the measured drilling fluid parameters are out of a threshold of the setpoint drilling fluid properties, then the drilling fluid manager may use the collected measurements to determine the amount of additives to add to the drilling fluid)); and
generating an updated recommendation to return the circulated drilling fluid to the setpoint drilling fluid properties (para [0018] After the returned drilling fluid is mixed with the additives, the re-mixed drilling fluid may be circulated through the wellbore. When the re-mixed drilling fluid returns to the surface, the drilling fluid manager may determine another quantity of additives, mix them in the drilling fluid, and re-circulated through the wellbore.).
Here examiner views the drilling fluid properties are monitored through out the drilling operation, by determining if the fluid properties are within the setpoint drilling fluid properties so that the updated amount of additive (i.e. recommended) is added to the drilling fluid to return to the desired setpoint.
Claim 21 is rejected as claim 12 having same limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke in view of Elkatatny et al (US 20190323935 A1) herein after Elkatatny
Regarding claim 15 Clarke teaches the drilling system of claim 13, Clarke does not explicitly teach wherein the instructions further cause the processor to remove a volume of the drilling fluid from the drilling fluid tank.
Elkatatny teaches wherein the instructions further cause the processor to remove a volume of the drilling fluid from the drilling fluid tank ([0048] A predetermined volume of drilling mud is removed from a drilling fluid tank and placed into a Marsh funnel. This predetermined volume or sample of drilling mud may be taken from one or more positions in a drilling tank).
Herein examiner views a computer or processor is instructed to remove a predetermined volume of drilling mud or fluid from the drilling tank.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Elkatatny into Clarke for the purpose of removing of the drilling fluid from the drilling fluid tank so that the fluid can be sampled, tested and circulate fluid with desired volume.
Regarding claim 6, Clarke teaches the method of claim 1, Clarke does not explicitly teach wherein the volume recommendation includes a reduction in total volume of the drilling fluid.
Elkatatny teaches wherein the volume recommendation includes a reduction in total volume of the drilling fluid. (para [0048] Drilling mud sample. The invention may be used to assess rheological properties of muds obtained from vertical, horizontal, deviated, multi-lateral wells and other well types. A predetermined volume of drilling mud is removed from a drilling fluid tank and placed into a Marsh funnel. This predetermined volume or sample of drilling mud may be taken from one or more positions in a drilling tank. For example, in a cylindrical or rectangular drilling tank it may be taken from a level at the bottom or top 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35, 40, 45, 50, 55, 60, 65, 70, 75, 80, 85, 90, or 95% of the drilling fluid in the tank).
Herein examiner views the amount or volume (i.e., recommended amount) of drilling fluid removed from the drilling fluid tank reduce the total amount or volume of the drilling fluid.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Elkatatny into Clarke for the purpose of reducing volume of the drilling fluid from the drilling fluid tank so that the fluid can be sampled, tested and circulate fluid with desired total volume.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke in view of Abughaban et al (US 20220243543 A1) herein after Abughaban.
Regarding claim 9, Clarke teaches the method of claim 8, Clarke teaches the measurement of the drilling parameters but does not explicitly teach includes at least one of rate of penetration, rotations per minute, drilling fluid flow rate, or drilling fluid pressure.
Abughaban teaches drilling parameter includes at least one of rate of penetration, rotations per minute, drilling fluid flow rate, or drilling fluid pressure ([0029] As further shown in FIG. 2, sensors (221) may be included in a sensor assembly (223), which is positioned adjacent to a drill bit (224) and coupled to the drill string (215).)…. the information may be used to make adjustments to drilling operations in real-time. Such adjustments may include rate of penetration (ROP), drilling direction, altering mud weight, and many others drilling parameters)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Abughaban into Clarke for the purpose of having rate of penetration of drilling fluid as one of the parameters of measurement during drilling.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clarke in view of Jamison et al (US 20210363884 A1) herein after Jamison.
Regarding claim 22, Clarke teaches the method of claim 8, but does not explicitly teach wherein, responsive to the change in the wellbore status including an end to drilling activities, the recommendation includes no change to the drilling fluid and implementing the recommendation includes making no change to the drilling fluid.
Jamison teaches wherein, responsive to the change in the wellbore status including an end to drilling activities, the recommendation includes no change to the drilling fluid and implementing the recommendation includes making no change to the drilling fluid (para [0013] In aspects, the wellbore servicing method of this disclosure enables the composition of a wellbore servicing fluid (e.g., a drilling fluid, a completion fluid, etc.) to be determined in real time, whereby adjustments to the wellbore servicing operation (e.g., the drilling operation, the completions operation, etc.) can be taken to control and/or optimize performance of the wellbore servicing operation (e.g., the drilling operation, the completions operation, etc.). In aspects, the method enables at least partial automation of the adjusting or maintaining of the composition of the wellbore servicing fluid being introduced into the wellbore and/or of the adjusting or maintaining of the operational parameter of the wellbore servicing operation based on the determining of the concentration of the one or more components.
Para [0046] The wellbore servicing system 200 may include one or more pump controls 262 or other types of controls for starting, stopping, increasing, decreasing or otherwise controlling pumping as well as controls for selecting or otherwise controlling fluids pumped during the wellbore servicing operation. The wellbore servicing fluid control subsystem 231 may communicate with the one or more of one or more surface sensors 258, one or more downhole sensors 260, the one or more MEMS devices 40, one or more pump controls 262, and other equipment to monitor and control the wellbore servicing operation.)
Examiner views during the wellbore servicing operation (i.e., the wellbore completion operation) the drilling pump is controlled to stop pumping the drilling fluid, which does not recommend or allow change in the drilling fluid.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Jamison into Clarke for the purpose of stopping the drilling fluid pump when the wellbore servicing is completed so that the drilling fluid change in the wellbore can be stopped and prevented from mixing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reitsma et al (US 20110284290 A1) discusses monitoring drilling fluid in the borehole.
Burress et al US9255473 A1 discusses monitoring well bore data.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857