DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR20110021597A).
Regarding claim 1 ,Kim discloses A pop-up deploying type door curtain assembly for a vehicle, the assembly comprising: a curtain (10) deployable to cover a door glass (4) when drawn out from a vehicle door (2) (figs 1-7); a rod (54, 56) configured to be installed on the vehicle door to ascend and descend and configured to support the curtain in a deployed state (figs 1-7); a slider (76b, 78b) fixed to the rod and configured to ascend or descend integrally with the rod (figs 1-7); a first drum apparatus (74a) configured to elastically support the slider in an ascending direction in order to allow the curtain to be deployed (figs 1-7, pages 2-3); and a button apparatus (70a) configured to limit a deployment of the curtain in a state in which the curtain is accommodated in the vehicle door (page 3).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further discloses a first cable (76) comprising a first end portion configured to be fixed to one side of the vehicle door (figs 3-4), the first cable being configured to elastically support a lower end portion of the slider and to be wound around the first drum apparatus (figs 3-5).
Regarding claim 6, Kim further discloses a second cable (78) configured to move the curtain downward in conjunction with a descending operation of the door glass (figs 1-7).
Regarding claim 7, Kim further discloses a second drum apparatus (70b) configured to move the slider downward in conjunction with the descending operation of the door glass (figs 1-7).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses a vehicle comprising: a vehicle door (2) (figs 1-7); a door glass (4) disposed in the vehicle door (fig 1-7); and a pop-up deploying type door curtain assembly for a vehicle, the assembly comprising: a curtain (10) deployable to cover a door glass (4) when drawn out from a vehicle door (2) (figs 1-7); a rod (54, 56) configured to be installed on the vehicle door to ascend and descend and configured to support the curtain in a deployed state (figs 1-7); a slider (76b, 78b) fixed to the rod and configured to ascend or descend integrally with the rod (figs 1-7); a first drum apparatus (74a) configured to elastically support the slider in an ascending direction in order to allow the curtain to be deployed (figs 1-7, pages 2-3); and a button apparatus (70a) configured to limit a deployment of the curtain in a state in which the curtain is accommodated in the vehicle door (page 3) ; a first cable (76) comprising a first end portion configured to be fixed to one side of the vehicle door (figs 3-4), the first cable being configured to elastically support a lower end portion of the slider and to be wound around the first drum apparatus (figs 3-5); and a second cable (78) configured to move the curtain downward in conjunction with a descending operation of the door glass (figs 1-7)..
Claims 1-2, 5, 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasuda et al. (US 20170136855).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Yasuda discloses a pop-up deploying type door curtain assembly for a vehicle, the assembly comprising: a curtain (22) deployable to cover a door glass (16) when drawn out from a vehicle door ([0033], figs 1-13); a rod (60) configured to be installed on the vehicle door to ascend and descend and configured to support the curtain in a deployed state (figs 1-13); a slider (100) fixed to the rod and configured to ascend or descend integrally with the rod (figs 1-13, [0076]); a first drum apparatus (53, 54) configured to elastically support the slider in an ascending direction in order to allow the curtain to be deployed (figs 1-13); and a button apparatus (84, 88) configured to limit a deployment of the curtain in a state in which the curtain is accommodated in the vehicle door (figs 1-9, [0050]-[0058]), wherein the button apparatus comprises: a button (88) operable by an occupant (figs 1-9, [0050]-[0058]); and a stopper (84) configured to limit an ascending operation of an upper end portion of the curtain, wherein (figs 1-9, [0050]-[0058]), in a state in which the button is operated by the occupant, the stopper is configured to separate from the upper end portion of the curtain (figs 1-9, [0050]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 2, Yasuda further discloses a first cable (56) comprising a first end portion configured to be fixed to one side of the vehicle door (fig 10), the first cable being configured to elastically support a lower end portion of the slider and to be wound around the first drum apparatus (fig 10).
Regarding claim 5, Yasuda further discloses a guide rail (70) with which the slider is slidably assembled and to which the first end portion of the first cable is fixed (figs 1-9).
Regarding claim 14, Yasuda further discloses that he button and the stopper are slidingly coupled (figs 7-9); and a direction change gear (82h2) configured to slide the stopper in a direction opposite to an operating direction of the button is installed between the button and the stopper (figs 7-9).
Regarding claim 15, Yasuda further discloses a return spring (86) configured to elastically support the button in order to return the operated button to its previous state ([0058]).
Regarding claim 16, Yasuda further discloses shade bar (40) installed at the upper end portion of the curtain in a length direction of the vehicle (figs 1-9 ); and a catch hook (42) disposed at the shade bar and configured to be caught and fixed to the stopper (figs 1-9, [0050]-[0058]).
Regarding claim 17, Yasuda further discloses that a lower surface of the stopper and an upper surface of the catch hook are each provided in a flat surface to limit an ascending operation of the catch hook (fig 7).
Regarding claim 18, Yasuda further discloses that an end portion of the stopper and the catch hook each have a round shape to allow the catch hook to descend (figs 7-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR20110021597A) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hansen et al. (US20090078379).
Regarding claim 3, Kim further discloses that the first drum apparatus comprises: a first drum (70a) around which the first cable is configured to be wound (figs 3-5);
Kim is silent regarding a first cable spring configured to elastically support the first drum in a direction in which the first cable is to be wound around the first drum.
Hansen teaches a first cable spring (clock spring disclosed in [0044]) configured to elastically support the first drum (44) in a direction in which the first cable is to be wound around the first drum ([0044], fig 2).
Before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Kim and Yasuda before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Kim to include the spring as taught by Hansen in order to bias the rod toward the extended position ([0044]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8-12 and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
1/9/2026