The title of the invention
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 19-21, 24 and 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (US Patent No. 12127360 B2 and Cheng hereinafter)
Regarding Claim 1, Cheng discloses (figs. 1-8) a foldable apparatus configured to support a flexible display screen (500), the foldable apparatus comprising: a spindle assembly (300); and two rotating components (110, 120 and 200, 400); wherein the foldable apparatus comprises an unfolding state (fig.4) and a folding state (fig.6), the two rotating components are located at two sides of the spindle assembly in the unfolding state (fig.4), and the two rotating components are stacked in the folding state (fig.6); wherein at least one of the two rotating components is a first rotating component comprising a middle frame (400), a rotating holder (200), and a transmission structure (210 and 220); and the rotating holder is rotatably connected to the spindle assembly, the middle frame is located at a side of the rotating holder away from the spindle assembly (fig.3), the middle frame and the rotating holder are configured to slide in parallel (fig.7), the transmission structure comprises one end connected to the spindle assembly and another end connected to the middle frame (fig.7), and the middle frame is configured to adhere to the flexible display screen; and wherein, when the first rotating component rotates relative to the spindle assembly (shows in figs 4-6), the transmission structure moves relative to the rotating holder and drives the middle frame to slide in parallel relative to the rotating holder (col 3, lines 5-20).
Regarding Claim 19, Cheng discloses (figs. 1-8) the foldable apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the rotating holder is rotatably connected to the spindle assembly through a rotating connector; and wherein the spindle assembly comprises a first rotating shaft, and the rotating connector rotates around the first rotating shaft; and the rotating connector overlaps with the transmission structure in a radial direction of the first rotating shaft (see annotated fig below).
Regarding Claim 20, Cheng discloses (figs. 1-8) the foldable apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the rotating holder is rotatably connected to the spindle assembly through a rotating connector; wherein the spindle assembly comprises a first rotating shaft, and the rotating connector rotates around the first rotating shaft; and wherein the rotating connector and the transmission structure are arranged in an axial direction of the first rotating shaft (see annotated fig above).
Regarding Claim 21, Cheng discloses (figs. 1-8) the foldable apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the middle frame has a first fixed point, and the rotating holder has a second fixed point; and wherein, in the unfolding state, a distance between the first fixed point and the second fixed point is defined as L7; wherein in the folding state, a distance between the first fixed point and the second fixed point is defined as L8; wherein L7> L8.
Regarding Claim 24, Cheng discloses (figs. 1-8) the foldable apparatus according to claim 1, wherein any one of the two rotating components is the first rotating component.
Regarding Claim 26, Cheng discloses (figs. 1-8) an electronic device, comprising: a flexible display screen (500); and a foldable apparatus for supporting the flexible display screen, wherein the foldable apparatus comprises: a spindle assembly (300); and two rotating components (110, 120 and 200, 400); wherein the foldable apparatus comprises an unfolding state and a folding state (fig.6), the two rotating components are located at two sides of the spindle assembly in the unfolding state, and the two rotating components are stacked in the folding state (fig.6); wherein at least one of the two rotating components is a first rotating component comprising a middle frame (400), a rotating holder (200), and a transmission structure (210 and 220); and the rotating holder is rotatably connected to the spindle assembly, the middle frame is located at a side of the rotating holder away from the spindle assembly, the middle frame and the rotating holder are configured to slide in parallel (fig.7), the transmission structure has one end connected to the spindle assembly and another end connected to the middle frame, and the middle frame is configured to adhere to the flexible display screen; and wherein, when the first rotating component rotates relative to the spindle assembly (shows in figs 4-6), the transmission structure moves relative to the rotating holder and drives the middle frame to slide in parallel relative to the rotating holder (col 3, lines 5-20).
Regarding Claim 27, Cheng discloses (figs. 1-8) the electronic device according to claim 26, wherein the flexible display screen further adheres to the spindle assembly.
Regarding Claim 28, Cheng discloses (figs. 1-8) the electronic device according to claim 26, wherein, when the foldable apparatus is in the folding state, the flexible display screen is located at an outer side of the foldable apparatus (shows in fig.6).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-18, 22-23 and 25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, the prior art fails to disclose, “ wherein the transmission structure comprises: a pipe; and a filler located in the pipe; wherein the filler is in a flowing state; wherein the pipe comprises: a first end facing the spindle assembly; and a second end facing the middle frame; wherein the middle frame is at least partially embedded in the second end of the pipe and operably associated with the filler and is configured to slide relative to the pipe; and wherein the spindle assembly is at least partially embedded in the first end of the pipe and operably associated with the filler and is configured to slide relative to the pipe.”
Claims 3-12 are objected being depend on claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art fails to disclose, “ wherein the transmission structure comprises a transmission solid member, the transmission solid member comprises a first end fixedly connected to a first fixing portion of the spindle assembly and a second end connected to the middle frame, and at least the first end of the transmission solid member is flexible; and wherein the spindle assembly comprises a first rotating shaft, the rotating holder is rotatably connected to the first rotating shaft, and the first fixing portion is fixedly connected to the first rotating shaft.”
Claims 14-18 are objected being depend on claim 13.
Regarding claim 22, the prior art fails to disclose, “ wherein one of the two rotating components is the first rotating component, and another rotating component of the two rotating components comprises a main body and an auxiliary sliding plate; the main body is rotatably connected to the spindle assembly; the main body and the auxiliary sliding plate are stacked, and the auxiliary sliding plate is configured to slide in parallel relative to the main body; and a side of the auxiliary sliding plate away from the main body is configured to adhere to the flexible display screen; and wherein a side of the main body close to the auxiliary sliding plate is provided with a first groove, a side of the auxiliary sliding plate close to the main body is provided with a protrusion, and the protrusion extends into the first groove; and a spring is disposed in the first groove, the spring is located at a side of the protrusion close to the spindle assembly, and the spring is in a contracted state.”
Claims 23 and 25 are objected being depend on claim 22.
However, the prior art (included in PTO 892), when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841