DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. This action is in response to the amendment filed on November 28, 2025. Claims 1-20 were originally pending consideration. Claims 1-20 were previously received for consideration. Per the received amendment, no claims have been cancelled or added.
2. Claims 1-20 are currently pending consideration.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant's arguments filed on November 28, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
4. The Applicant argues that the 101 rejection of claims 1-20 is improper as the claims are directed towards statutory subject matter. This argument is not found persuasive. The Applicant argues that the claims are directed towards eligible subject matter because they are directed to graph building with nodes that represent principals and resources from identify access and management (IAM) policies and connecting those nodes that represent principals and resources from identify access and management (IAM) policies and connecting those nodes with edges based on permissions and assignments of permissions indicated in the IAM policies. The Applicant does not address that the claims are directed towards the judicial exception of a mental process. Claim 1 discloses building a graph with nodes representing principals and cloud computing resources and with edges representing permissions wherein building the graph comprises parsing identity and access management policies to determine the principals and permissions assigned to the principals, and connecting nodes with edges based on permissions and assignments of the permissions and evaluating the graph to discover one or more attack paths to at least a first of the cloud computing resources. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claims recite a method of building a graph with multiple edges and nodes which can be interpreted as a mental process which can be performed by a human using a pen and paper. The Applicant does not address how these claims cannot be performed as a mental process. The claims recite building a graph with multiple data points and evaluating the graph to determine an attack path. These steps can be performed by a human using a pen and paper. Therefore, the arguments are not found persuasive and the claims are found ineligible under section 101.
5. The Applicant further argues that the Cited Prior Art (CPA) does not disclose incorporated permissions and assignments of the permissions as edges in a graph to reveal potential attacks. Furthermore, the Applicant argues that the CPA does not disclose parsing or using identity and access management (IAM) policies to determine the principals and permissions assigned to principals. These arguments are also not found persuasive. The term principal is defined in the Applicant’s specification as an identity. Therefore, the claim discloses identities and permissions associated with identities. An discloses using a host database (HDB) (section IIIA) to store information about the host including IP address, open ports and the name of the vulnerability it has (Section IIIA and Figure 5). This information is used to generate a Hierarchical Attack Representation Model (HARM) (section IIIA). The Security group is used to determine reachability information and it is parsed to understand the inter-VM reliability and then a reachability graph is generated (Section IIIA). The Reachability Graph is populated using information from the HDB and NDB which includes information about the host (identity information) and vulnerability information including open ports and services provided (permissions) (Section IIIA and Figure 2). Therefore, the arguments are not found persuasive and the rejections are maintained as provided below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Independent claim 1 is selected as being representative of the claims being rejected. Claim 1 is directed towards generating a graph which is a mental process and an abstract idea.
Here, claim 1 recites a method for generating a graph by parsing identity and access management policies to generate to determine principals and to determine the connection of nodes with edges. The steps of organizing the information intro graphs would also be an abstract idea. Organizing data through mathematical correlations is similar to other claims that the courts have held to be abstract ideas. See, e.g., Digitech Image Techs., LLC v. Electronics for Imaging, Inc. (Organizing information through mathematical correlations).
Turning to the second step of the analysis, it is determined whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. In this case, it is determined the claims do not add additional elements which integrate the mathematical concepts disclosed by claim 1 into a practical application. The claims are directed towards constructing a graph, and using the graph to discover potential attack paths. The claims do not contain any elements beyond the abstract idea which would integrate the mathematical concept into an abstract idea. The claims mere analyzes and modify the graph to determine an attack path and this does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as it is generally linking the abstract idea to vulnerability detection.
Furthermore, the analysis proceeds to determine whether there is an inventive concept, defined by an element or combination of elements in claim, which is significantly more than the abstract idea. In this instance, there is nothing more than towards constructing a graph, and discovering potential attack paths based on the attack graphs.
The dependent claims do not provide any subject matter to rescue the claims from being an abstract idea. Claim 2 generates a simulated principal node based on a node that could be created based on the permissions which is analogous to creating a node based on the permission, and can be performed in the mind or using a pen and paper. Claim 3 also modifies the graph to include the simulated node which is also included in a mental process or method of organizing human activity. Claim 3 discloses the general assigning of weights and does not disclose how the weights are created. Claim 4 uses the graph to discover attack paths by computing a score for each path, but does not disclose how the score is computed. The scores are generally disclosed with no further detail. Claim 6 discloses the remediation of attack paths but merely the prioritizing of remediation based on the scores. Claim 7 discloses creating a rule based on an attack path. Claim 8 discloses extracting a sequence of permissions in the attack path to create the rule and claim 9 discloses evaluating the graph to discover one or more potential attack paths. These dependent claims do not disclose anything beyond the abstract idea of a mental process or organizing human activity, and therefore, the claims are all directed towards an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-3, 7-11, and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. “CloudSafe: A Tool for an Automated Security Analysis for Cloud Computing” in view of Kahlhofer et al. (“Towards Reconstructing Multi-Step Cyber Attacks in Modern Cloud Environments with Tripwires.”
Regarding claim 1, An discloses:
A method comprising:
building a graph with nodes representing principals and cloud computing resources and with edges representing permissions (Section IIIA: The SG controls access using IP and Port as packet filtering. The SG information is used to generate the Reachability Graph (RG) by considering only the allowed rules for inbound traffics. Figure 2 shows the process of acquiring the reachability information from the target cloud (i.e., the cloud environment to conduct security assessment) and storing it in the Network Database (NDB) and Host Database (HDB) by parsing the SG to understand the inter-VM reliability),
wherein building the graph comprises,
parsing identity and access management policies to determine the principals and permissions assigned to principals (Section IIIA: The SG controls access using IP and Port as packet filtering. The SG information is used to generate the Reachability Graph (RG) by considering only the allowed rules for inbound traffics. Figure 2 shows the process of acquiring the reachability information from the target cloud (i.e., the cloud environment to conduct security assessment) and storing it in the Network Database (NDB) and Host Database (HDB) by parsing the SG to understand the inter-VM reliability); and
connecting nodes with edges based on the permissions and assignments of the permissions (Section IIIA: The algorithm iteratively goes over the set of security rules to examine the reachability specified in the SG, and continuously adding the new set into the RG).
An does not explicitly disclose evaluating the graph to discover one or more potential attack paths to at least a first of the cloud computing resources. An discloses a security assessment tool and produces security reports and alludes to a predictive model for possible multi-step attack paths (Section IIB), but does not explicitly disclose discovering one or more potential attack paths. In an analogous art, Kahlhofer discloses reconstructing attack by using attack graphs to discover attacks and notifies an Alarm Store (AS) when a new alarm is detected (Section 2). Kahlhofer achieves this by using tripwire injection (Section 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Kahlhofer with the system of An to improve the precision of detecting attacks (Kahlhofer: Section 1).
Claim 2 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, Kahlhofer discloses:
The method of claim 1 further comprising modifying the graph to include a simulated principal node and connecting the simulated principal node to the graph based on at least one of the permissions, wherein the simulated principal node is a node that represents a principal that could be created according to at least one of the permissions (Section 1: automatic tripwire injection which react to changes in the cloud environment).
Claim 3 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 2. Furthermore, Kahlhofer discloses:
The method of claim 2, wherein modifying the graph to include the simulated principal node comprises creating the simulated principal node based on a first of the permissions assigned to at least a first of the principals and wherein connecting the simulated principal node to the graph is based, at least in part, on a second of the permissions that can be assigned to the simulated principal node (Section 1: automatic tripwire injection which react to changes in the cloud environment).
Claim 7 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, Kahlhofer discloses:
The method of claim 1 further comprising creating a rule based on an attack path to one of the cloud computing resources discovered from evaluating the graph and providing the rule to prevent similar attack paths (Section 2 and 3: attack graph reconstruction wherein the reconstruction algorithm takes the AS and the AG as its input and reconstructs the attacks).
Claim 8 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 7. Furthermore, Kahlhofer discloses:
The method of claim 7, wherein creating the rule comprises extracting a sequence of permissions in the attack path and creating the rule based, at least in part, on the extracted sequence of permissions (Section 2 and 3: attack graph reconstruction wherein the reconstruction algorithm takes the AS and the AG as its input and reconstructs the attacks).
Claim 9 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, Kahlhofer discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein evaluating the graph to discover one or more potential attack paths to at least a first cloud computing resource comprises evaluating the graph to determine one or more potential attack paths to the first cloud computing resource from a first digital identity (Sections 1-2: reconstructing attack by using attack graphs to discover attacks and notifies an Alarm Store (AS) when a new alarm is detected).
Regarding claim 10, An discloses:
A non-transitory, machine-readable medium having program code stored thereon, the program code comprising instructions to:
build a directed graph based on a plurality of identity and access management policies permissions (Section IIIA: The SG controls access using IP and Port as packet filtering. The SG information is used to generate the Reachability Graph (RG) by considering only the allowed rules for inbound traffics. Figure 2 shows the process of acquiring the reachability information from the target cloud (i.e., the cloud environment to conduct security assessment) and storing it in the Network Database (NDB) and Host Database (HDB) by parsing the SG to understand the inter-VM reliability),
wherein the directed graph comprises nodes that represent principals and cloud computing resources and edges that connect nodes based on permissions assigned to the principals in the plurality of identity and access management policies (Section IIIA: The SG controls access using IP and Port as packet filtering. The SG information is used to generate the Reachability Graph (RG) by considering only the allowed rules for inbound traffics. Figure 2 shows the process of acquiring the reachability information from the target cloud (i.e., the cloud environment to conduct security assessment) and storing it in the Network Database (NDB) and Host Database (HDB) by parsing the SG to understand the inter-VM reliability).
An does not explicitly disclose augmenting the directed graph to indicate one or more potential access paths based on a first subset of the permissions, wherein the instructions to augment the directed graph comprise instructions to, create a node based on a first of the subset of permissions assigned to a first of the principals that allows creation of another principal by the first principal and connecting the created node to the directed graph based on a second of the subset of permissions assigned to the first principal and evaluating the directed graph to discover whether there is an attack path to a cloud computing resource represented in the directed graph. An discloses a security assessment tool and produces security reports and alludes to a predictive model for possible multi-step attack paths (Section IIB), but does not explicitly disclose discovering one or more potential attack paths. In an analogous art, Kahlhofer discloses reconstructing attack by using attack graphs to discover attacks and notifies an Alarm Store (AS) when a new alarm is detected (Section 2). Kahlhofer achieves this by using tripwire injection (Section 1) which adds a scenario to the graph to act as a honeypot (Section 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Kahlhofer with the system of An to improve the precision of detecting attacks (Kahlhofer: Section 1).
Claim 11 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 10. Furthermore, An discloses:
The non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the instructions to build the directed graph comprise instructions to parse the plurality of identity and access management policies to determine the principals and permissions assigned to the principals (Section IIIA: The SG controls access using IP and Port as packet filtering. The SG information is used to generate the Reachability Graph (RG) by considering only the allowed rules for inbound traffics. Figure 2 shows the process of acquiring the reachability information from the target cloud (i.e., the cloud environment to conduct security assessment) and storing it in the Network Database (NDB) and Host Database (HDB) by parsing the SG to understand the inter-VM reliability).
Claim 15 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 10. Furthermore, Kahlhofer discloses:
The non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 10, wherein the program code further comprises instructions to create a rule based on a discovered attack path to one of the cloud computing resources and provide the rule to prevent similar attack paths (Section 2 and 3: attack graph reconstruction wherein the reconstruction algorithm takes the AS and the AG as its input and reconstructs the attacks).
Claim 16 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 15. Furthermore, Kahlhofer discloses:
The non-transitory, machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the instructions to create the rule comprise instructions to extract a sequence of permissions in the attack path and create the rule based, at least in part, on the extracted sequence of permissions (Sections 1-2: reconstructing attack by using attack graphs to discover attacks and notifies an Alarm Store (AS) when a new alarm is detected).
Regarding claim 17, An discloses:
An apparatus comprising:
a processor (Section IV: C: CPU); and
a machine-readable medium having instructions stored thereon that are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to, build a graph with nodes representing principals and cloud computing resources and with edges representing permissions,
wherein the instructions to build the graph comprise instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to, parse identity and access management policies to determine principals and permissions assigned to principals (Section IIIA: The SG controls access using IP and Port as packet filtering. The SG information is used to generate the Reachability Graph (RG) by considering only the allowed rules for inbound traffics. Figure 2 shows the process of acquiring the reachability information from the target cloud (i.e., the cloud environment to conduct security assessment) and storing it in the Network Database (NDB) and Host Database (HDB) by parsing the SG to understand the inter-VM reliability); and
connect nodes with edges based on the permissions and assignments of permissions (Section IIIA: The algorithm iteratively goes over the set of security rules to examine the reachability specified in the SG, and continuously adding the new set into the RG).
An does not explicitly disclose evaluating the graph to discover one or more potential attack paths to at least a first of the cloud computing resources. An discloses a security assessment tool and produces security reports and alludes to a predictive model for possible multi-step attack paths (Section IIB), but does not explicitly disclose discovering one or more potential attack paths. In an analogous art, Kahlhofer discloses reconstructing attack by using attack graphs to discover attacks and notifies an Alarm Store (AS) when a new alarm is detected (Section 2). Kahlhofer achieves this by using tripwire injection (Section 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the system of Kahlhofer with the system of An to improve the precision of detecting attacks (Kahlhofer: Section 1).
Claim 18 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 17. Furthermore, Kahlhofer discloses:
The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the machine-readable medium further has stored thereon instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to modify the graph to include a simulated principal node and to connect the simulated principal node to the graph based on at least one of the permissions, wherein the simulated principal node is a node that represents a principal that could be created according to at least one of the permissions (Section 1: automatic tripwire injection which react to changes in the cloud environment).
Claim 19 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 18. Furthermore, Kahlhofer discloses:
The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the instructions to modify the graph to include the simulated principal node comprise instructions executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to create the simulated principal node based on a first of the permissions assigned to at least a first of the principals and wherein the instructions to connect the simulated principal node to the graph is based, at least in part, on a second of the permissions that can be assigned to the simulated principal node (Section 1: automatic tripwire injection which react to changes in the cloud environment).
8. Claim(s) 4-6, 12-14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over An et al. “CloudSafe: A Tool for an Automated Security Analysis for Cloud Computing” in view of Kahlhofer et al. (“Towards Reconstructing Multi-Step Cyber Attacks in Modern Cloud Environments with Tripwires” in further in view of Gukal et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. US 2017/0093910).
Claim 4 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 1. Furthermore, the combination of An and Kahlhofer does not disclose wherein building the graph further comprises assigning weights to the nodes and edges based, at least in part, on types of the principals, permissions of the edges, and resource classifications. In an analogous art, Gukal discloses assigning weights to each machine in a path and assigning a path weight using an equation which determines the probability of a particular attack path (paragraphs 0435, 0439). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to assign weights, as is performed in Gukal, in the system of An and Kahlhofer in order to determine a probability of attack using a certain path (Gukal: paragraph 0435).
Claim 5 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 4. Furthermore, the combination of An and Kahlhofer does not explicitly disclose wherein evaluating the graph to discover one or more potential attack paths to at least a first cloud computing resource comprises selecting a node as a first endpoint and determining one or more paths from the first endpoint to one or more second endpoints in the graph, computing a score for each path in the graph based, at least partly, on the assigned weights and ranking and/or filtering the potential attack paths according to the scores, wherein either the first endpoint or the one or more second endpoints represents the cloud computing resource. In an analogous art, Gukal discloses assigning weights to each machine in a path and assigning a path weight using an equation which determines the probability of a particular attack path (paragraphs 0435, 0439). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to assign weights, as is performed in Gukal, in the system of An and Kahlhofer in order to determine a probability of attack using a certain path (Gukal: paragraph 0435).
Claim 6 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 5. Furthermore, the combination of An and Kahlhofer does not explicitly disclose remediation of discovered attack paths based, at least partly, on the scores. In an analogous art, Gukal discloses remediation of an intrusion (paragraph 0281) and uses weight to determine the severity of the attack (paragraph 0353, 0371) and the probability of the attack using a certain path (paragraph 0435, 0439). The assigning of a weight based on the severity and probability of an attack allows Gukal to remediate the attacks which have a higher weight first (paragraph 0281). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the weighting of Gukal so that attacks can be remediated efficiently (Gukal: paragraph 0281).
Claim 12 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 10. Furthermore, the combination of An and Kahlhofer does not disclose wherein building the graph further comprises assigning weights to the nodes and edges based, at least in part, on types of the principals, permissions of the edges, and resource classifications. In an analogous art, Gukal discloses assigning weights to each machine in a path and assigning a path weight using an equation which determines the probability of a particular attack path (paragraphs 0435, 0439). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to assign weights, as is performed in Gukal, in the system of An and Kahlhofer in order to determine a probability of attack using a certain path (Gukal: paragraph 0435).
Claim 13 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 12. Furthermore, the combination of An and Kahlhofer does not explicitly disclose wherein evaluating the graph to discover one or more potential attack paths to at least a first cloud computing resource comprises selecting a node as a first endpoint and determining one or more paths from the first endpoint to one or more second endpoints in the graph, computing a score for each path in the graph based, at least partly, on the assigned weights and ranking and/or filtering the potential attack paths according to the scores, wherein either the first endpoint or the one or more second endpoints represents the cloud computing resource. In an analogous art, Gukal discloses assigning weights to each machine in a path and assigning a path weight using an equation which determines the probability of a particular attack path (paragraphs 0435, 0439). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to assign weights, as is performed in Gukal, in the system of An and Kahlhofer in order to determine a probability of attack using a certain path (Gukal: paragraph 0435).
Claim 14 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 13. Furthermore, the combination of An and Kahlhofer does not explicitly disclose remediation of discovered attack paths based, at least partly, on the scores. In an analogous art, Gukal discloses remediation of an intrusion (paragraph 0281) and uses weight to determine the severity of the attack (paragraph 0353, 0371) and the probability of the attack using a certain path (paragraph 0435, 0439). The assigning of a weight based on the severity and probability of an attack allows Gukal to remediate the attacks which have a higher weight first (paragraph 0281). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the weighting of Gukal so that attacks can be remediated efficiently (Gukal: paragraph 0281).
Claim 20 is rejected as applied above in rejecting claim 17. In an analogous art, Gukal discloses assigning weights to each machine in a path and assigning a path weight using an equation which determines the probability of a particular attack path (paragraphs 0435, 0439). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to assign weights, as is performed in Gukal, in the system of An and Kahlhofer in order to determine a probability of attack using a certain path (Gukal: paragraph 0435). Gukal further discloses remediation of an intrusion (paragraph 0281) and uses weight to determine the severity of the attack (paragraph 0353, 0371) and the probability of the attack using a certain path (paragraph 0435, 0439). The assigning of a weight based on the severity and probability of an attack allows Gukal to remediate the attacks which have a higher weight first (paragraph 0281). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the weighting of Gukal so that attacks can be remediated efficiently (Gukal: paragraph 0281).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAVEH ABRISHAMKAR/
01/02/2026 Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2494