DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Title
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “210” in Fig. 4.
Claim Objections
Claims 7 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 7 and 16 recite “mother board”, which should have been “motherboard” instead.
Claims 10-17 recite “the system”, which should have been “the electronic system” instead.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 17 recite “…the first circuit daughterboard and the second circuit daughterboard are different parts of a same circuit board…”. This is confusing. Are there two circuit daughterboards or just a single daughterboard with two circuit parts. Further clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 9-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki (US 5,488,558) in view of Wu (US 2003/0137805).
Regarding claim 1, Ohki teaches an electronic device (Figs. 1 and 6-11) comprising:
a first body (body of 1+30, Figs. 1, 7, 9, 11), including a first side (rear side, Fig. 1) and a second side (front side, Fig. 1) opposite to each other;
a first interface (34, Fig. 1), disposed at the first body and configured to electrically connect to a first external device (20 or 40, Fig. 1);
a display device (6, Fig. 1), disposed at the first body and exposed through the second side (as shown in Fig. 1); and
a second interface (9, Fig. 1), disposed at another portion of the first body (bottom right of 1 in Fig. 1) and configured to electrically connect to a second external device (50, Fig. 1).
Ohki does not teach a second body, connected to the first body through a connection device and configured to move relative to the first body; and the second interface, disposed in the second body. However, Wu teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1), comprising: a first interface (24, Fig. 1) disposed at a first body (20, Fig. 1) and a second interface (3, Fig. 1; [0017]: “…A processor device, or an interface… or card or device 3 …”) disposed at a second body (21, Fig. 1), the second body, connected to the first body through a connection device (hinge shown between 20 and 21 in Fig. 1; [0016]: “…a cover housing 20 of a portable computer 2, and pivotally or rotatably coupled to a computer body 21…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second body, connected to the first body through a connection device and configured to move relative to the first body; and the second interface, disposed in the second body in Ohki, as taught by Wu, in order to adapt the electronic device of Ohki from a single body device to a rotatable laptop device that provide larger display and comfortable keyboard for additional usability.
Regarding claim 2, Ohki in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 1. Ohki does not teach the first body further includes a first end and a second end opposite to each other; the first end is rotatably connected to one end of the second body through at least part of the connection device; and the first interface is disposed at the second end and exposed through the first side. However, Wu further teaches the first body (20, Figs. 1, 2) further includes a first end (bottom end of 1, Figs. 1, 2) and a second end (top end of 1, Figs. 1, 2) opposite to each other; the first end is rotatably connected to one end of the second body through at least part of the connection device ([0016]: “…a cover housing 20 of a portable computer 2, and pivotally or rotatably coupled to a computer body 21…”); and the first interface (24, Figs. 1, 2) is disposed at the second end and exposed through a first side (27, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first body further includes a first end and a second end opposite to each other; the first end is rotatably connected to one end of the second body through at least part of the connection device; and the first interface is disposed at the second end and exposed through the first side in Ohki in view of Wu, as taught by Wu, in order to adapt the electronic device of Ohki from a single body device to a rotatable laptop device that provide larger display and comfortable keyboard for additional usability.
Regarding claim 3, Ohki in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 2, and Ohki further teaches wherein: the at least part of the connection device includes a first connection device (same as the hinge modified by Wu in above claim 1); the first body (1+30) further includes a second connection device (same as 30) configured to detachably fix the first external device (20 or 40, Fig. 1); and the first interface is configured to be electrically connected to the first external device in response to the first external device being fixed to the electronic device through the second connection device (as shown in Figs. 2, 6, 7, 9).
Regarding claim 5, Ohki in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 1, and Ohki further teaches a power supply circuit (circuit connect to battery 5, Fig. 1) configured to provide electrical power; and a processor (3, Fig. 2); wherein: the first interface is configured to electrically connect the first external device to the power supply circuit; the first interface includes a plurality of power pins (pins to match to 25 in Fig. 1); and the processor is configured to determine power parameters required by the first external device and control one or more of the plurality of power pins matching the power parameters to be connected to the power supply circuit (col. 7, lns. 21-30: “… power supply to the digital camera adaptor 20 is also supplied from the handy computer body 1 through the bus line…”; note the bus controller must supply correct power parameter of digital camera adaptor 20 or printer 40 in order to power the external device.).
Regarding claim 6, Ohki in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 1, and Ohki further teaches a processor (3, Fig. 2); wherein: the first interface (34) includes: a signal pin (pin inside 34 to electrically connect to 25 or pins of 40 in Fig 1) configured to perform data interaction with the first external device when the first external device is electrically connected to the first interface (see bus in Fig. 2).
Ohki in view of Wu does not explicitly teach a detection pin configured to obtain a detection signal when the first external device is electrically connected to the first interface; and the processor is configured to control working status of one or more other pins of the first interface based on the detection signal. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a detection pin configured to obtain a detection signal when the first external device is electrically connected to the first interface; and the processor is configured to control working status of one or more other pins of the first interface based on the detection signal in Ohki in view of Wu, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, having a detection pin in order to know which external device is attached, i.e. digital camera adaptor or printer, would allow the processor to know what parameter to monitor and control regarding that specific external device, and this does not yield any unpredictable result to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Ohki teaches an electronic system (Figs. 1-2) comprising:
an electronic device (Figs. 1 and 6-11), including:
a first body (body of 1+30, Figs. 1, 6-11), including a first side (rear side, Fig. 1) and a second side (front side, Fig. 1) opposite to each other;
a first interface (34, Fig. 1), disposed at the first body;
a display device (6, Fig. 1), disposed at the first body and exposed through the second side (as shown in Fig. 1); and
a second interface (9, Fig. 1), disposed at another portion of the first body (as shown in Fig. 1); and
a first external device (20 or 40, Fig. 1) configured to be connected to the first interface (as shown in Figs. 2, 7, 9 and 11) and/or a second external device (50, Fig. 1) configured to be connected to the second interface (as shown in Figs. 7 and 9).
Ohki does not teach a second body, connected to the first body through a connection device and configured to move relative to the first body; the second interface, disposed in the second body. However, Wu teaches an electronic device (Fig. 1), comprising: a first interface (24, Fig. 1) disposed at a first body (20, Fig. 1) and a second interface (3, Fig. 1; [0017]: “…A processor device, or an interface… or card or device 3 …”) disposed at a second body (21, Fig. 1), the second body, connected to the first body through a connection device (hinge shown between 20 and 21 in Fig. 1; [0016]: “…a cover housing 20 of a portable computer 2, and pivotally or rotatably coupled to a computer body 21…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a second body, connected to the first body through a connection device and configured to move relative to the first body; and the second interface, disposed in the second body in Ohki, as taught by Wu, in order to adapt the electronic device of Ohki from a single body device to a rotatable laptop device that provide larger display and comfortable keyboard for additional usability.
Regarding claim 10, Ohki in view of Wu teaches the system according to claim 9, and Ohki further teaches wherein: the first external device is one of at least two different first external devices (20 or 40, Fig. 1) of the system, and each of the at least two different external devices includes a port (25 or port of 40, Fig. 1) configured to be connected to the first interface (34).
Regarding claim 11, Ohki in view of Wu teaches the system according to claim 9. Ohki does not teach the first body further includes a first end and a second end opposite to each other; the first end is rotatably connected to one end of the second body through at least part of the connection device; and the first interface is disposed at the second end and exposed through the first side. However, Wu further teaches the first body (20, Figs. 1, 2) further includes a first end (bottom end of 1, Figs. 1, 2) and a second end (top end of 1, Figs. 1, 2) opposite to each other; the first end is rotatably connected to one end of the second body through at least part of the connection device ([0016]: “…a cover housing 20 of a portable computer 2, and pivotally or rotatably coupled to a computer body 21…”); and the first interface (24, Figs. 1, 2) is disposed at the second end and exposed through a first side (27, Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first body further includes a first end and a second end opposite to each other; the first end is rotatably connected to one end of the second body through at least part of the connection device; and the first interface is disposed at the second end and exposed through the first side in Ohki in view of Wu, as taught by Wu, in order to adapt the electronic device of Ohki from a single body device to a rotatable laptop device that provide larger display and comfortable keyboard for additional usability.
Regarding claim 12, Ohki in view of Wu teaches the system according to claim 11, and Ohki further teaches wherein: the at least part of the connection device includes a first connection device (same as the hinge modified by Wu in above claim 9); the first body (1+30) further includes a second connection device (same as 30) configured to detachably fix the first external device (20 or 40, Fig. 1); and the first interface is configured to be electrically connected to the first external device in response to the first external device being fixed to the electronic device through the second connection device (as shown in Figs. 2, 6, 7, 9).
Regarding claim 14, Ohki in view of Wu teaches the system according to claim 9, and Ohki further teaches a power supply circuit (circuit connect to battery 5, Fig. 1) configured to provide electrical power; and a processor (3, Fig. 2); wherein: the first interface is configured to electrically connect the first external device to the power supply circuit; the first interface includes a plurality of power pins (pins to match to 25 in Fig. 1); and the processor is configured to determine power parameters required by the first external device and control one or more of the plurality of power pins matching the power parameters to be connected to the power supply circuit (col. 7, lns. 21-30: “… power supply to the digital camera adaptor 20 is also supplied from the handy computer body 1 through the bus line…”; note the bus controller must supply correct power parameter of digital camera adaptor 20 or printer 40 in order to power the external device.).
Regarding claim 15, Ohki in view of Wu teaches the system according to claim 9, and Ohki further teaches wherein: the electronic device further includes a processor (3, Fig. 2); the first interface (34) includes: a signal pin (pin inside 34 to electrically connect to 25 or pins of 40 in Fig 1) configured to perform data interaction with the first external device when the first external device is electrically connected to the first interface (see bus in Fig. 2).
Ohki in view of Wu does not explicitly teach a detection pin configured to obtain a detection signal when the first external device is electrically connected to the first interface; and the processor is configured to control working status of one or more other pins of the first interface based on the detection signal. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a detection pin configured to obtain a detection signal when the first external device is electrically connected to the first interface; and the processor is configured to control working status of one or more other pins of the first interface based on the detection signal in Ohki in view of Wu, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, having a detection pin in order to know which external device is attached, i.e. digital camera adaptor or printer, would allow the processor to know what parameter to monitor and control regarding that specific external device, and this does not yield any unpredictable result to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 7, 13 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8 and 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claim 4, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the electronic device of claim 4, in particular, wherein the first body includes: a first part including:
a first sub-part of the display device; a circuit daughterboard located on a side of the first sub-part of the display device away from a light-emitting side; and the first interface on a side of the circuit daughterboard away from the first sub-part of the display device; and a second part including a second sub-part of the display device, on a side facing away from a display surface of the display device, a height of the first part being greater than a height of the second part.
Re claims 7-8, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the electronic device of claim 7, in particular, wherein: the second body includes a circuit motherboard; the display device is electrically connected to the circuit motherboard through a first electrical connector; the second interface is electrically connected to the circuit motherboard through a second electrical connector; the first body includes a circuit daughterboard; the first interface is electrically connected to the circuit daughterboard; and the first circuit daughterboard is electrically connected to the circuit mother board at least through the first electrical connector.
Re claim 13, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the electronic system of claim 13, in particular, wherein the first body includes: a first part including:
a first sub-part of the display device; a circuit daughterboard located on a side of the first sub-part of the display device away from a light-emitting side; and the first interface on a side of the circuit daughterboard away from the first sub-part of the display device; and a second part including a second sub-part of the display device, on a side facing away from a display surface of the display device, a height of the first part being greater than a height of the second part.
Re claims 16-17, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the electronic system according to claim 16, in particular, wherein: the second body includes a circuit motherboard; the display device is electrically connected to the circuit motherboard through a first electrical connector; the second interface is electrically connected to the circuit motherboard through a second electrical connector;
the first body includes a circuit daughterboard; the first interface is electrically connected to the circuit daughterboard; and the first circuit daughterboard is electrically connected to the circuit mother board at least through the first electrical connector.
Conclusion
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841