DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending for examination. Claim 1 is amended. Claim(s) 10 and 11 are newly added. This action is Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/2025 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 101 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues: Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. Applicant has amended claim 1 to clarify that any abstract ideas are incorporated into a practical application. As amended, claim 1 recites "sequentially detecting, by sensors mounted on a vehicle, first data, second data and third data during a common assessment period set before a lease period" and "determining a lease- associated cost based on the accident risk and the degree of exhaustion". As amended, it is clear that the claims recite more than steps that could be performed in the human mind. Rather, data used to determine lease-associated cost is obtained using sensors mounted on the vehicle. Because the claims recite hardware sensors obtaining data, any abstract ideas associated therewith are integrated into a practical application. Applicant further added new claims 10 and 11. New claim 10 recites the first and second trained models which are trained using a neural network and with ground truth data on accident risk, and degree of exhaustion of consumables, respectively, and which are used to obtain the accident risk and degree of exhaustion based on the first, second and third data. See FIGS. 5 and 6 and the corresponding description. Claim 11 recites that the method includes sending a notification to a portable terminal of a user, and displaying the notice on the portable terminal if the degree of exhaustion of the power storage reaches a predetermined threshold. This is described at least in connection with FIG. 8. These additional features further incorporate any abstract ideas into a practical application. For each of these reasons, the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is believed to be overcome and acknowledgement of the same is respectfully requested.
Examiner’s Response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner respectfully notes with respect to the broadest reasonable interpretation - "sequentially detecting, ..., first data, second data and third data during a common assessment period set before a lease period" and "determining a lease- associated cost based on the accident risk and the degree of exhaustion" falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as it recites business relations. The examiner respectfully notes that [detecting] by sensors mounted on the vehicle is noted to be an additional element that is described at a high level in Applicant’s specification without any meaningful detail about their structure or configuration (see Applicant’s Specification, pp. 13-14). Therefore, this element in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, this additional element, even in combination, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The examiner further notes that limitations related to “the first and second trained models which are trained using a neural network and with ground truth data on accident risk, and degree of exhaustion of consumables, respectively, and which are used to obtain the accident risk and degree of exhaustion based on the first, second and third data. See FIGS. 5 and 6 and the corresponding description” (Claim 10) and “sending a notification to a portable terminal of a user, and displaying the notice on the portable terminal if the degree of exhaustion of the power storage reaches a predetermined threshold” (Claim 11) are noted to be additional elements that are also recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components (i.e., generic neural network training and/or sending a notification to a terminal (e.g.,., internet communication to a device). Even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the examiner finds this argument not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments filed 9/11/2025 with respect to 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant Argues: Claim 1 is amended to recite sequentially detecting, by sensors mounted on a vehicle, first data, second data and third data during a common assessment period set before a lease period. Claim 1 further recites determining a lease-associate cost based on the accident risk and the degree of exhaustion. None of the prior art references of record teach or suggest the combination of detecting first, second and third data during a common assessment period and also determining a lease-associate cost based on the two factors: accident risk and degree of exhaustion of a consumable. For at least these reasons, the amendments overcome the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103, and Applicants respectfully request acknowledgement of the same.
Examiner’s Response: The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner respectfully notes that Yamaguchi discloses a [...] comprising: sequentially detecting by sensors mounted on a vehicle, first data, second data, and the data during a common assessment period... ([0215] – ...currents... [0225] - ...driving time... and [0297] – ...acceleration or deceleration... and [0190] - Note that while in the embodiment that has been described heretofore, the risk avoidance enablement judging program is described as being started when the goal point is set in the navigation unit 3 by the driver, in the event that there occurs an alteration in the driving route or a change in operating conditions of the equipment, or when, a predetermined period of time has elapsed or a predetermined mileage has been covered by the vehicle, the risk avoidance enablement judging program is desirably executed again and [0272]). The examiner respectfully notes that Igata teaches a leasing method comprising: ...a common assessment period set before a lease period... (FIG. 4 and [0079]-[0080] - Hereinafter, a monthly fee setting process will be described in detail with reference to FIG. 4. FIG. 4 is a flowchart showing the monthly fee setting process. In the present embodiment, the monthly fee setting process will be described as being executed by management server 100 (specifically, CPU 102 of management server 100) for the sake of illustration), [...] data [which includes representative history] and obtaining a degree of exhaustion of a consumable including the power storage based on [the data], the consumable being provided to the vehicle by lease (FIG. 4 and [0063]-[0065] - For example, for utilization of the electric vehicle, the user can purchase only the vehicle portion and select the battery lease, can purchase only the battery and select the vehicle lease, or can select the vehicle lease+battery lease and [0140]-[0141] and [0151] - The discount rate corresponding to the initial state of the battery at the time of start of the utilization may include at least one of discount rates A(1), A(2), A(3), A(4) and B(1), for example. The discount rate corresponding to the driving history of the electric vehicle during the utilization may include at least one of discount rates A(5) and A(6), for example. The discount rate corresponding to the environment history during the utilization includes at least one of A(7), A(8), B(2), and B(3), for example), and determining a lease associated cost based on the [representative history] and the degree of exhaustion (FIG. 4 – S126 and S142 – [0016] and [0137]). The examiner respectfully notes that the it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Igata to the method including obtaining an accident risk based on the first, second, and third data of Yamaguchi and Grichnick to include a leasing method comprising: ...a common assessment period set before a lease period..., [...] data [which includes representative history] and obtaining a degree of exhaustion of a consumable including the power storage based on [the data], the consumable being provided to the vehicle by lease, and determining a lease associated cost based on the [representative history] and the degree of exhaustion, thus, rendering a combination in which the “representative history” of Yamaguchi can account and be based on the accident risk (i.e., data obtained) of Yamaguchi and Grichnick in addition to use of degree of exhaustion of Yamaguchi to determine a lease. Therefore, the prior art in combination, as shown above suggests the features as amended. Therefore, the examiner finds this argument not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: claim(s) 1-11 are directed to a machine, process, and/or manufacture. Therefore, the claims are directed to statutory subject matter under Step 1 (Step 1: YES). See MPEP 2106.03.
Prong 1, Step 2A: claim 1, recites at least the following limitations that recite an abstract idea:
A leasing method comprising:
sequentially detecting,
the second data representing a history of an amount of accelerator operation in the vehicle;
the third data representing a travel distance or a time period of travel of the vehicle;
obtaining an accident risk of the vehicle based on the first data, the second data, and the third data;
obtaining a degree of exhaustion of a consumable including the power storage based on the first data, the second data, and the third data, the consumable being provided to the vehicle by lease; and
determining a lease-associated cost based on the accident risk and the degree of exhaustion.
The above limitations, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, enumerated in MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II), in that they recite "commercial interactions" or "legal interactions" include agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations. The broadest reasonable interpretation of these limitations for claim 1, includes sequentially detecting... data... during a common assessment period set before a lease period... the data representing history of current..., history of an amount of accelerator..., and travel distance or time period of travel..., obtaining an accident risk based on said data, obtaining a degree of exhaustion of a consumable based on said data, and determining a lease-associated cost based on the accident risk and the degree of exhaustion. Thus, claim 1 falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas as it recites business relations.
Accordingly, these claims recite an abstract idea. (Prong 1, Step 2A: YES). The types of identified abstract ideas are considered together as a single abstract idea for analysis purposes.
Prong 2, Step 2A: Limitations that are not indicative of integration into a practical application include: (1) Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(f)), (2) Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (MPEP 2106.05(g)), (3) Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (MPEP 2106.05(h)). Claim 1 recites i.e., [detecting] by sensors mounted on the vehicle. This additional element is described at a high level in Applicant’s specification without any meaningful detail about their structure or configuration (see Applicant’s Specification, pp. 13-14). This element in the steps is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and merely invoke such additional elements as a tool to perform the abstract idea. See MPEP 2106.05(f). Accordingly, this additional element, even in combination, does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. As such, under Prong 2 of Step 2A, when considered both individually and as a whole, the limitations of claim 1 are not indicative of integration into a practical application (Prong 2, Step 2A: NO). See MPEP 2106.04(d).
Since claim 1 recites an abstract idea and fails to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, claim 1 is “directed to” an abstract idea under Step 2A (Step 2A: YES). See MPEP 2106.04(d).
Step 2B: The recitation of the additional elements is acknowledged, as identified above with respect to Prong 2 of Step 2A. These additional elements do not add significantly more to the abstract idea for the same reasons as addressed above with respect to Prong 2 of Step 2A.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as an ordered combination, they do not add significantly more to the exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of for claim 1, i.e., [detecting] bey sensors mounted on the vehicle; amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component and do not add anything that is not already present when they are considered individually or in combination. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. Therefore, under Step 2B, there are no meaningful limitations in claim 1 that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (Step 2B: NO). See MPEP 2106.05.
Accordingly, under the Subject Matter Eligibility test, claim 1 is ineligible.
Regarding Claims 2-11, claims 2-11, further defines the abstract idea that is present in their respective independent claims and hence are abstract for at least the reasons presented above w/ respect to "commercial interactions" or "legal interactions" include agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations i.e., further features related to leasing. In addition, they recite the additional elements processor/storage (claim 4), trained models (claim 5), a computer and vehicle (claim 8), ML models (claims 9 and 14), replacement station (claim 9), use of a first/second trained model by training an untrained neural network (i.e., a first/second model) (claim 10), and sending a notification to a portable terminal (Claim 11). These additional elements are again recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. Even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application and do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Thus, the aforementioned claims are not patent-eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2007/0225882 A1) in view of Grichnik et al. (US 2009/0222248 A1) and Igata et al. (US 2019/0156409 A1).
Regarding Claim 1;
Yamaguchi discloses a [...] comprising:
sequentially detecting by sensors mounted on a vehicle, first data, second data, and the data during a common assessment period... ([0215] – ...currents... [0225] - ...driving time... and [0297] – ...acceleration or deceleration... and [0190] - Note that while in the embodiment that has been described heretofore, the risk avoidance enablement judging program is described as being started when the goal point is set in the navigation unit 3 by the driver, in the event that there occurs an alteration in the driving route or a change in operating conditions of the equipment, or when, a predetermined period of time has elapsed or a predetermined mileage has been covered by the vehicle, the risk avoidance enablement judging program is desirably executed again and [0272]),
the first data representing ... a current that flows in a power storage mounted on a vehicle ([0140] - Furthermore, as is shown in FIG. 3(C), as disturbances, degrees of risk are stored in score according to levels of road surface conditions, area conditions, traffic conditions and the like, and as vehicle conditions, as is shown in FIG. 3(D), degrees of risk are stored in score according to levels of deterioration of tires, suspensions, shafts and the like [0149] - ... Then, the safety function confirming section 37 confirms safety functions which are required at respective points where a unique charging or discharging is expected to occur, inputs whether or not expected risks at the respective points can be dealt with, equipment used to provide the necessary safety functions, and quantity of current used by the equipment into the operating state estimating section 39 based on the vehicle information, and inputs whether the expected risks at the respective points can be deal with into an alternative availability judging section 38 and [0151] - Then, the operating state estimating section 39 judges whether the battery holds a quantity of electrical energy necessary for the safety functions at the respective points where the unique charging or discharging is expected to occur based on the state of the battery, the driving conditions of electric equipment, environment information and the results of the judgments at the safety function confirming section 37 and the alternative availability judging section 38 to thereby judge whether or not to impose a restriction on feeding to the electric equipment and intervene in the charging control of the battery and inputs the results of the judgment into an operating state estimation result informing section 40. This operating state estimation result informing section 40 gives information on whether or not expected risky conditions can be dealt with and instructions to impose a restriction on feeding to the electric equipment and intervene in the charging control of the battery to the battery management unit 2, the car navigation unit 3 and the like and [0206] - The ROM 1012 stores therein the various programs including the economical running program, vehicle information, accident risk level data based on various driving environments, a table of system which are adapted to be activated for operation according to risk conditions and consumed current data of pieces of electric equipment mounted on the vehicle and [0272] - In addition, the risk element score extracting section 2032 extracts a score for each risk element in a specific area from the risk element map shown in FIG. 42, which is stored in the ROM 2012, based on road information, weather information, road surface information and driving environments such as vehicle conditions in the relevant area which are sent from the driving environment acquiring section 2031 for input into a risk level calculating section 2033. Then, the risk level calculating section 2033 adds up scores for the respective risk elements in the area to thereby calculate an accident risk level and inputs it into a load restriction executing section 2034 and [0273] - Then, the load restriction executing section 2034 expects the activation of the safety equipment according to the accident risk level sent from the risk level calculating section 2033, and when expecting the activation of the safety equipment, a warning is made to be issued from the speech output unit 2023 or a feeding load restriction is performed by executing a feeding cut-off to the loads and [0284]);
the second data representing ... an amount of accelerator operation in the vehicle ([0244] - Similarly, the CPU 1011 of the idling stop control unit 1001 executes a generation quantity estimating program shown in FIG. 35 once every certain period of time, and when starting this program, firstly, having acquired external information such as road information, weather information and road surface information to the following risky point (step 1501), the CPU 1011 estimates a driving mode of the vehicle, that is, a driving state of the vehicle such as accelerated, steady-speed driving and decelerated as shown in FIG. 36 to the following risky point based on the external information so acquired (step 1502) and [0271]-[0272] - A driving environment acquiring section 2031 acquires road information, weather information, road surface information and the like which are acquired by the car navigation unit 2004 from the vehicle information center 2024 and the other vehicles 2025, as well as vehicle speed, road gradient, operating information on the wipers and driving environments made up of illuminance inside the vehicle and the like which sent from the sensors 2021 and switches 2022 and inputs them so acquired into a risk element score extracting section 2032. In addition, the risk element score extracting section 2032 extracts a score for each risk element in a specific area from the risk element map shown in FIG. 42, which is stored in the ROM 2012, based on road information, weather information, road surface information and driving environments such as vehicle conditions in the relevant area which are sent from the driving environment acquiring section 2031 for input into a risk level calculating section 2033. Then, the risk level calculating section 2033 adds up scores for the respective risk elements in the area to thereby calculate an accident risk level and inputs it into a load restriction executing section 2034);
the third data representing a travel distance or a time period of travel of the vehicle ([0140] - Furthermore, as is shown in FIG. 3(C), as disturbances, degrees of risk are stored in score according to levels of road surface conditions, area conditions, traffic conditions and the like, and as vehicle conditions, as is shown in FIG. 3(D), degrees of risk are stored in score according to levels of deterioration of tires, suspensions, shafts and the like and [0225] - When the driver sets a goal on the car navigation system 1005, the CPU 11 of the idling stop control unit 1001 starts a risky point setting program shown in FIG. 26 Firstly, external information such as road information, weather information and road surface information on a driving route to the goal is acquired based on information from the car navigation unit 1005 to be stored in the RAM 1013 (step 1101), and thereafter, and subject vehicle conditions such as driving time and tire conditions are acquired from the ROM 1012 and the sensors 1021 to be stored in the RAM 1013 (step 1102) and [0272] - In addition, the risk element score extracting section 2032 extracts a score for each risk element in a specific area from the risk element map shown in FIG. 42, which is stored in the ROM 2012, based on road information, weather information, road surface information and driving environments such as vehicle conditions in the relevant area which are sent from the driving environment acquiring section 2031 for input into a risk level calculating section 2033. Then, the risk level calculating section 2033 adds up scores for the respective risk elements in the area to thereby calculate an accident risk level and inputs it into a load restriction executing section 2034).
obtaining an accident risk of the vehicle based on the first data, the second data, and the third data ([0140] and [0149] and [0151] and [0206] and [0225] and [0244] and [0271]-[0273] - In addition, the risk element score extracting section 2032 extracts a score for each risk element in a specific area from the risk element map shown in FIG. 42, which is stored in the ROM 2012, based on road information, weather information, road surface information and driving environments such as vehicle conditions in the relevant area which are sent from the driving environment acquiring section 2031 for input into a risk level calculating section 2033. Then, the risk level calculating section 2033 adds up scores for the respective risk elements in the area to thereby calculate an accident risk level and inputs it into a load restriction executing section 2034).
Yamaguchi discloses concepts of obtaining an accident risk of the vehicle based on the first data, the second data, and the third data, see citations above, however Yamaguchi fails to explicitly disclose ...a common assessment period set before a lease period... obtaining [...] data representing a history of... and obtaining a degree of exhaustion of a consumable including the power storage based on the first data, the second data, and the third data, the consumable being provided to the vehicle by lease; and determining a lease associated cost based on the accident risk and the degree of exhaustion.
However, in an analogous art, Grichnik teaches obtaining [...] data representing a history [and obtaining [a] risk ... based on the [data]] ([0018] - In this example, database 115 may store, for example, vehicle speed history, vehicle load history, environmental data such as a temperature and an air pressure, operating temperatures for coolant and oil, engine vibration levels, engine temperature, and oil conditions. Database 115 may also store one or more models for analyzing the data over different time periods, as described below. CPU 111 may access the information stored in database 115 and transmit this information to server system 155 for determining a combined risk and [00298] - In the embodiment of machine maintenance, diagnostic data may include, for example, air flow measurements through an air filter, crankcase pressure, oil filter pressure, engine coolant temperature, engine load, exhaust temperature, and other sensor data. The data may be collected continuously, on demand, or periodically).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Grichnick to the first and second data of Yamaguchi to include [...] data representing a history [and obtaining [a] risk ... based on the [data]].
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Grichnick to Yamaguchi to do so as it provides / allows an accurate combined risk and provide preventative treatment for ... machine failure (Grichnik, [0026]).
Further, in an analogous art, Igata teaches a leasing method comprising:
...a common assessment period set before a lease period... (FIG. 4 and [0079]-[0080] - Hereinafter, a monthly fee setting process will be described in detail with reference to FIG. 4. FIG. 4 is a flowchart showing the monthly fee setting process. In the present embodiment, the monthly fee setting process will be described as being executed by management server 100 (specifically, CPU 102 of management server 100) for the sake of illustration),
[...] data [which includes representative history] and obtaining a degree of exhaustion of a consumable including the power storage based on [the data], the consumable being provided to the vehicle by lease (FIG. 4 and [0063]-[0065] - For example, for utilization of the electric vehicle, the user can purchase only the vehicle portion and select the battery lease, can purchase only the battery and select the vehicle lease, or can select the vehicle lease+battery lease and [0140]-[0141] and [0151] - The discount rate corresponding to the initial state of the battery at the time of start of the utilization may include at least one of discount rates A(1), A(2), A(3), A(4) and B(1), for example. The discount rate corresponding to the driving history of the electric vehicle during the utilization may include at least one of discount rates A(5) and A(6), for example. The discount rate corresponding to the environment history during the utilization includes at least one of A(7), A(8), B(2), and B(3), for example), and
determining a lease associated cost based on the [representative history] and the degree of exhaustion (FIG. 4 – S126 and S142 – [0016] and [0137])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Igata to the method including obtain an accident risk based on the first, second, and third data of Yamaguchi and Grichnick to include a leasing method comprising: ...a common assessment period set before a lease period..., [...] data [which includes representative history] and obtaining a degree of exhaustion of a consumable including the power storage based on [the data], the consumable being provided to the vehicle by lease, and determining a lease associated cost based on the [representative history] and the degree of exhaustion, thus, rendering a combination in which the “representative history” of Yamaguchi can account and be based on the accident risk (i.e., data obtained) of Yamaguchi and Grichnick in addition to use of degree of exhaustion of Yamaguchi to determine a lease.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Igata to Yamaguchi and Grichnick to do so as it provides / allows an appropriate rental fee is set in accordance with a selected utilization manner in comprehensive consideration of characteristics associated with each of battery portion and vehicle portion of an electric vehicle (Igata, [0005]).
Regarding Claim 3;
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata disclose the method to claim 1.
Iagata further teaches wherein the obtaining a degree of exhaustion of a consumable includes obtaining the degree of exhaustion of the power storage when a body portion except for the power storage of the vehicle is a property of a user of the vehicle and the power storage of the vehicle is provided to the vehicle by lease (FIG. 4 – Battery Leased and Vehicle Leased and [0004] - As a utilization manner of the electric vehicle described above, for example, the user can select a utilization manner as follows: the user rents one of battery portion and vehicle portion of the electric vehicle and purchases the other; or the user rents or purchases both and [0101] - Returning to FIG. 4, in S116, management server 100 sets a discount rate A(4) based on the degree of initial deterioration of battery 214. Discount rate A(4) is set to allow the first monthly fee to be a different fee when only the degree of initial deterioration of battery 214 is different, for example and [0135] - Also, it is assumed that the utilization manner of the user is the vehicle lease+battery lease and [0136] - When it is determined that a period of one month has elapsed since previous setting of a fee and a condition for executing a fee setting process is established (YES in S100), a user for whom a fee is to be set is specified (S102) and driving history and environment history are obtained from vehicle 200 utilized by the user for whom a fee is to be set (S104) As noted a fee setting is done monthly (i.e., lease)), and obtaining the degree of exhaustion of the power storage and the degree of exhaustion of each consumable included in the body portion when both of the body portion of the vehicle and the power storage are provided to the vehicle by lease (FIG. 4 – Battery Leasedand Vehicle Leased and [0004] - As a utilization manner of the electric vehicle described above, for example, the user can select a utilization manner as follows: the user rents one of battery portion and vehicle portion of the electric vehicle and purchases the other; or the user rents or purchases both and [0101] - Returning to FIG. 4, in S116, management server 100 sets a discount rate A(4) based on the degree of initial deterioration of battery 214. Discount rate A(4) is set to allow the first monthly fee to be a different fee when only the degree of initial deterioration of battery 214 is different, for example and [0135] - Also, it is assumed that the utilization manner of the user is the vehicle lease+battery lease and [0136] - When it is determined that a period of one month has elapsed since previous setting of a fee and a condition for executing a fee setting process is established (YES in S100), a user for whom a fee is to be set is specified (S102) and driving history and environment history are obtained from vehicle 200 utilized by the user for whom a fee is to be set (S104) As noted a fee setting is done monthly (i.e., lease)).
Regarding Claim 4;
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata disclose the method to claim 1.
Iagata further teaches a computer apparatus comprising: a processor ([0041]); and a storage where a program causing the processor to perform the leasing method according to claim 1 is stored ([0042]).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Igata to Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata, as per claim 1, above.
Regarding Claim 8;
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata disclose the method to claim 1 and the apparatus to claim 4.
Yamaguchi further teaches a vehicle that transmits the first data, the second data, and the third data ... ([0140] and [0149] and [0151] and [0206] and [0225] and [0244] and [0271]-[0273]).
Iagata further a lease system comprising: the computer apparatus according to claim 4 (FIG. 1); teaches a vehicle that transmits the data to [a] computer apparatus (FIG. 1).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Igata to Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata, as per claim 1, above.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2007/0225882 A1) in view of Grichnik et al. (US 2009/0222248 A1) and Igata et al. (US 2019/0156409 A1) and further in view of Wallach et al. (US 7,349,860 B1).
Regarding Claim 2;
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata disclose the method to claim 1.
Yamaguchi teaches concepts of accident risk ([0140] and [0149] and [0151] and [0206] and [0225] and [0244] and [0271]-[0273] - In addition, the risk element score extracting section 2032 extracts a score for each risk element in a specific area from the risk element map shown in FIG. 42, which is stored in the ROM 2012, based on road information, weather information, road surface information and driving environments such as vehicle conditions in the relevant area which are sent from the driving environment acquiring section 2031 for input into a risk level calculating section 2033. Then, the risk level calculating section 2033 adds up scores for the respective risk elements in the area to thereby calculate an accident risk level and inputs it into a load restriction executing section 2034);
Iagata further teaches further comprising determining a lease-associated cost based on ... the degree of exhaustion, wherein the lease-associated cost includes ...a power storage... and ... a lease fee paid by the user of the vehicle for rental of the consumable ([0063]-[0065] - For example, for utilization of the electric vehicle, the user can purchase only the vehicle portion and select the battery lease, can purchase only the battery and select the vehicle lease, or can select the vehicle lease+battery lease and [0140]-[0141] and [0151] - The discount rate corresponding to the initial state of the battery at the time of start of the utilization may include at least one of discount rates A(1), A(2), A(3), A(4) and B(1), for example. The discount rate corresponding to the driving history of the electric vehicle during the utilization may include at least one of discount rates A(5) and A(6), for example. The discount rate corresponding to the environment history during the utilization includes at least one of A(7), A(8), B(2), and B(3), for example and [0135] - Also, it is assumed that the utilization manner of the user is the vehicle lease+battery lease and [0136] - When it is determined that a period of one month has elapsed since previous setting of a fee and a condition for executing a fee setting process is established (YES in S100), a user for whom a fee is to be set is specified (S102) and driving history and environment history are obtained from vehicle 200 utilized by the user for whom a fee is to be set (S104) As noted a fee setting is done monthly (i.e., lease)), and the determining a lease-associated cost includes setting the lease fee to be more inexpensive as the degree of exhaustion of the consumable is higher (FIG. 8 and [0063]-[0065] - For example, for utilization of the electric vehicle, the user can purchase only the vehicle portion and select the battery lease, can purchase only the battery and select the vehicle lease, or can select the vehicle lease+battery lease and [0102] - For example, when the degree of initial deterioration of battery 214 falls within the large value area, management server 100 sets a discount rate A(4) of 5%. When the degree of initial deterioration of battery 214 falls within the medium value area, management server 100 sets a discount rate A(4) of 2%. When the degree of initial deterioration of battery 214 falls within the small value area, management server 100 sets a discount rate A(4) of 0%. and [0140]-[0141] and [0151] - The discount rate corresponding to the initial state of the battery at the time of start of the utilization may include at least one of discount rates A(1), A(2), A(3), A(4) and B(1), for example. The discount rate corresponding to the driving history of the electric vehicle during the utilization may include at least one of discount rates A(5) and A(6), for example. The discount rate corresponding to the environment history during the utilization includes at least one of A(7), A(8), B(2), and B(3), for example).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Igata to Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata, as per claim 1, above.
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata further comprising determining a lease-associated cost based on the accident risk ..., wherein the lease-associated cost includes an insurance fee paid by a user of the vehicle for reception of an insurance service relating to replacement of the power storage ..., and the determining a lease-associated cost includes setting the insurance fee to be more inexpensive as the accident risk of the vehicle is lower...
However, in an analogous art, Wallach teaches determining a lease-associated cost based on the accident risk ..., wherein the lease-associated cost includes an insurance fee paid by a user of the vehicle for reception of an insurance service relating to replacement [relating to the item] (col. 3, lines 7-16 - The insurance policy may cover comprehensive, collision, personal injury, medical costs, property damage, uninsured motorist coverage and/or other types of losses relating to the item and col. 4, lines 41-48 - Typically, insurance premiums may be discounted based on certain discount factors, such a clean driving and accident record, multiple automobile coverage, automobile coverage in conjunction with other types of insurance (such as homeowners insurance), and safety factors included or added to an automobile, such as air bags, anti-theft devices, use of seat belts and the like and col. 5, lines 25-39 - Next, the retailer may enter into a sale or lease transaction with a qualified buyer for a qualified automobile (step 204). The transaction may be embodied in one or more forms comprising a sales agreement for the lease or purchase of a vehicle in which the terms of the sale are incorporated. During performance of the sale or lease, the retailer may confirm that the purchaser/lessee qualifies for the sale or lease by, for example, referring to a credit report and further confirms that the make/model of the automobile is qualifies under the sales incentive program (step 206). The retailer then confirms the provision of an insurance policy having a term co-extensive with a financing period or a lease term associated with the sale or lease to the purchaser/lessee (step 208), after which process 200 ends and col. 6, lines 10-26 - Turning now to FIG. 4, therein is depicted a process 400 by which a qualified buyer 100 receives an insurance policy with a sale or lease of a qualified automobile according to the sales incentive program described above. The process 400 begins at step 402 where the buyer enters into a sale or lease with, for example, a retailer authorized to sell or lease the qualified automobile. It is further contemplated that the sale or lease may be made by the manufacturer 102 directly. The retailer notifies the financial agent of the qualified sale (step 406). The financial agent then provides a payment of at least a portion of the insurance premium, or preferably, the entire insurance premium to the insurer 104 on behalf of the buyer 100 (step 408), thereby assisting the buyer in securing an insurance policy covering the automobile against certain types of losses. The process 400 then ends. and col. 6, lines 25-45 - Referring now to FIG. 5, an exemplary process 500 for receiving payments from a purchaser/lessee is depicted. At step 502, a financial agent receives an indication of a qualified sale or lease under the sales incentive program described above. Based on the terms of the sale and the insurance premium charged, the financial agent calculates a periodic recurring amount to be paid by the purchaser/lessee (step 504). The amount may include a portion of the financial balance for the automobile and a portion of the insurance premium. In addition, interest on both these amounts may be amortized in any known manner. The interest rate charged for the financed amount may be the same as the interest rate charged on the premium balance. Alternatively, the two interest rates may be different. The rates may also be fixed or variable as is known in the art. Continuing with process 500, the financial agent pays the entire premium due to the insurer 104 (step 506). The financial agent then receives periodic payments corresponding to the calculated amount from the purchaser/lessee over the course of the loan or the lease (step 508). The process 500 then ends.), and the determining a lease-associated cost includes setting the insurance fee to be more inexpensive as the accident risk of the vehicle is lower... (col. 3, lines 7-16 - The insurance policy may cover comprehensive, collision, personal injury, medical costs, property damage, uninsured motorist coverage and/or other types of losses relating to the item and col. 4, lines 41-48 - Typically, insurance premiums may be discounted based on certain discount factors, such a clean driving and accident record, multiple automobile coverage, automobile coverage in conjunction with other types of insurance (such as homeowners insurance), and safety factors included or added to an automobile, such as air bags, anti-theft devices, use of seat belts and the like and col. 5, lines 25-39 - Next, the retailer may enter into a sale or lease transaction with a qualified buyer for a qualified automobile (step 204). The transaction may be embodied in one or more forms comprising a sales agreement for the lease or purchase of a vehicle in which the terms of the sale are incorporated. During performance of the sale or lease, the retailer may confirm that the purchaser/lessee qualifies for the sale or lease by, for example, referring to a credit report and further confirms that the make/model of the automobile is qualifies under the sales incentive program (step 206). The retailer then confirms the provision of an insurance policy having a term co-extensive with a financing period or a lease term associated with the sale or lease to the purchaser/lessee (step 208), after which process 200 ends and col. 6, lines 10-26 - Turning now to FIG. 4, therein is depicted a process 400 by which a qualified buyer 100 receives an insurance policy with a sale or lease of a qualified automobile according to the sales incentive program described above. The process 400 begins at step 402 where the buyer enters into a sale or lease with, for example, a retailer authorized to sell or lease the qualified automobile. It is further contemplated that the sale or lease may be made by the manufacturer 102 directly. The retailer notifies the financial agent of the qualified sale (step 406). The financial agent then provides a payment of at least a portion of the insurance premium, or preferably, the entire insurance premium to the insurer 104 on behalf of the buyer 100 (step 408), thereby assisting the buyer in securing an insurance policy covering the automobile against certain types of losses. The process 400 then ends. and col. 6, lines 25-45 - Referring now to FIG. 5, an exemplary process 500 for receiving payments from a purchaser/lessee is depicted. At step 502, a financial agent receives an indication of a qualified sale or lease under the sales incentive program described above. Based on the terms of the sale and the insurance premium charged, the financial agent calculates a periodic recurring amount to be paid by the purchaser/lessee (step 504). The amount may include a portion of the financial balance for the automobile and a portion of the insurance premium. In addition, interest on both these amounts may be amortized in any known manner. The interest rate charged for the financed amount may be the same as the interest rate charged on the premium balance. Alternatively, the two interest rates may be different. The rates may also be fixed or variable as is known in the art. Continuing with process 500, the financial agent pays the entire premium due to the insurer 104 (step 506). The financial agent then receives periodic payments corresponding to the calculated amount from the purchaser/lessee over the course of the loan or the lease (step 508). The process 500 then ends.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wallach to the lease-associated cost of Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata to include determining a lease-associated cost based on the accident risk ..., wherein the lease-associated cost includes an insurance fee paid by a user of the vehicle for reception of an insurance service relating to replacement [relating to the item].
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Wallach to Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata to do so as it provides / allows to obtain affordable insurance (Wallach, col. 1, lines 39-40).
Claim(s) 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2007/0225882 A1) in view of Grichnik et al. (US 2009/0222248 A1) and Igata et al. (US 2019/0156409 A1) and further in view of Nakaguma et al. (US 2022/0351614 A1) and Konishi et al. (US 2023/0029810 A1).
Regarding Claim 5;
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata disclose the apparatus to claim 4.
Yamaguchi teaches concepts of [...] input data including the first data, the second data, and the third data during [...] a period ([0140] and [0149] and [0151] and [0206] and [0225] and [0244] and [0271]-[0273]).
Igata further discloses the computer apparatus obtains the degree of exhaustion of the consumable based on the degree of progress of exhaustion of the consumable outputted... ([0070] - It is shown that: the degree of initial deterioration indicates a ratio of a full charge capacity (rated capacity) of battery 214 to a full charge capacity of a new battery having the same specification (battery type and the number of cells are the same); as the degree of initial deterioration is smaller, the full charge capacity of battery 214 becomes closer to that of the new battery having the same specification; and as the degree of initial deterioration is larger, the full charge capacity of battery 214 becomes lower than the full charge capacity of the new battery having the same specification and [0136] - When it is determined that a period of one month has elapsed since previous setting of a fee and a condition for executing a fee setting process is established (YES in S100), a user for whom a fee is to be set is specified (S102) and driving history and environment history are obtained from vehicle 200 utilized by the user for whom a fee is to be set (S104)).
Similar rationale and motivation is noted for the combination of Igata to Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata, as per claim 1, above.
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata fail to explicitly disclose wherein a first trained model and a second trained model are further stored in the storage, the first trained model being machine-trained to output the accident risk assessed in connection with a first period when the first trained model receives input of first input [...] data during the first period, the second trained model being machine-trained to output a degree of progress of exhaustion of the consumable during a second period when the second trained model receives input of second input data [...] data during the second period, and the computer apparatus obtains the degree of exhaustion of the consumable based on the degree of progress of exhaustion of the consumable outputted from the second trained model.
Further, in an analogous art, Nakaguma teaches wherein a first trained model [...] in the storage, the first trained model being machine-trained to output the accident risk assessed in connection with a first period when the first trained model receives input of first input [...] data during the first period ([0013] - One aspect of the present invention for achieving the above object is an accident risk diagnosis method executed by an information processing device, including: storing travel data that is data indicating a travel state for each date and time of each of a plurality of vehicles, and information about past accidents of the plurality of vehicles; extracting, from the travel data, the travel data for a predetermined period before an accident day and the travel data on the accident day, and generating training data for each trip, which is a period from activation to termination of the vehicle, based on an extracted travel data; generating an accident risk diagnosis model which is a machine learning model for diagnosing an accident risk using the training data; and diagnosing an accident risk of the vehicle by inputting a feature in the trip of the vehicle to be diagnosed of the accident risk to the accident risk diagnosis model).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Nakaguma to the apparatus of Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata to include wherein a first trained model [...] in the storage, the first trained model being machine-trained to output the accident risk assessed in connection with a first period when the first trained model receives input of first input [...] data during the first period
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Nakaguma to Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata to do so as it provides / allows to accurately estimate a potential (hereinafter, referred to as “accident risk”) at which a driver will cause an accident on the basis of information collected from an in-vehicle device [...] while considering various driving situations of the driver (Nakaguma, [0009])
Further, in an analogous art, wherein Konishi teaches wherein [...] a second trained model are further stored in the storage, the [...] the second trained model being machine-trained to output a degree of progress of exhaustion of the consumable during a second period when the second trained model receives input of second input data [...] data during the second period ([0015] - A battery degradation prediction device (for example, a battery degradation prediction device 1 described later) according to the present disclosure calculates a predicted value of a degradation indicator for a battery according to a battery model that treats powers of a plurality of usage history parameters defined on a basis of time series data about a current, a voltage, and a temperature of the battery as explanatory variables and treats the predicted value of the battery degradation indicator as an objective variable, the battery degradation prediction device including: a data acquirer (for example, a data acquirer 11 described later) that acquires time series data about a current, a voltage, and a temperature of the battery; a usage history parameter calculator (for example, a usage history parameter calculator 12 described later) that calculates the usage history parameters on a basis of the time series data acquired by the data acquirer; an input parameter generator (for example, an input parameter generator 13 described later) that generates input parameters by raising the usage history parameters by an optimal exponent found by searching according to the battery model construction method according to any of (1) to (7); and a model predictor (for example, a model predictor 14 described later) that calculates the predicted value of the degradation indicator by inputting the input parameters into the battery model as explanatory variables, wherein the battery model is trained with training data generated through exponentiation using the optimal exponent), and the computer apparatus obtains the degree of exhaustion of the consumable based on the degree of progress of exhaustion of the consumable outputted from the second trained model ([0015] - A battery degradation prediction device (for example, a battery degradation prediction device 1 described later) according to the present disclosure calculates a predicted value of a degradation indicator for a battery according to a battery model that treats powers of a plurality of usage history parameters defined on a basis of time series data about a current, a voltage, and a temperature of the battery as explanatory variables and treats the predicted value of the battery degradation indicator as an objective variable, the battery degradation prediction device including: a data acquirer (for example, a data acquirer 11 described later) that acquires time series data about a current, a voltage, and a temperature of the battery; a usage history parameter calculator (for example, a usage history parameter calculator 12 described later) that calculates the usage history parameters on a basis of the time series data acquired by the data acquirer; an input parameter generator (for example, an input parameter generator 13 described later) that generates input parameters by raising the usage history parameters by an optimal exponent found by searching according to the battery model construction method according to any of (1) to (7); and a model predictor (for example, a model predictor 14 described later) that calculates the predicted value of the degradation indicator by inputting the input parameters into the battery model as explanatory variables, wherein the battery model is trained with training data generated through exponentiation using the optimal exponent),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Konishi to the apparatus of Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata and Nakaguma to include wherein [...] a second trained model are further stored in the storage, the [...] the second trained model being machine-trained to output a degree of progress of exhaustion of the consumable during a second period when the second trained model receives input of second input data [...] data during the second period, and the computer apparatus obtains the degree of exhaustion of the consumable based on the degree of progress of exhaustion of the consumable outputted from the second trained model
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Konishi to Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata and Nakaguma to do so as it provides / allows a battery model construction method and a battery degradation prediction device that can accurately predict battery degradation while retaining a simple structure (Konishi, [0007])
Regarding Claim 7;
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata and Nakaguma and Konishi disclose the apparatus to claim 4.
Igata further teaches wherein the second input data further includes fourth data representing a history of an outdoor temperature of the vehicle ([0050] and [0109]-[0110] - FIG. 11 is a diagram for illustrating an exemplary discount rate set in accordance with the utilization region of the battery. As shown in FIG. 11, for example, an A region, a B region, and a C region are set in the order from the one causing the highest degree of deterioration in view of whether or not the temperature environment has an influence over the degree of deterioration, and a map in which a discount rate is set for each region is previously stored in storage 104. Management server 100 makes reference to the map to set a different discount rate A(7) depending on what region the utilization region of battery 214 in one immediately preceding month corresponds to. It should be noted that the A region represents a region located in a comparatively high temperature environment and causing a high degree of deterioration, for example. The C region represents a region located in a temperature environment in a temperature range appropriate for battery 214 and causing a small degree of deterioration).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2007/0225882 A1) in view of Grichnik et al. (US 2009/0222248 A1) and Igata et al. (US 2019/0156409 A1) and further in view of Kurimoto et al. (US 2020/0334722 A1).
Regarding Claim 9;
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata disclose the system to claim 8.
Igata further teaches wherein the computer apparatus is configured to permit at least one replacement station, when a degree of exhaustion of a power storage mounted on the vehicle becomes equal to or more than a prescribed value, to replace the power storage ([0092]).
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata fails to explicitly disclose further comprising a plurality of replacement stations where a power storage for a vehicle is replaced,
However, in an analogous art, Kurimoto teaches further comprising a plurality of replacement stations where a power storage for a vehicle is replaced ([0053] - Dealer 85 sells the battery manufactured by manufacturer 84 for vehicle use or for stationary use in a house or the like. In the present embodiment, vehicle 7 is brought to dealer 85 and dealer 85 replaces the battery of vehicle 7 with a reuse product or a rebuilt product manufactured by manufacturer 84 and [0055] – It should be noted that, although collection service provider 81, test service provider 82, reconditioning service provider 83, manufacturer 84, and dealer 85 are service providers different from one another in FIG. 1, classification of the service providers is not limited as such.... locations...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kurimoto to the system of Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata to include further comprising a plurality of replacement stations where a power storage for a vehicle is replaced
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Kurimoto to Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata to do so as it provides / allows locations of the service providers and the dealer are not particularly limited ([0055]).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2007/0225882 A1) in view of Grichnik et al. (US 2009/0222248 A1) and Igata et al. (US 2019/0156409 A1) and further in view of McDonald (US 2023/0033694 A1).
Regarding Claim 10;
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata disclose the system to claim 8.
Yamaguchi teaches ... an accident risk of the vehicle... ([0140] and [0149] and [0151] and [0206] and [0225] and [0244] and [0271]-[0273] - In addition, the risk element score extracting section 2032 extracts a score for each risk element in a specific area from the risk element map shown in FIG. 42, which is stored in the ROM 2012, based on road information, weather information, road surface information and driving environments such as vehicle conditions in the relevant area which are sent from the driving environment acquiring section 2031 for input into a risk level calculating section 2033. Then, the risk level calculating section 2033 adds up scores for the respective risk elements in the area to thereby calculate an accident risk level and inputs it into a load restriction executing section 2034).
Iagata teaches ...degree of exhaustion of the consumable... FIG. 4 and [0063]-[0065] - For example, for utilization of the electric vehicle, the user can purchase only the vehicle portion and select the battery lease, can purchase only the battery and select the vehicle lease, or can select the vehicle lease+battery lease and [0140]-[0141] and [0151] - The discount rate corresponding to the initial state of the battery at the time of start of the utilization may include at least one of discount rates A(1), A(2), A(3), A(4) and B(1), for example. The discount rate corresponding to the driving history of the electric vehicle during the utilization may include at least one of discount rates A(5) and A(6), for example. The discount rate corresponding to the environment history during the utilization includes at least one of A(7), A(8), B(2), and B(3), for example),
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata fails to explicitly disclose further comprising generating a first trained model and a second trained model by preparation of an untrained neural network comprising an input layer, a hidden layer, and an output layer, with a first weighted connection between the input layer and the hidden layer, and a second weighted connection between the hidden layer and the output layer, and training the first trained model and the second trained model using deep reinforcement learning using ground truth data in connection with accident risk and ground truth data in connection with a degree of exhaustion of the consumable, wherein the accident risk of the vehicle is obtained using the first trained model and the degree of exhaustion of the consumable is obtained using the second trained model.
However, in an analogous art, McDonald further teaches further comprising generating a first trained model and a second trained model by preparation of an untrained neural network comprising an input layer, a hidden layer, and an output layer, with a first weighted connection between the input layer and the hidden layer, and a second weighted connection between the hidden layer and the output layer, and training the first trained model and the second trained model using deep reinforcement learning using ground truth data in connection with [data 1] and ground truth data in connection with [data 1], wherein [data 1] obtained using the first trained model and [data 2] is obtained using the second trained model (FIG. 3 – depicts input layers, hidden layers, and output layers and [0005] - Thus, models trained in such a fashion have a smaller memory profile and can be used by devices with fewer computational resources and [0006] and [0045] - In some embodiments, one or more instances of computing device 100 may be deployed to train a neural network model or to execute a trained neural network model and [0106] - The solid arrows between pairs of nodes represent connections through which intermediate values flow, and are each associated with a respective weight (e.g., any real number) that is applied to the respective intermediate value. Each node performs an operation on its input values and their associated weights to produce an output value and [0113] - Training a neural network usually involves providing the neural network with some form of supervisory training data, namely sets of input values and desired, or ground truth, output values. For neural network 300, this training data may include m sets of input values paired with output values and [0117]). As noted, models represents one or more models thus represents a model for a given data 1 and/or a model for a given data 2.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of McDonald to the “obtaining” ... an accident risk of the vehicle... degree of exhaustion of a consumable... of Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata to include generating a first trained model and a second trained model by preparation of an untrained neural network comprising an input layer, a hidden layer, and an output layer, with a first weighted connection between the input layer and the hidden layer, and a second weighted connection between the hidden layer and the output layer, and training the first trained model and the second trained model using deep reinforcement learning using ground truth data in connection with [data 1] and ground truth data in connection with [data 1], wherein [data 1] obtained using the first trained model and [data 2] is obtained using the second trained model.
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of McDonalds to Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata to do so as it provides / allows models trained in such a fashion have a smaller memory profile and can be used by devices with fewer computational resources (Mcdonalds, [0005]).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (US 2007/0225882 A1) in view of Grichnik et al. (US 2009/0222248 A1) and Igata et al. (US 2019/0156409 A1) and further in view of Horita (US 2013/0226441 A1).
Regarding Claim 11;
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata disclose the system to claim 8.
Yamaguchi in view of Grichnik and Igata fails to explicitly disclose wherein if the degree of exhaustion of the power storage reaches a predetermined threshold, the method comprises sending a notification to a portable terminal of a user, and displaying the notice on the portable terminal.
However, in an analogous art, Horito teaches wherein if the degree of exhaustion of the power storage reaches a predetermined threshold, the method comprises sending a notification to a portable terminal of a user, and displaying the notice on the portable terminal (FIG. 10-11 and [0054] - the notifying unit may be rendered by a wireless information sending interface sending notification information to the vehicle for notifying a user of the vehicle in case the estimated risk of electric power amount shortage estimated by the shortage risk estimating unit exceeds a predetermined threshold and [0056] - Exemplarily, the communication system further includes a mobile unit 7 which may be carried by a driver or co-driver of an electric vehicle, such as a personal computer, a smart phone, a tablet computer or the like (i.e. an independent HMI device and [0076] - The risk notification unit 113 is configured to issue a notification to the driver and/or the passengers of the vehicle 4 via the communication unit 130 through the network N and via an HMI device (e.g. via an HMI of the on-board unit 5 and/or via an HMI of the mobile unit 7) being equipped in or being connected to the vehicle 4, based on the information on the risk as calculated by the risk calculation unit 112, i.e. in case of a detected battery shortage risk or a detected risk of a delay).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinarily skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Horito to the system of Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata to include wherein if the degree of exhaustion of the power storage reaches a predetermined threshold, the method comprises sending a notification to a portable terminal of a user, and displaying the notice on the portable terminal
One would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Horito to Yamaguchi and Grichnick and Igata to do so as it provides / allows supporting a user of an electrically driven vehicle which may help further reducing the risk that the user of the electric vehicle or the plug-in hybrid electric vehicle may still suffer from a battery shortage or that the remaining driving distance becomes insufficient (Horito, [0007]).
Reasons For No Prior Art Rejection
Upon review of the evidence at hand, it is hereby concluded that the evidence obtained and made of record, alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious the below noted features of applicant’s invention as the noted features amount to more than a predictable use of elements in the prior art.
Regarding Claim 6, the prior art of record as cited within this Office Action, nor those cited, in the additional references cited , alone or in combination, neither anticipates, reasonably teaches, nor renders obvious “The computer apparatus according to claim 5, wherein each of the first period and the second period is an assessment period set before a lease period, and the computer apparatus is configured to set a lease fee for the lease period to be more inexpensive as the accident risk of the consumable outputted from the first trained model is lower, set the lease fee for the lease period to be more inexpensive as the degree of progress of exhaustion of the consumable outputted from the second trained model is lower, and set the lease fee for the lease period to be more inexpensive as the degree of exhaustion of the consumable is higher.”
Thus, claim 6 is being objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; however as allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with (i.e., overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action). See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASFAND M SHEIKH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626