DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in the Figures, the conduit is shown element with no bore through the conduit. As a conduit is defined as an element through which fluid is conveyed, the conduit 52 needs to have a bore shown.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 1 – replace “A” before “apparatus” with --An--.
Correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 5 - add --the-- between “with” and “at least one”.
Line 10 - add --the-- between “with” and “at least one”.
Correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 – delete “and”.
Line 4 - add --and-- after “second clamping component”.
Correction is required.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 11 - add --the-- between “wherein” and “at least one”.
Correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant is advised that should claim 6 be found allowable, claim 11 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k).
Correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant is advised that should claim 7 be found allowable, claim 12 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 706.03(k).
Correction is required.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 – delete “and”.
Line 4 - add --and-- after “second clamping component”.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Poe U.S. Patent No. 4,470,609.
With regard to claim 1, Poe discloses an apparatus, comprising:
a clamping assembly, including:
a first clamping component (at 11);
at least one angled clamping surface (as shown in Fig 3 below) integrally formed as part of the first clamping component;
a second clamping component (at 12);
at least one angled clamping surface (as shown in Fig 3 below) integrally formed as part of the second clamping component;
at least one circular flange portion (as shown in Fig 3 below) integrally formed with a conduit (at 22); and
a housing portion (at 21);
wherein the first clamping component (at 11) is assembled to the second clamping component (at 12) such that both the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the first clamping component and the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the second clamping component are in contact with and apply force to the at least one circular flange portion integrally formed with the conduit, such that the at least one circular flange portion is in contact with and applies force to the housing portion (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 2, Poe discloses further comprising:
at least one semicircular flange portion (at 25, similar to the semicircular flange portion as shown in Fig 2 of the instant application) integrally formed with the housing portion (at 21);
at least one angled clamping surface (as shown in Fig 3 above) integrally formed as part of the at least one semicircular flange portion; and
a second angled clamping surface (as shown in Fig 3 above) integrally formed as part of the first clamping component;
wherein the first clamping component is assembled to the second clamping component such that the second angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the first clamping component is in contact with and applies force to the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the at least one semicircular flange portion (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 3, Poe discloses further comprising:
at least one mating surface (as shown in Fig 4 below) integrally formed as part of the housing portion; and
at least one mating surface (as shown in Fig 4 below) integrally formed as part of the conduit;
a groove (as shown in Fig 4 below) integrally formed with at least one mating surface integrally formed as part of the housing portion; and
a seal (at 35) disposed in the groove;
wherein when the first clamping component is assembled to the second clamping component, the at least one mating surface integrally formed as part of the conduit is in contact with at least one mating surface integrally formed as part of the housing portion, and the seal is compressed (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 4, Poe discloses further comprising:
at least one angled clamping surface (as shown in Fig 3 above) integrally formed as part of the at least one circular flange portion of the conduit;
wherein the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the first clamping component and the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the second clamping component are in contact with and apply force to the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed with the at least one circular flange portion of the conduit (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 5, Poe discloses further comprising:
at least one semicircular recess (see Fig 2 below) integrally formed as part of the first clamping component, the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the first clamping component being part of the at least one semicircular recess integrally formed as part of the first clamping component; and
at least one semicircular recess (see Fig 2 below) integrally formed as part of the second clamping component, the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the second clamping component being part of the at least one semicircular recess integrally formed as part of the second clamping component;
wherein at least one clamping recess is formed when the first clamping component is connected to the second clamping component (when the bolts are fully tightened in Fig 2).
With regard to claim 7, Poe discloses further comprising:
at least one mating surface (as shown in Fig 2 below) being part of the first clamping component; and
at least one mating surface (as shown in Fig 2 below) integrally formed as part of the second clamping component;
at least one mating surface (as shown in Fig 2 below) integrally formed as part of the housing portion;
wherein when the first clamping component is assembled to the second clamping component, the at least one mating surface of the first clamping component contacts the at least one mating surface formed as part of the second clamping component and the at least one mating surface of the first housing portion (when the bolts are fully tightened in Fig 2).
With regard to claim 8, Poe discloses a clamping assembly, comprising:
a first clamping component (at 11);
a first angled clamping surface (as shown in Fig 1 above) integrally formed as part of the first clamping component;
a second angled clamping surface (as shown in Fig 1 above) integrally formed as part of the first clamping component;
a second clamping component (at 12);
at least one angled clamping surface (as shown in Fig 1 above) integrally formed as part of the second clamping component;
at least one circular flange portion (as shown in Fig 1 above) integrally formed with a conduit (at 22);
at least one angled clamping surface (as shown in Fig 1 above) integrally formed as part of the at least one circular flange portion;
a housing portion (at 21);
at least one semicircular flange portion (at 25, similar to the semicircular flange portion as shown in Fig 2 of the instant application) integrally formed with the housing portion; and
at least one angled clamping surface (as shown in Fig 1 above) integrally formed as part of the at least one semicircular flange portion;
wherein the first clamping component is assembled to the second clamping component such that both the first angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the first clamping component and the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the second clamping component are in contact with and apply force to the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of at least one circular flange portion, and the second angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the first clamping component is in contact with and applies force to the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the at least one semicircular flange portion (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 9, Poe discloses further comprising:
at least one mating surface (as shown in Fig 4 above) integrally formed as part of the housing portion;
a groove (as shown in Fig 4 above) integrally formed with at least one mating surface integrally formed as part of the housing portion;
a seal (at 35) disposed in the groove; and
at least one mating surface (as shown in Fig 4 above) integrally formed as part of the at least one circular flange portion of the conduit;
wherein when the first clamping component is assembled to the second clamping component, the at least one mating surface integrally formed as part of the conduit is in contact with at least one mating surface integrally formed as part of the housing portion, and the seal is compressed (as shown in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 10, Poe discloses further comprising:
at least one semicircular recess (as shown in Fig 2 above) integrally formed as part of the first clamping component, the first angled clamping surface and the second angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the first clamping component being part of the at least one semicircular recess integrally formed as part of the first clamping component; and
at least one semicircular recess (as shown in Fig 2 above) integrally formed as part of the second clamping component, the at least one angled clamping surface integrally formed as part of the second clamping component being part of the at least one semicircular recess integrally formed as part of the second clamping component;
wherein at least one semicircular recess integrally formed as part of the first clamping component and the at least one semicircular recess integrally formed as part of the second clamping component are adjacent one another when the first clamping component is connected to the second clamping component, forming at least one clamping recess (when the bolts are fully tightened in Fig 3).
With regard to claim 12, Poe discloses further comprising:
at least one mating surface (as shown in Fig 2 above) being part of the first clamping component; and
at least one mating surface (as shown in Fig 2 above) integrally formed as part of the second clamping component;
at least one mating surface (as shown in Fig 2 above) integrally formed as part of the housing portion;
wherein when the first clamping component is assembled to the second clamping component, the at least one mating surface of the first clamping component contacts the at least one mating surface formed as part of the second clamping component and the at least one mating surface of the first housing portion (as shown in Fig 3 when the bolts are fully tightened).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Poe.
With regard to claim 6, and as shown in Figure 1, Poe discloses further comprising:
at least one fastener (at 18);
at least one aperture (at 17, column 3, lines 48-51) integrally formed as part of the first clamping component; and
at least one aperture (at 17, column 3, lines 48-51) integrally formed as part of the second clamping component;
wherein the at least one fastener (at 18) is inserted into the at least one aperture and into the at least one aperture to secure the first clamping component to the second clamping component (as shown in Fig 1).
Poe does not disclose that the at least one aperture integrally formed as part of the second clamping component is threaded but does disclose that the bolts have threaded shanks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one aperture integrally formed as part of the second clamping component be threaded with a reasonable expectation of success to form a more secure connection between the aperture and the fastener and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
With regard to claim 11, and as shown in Figure 1, Poe discloses further comprising:
at least one fastener (at 18);
at least one aperture (at 17, column 3, lines 48-51) integrally formed as part of the first clamping component; and
at least one aperture (at 17, column 3, lines 48-51) integrally formed as part of the second clamping component;
wherein the at least one fastener (at 18) is inserted into the at least one aperture and into the at least one aperture to secure the first clamping component to the second clamping component (as shown in Fig 1).
Poe does not disclose that the at least one aperture integrally formed as part of the second clamping component is threaded but does disclose that the bolts have threaded shanks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the at least one aperture integrally formed as part of the second clamping component be threaded with a reasonable expectation of success to form a more secure connection between the aperture and the fastener and because it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known element for use on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied are examples of clamping assemblies with first and second clamping components and a housing portion.
/F.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679