Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is rejected as it recites the limitation “a site where they connect to each other” in line 2. The limitation “they” renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is unclear what the limitation refers to. Although the limitation “they” can be “partial outline and the remaining outline,” the term is so broad and vague such that other elements can be read on as well.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al (J.P. Patent Application Publication 2005020972 A) hereinafter Yamamoto, and further in view of Hirata (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20160361745 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yamamoto discloses a method (Title: Manufacturing Method and Manufacturing Device of Laminated Core) for producing a plate piece (single core piece 22, ¶16) including a partial outline (surface between end punching portions 5/6 and single core piece 22, ¶16; and/or surface between connecting portion 24b and concave portion 22a, ¶24; FIGS. 1, 3, & 13 below depict the intruding curved portion being mapped as the partial outline) and a remaining outline continuous from the partial outline (remaining outline of single core piece 22 not comprising of the partial outline), the method comprising:
removing an outer region (end punched portion 5 & 6, ¶15) external to the partial outline from a plate workpiece by a first punch (¶15, “An end punched portion 5, 6 for punching the shape portion 22 a”); and
punching out an inner region (single core piece 22) internal to the remaining outline by a second punch from the plate workpiece in which the outer region has been removed (entire punched portion 7, ¶16, “an entire punched portion 7 for punching the entire single core piece 22 including the convex shape portion 22 are provided”).
However, Yamamoto fails to disclose the punching method comprising of using a second punch while applying a block to a side surface of the plate workpiece along the partial outline.
Hirata discloses a method (Title: Metal Plate Punching Method and Metal Plate Punching System) for producing a plate piece (core plates 22, ¶24), the method comprising:
Removing an outer region by a first punch (¶29, “The first holes 24a of each core plate 22 are formed by punching the workpiece 28 with a first punching apparatus 31”; FIGS. 5-7 depict the process of the first punch); and
Punching an inner region by a second punch while applying a block (retaining blocks 48, ¶33) to a side surface of the plate workpiece along the partial outline (¶33, “The upper die 43 has a punch 46 and a holding block 47. The punch 46 corresponds to the outer shape of the core plate 22 and is allowed to enter the punching hole 44. The holding block 47 is located on the outer circumferential side of the punch 46. Retaining blocks 48 are provided on the bottom surface of the punch 46 at positions corresponding to the punched first holes 24a”; FIGS. 8-10 depict the process of the second punch).
Yamamoto discloses a method of manufacturing a laminated core via a plurality of plate pieces, namely the single core pieces, which are punched out by a first, second, and third punching apparatus to define the geometry of the single core piece. Yamamoto also discloses the punched out single core pieces each featuring a partial and remaining outline. Hirata discloses a metal plate punching method which has a first punching process to define a hole, wherein the hole is further used as a guide for a block during a second punching process. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the two-step punching process of Hirata, and implement it into the manufacturing punching method of Yamamoto to allow for varied clearance that exists between the inner surface of the first hole and a part of the retaining block. Doing so would achieve a greater smoothened guiding surface and reduces possible manufacturing errors (Hirata ¶34).
Regarding claim 2, Yamamoto in view of Hirata teaches the plate punching method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Hirata further discloses wherein the second punch comprises:
the block (retaining block 48, ¶33); and
a main protrusion (punch 46, ¶33) for punching out the inner region (core plate 22, ¶33), and height of the block is greater than height of the main protrusion (Though Hirata discloses in FIG. 8 the retaining block 48 is directly under punch 46, a POSITA could recognize that a volume of the block could be identified to include the punch volume directly adjacent to it. Annotated FIG. 8 below shows how block 48 plus the punch 46 is greater than just the punch 46 itself).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 2 in the manner of using a guide block during a second punching process to properly align elements).
Regarding claim 3, Yamamoto in view of Hirata teaches the plate punching method of claim 2, as detailed above, and Hirata further discloses wherein a difference in height between the block and the main protrusion is greater than thickness of the plate workpiece (FIG. 8 depicts punch 46 having greater height/thickness than core plate 22).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 3 in the manner of using a guide block during a second punching process to properly align elements).
Regarding claim 4, Yamamoto in view of Hirata teaches the plate punching method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Yamamoto further discloses wherein the partial outline and the remaining outline form an acute angle at a site where they connect to each other (FIG. 1, 3, & 13 depict the connection between the partial outline [mapped as described in claim 1] and the remaining outline [mapped s described in claim 1] to be less than an acute angle).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 3 in the manner of using a guide block during a second punching process to properly align elements).
Regarding claim 5, Yamamoto in view of Hirata teaches the plate punching method of claim 1, as detailed above, and Yamamoto further discloses wherein the plate piece is one of a plurality of segment cores that constitute a core of an electric motor (as depicted in FIG. 1), and
the partial outline of the plate piece contacts an adjacent segment core (¶Abstract, “the single core piece 22 is arranged with a convex portion 22b and the concave portion 22a confronted each other, by causing the single core piece 22 received at the laminating portion 8a to move in order into a ring form”).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 5 in the manner of using a guide block during a second punching process to properly align elements).
Regarding claim 6, Yamamoto discloses a punching machine (Title: Manufacturing Method and Manufacturing Device of Laminated Core) configured to produce a plate piece (single core piece 22, ¶16) that includes a partial outline (surface between end punching portions 5/6 and single core piece 22, ¶16; and/or surface between connecting portion 24b and concave portion 22a, ¶24; FIGS. 1, 3, & 13 below depict the intruding curved portion being mapped as the partial outline) and a remaining outline continuous from the partial outline (remaining outline of single core piece 22 not comprising of the partial outline), the punching machine comprising:
a first punch configured to remove an outer region (end punched portion 5 & 6, ¶15) external to the partial outline from a plate workpiece (¶15, “An end punched portion 5, 6 for punching the shape portion 22 a”); and
a second punch configured to punch out an inner region (single core piece 22) internal to the remaining outline from the plate workpiece in which the outer region has been removed (entire punched portion 7, ¶16, “an entire punched portion 7 for punching the entire single core piece 22 including the convex shape portion 22 are provided”),
wherein the second punch comprises:
a main protrusion for punching out the inner region (entire punched portion 7, ¶16);
However, Yamamoto fails to disclose the second punch comprising a block configured to be applied to a side surface of the plate workpiece along the partial outline, wherein height of the block is greater than height of the main protrusion.
Hirata discloses a method (Title: Metal Plate Punching Method and Metal Plate Punching System) for producing a plate piece (core plates 22, ¶24), the method comprising:
A first punch configured to remove an outer region (first punching apparatus 31, ¶29, “The first holes 24a of each core plate 22 are formed by punching the workpiece 28 with a first punching apparatus 31”; FIGS. 5-7 depict the process of the first punch); and
A second punch configured to punch out an inner region (punch 46, ¶33, “The upper die 43 has a punch 46 and a holding block 47. The punch 46 corresponds to the outer shape of the core plate 22 and is allowed to enter the punching hole 44. The holding block 47 is located on the outer circumferential side of the punch 46. Retaining blocks 48 are provided on the bottom surface of the punch 46 at positions corresponding to the punched first holes 24a”; FIGS. 8-10 depict the process of the second punch);
Wherein the second punch comprises:
a main protrusion for punching out the inner region (punch 46, ¶33); and
a block (retaining block 48, ¶33) configured to be applied to a side surface of the plate workpiece along the partial outline, wherein height of the block is greater than height of the main protrusion.
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 6 in the manner of modifying a punching apparatus to include a guide block during for a second punching process to properly align elements).
Regarding claim 7, Yamamoto in view of Hirata teaches the plate punching method of claim 6, as detailed above, and Hirata further discloses wherein a difference in height between the block and the main protrusion is greater than thickness of the plate workpiece (FIG. 8 depicts punch 46 having greater height/thickness than core plate 22).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 7 in the manner of modifying a punching apparatus to include a guide block during for a second punching process to properly align elements).
Regarding claim 8, Yamamoto in view of Hirata teaches the plate punching method of claim 6, as detailed above, and Yamamoto further discloses wherein the main protrusion is configured such that edges thereof corresponding to the partial outline and the remaining outline form an acute angle (FIG. 1, 3, & 13 depict the connection between the partial outline [mapped as described in claim 6] and the remaining outline [mapped s described in claim 6] to be less than an acute angle).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 1, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 8 in the manner of modifying a punching apparatus to include a guide block during for a second punching process to properly align elements).
Conclusion
/E.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3729 /THOMAS J HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3729