DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on 04/28/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks – Pages 8-11 , filed on 04/28/2026 with respect to the rejections of claims 1, 11 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of NI further in view of Kim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,2,11,12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NI et al. Publication No. US 2025/0056225 A1 ( NI hereinafter) in view of Kim et al. Publication No. US 2020/0274892 A1 ( Kim hereinafter
Regarding claim 1,
NI teaches a network traffic analysis system, comprising:
one or more processors; and a memory having stored thereon instructions that, upon execution by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to: receive, as copy of network traffic, from a first network function in a communication exchange with a second NF on a 5G network, a first copy of traffic of a request-response pair from the communication exchange ( ¶0031 - For the acquisition and parsing of 5G messages, a port imaging is arranged on the acquisition point to copy a 5G message transmitted between the HTTP server and the terminal device into the 5G message network monitoring system, thus acquiring the 5G message transmitted between the HTTP server and the terminal device. In addition, the 5G message network monitoring system may also use an optical splitter to perform optical replication on the physical layer to acquire 5G messages. The use of mirroring or the optical splitter to acquire data has no impact on the message transmission service between the HTTP server and the terminal device – ¶ 0039 - When a terminal device that has passed the GBA authentication sends a 5G message, i.e., a first service request, to an HTTP server, a 5G message network monitoring system may acquire the first service request through mirroring or an optical splitter);
determine whether a second copy of traffic corresponding to the request-response pair has been received by the network traffic analysis system from the second NF in the communication exchange (¶ 0081 - The 5G message network monitoring system may acquire the 5G message service bill through mirroring or an optical splitter, analyze and manage the 5G message service bill, and then send the 5G message service bill to the terminal device , the 5G message network monitoring system may acquire and identify the first service request and obtain a corresponding 5G message service bill, or may acquire the 5G message service bill from the HTTP server, and output a 5G message service bill and corresponding signaling backtracking to the terminal device according to the service type of the service request, allowing an operator to analyze the usage of the service by the terminal device).
However, NI does not explicitly teach
in response to not receiving a second copy of traffic, issue a security notification to the first NF indicating a network intrusion
Kim teaches
in response to not receiving a second of traffic, issue a security notification to a first NF indicating a network intrusion (¶ 0044 - the system of the present disclosure can determine the second controller failed to be authenticated as an anomalous controller, and take subsequent actions such as sending an intrusion alert message to the backend server 110. When no response is received for a preset duration from one or more of the second controllers 100, 101 and 102 upon receiving the inherent information request, the relevant one of the second controllers 100, 101 and 102 may be determined to be an anomalous controller – ¶ 0074 - On the other hand, when the verification result of Step S420 is a failure, the suspicious controller 100 that failed authentication is determined to be an anomalous controller, and follow-up action can be taken such as sending an intrusion warning message to the backend server 110. In addition, when no response is received for a preset time from the suspicious controller 100 that received the inherent information request in Step S410, the suspicious controller 100 may be determined to be an anomalous controller to take follow-up action. ) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a second copy of traffic taught by NI to include the teachings of Kim. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to determine that the device is anomalous device in order to take follow up action ( ¶ 0044 – Kim).
Regarding claim 2,
NI in view of Kim further teaches
in response to receiving the second copy of traffic, determine that there is not a network intrusion ( NI– ¶ 0081 - The 5G message network monitoring system may acquire the 5G message service bill through mirroring or an optical splitter, analyze and manage the 5G message service bill, and then send the 5G message service bill to the terminal device , the 5G message network monitoring system may acquire and identify the first service request and obtain a corresponding 5G message service bill, or may acquire the 5G message service bill from the HTTP server, and output a 5G message service bill and corresponding signaling backtracking to the terminal device according to the service type of the service request, allowing an operator to analyze the usage of the service by the terminal device). Note: Since the response is received then the system won’t detect any error or network intrusion – See Also Kim - ¶ 0046 - The inherent information reception unit 210 according to at least one embodiment is responsive to when the second controllers 100, 101, 102 in receipt of the certificate from the certificate transmission unit 200 or from the request transmission unit 201 succeeds I verifying that certificate, for receiving encrypted information after encrypting the inherent information of the second controllers 100, 101, 102 from the same controllers. Herein, the inherent information of the second controllers 100, 101, 102 may include, but not limited to, boot loader, or MAC information, and the like among other information that can represent information inherent to the second controllers 100, 101 and 102. -See ¶ 0069).
Regarding claim 11,
NI teaches a method, comprising:
Operating a network traffic analysis system of network including: receiving, as a copy of network traffic from a first network function in a communication exchange with a second NF on a 5G network, a first copy of traffic of a request-response pair from the communication exchange ( ¶ 0031 - For the acquisition and parsing of 5G messages, a port imaging is arranged on the acquisition point to copy a 5G message transmitted between the HTTP server and the terminal device into the 5G message network monitoring system, thus acquiring the 5G message transmitted between the HTTP server and the terminal device. In addition, the 5G message network monitoring system may also use an optical splitter to perform optical replication on the physical layer to acquire 5G messages. The use of mirroring or the optical splitter to acquire data has no impact on the message transmission service between the HTTP server and the terminal device – ¶ 0039 - When a terminal device that has passed the GBA authentication sends a 5G message, i.e., a first service request, to an HTTP server, a 5G message network monitoring system may acquire the first service request through mirroring or an optical splitter);
determining whether a second copy of traffic to the request-response pair has been received from the second NF in the communication exchange(¶ 0081 - The 5G message network monitoring system may acquire the 5G message service bill through mirroring or an optical splitter, analyze and manage the 5G message service bill, and then send the 5G message service bill to the terminal device , the 5G message network monitoring system may acquire and identify the first service request and obtain a corresponding 5G message service bill, or may acquire the 5G message service bill from the HTTP server, and output a 5G message service bill and corresponding signaling backtracking to the terminal device according to the service type of the service request, allowing an operator to analyze the usage of the service by the terminal device).
However, NI does not explicitly teach
in response to not receiving a second copy of traffic, issue a security notification to the first NF indicating a network intrusion
Kim teaches
in response to not receiving a second of traffic, issue a security notification to a first NF indicating a network intrusion (¶ 0044 - the system of the present disclosure can determine the second controller failed to be authenticated as an anomalous controller, and take subsequent actions such as sending an intrusion alert message to the backend server 110. When no response is received for a preset duration from one or more of the second controllers 100, 101 and 102 upon receiving the inherent information request, the relevant one of the second controllers 100, 101 and 102 may be determined to be an anomalous controller – ¶ 0074 - On the other hand, when the verification result of Step S420 is a failure, the suspicious controller 100 that failed authentication is determined to be an anomalous controller, and follow-up action can be taken such as sending an intrusion warning message to the backend server 110. In addition, when no response is received for a preset time from the suspicious controller 100 that received the inherent information request in Step S410, the suspicious controller 100 may be determined to be an anomalous controller to take follow-up action. ) .
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second copy of traffic taught by NI to include the teachings of Kim. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to determine that the device is anomalous device in order to take follow up action ( ¶ 0044 – Kim).
Regarding claim 12,
NI in view of Kim further teaches
determine that there is not a network intrusion in response to receiving the second copy of traffic ( NI– ¶ 0081 - The 5G message network monitoring system may acquire the 5G message service bill through mirroring or an optical splitter, analyze and manage the 5G message service bill, and then send the 5G message service bill to the terminal device , the 5G message network monitoring system may acquire and identify the first service request and obtain a corresponding 5G message service bill, or may acquire the 5G message service bill from the HTTP server, and output a 5G message service bill and corresponding signaling backtracking to the terminal device according to the service type of the service request, allowing an operator to analyze the usage of the service by the terminal device). Note: Since the response is received then the system won’t detect any error or network intrusion – See Also Kim - ¶ 0046 - The inherent information reception unit 210 according to at least one embodiment is responsive to when the second controllers 100, 101, 102 in receipt of the certificate from the certificate transmission unit 200 or from the request transmission unit 201 succeeds I verifying that certificate, for receiving encrypted information after encrypting the inherent information of the second controllers 100, 101, 102 from the same controllers. Herein, the inherent information of the second controllers 100, 101, 102 may include, but not limited to, boot loader, or MAC information, and the like among other information that can represent information inherent to the second controllers 100, 101 and 102. -See ¶ 0069).
Claims 3,4,13,14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NI in view of Kim further in view of Lu et al. Publication No. US 2023/0261953 A1 ( Lu hereinafter)
Regarding claim 3,
NI further teaches the communication exchange ( ¶ 0031, ¶ 0039 – ¶ 0081). However, NI does not explicitly teach
communication exchange includes a service-based interface (SBI) exchange
Lu teaches
communication exchange includes a service-based interface (SBI) exchange (Fig.1, ¶ 0061 - For a default notification subscription in the above Model D, an NF producer as an HTTP client may send an initial request to an SCP in a form like: [0062] <HTTPMETHOD>http(s): //{ authority of SCP}/ <service-path>3gpp-sbi-discovery-* [0063] Here, for a service request operation, the <service path> in the request URI http(s ): // { authority of SCP}/<service- path> is specified explicitly in 3GPP standard specifications per API: e.g. _ ¶ 0069 - When the SCP receives such request, it will perform an NF discovery with discovery factors carried in the request, -See Fig.9, ¶ 0190-0193)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI to include the teachings of Lu. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to use SBI in 5Gin order to enhance flexibility and enable network functions to communicate and interact using common set of standardized interfaces and facilitate more modular and scalable network.
Regarding claim 4,
NI further teaches
receive a service request as the first copy of traffic; and determine whether a corresponding service response is received as the second copy of traffic ¶ 0081 - The 5G message network monitoring system may acquire the 5G message service bill through mirroring or an optical splitter, analyze and manage the 5G message service bill, and then send the 5G message service bill to the terminal device , the 5G message network monitoring system may acquire and identify the first service request and obtain a corresponding 5G message service bill, or may acquire the 5G message service bill from the HTTP server, and output a 5G message service bill and corresponding signaling backtracking to the terminal device according to the service type of the service request, allowing an operator to analyze the usage of the service by the terminal device).
However, NI does not explicitly teach that the request is SBI service request and that the response is SBI response.
Lu teaches
the request is SBI service request and that the response is SBI response (Fig.1, ¶ 0061 - For a default notification subscription in the above Model D, an NF producer as an HTTP client may send an initial request to an SCP in a form like: [0062] <HTTPMETHOD>http(s): //{ authority of SCP}/ <service-path>3gpp-sbi-discovery-* [0063] Here, for a service request operation, the <service path> in the request URI http(s ): // { authority of SCP}/<service- path> is specified explicitly in 3GPP standard specifications per API: e.g. _ ¶ 0069 - When the SCP receives such request, it will perform an NF discovery with discovery factors carried in the request, -See Fig.9, ¶ 0190-0193)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI to include the teachings of Lu. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to use SBI in 5G in order to enhance flexibility and enable network functions to communicate and interact using common set of standardized interfaces and facilitate more modular and scalable network.
Regarding claim 13,
NI further teaches the communication exchange ( ¶ 0031, ¶ 0039 – ¶ 0081). However, NI does not explicitly teach
communication exchange includes a service-based interface (SBI) exchange
Lu teaches
communication exchange includes a service-based interface (SBI) exchange (Fig.1, ¶ 0061 - For a default notification subscription in the above Model D, an NF producer as an HTTP client may send an initial request to an SCP in a form like: [0062] <HTTPMETHOD>http(s): //{ authority of SCP}/ <service-path>3gpp-sbi-discovery-* [0063] Here, for a service request operation, the <service path> in the request URI http(s ): // { authority of SCP}/<service- path> is specified explicitly in 3GPP standard specifications per API: e.g. _ ¶ 0069 - When the SCP receives such request, it will perform an NF discovery with discovery factors carried in the request, -See Fig.9, ¶ 0190-0193)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI to include the teachings of Lu. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to use SBI in 5Gin order to enhance flexibility and enable network functions to communicate and interact using common set of standardized interfaces and facilitate more modular and scalable network.
Regarding claim 14,
NI further teaches
receive a service request as the first copy of traffic; and determine whether a corresponding service response is received as the second copy of traffic ¶ 0081 - The 5G message network monitoring system may acquire the 5G message service bill through mirroring or an optical splitter, analyze and manage the 5G message service bill, and then send the 5G message service bill to the terminal device , the 5G message network monitoring system may acquire and identify the first service request and obtain a corresponding 5G message service bill, or may acquire the 5G message service bill from the HTTP server, and output a 5G message service bill and corresponding signaling backtracking to the terminal device according to the service type of the service request, allowing an operator to analyze the usage of the service by the terminal device).
However, NI does not explicitly teach that the request is SBI service request and that the response is SBI response.
Lu teaches
the request is SBI service request and that the response is SBI response (Fig.1, ¶ 0061 - For a default notification subscription in the above Model D, an NF producer as an HTTP client may send an initial request to an SCP in a form like: [0062] <HTTPMETHOD>http(s): //{ authority of SCP}/ <service-path>3gpp-sbi-discovery-* [0063] Here, for a service request operation, the <service path> in the request URI http(s ): // { authority of SCP}/<service- path> is specified explicitly in 3GPP standard specifications per API: e.g. _ ¶ 0069 - When the SCP receives such request, it will perform an NF discovery with discovery factors carried in the request, -See Fig.9, ¶ 0190-0193)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI to include the teachings of Lu. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to use SBI in 5G in order to enhance flexibility and enable network functions to communicate and interact using common set of standardized interfaces and facilitate more modular and scalable network.
Claims 5,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NI in view of Kim in view of Lu further in view of Chang et al. Patent No. US 10,868,881 B1 ( Chang hereinafter)
Regarding claim 5,
NI in view of Lu further teaches receiving an SBI request and SBI response ( Lu – Fig.1). However, NI in view of Lu does not explicitly teach
receive an SBI service response as the first copy of traffic; and determine whether a corresponding SBI service request is received as the second copy of traffic.
Chang teaches
receive an service response as the first copy of traffic; and determine whether a corresponding service request is received as the second copy of traffic (Abstract – The client proxy system is configured to obtain requests issued from a client device and responses to requests issued by a surrogate browser of a push server system. The client proxy system matches responses from the push server system with requests from the client device to determine responses to the requests from the client device.Fig.6, Col.16, lines 29-45 - The communication between the RPush client and the RPush server does not conform to HTTP standard and return messages from the RPush server. to the RPush client are to be matched to specific browser requests for the identified session in 636, based on matching rules table. If a match is found in the check 650, remove it from the pending list and return to browser as a response in 680. If a match is not found, insert it into the pending list waiting for the arrival of matching browser request in 634 (to be matched in 580).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI in view of Lu to include the teachings of Chang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to match returned or pushed resources with original client requests in order to satisfy them on the client side without the need to make round trips to origin servers (Chang – Col.2, lines 1-8).
NI in view of Lu teaches using SBI service in the communication exchange (SBI request -response) (Lu- Fig.1) and Chang teaches receive an service response as the first copy of traffic; and determine whether a corresponding service request is received as the second copy of traffic.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI in view of Lu to include receive an SBI service response as the first copy of traffic; and determine whether a corresponding SBI service request is received as the second copy of traffic. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to match responses with original client requests in order to determine missing original requests.
Regarding claim 15,
NI in view of Lu further teaches receiving an SBI request and SBI response ( Lu – Fig.1). However, NI in view of Lu does not explicitly teach
receive an SBI service response as the first copy of traffic; and determine whether a corresponding SBI service request is received as the second copy of traffic.
Chang teaches
receive an service response as the first copy of traffic; and determine whether a corresponding service request is received as the second copy of traffic (Abstract – The client proxy system is configured to obtain requests issued from a client device and responses to requests issued by a surrogate browser of a push server system. The client proxy system matches responses from the push server system with requests from the client device to determine responses to the requests from the client device.Fig.6, Col.16, lines 29-45 - The communication between the RPush client and the RPush server does not conform to HTTP standard and return messages from the RPush server. to the RPush client are to be matched to specific browser requests for the identified session in 636, based on matching rules table. If a match is found in the check 650, remove it from the pending list and return to browser as a response in 680. If a match is not found, insert it into the pending list waiting for the arrival of matching browser request in 634 (to be matched in 580).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI in view of Lu to include the teachings of Chang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to match returned or pushed resources with original client requests in order to satisfy them on the client side without the need to make round trips to origin servers (Chang – Col.2, lines 1-8).
NI in view of Lu teaches the using SBI service in the communication exchange (SBI request -response) (Fig.1) and Chang teaches receive an service response as the first copy of traffic; and determine whether a corresponding service request is received as the second copy of traffic.
Therefore, It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI in view of Lu to include receive an SBI service response as the first copy of traffic; and determine whether a corresponding SBI service request is received as the second copy of traffic. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to match responses with original client requests in order to determine missing original requests.
Claims 6,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NI in view of Kim in view of Lu further in view of Muraoka et al. Publication No. US 2016/0197934 A1 ( Muraoka hereinafter)
Regarding claim 6,
NI teaches the first copy of traffic and the second copy of traffic include a message sent and received by the first NF and the second NF in the communication exchange ( NI - ¶ 0081, ¶ 0083, ), However, NI does not explicitly teach the first copy of traffic and the second copy of traffic include a same message sent and received.
Muraoka teaches
wherein the first copy of traffic and the second copy of traffic include a same message sent and received by devices in the communication exchange ( ¶ 0053 - Certain embodiments may enable devices to be preregistered as paired devices and may grant a request for data from a device only when a same or similar request is received from its paired device(s ). when the devices are registered as paired devices, the device sending a request (e.g., the requesting device) to the server for access to an account or data may then request other paired device(s) to send a same or similar request to the server. The server may then grant the request (e.g. data exchange) when it has received the same or similar request from devices that were pre-registered or paired with the
requesting device)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first copy of traffic and the second copy of traffic include a message sent and received by the first NF and the second NF in the communication exchange taught by NI to include the first copy of traffic and the second copy of traffic include a same message sent and received by devices in the communication exchange taught by Muraoka. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to grant the request (e.g. data exchange) when it has received the same or similar request from devices (Muraoka – ¶ 0053).
Regarding claim 16,
NI teaches the first copy of traffic and the second copy of traffic include a message sent and received by the first NF and the second NF in the communication exchange (NI– ¶ 0081-¶0083), However, NI does not explicitly teach the first copy of traffic and the second copy of traffic include a same message sent and received.
Muraoka teaches
wherein the first copy of traffic and the second copy of traffic include a same message sent and received by devices in the communication exchange ( ¶ 0053 - Certain embodiments may enable devices to be preregistered as paired devices and may grant a request for data from a device only when a same or similar request is received from its paired device(s ). when the devices are registered as paired devices, the device sending a request (e.g., the requesting device) to the server for access to an account or data may then request other paired device(s) to send a same or similar request to the server. The server may then grant the request (e.g. data exchange) when it has received the same or similar request from devices that were pre-registered or paired with the
requesting device)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first copy of traffic and the second copy of traffic include a message sent and received by the first NF and the second NF in the communication exchange taught by NI to include the first copy of traffic and the second copy of traffic include a same message sent and received by devices in the communication exchange taught by Muraoka. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to grant the request (e.g. data exchange) when it has received the same or similar request from devices (Muraoka – ¶ 0053).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NI in view of Kim in view of Lu further in view of Hu et al. Publication No. US 2021/0211439 A1 (Hu hereinafter)
Regarding claim 7,
NI further teaches
perform [..] analysis of a traffic of the communication exchange, including: receive the first copy of traffic; and evaluate incoming traffic to identify the second copy of traffic ( ¶ 0081 - The 5G message network monitoring system may acquire the 5G message service bill through mirroring or an optical splitter, analyze and manage the 5G message service bill, and then send the 5G message service bill to the terminal device , the 5G message network monitoring system may acquire and identify the first service request and obtain a corresponding 5G message service bill, or may acquire the 5G message service bill from the HTTP server, and output a 5G message service bill and corresponding signaling backtracking to the terminal device according to the service type of the service request, allowing an operator to analyze the usage of the service by the terminal device).
However, NI does not explicitly teach perform hop by hop analysis of a traffic feed of the communication exchange to identify network intrusions
Hu teaches
perform hop by hop analysis of a traffic feed of the communication exchange to identify network intrusions (¶ 0039-¶ 0040 - Different from the proactive tracing system, in the reactive tracing system, the tracing is started after the DoS attacks are detected. Hop-by-hop tracing is proposed for the reactive tracing system. For example, a tracing program may be installed into every router. The tracing program in the router located closest to the attacker may be first used for monitoring incoming packets. If the attackers use spoofed IP addresses to launch the attacks, the packets with these IP addresses can be stored into the routers for monitoring. This procedure of monitoring will be repeated in the adjacency routers hop by hop until the attacker's originated IP address is identified).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI to include the teachings of Hu. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to use hop by hop tracing in order to monitor incoming traffic. This procedure of monitoring will be repeated in the adjacency routers hop by hop until the attacker's originated IP address is identified (¶ 0040 – Hu).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NI in view of Kim further in view of Lu further in view of Hu further in view of Tanner et al. Publication No. GB 2461730 A ( Tanner hereinafter)
Regarding claim 8,
NI further teaches evaluate incoming traffic to identity the second copy of traffic ( ¶ 0081, ¶ 0083). However, NI does not explicitly teach
compare a consumer and a producer listed in the incoming traffic to the consumer and the producer listed in the first copy of traffic to identify corresponding traffic
Tanner teaches
compare a consumer and a producer listed in the incoming traffic to the consumer and the producer listed in the first copy of traffic to identify corresponding traffic (Abstract – when a recipient responds to a message, the communication address to which the response is sent and the communication address of the recipient enable the device to correlate the received message with the originally sent message. Since the source and destination addresses of the received reply are considered the same communication address. Description - as the message/response pairing is determined on unique pairing of receiving and transmitting communication addresses, the message server can use the same communication addresses for different recipients the combination of sending and receiving communication addresses are used to allow a pairing between a transmitted message and response to be made) 2) A communication address has been used as in 1) above but the recipient of the previous message has replied to that message, thereby freeing up this communication address for further use with the same recipient. ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI to include the teachings of Tanner. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to determine message/response pairing (Tanner – Description ).
Claims 9,10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NI in view of Kim further in view of Lu further in view of Hu further in view of Tanner further in view of Tang et al. Publication No. US 2020/0328935 A1 (Tang hereinafter)
Regarding claim 9,
NI teaches the second copy of the traffic (¶ 0031, ¶ 0039). However, NI does not explicitly teach
In response to not receiving the second copy of the traffic , determining a security failure in the communication exchange, increment a failure counter for the communication exchange; determine whether the failure counter is greater than a selected threshold; and when the failure counter is greater than the selected threshold, issue notification
Tang teaches
In response to not receiving the second of the traffic , determining a security failure in the communication exchange, increment a failure counter for the communication exchange; determine whether the failure counter is greater than a selected threshold; and when the failure counter is greater than the selected threshold, issue notification; (Fig.5, ¶ 0037 - if no response to a request is received, the process proceeds to 510. ¶ 0038 - At 510, the number of consecutive failed requests, or failures to respond to requests, that have occurred since the latest successful request of the modem is tracked ( e.g., failed requests are indicated when a timer expires before a response associated with the request of the timer is received and the timer is stopped and/or deactivated). At 512, if the number of consecutive failed responses match or exceed the failure threshold of the modem, the process proceeds to 514 At 514, a malfunction alert associated with the modem is triggered, whereby the computing device is enabled to perform modem recovery actions based on the triggered malfunction alert. In some examples, triggering the malfunction alert includes at least one of resetting the modem, restarting the modem, uninstalling and reinstalling software associated with the modem, verification of the state of the modem, and/or notifying a user of the modem's malfunction).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the second copy of traffic taught by NI to include the teachings of Tang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to promptly detect and handle device malfunctions while avoiding false malfunction detection (Tang - Abstract).
Regarding claim 10,
NI does not explicitly teach
increment the failure counter only for consecutive security failures in the communication exchange
However, Tang teaches
increment the failure counter only for consecutive security failures in the communication exchange (Fig.5, ¶ 0037 - if no response to a request is received, the process proceeds to 510. ¶ 0038 - At 510, the number of consecutive failed requests, or failures to respond to requests, that have occurred since the latest successful request of the modem is tracked ( e.g., failed requests are indicated when a timer expires before a response associated with the request of the timer is received and the timer is stopped and/or deactivated). At 512, if the number of consecutive failed responses match or exceed the failure threshold of the modem, the process proceeds to 514 At 514, a malfunction alert associated with the modem is triggered, whereby the computing device is enabled to perform modem recovery actions based on the triggered malfunction alert. In some examples, triggering the malfunction alert includes at least one of resetting the modem, restarting the modem, uninstalling and reinstalling software associated with the modem, verification of the state of the modem, and/or notifying a user of the modem's malfunction).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI to include the teachings of Tang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to promptly detect and handle device malfunctions while avoiding false malfunction detection (Tang - Abstract).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NI in view of Kim further in view of Hu
Regarding claim 17,
NI further teaches
perform [..] analysis of a traffic of the communication exchange, including: receive the first copy of traffic; and evaluate incoming traffic to identify the second copy of traffic ( ¶ 0081 - The 5G message network monitoring system may acquire the 5G message service bill through mirroring or an optical splitter, analyze and manage the 5G message service bill, and then send the 5G message service bill to the terminal device , the 5G message network monitoring system may acquire and identify the first service request and obtain a corresponding 5G message service bill, or may acquire the 5G message service bill from the HTTP server, and output a 5G message service bill and corresponding signaling backtracking to the terminal device according to the service type of the service request, allowing an operator to analyze the usage of the service by the terminal device).
However, NI does not explicitly teach perform hop by hop analysis of a traffic feed of the communication exchange to identify network intrusions
Hu teaches
perform hop by hop analysis of a traffic feed of the communication exchange to identify network intrusions (¶ 0039- 0040 - Different from the proactive tracing system, in the reactive tracing system, the tracing is started after the DoS attacks are detected. Hop-by-hop tracing is proposed for the reactive tracing system. For example, a tracing program may be installed into every router. The tracing program in the router located closest to the attacker may be first used for monitoring incoming packets. If the attackers use spoofed IP addresses to launch the attacks, the packets with these IP addresses can be stored into the routers for monitoring. This procedure of monitoring will be repeated in the adjacency routers hop by hop until the attacker's originated IP address is identified).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI to include the teachings of Hu. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to use hop by hop tracing in order to monitor incoming traffic. This procedure of monitoring will be repeated in the adjacency routers hop by hop until the attacker's originated IP address is identified (¶ 0040 – Hu).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NI in view of Kim further in view of Hu further in view of Tanner
Regarding claim 18,
NI further teaches evaluate incoming traffic to identity the second copy of traffic ( ¶ 0081, ¶ 0083). However, NI does not explicitly teach
compare a consumer and a producer listed in the incoming traffic to the consumer and the producer listed in the first copy of traffic to identify corresponding traffic
Tanner teaches
compare a consumer and a producer listed in the incoming traffic to the consumer and the producer listed in the first copy of traffic to identify corresponding traffic (Abstract – when a recipient responds to a message, the communication address to which the response is sent and the communication address of the recipient enable the device to correlate the received message with the originally sent message. Since the source and destination addresses of the received reply are considered the same communication address. Description - as the message/response pairing is determined on unique pairing of receiving and transmitting communication addresses, the message server can use the same communication addresses for different recipients the combination of sending and receiving communication addresses are used to allow a pairing between a transmitted message and response to be made) 2) A communication address has been used as in 1) above but the recipient of the previous message has replied to that message, thereby freeing up this communication address for further use with the same recipient. ).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI to include the teachings of Tanner. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to determine message/response pairing (Tanner – Description ).
Claims 19,20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NI in view of Kim further in view of Tang
Regarding claim 19,
NI further teaches the second copy of traffic (¶ 0081, ¶ 0083). However, NI does not explicitly teach
In response to not receiving the second copy of the traffic , determining a security failure in the communication exchange, increment a failure counter for the communication exchange; determine whether the failure counter is greater than a selected threshold; and when the failure counter is greater than the selected threshold, issue notification
Tang teaches
In response to not receiving the second of the traffic , determining a security failure in the communication exchange, increment a failure counter for the communication exchange; determine whether the failure counter is greater than a selected threshold; and when the failure counter is greater than the selected threshold, issue notification; (Fig.5, ¶ 0037 - if no response to a request is received, the process proceeds to 510. ¶ 0038 - At 510, the number of consecutive failed requests, or failures to respond to requests, that have occurred since the latest successful request of the modem is tracked ( e.g., failed requests are indicated when a timer expires before a response associated with the request of the timer is received and the timer is stopped and/or deactivated). At 512, if the number of consecutive failed responses match or exceed the failure threshold of the modem, the process proceeds to 514 At 514, a malfunction alert associated with the modem is triggered, whereby the computing device is enabled to perform modem recovery actions based on the triggered malfunction alert. In some examples, triggering the malfunction alert includes at least one of resetting the modem, restarting the modem, uninstalling and reinstalling software associated with the modem, verification of the state of the modem, and/or notifying a user of the modem's malfunction).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify second copy of traffic taught by NI to include the teachings of Tang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to promptly detect and handle device malfunctions while avoiding false malfunction detection (Tang - Abstract).
Regarding claim 20,
NI does not explicitly teach
increment the failure counter only for consecutive security failures in the communication exchange
However, Tang teaches
increment the failure counter only for consecutive security failures in the communication exchange (Fig.5, ¶ 0037 - if no response to a request is received, the process proceeds to 510. ¶ 0038 - At 510, the number of consecutive failed requests, or failures to respond to requests, that have occurred since the latest successful request of the modem is tracked ( e.g., failed requests are indicated when a timer expires before a response associated with the request of the timer is received and the timer is stopped and/or deactivated). At 512, if the number of consecutive failed responses match or exceed the failure threshold of the modem, the process proceeds to 514 At 514, a malfunction alert associated with the modem is triggered, whereby the computing device is enabled to perform modem recovery actions based on the triggered malfunction alert. In some examples, triggering the malfunction alert includes at least one of resetting the modem, restarting the modem, uninstalling and reinstalling software associated with the modem, verification of the state of the modem, and/or notifying a user of the modem's malfunction).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of NI to include the teachings of Tang. The motivation for doing so is to allow the system to promptly detect and handle device malfunctions while avoiding false malfunction detection (Tang - Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rozendorn et al. Publication No. US 2016/0188228 A1
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YOUNES NAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445