DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Amendment filed on 04/02/2026. In virtue of the amendment:
Claims 1, 2, 4-14 and 16-24 are pending in the instant application.
Claims 1, 4-8, 13 and 16-20 are currently amended.
Claims 5 and 15 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-24 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of claims 1-24 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection of claims 1, 2, 4-14 and 16-24 is made in view of WANG (CN 112105114 B) and Siessegger (U.S. Pub. 2015/0115809 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-14 and 16-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WANG (CN 112105114 B) in view of Siessegger (U.S. Pub. 2015/0115809 A1).
Regarding claim 1, WANG discloses an apparatus (Figs. 3-4B) comprising:
one or more leads (lead wire 403, Fig. 4A, par [0079]) to connect the apparatus (e.g. IC, Fig. 3) to one or more light-emitting diode (LED) leads of an LED controller (connection between leads 403 to chip 405, Fig. 4A); and
processing circuitry (MCU 304, Fig. 3, par [0062]) to:
receive a pulse-width modulation (PWM) signal from the LED controller (PWM signal generated by PWM 306, Fig. 3);
decode the PWM signal to recover downstream information from the PWM signal
(an instruction decoder, realizing coding and decoding, par [0062]); and
WANG does not teach connect the apparatus to a peripheral device that is external to the apparatus, and perform an operation interacting with the peripheral device based on the downstream information.
However, as evidenced by Siessegger, providing the apparatus (parts connected to LED string or Sense Element, Fig. 1a or Fig. 1a’) is to connect to a peripheral device (e.g., D11-D1n, Fig. 1a, or Sense Element, Fig. 1a’) that is external to the apparatus (Figs. 1a and 1a’), and perform the operation interacting with the peripheral device based on the downstream information (Figs. 1a and 1a’) ( FIG. 1g illustrates an example adjustable voltage source that can be used for the modulation element of the communication module in systems like the one in FIGS. 1e and 1e', in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. In this example case, it is assumed that the microcontroller of the light engine provides a binary Modulation Control signal to the voltage source. In operation, the microcontroller is programmed or otherwise configured to generate a digital PWM output signal with a duty cycle corresponding to the desired voltage drop across the adjustable voltage source, par [0053]) is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to employ the device of WANG with the communicating connection as taught by Siessegger in order to improve the controlling of the lighting operation using the external device.
Regarding claim 2, WANG/Siessegger discloses the apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry to decode the PWM signal includes the processing circuitry to:
determine at least one of a duty cycle or a frequency of the PWM signal (PWM signal generated by Driver, Fig. 1b of Siessegger); and
map the at least one of the duty cycle or the frequency to the downstream information (Figs. 1a and 1c of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 4, WANG/Siessegger discloses the apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry (µC B) to interact with the peripheral device (D11-Dn, Fig. 1a, or Sense Element, Fig. 1a’ of Siessegger) includes the processing circuitry to perform a configuration or calibration of the peripheral device (Figs. 1a and 1a’ of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 5, WANG/Siessegger discloses the apparatus, wherein the processing circuitry to interact with the peripheral device includes the processing circuitry to perform a firmware update (firmware, par [0102] of Siessegger) of the peripheral device.
Regarding claim 6, WANG/Siessegger discloses the apparatus, wherein the peripheral device includes an LED (D11-D1n), and wherein the processing circuitry (µC B) to interact with the peripheral device includes the processing circuitry to control the LED to emit light (Fig. 1a of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 7, WANG/Siessegger discloses the apparatus, wherein the peripheral device includes an actuator to produce a motion (Sense Element, Figs. 1a’ of Siessegger), and wherein the processing circuitry (µC B) to interact with the peripheral device includes the processing circuitry to control the actuator to produce the motion (pars [0048], [0083], [0087] of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 8, WANG/Siessegger discloses the apparatus, wherein the peripheral device includes a sensor (Sense Element, Fig. 1a’ of Siessegger) to produce an output signal responsive to a physical stimulus or change in an environment of the sensor, and wherein the processing circuitry to interact with the peripheral device includes the processing circuitry to read the output signal from the sensor (pars [0048], [0083], [0087] of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 9, WANG/Siessegger discloses the apparatus, wherein the LED controller is in communication with a host (LMS, Figs. 6b, 6c, 7 of Siessegger), and the processing circuitry is to:
select a particular one of a plurality of predetermined voltages based on the output signal of the sensor (Figs. 3b, 4b of Siessegger); and cause a controlled voltage source (e.g., modulation element M, Figs. 2a, 2a’, 3a, 5a, 7, 8 of Siessegger) to impose the selected particular one of the plurality of predetermined voltages on the one or more LED leads of the LED controller, and thereby communicate information about the output signal to the host via the LED controller (The light engine will communicate back to the driver by modulating its voltage, and if there is no communication only the forward drop of the LEDs is seen by the driver. In one such embodiment, the driver is configured to modulate the set-point of its constant current source to send messages to the light engine, and the light engine can modulate the voltage drop seen by the driver by switching a series connected modulation element in and out so as to artificially increase and decrease the voltage seen across the LEDs of a given string, par [0035], see also Figs. 3b, 4b, pars [0054], [0072]-[0075] of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 10, WANG/Siessegger discloses the apparatus, wherein the LED controller is in communication with a host (LMS, Figs. 6b, 6c, 7 of Siessegger), and the processing circuitry is to: select a particular one of a plurality of predetermined voltages that indicates an acknowledgement of the downstream information (Figs. 3b, 4b of Siessegger); and cause a controlled voltage source (e.g., modulation element M, Figs. 2a, 2a’, 3a, 5a, 7, 8 of Siessegger) to impose the selected particular one of the plurality of predetermined voltages on the one or more LED leads of the LED controller, and thereby communicate the acknowledgement to the host via the LED controller (pars [0035], [0054], [0072]-[0075] of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 11, WANG/Siessegger discloses the apparatus, wherein the LED controller is in communication with a host (LMS, Figs. 6b, 6c, 7 of Siessegger), and the processing circuitry is to: select a particular one of a plurality of predetermined voltages based on upstream information to be communicated to the host (Figs. 9a-9d of Siessegger); and cause a controlled voltage source (e.g., modulation element M, Figs. 2a, 2a’, 3a, 5a, 7, 8 of Siessegger) to impose the selected particular one of the plurality of predetermined voltages on the one or more LED leads of the LED controller, and thereby communicate the upstream information to the host via the LED controller (the communication signal has three levels and hence two or more switches could be used to make such a tri-level communication signal. Alternatively, and as shown in FIGS. 1e, 1e', and 1g, an adjustable voltage source can be used to provide such communication signals, pars [0054], [0095] of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 12, WANG/Siessegger discloses the apparatus, wherein at least one of the one or more leads of the apparatus (lead 403, Fig. 4A of WANG) is to connect the apparatus to the controlled voltage source that is connected to at least one of the one or more LED leads of the LED controller (the lead of chip 405 connected to the lead 403, Fig. 4A of WANG).
Regarding claim 13, WANG discloses a method (Figs. 3 and 4A) comprising:
receiving a pulse-width modulation signal (PWM) at an apparatus (e.g. IC, Fig. 3) from a light-emitting diode (LED) controller (PWM signal generated by PWM 306, Fig. 3), the apparatus including one or more lead (lead 403, Fig. 4A) to connect the apparatus to one or more LED leads of the LED controller (the lead of chip 405 connected to the lead 403, Fig. 4A);
decoding the PWM signal to recover downstream information from the PWM signal (an instruction decoder, realizing coding and decoding, par [0062]); and
WANG does not teach connect the apparatus to a peripheral device that is external to the apparatus, and perform an operation interacting with the peripheral device based on the downstream information.
However, as evidenced by Siessegger, providing the apparatus (parts connected to LED string or Sense Element, Fig. 1a or Fig. 1a’) is to connect to a peripheral device (e.g., D11-D1n, Fig. 1a, or Sense Element, Fig. 1a’) that is external to the apparatus (Figs. 1a and 1a’), and perform the operation interacting with the peripheral device based on the downstream information (Figs. 1a and 1a’) ( FIG. 1g illustrates an example adjustable voltage source that can be used for the modulation element of the communication module in systems like the one in FIGS. 1e and 1e', in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. In this example case, it is assumed that the microcontroller of the light engine provides a binary Modulation Control signal to the voltage source. In operation, the microcontroller is programmed or otherwise configured to generate a digital PWM output signal with a duty cycle corresponding to the desired voltage drop across the adjustable voltage source, par [0053]) is well known in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to employ the device of WANG with the communicating connection as taught by Siessegger in order to improve the controlling of the lighting operation using the external device.
Regarding claim 14, WANG/Siessegger discloses the method, wherein decoding the PWM signal includes:
determining at least one of a duty cycle or a frequency of the PWM signal (PWM signal generated by Driver, Fig. 1b of Siessegger); and
mapping the at least one of the duty cycle or the frequency to the downstream information (Figs. 1a and 1c of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 16, WANG/Siessegger discloses the method, wherein interacting with the peripheral device (LED string) includes performing a configuration or calibration of the peripheral device (Fig. 1a of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 17, WANG/Siessegger discloses the method, wherein interacting with the peripheral device includes performing a firmware update (firmware, par [0102] of Siessegger) of the peripheral device.
Regarding claim 18, WANG/Siessegger discloses the method, wherein the peripheral device includes an LED (D11-D1n, Fig. 1a of Siessegger), and wherein interacting with the peripheral device includes controlling the LED to emit light (Fig. 1a of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 19, WANG/Siessegger discloses the method, wherein the peripheral device includes an actuator to produce a motion (Sense Element, Fig. 1a’ of Siessegger), and wherein interacting with the peripheral device includes controlling the actuator to produce the motion (pars [0048], [0083], [0087] of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 20, WANG/Siessegger discloses the method, wherein the peripheral device includes a sensor (Sense Element, Figs. 1a’ of Siessegger) to produce an output signal responsive to a physical stimulus or change in an environment of the sensor, and wherein interacting with the peripheral device includes reading the output signal from the sensor (pars [0048], [0083], [0087] of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 21, WANG/Siessegger discloses the method, wherein the LED controller is in communication with a host (LMS, Figs. 6b, 6c, 7 of Siessegger), and the method comprises: selecting a particular one of a plurality of predetermined voltages based on the output signal of the sensor (Figs. 3b, 4b of Siessegger); and causing a controlled voltage source (e.g., modulation element M, Figs. 2a, 2a’, 3a, 5a, 7, 8 of Siessegger) to impose the selected particular one of the plurality of predetermined voltages on the one or more LED leads of the LED controller, and thereby communicate information about the output signal to the host via the LED controller (The light engine will communicate back to the driver by modulating its voltage, and if there is no communication only the forward drop of the LEDs is seen by the driver. In one such embodiment, the driver is configured to modulate the set-point of its constant current source to send messages to the light engine, and the light engine can modulate the voltage drop seen by the driver by switching a series connected modulation element in and out so as to artificially increase and decrease the voltage seen across the LEDs of a given string, par [0035], see also Figs. 3b, 4b, pars [0054], [0072]-[0075] of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 22, WANG/Siessegger discloses the method, wherein the LED controller is in communication with a host (LMS, Figs. 6b, 6c, 7 of Siessegger), and the method comprises: selecting a particular one of a plurality of predetermined voltages that indicates an acknowledgement of the downstream information (Figs. 3b, 4b of Siessegger); and causing a controlled voltage source (e.g., modulation element M, Figs. 2a, 2a’, 3a, 5a, 7, 8 Siessegger) to impose the selected particular one of the plurality of predetermined voltages on the one or more LED leads of the LED controller, and thereby communicate the acknowledgement to the host via the LED controller (pars [0035], [0054], [0072]-[0075] of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 23, WANG/Siessegger discloses the method, wherein the LED controller is in communication with a host (LMS, Figs. 6b, 6c, 7 of Siessegger), and the method comprises: selecting a particular one of a plurality of predetermined voltages based on upstream information to be communicated to the host (Figs. 9a-9d of Siessegger); and causing a controlled voltage source (e.g., modulation element M, Figs. 2a, 2a’, 3a, 5a, 7, 8 of Siessegger) to impose the selected particular one of the plurality of predetermined voltages on the one or more LED leads of the LED controller, and thereby communicate the upstream information to the host via the LED controller (the communication signal has three levels and hence two or more switches could be used to make such a tri-level communication signal. Alternatively, and as shown in FIGS. 1e, 1e', and 1g, an adjustable voltage source can be used to provide such communication signals, pars [0054], [0095] of Siessegger).
Regarding claim 24, WANG/Siessegger discloses the method, wherein at least one of the one or more leads of the apparatus (lead 403, Fig. 4A of WANG) is to connect the apparatus to the controlled voltage source that is connected to at least one of the one or more LED leads of the LED controller (the lead of chip 405 connected to the lead 403, Fig. 4A of WANG).
Inquiry
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-2800.
/JIMMY T VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845