DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks and claims filed on April 9, 2026. Claims 1-12, 18-28, and 31-37 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Specification
2. The amendments to the specification regarding the title received on April 9, 2026. These amendments to the title are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 11-12, 18, 21-26, 28, 31, and 34-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hariharan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0149890 A1) (This reference is cited in the IDS filed on 1/8/2025) in view of Choi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0023601 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hariharan et al. teach a first network node for wireless communication (Fig(s).1-2, 4 @ 400, and 5 @ 500), comprising:
one or more memories (Fig(s).2 @ 206 and 3 @ 306); and
one or more processors (Fig(s).2 @ 202 and 3 @ 302) coupled to the one or more memories (Fig(s).2 @ 206 and 3 @ 306) and configured to cause the first network node (Fig(s).1-2, 4 @ 400, and 5 @ 500) to:
obtain reference timing information (read as EC value) associated with a second network node associated with a radio access technology (RAT) (read as “The Tx CPU 402 may receive from the Tx BT radio 506 a read EC message 526, including the current EC value, ECcurrent.”(Fig.5; Paragraph [0100]) For example, “the value of EC and/or the time of the most recent handshake function may serve as a known reference time value that may be used to coordinate subsequent communications.”(Paragraph [0099])); and
communicate, in association with a set of ultra-wideband (UWB) signal parameters, a UWB signal (Fig(s).4 @ 432 and 5 @ 532),
However, Hariharan et al. fail to explicitly teach the set of UWB signal parameters being based on the reference timing information and comprising at least one of
a set of UWB data signal parameters or
a set of UWB ranging parameters.
Choi et al. teach a method wherein the set of UWB signal parameters being based on the reference timing information (read as RMARKER (Fig.5B; Paragraph [0169])) and comprising at least one of
a set of UWB data signal parameters or
a set of UWB ranging parameters. (read as “each UWB PHY packet may include an RMARKER for defining a reference time, and the RMARKER may be used to obtain a transmission time, a reception time, and/or a time period of a ranging message (frame) in the UWB ranging procedure.”(Paragraph [0169]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function to use an RMARKER (reference time) in a UWB ranging procedure as taught by Choi et al. with the electronic devices(s) as taught by Hariharan et al. for the purpose of enhancing UWB communications by devices in a network.
Regarding claim 18, Hariharan et al. teach a method of wireless communication performed by a first network node (Fig(s).4-5), comprising:
obtaining reference timing information associated with a second network node associated with a radio access technology (RAT) (read as “The Tx CPU 402 may receive from the Tx BT radio 506 a read EC message 526, including the current EC value, ECcurrent. ”(Fig.5; Paragraph [0100]) For example, “the value of EC and/or the time of the most recent handshake function may serve as a known reference time value that may be used to coordinate subsequent communications.”(Paragraph [0099])); and
communicating, in association with a set of ultra-wideband (UWB) signal parameters, a UWB signal (Fig(s).4 @ 432 and 5 @ 532),
However, Hariharan et al. fail to explicitly teach the set of UWB signal parameters being based on the reference timing information and comprising at least one of
a set of UWB data signal parameters or
a set of UWB ranging parameters.
Choi et al. teach a method wherein the set of UWB signal parameters being based on the reference timing information (read as RMARKER (Fig.5B; Paragraph [0169])) and comprising at least one of
a set of UWB data signal parameters or
a set of UWB ranging parameters. (read as “each UWB PHY packet may include an RMARKER for defining a reference time, and the RMARKER may be used to obtain a transmission time, a reception time, and/or a time period of a ranging message (frame) in the UWB ranging procedure.”(Paragraph [0169]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function to use an RMARKER (reference time) in a UWB ranging procedure as taught by Choi et al. with the electronic devices(s) as taught by Hariharan et al. for the purpose of enhancing UWB communications by devices in a network.
Regarding claim 31, Hariharan et al. a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig(s).2 @ 206 and 3 @ 306) that stores a set of instructions (read as program instructions (Paragraph [0038])) for wireless communication by a first network node (Fig(s).1-2, 4 @ 400, and 5 @ 500), wherein the set of instructions (read as program instructions (Paragraph [0038])), when executed by one or more processors (Fig(s).2 @ 202 and 3 @ 302) of the first network node (Fig(s).1-2, 4 @ 400, and 5 @ 500), cause the first network node (Fig(s).1-2, 4 @ 400, and 5 @ 500) to:
obtain reference timing information associated with a second network node associated with a radio access technology (RAT) (read as “The Tx CPU 402 may receive from the Tx BT radio 506 a read EC message 526, including the current EC value, ECcurrent.”(Fig.5; Paragraph [0100]) For example, “the value of EC and/or the time of the most recent handshake function may serve as a known reference time value that may be used to coordinate subsequent communications.”(Paragraph [0099])); and
communicate, in association with a set of ultra-wideband (UWB) signal parameters, a UWB signal (Fig(s).4 @ 432 and 5 @ 532),
However, Hariharan et al. fail to explicitly teach the set of UWB signal parameters being based on the reference timing information and comprising at least one of
a set of UWB data signal parameters or
a set of UWB ranging parameters.
Choi et al. teach a method wherein the set of UWB signal parameters being based on the reference timing information (read as RMARKER (Fig.5B; Paragraph [0169])) and comprising at least one of
a set of UWB data signal parameters or
a set of UWB ranging parameters. (read as “each UWB PHY packet may include an RMARKER for defining a reference time, and the RMARKER may be used to obtain a transmission time, a reception time, and/or a time period of a ranging message (frame) in the UWB ranging procedure.”(Paragraph [0169]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function to use an RMARKER (reference time) in a UWB ranging procedure as taught by Choi et al. with the electronic devices(s) as taught by Hariharan et al. for the purpose of enhancing UWB communications by devices in a network.
Regarding claim 36, Hariharan et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communication (Fig(s).1-2 and 4-5), comprising:
means for obtaining reference timing information associated with a second network node associated with a radio access technology (RAT) (read as “The Tx CPU 402 may receive from the Tx BT radio 506 a read EC message 526, including the current EC value, ECcurrent.”(Fig.5; Paragraph [0100]) For example, “the value of EC and/or the time of the most recent handshake function may serve as a known reference time value that may be used to coordinate subsequent communications.”(Fig.5; Paragraph [0099])); and
means for communicating, in association with a set of ultra-wideband (UWB) signal parameters, a UWB signal(Fig(s).4 @ 432 and 5 @ 532),
However, Hariharan et al. fail to explicitly teach the set of UWB signal parameters being based on the reference timing information and comprising at least one of
a set of UWB data signal parameters or
a set of UWB ranging parameters.
Choi et al. teach a method wherein the set of UWB signal parameters being based on the reference timing information (read as RMARKER (Fig.5B; Paragraph [0169])) and comprising at least one of
a set of UWB data signal parameters or
a set of UWB ranging parameters. (read as “each UWB PHY packet may include an RMARKER for defining a reference time, and the RMARKER may be used to obtain a transmission time, a reception time, and/or a time period of a ranging message (frame) in the UWB ranging procedure.”(Paragraph [0169]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function to use an RMARKER (reference time) in a UWB ranging procedure as taught by Choi et al. with the electronic devices(s) as taught by Hariharan et al. for the purpose of enhancing UWB communications by devices in a network.
Regarding claims 4 and 21, and as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, Hariharan et al., as modified by Choi et al., teach a first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) and a method (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) wherein the one or more processors (Fig(s).2 @ 202 and 3 @ 302), to cause the first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) to obtain the reference timing information, are configured to cause the first network node to receive, from the second network node, system information that indicates the reference timing information. (read as “the first wireless device may use a BT communication to pass timing information regarding a time at which the first wireless device will transmit a subsequent UWB message. Additionally, the first wireless device and the neighboring wireless device may use timing information of one or more BT communication events to synchronize the timing of their respective UWB radios for communicating the subsequent UWB message.”(Paragraph [0073]))
Regarding claims 5 and 22, and as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, Hariharan et al., as modified by Choi et al., teach a first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) and a method (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) wherein the one or more processors (Fig(s).2 @ 202 and 3 @ 302), to cause the first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) to obtain the reference timing information, are configured to cause the first network node to receive, via a user input component of the first network node (read as a desktop computer equipped with a keyboard (Fig(s).1-5; Paragraph [0056])), an indication of the reference timing information. (read as “the first wireless device may use a BT communication to pass timing information regarding a time at which the first wireless device will transmit a subsequent UWB message. Additionally, the first wireless device and the neighboring wireless device may use timing information of one or more BT communication events to synchronize the timing of their respective UWB radios for communicating the subsequent UWB message.”(Paragraph [0073]))
Regarding claims 6, 23, and 35, and as applied to claims 1, 18, and 31 above, Hariharan et al., as modified by Choi et al., teach a first network node, method, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Figs.1-5) wherein the set of instructions (read as program instructions (Paragraph [0038])), when executed by one or more processors (Fig(s).2 @ 202 and 3 @ 302) of the first network node (Fig(s).1-5) to obtain the reference timing information, are configured to cause the first network node to:
receive at least one signal from the second network node (Fig(s).1-5); and
determine the reference timing information based on receiving the at least one signal. (Fig(s).2 @ 202, 3 @ 302, and 4-6)
Regarding claims 7 and 24, and as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, Hariharan et al., as modified by Choi et al., teach a first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) and a method (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) wherein the one or more processors (Fig(s).2 @ 202 and 3 @ 302), to cause the first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) to determine the set of UWB signal parameters based on the reference timing information. (Fig(s).2 @ 202, 3 @ 302, and 4-6)
Regarding claims 8 and 25, and as applied to claims 7 and 24 above, Hariharan et al., as modified by Choi et al., teach a first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) and a method (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) wherein the one or more processors (Fig(s).2 @ 202 and 3 @ 302), to cause the first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) to determine the set of UWB signal parameters, are configured to cause the first network node to determine the set of UWB signal parameters so that a predicted interference level associated with the second network node satisfies an interference condition. (read as “The length of the wake window may be determined based on various factors, such as the expected length of the UWB beacon 432 and/or other communications, and the precision of the synchronization, considering such factors as hardware delays, software delays, clock precision, transmission times, etc.” (Paragraph [0091]))
Regarding claims 9 and 26, and as applied to claims 7 and 24 above, Hariharan et al., as modified by Choi et al., teach a first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) and a method (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) wherein the one or more processors (Fig(s).2 @ 202 and 3 @ 302), to cause the first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) to determine the set of UWB signal parameters, are configured to cause the first network node to align [[the]]a communication of the UWB signal with one or more slots of a time division duplexing (TDD) configuration associated with the second network node based on the one or more slots corresponding to a predicted interference level that satisfies an interference condition. (read as length of a wake window (Paragraph [0091]))
Regarding claims 11 and 28, and as applied to claims 1 and 18 above, Hariharan et al., as modified by Choi et al., teach a first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) and a method (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) wherein the set of UWB signal parameters comprises a UWB slot length equal to a frame length of a time division duplexing (TDD) configuration associated with the second network node. (read as length of UWB beacon (Paragraph [0091]))
Regarding claim 12, and as applied to claim 1 above, Hariharan et al., as modified by Choi et al., teach a first network node (Figs.1-2 and 4-5) wherein the RAT comprises a cellular communication technology.(read as LTE (Paragraph [0055]))
Regarding claim 34, and as applied to claim 31 above, Hariharan et al., as modified by Choi et al., teach a non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig(s).2 @ 206 and 3 @ 306) wherein the set of instructions (read as program instructions (Paragraph [0038])), when executed by one or more processors (Fig(s).2 @ 202 and 3 @ 302) of the first network node (Fig(s).1-5) to
obtain the reference timing information, cause the first network node to:
receive, from the second network node, system information that indicates the reference timing information (Fig(s).1-5), or
receive, via a user input component of the first network node, an indication of the reference timing information. (Fig(s).1-5)
Claims 2-3, 10, 19-20, 27, 32-33, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hariharan et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0149890 A1) (This reference is cited in the IDS filed on 1/8/2025), in view of Choi et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0023601 A1), and Takeda et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2020/0367255 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 19, 32 and 37, and as applied to claims 1, 18, 31, and 36 above, Hariharan et al. teach “Methods, systems, and apparatuses are presented to utilize Bluetooth (BT) radios to synchronize ultra wideband (UWB) radios, to allow the UWB radios to operate within narrow transmit/receive windows, which may lead to power savings.”(Fig(s), 1-2 and 4-5; Abstract)
Choi et al. teach “each UWB PHY packet may include an RMARKER for defining a reference time, and the RMARKER may be used to obtain a transmission time, a reception time, and/or a time period of a ranging message (frame) in the UWB ranging procedure.”(Paragraph [0169])
However, Hariharan et al. and Choi et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the reference timing information is associated with a time division duplexing (TDD) configuration associated with the second network node.
Takeda et al. teach a method wherein the reference timing information is associated with a time division duplexing (TDD) configuration associated with the second network node. (read as “The reference timing in FIG. 1 is a timing at which the TDD configuration update notification is received.”(Fig(s).1 and 5; Paragraph [0071]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for correlating a reference time with a TDD configuration as taught by Takeda et al. and the function to use an RMARKER (reference time) in a UWB ranging procedure as taught by Choi et al. with the electronic devices(s) as taught by Hariharan et al. for the purpose of enhancing UWB communications by devices in a network.
Regarding claims 3, 20, and 33, and as applied to claims 1, 18, and 31 above, Hariharan et al. teach “Methods, systems, and apparatuses are presented to utilize Bluetooth (BT) radios to synchronize ultra wideband (UWB) radios, to allow the UWB radios to operate within narrow transmit/receive windows, which may lead to power savings.”(Fig(s), 1-2 and 4-5; Abstract)
Choi et al. teach “each UWB PHY packet may include an RMARKER for defining a reference time, and the RMARKER may be used to obtain a transmission time, a reception time, and/or a time period of a ranging message (frame) in the UWB ranging procedure.”(Paragraph [0169])
However, Hariharan et al. and Choi et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the reference timing information comprises a timing reference point.
Takeda et al. teach clearly shows and discloses a method wherein the reference timing information comprises a timing reference point. (read as reference point (Fig.5))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for correlating a reference point with a TDD configuration as taught by Takeda et al. and the function to use an RMARKER (reference time) in a UWB ranging procedure as taught by Choi et al. with the electronic devices(s) as taught by Hariharan et al. for the purpose of enhancing UWB communications by devices in a network.
Regarding claims 10 and 27, and as applied to claims 9 and 26 above, Hariharan et al. teach “Methods, systems, and apparatuses are presented to utilize Bluetooth (BT) radios to synchronize ultra wideband (UWB) radios, to allow the UWB radios to operate within narrow transmit/receive windows, which may lead to power savings.”(Fig(s), 1-2 and 4-5; Abstract)
Choi et al. teach “each UWB PHY packet may include an RMARKER for defining a reference time, and the RMARKER may be used to obtain a transmission time, a reception time, and/or a time period of a ranging message (frame) in the UWB ranging procedure.”(Paragraph [0169])
However, Hariharan et al. and Choi et al. fail to explicitly teach clearly shows and discloses a first network node wherein the one or more slots comprise at least one uplink slot.
Takeda et al. teach a method wherein the one or more slots comprise at least one uplink slot. (Fig(s).5-6)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for one or more TDD configurations as taught by Takeda et al. and the function to use an RMARKER (reference time) in a UWB ranging procedure as taught by Choi et al. with the electronic devices(s) as taught by Hariharan et al. for the purpose of enhancing UWB communications by devices in a network.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant's arguments filed on April 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues, see Page 12 states “First, HARIHARAN and CHOI do not disclose "obtain reference timing information associated with a second network node associated with a radio access technology (RAT)," as recited in claim 1.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees since Hariharan et al. teach “Methods, systems, and apparatuses are presented to utilize Bluetooth (BT) radios to synchronize ultra wideband (UWB) radios, to allow the UWB radios to operate within narrow transmit/receive windows, which may lead to power savings.”(Fig(s), 1-2 and 4-5; Abstract) For example, “The Tx CPU 402 may receive from the Tx BT radio 506 a read EC message 526, including the current EC value, ECcurrent.”(Fig.5; Paragraph [0100]) For example, “the value of EC and/or the time of the most recent handshake function may serve as a known reference time value that may be used to coordinate subsequent communications.”(Paragraph [0099]) Further, the examiner equates Hariharan et al. EC value (e.g.: reference time value) with the Applicant’s reference timing information concept. Also, the examiner equates Hariharan et al. EC value (e.g.: reference time value) being used to coordinate communications (e.g.: Short-Range Wireless communications) among two devices (e.g.: BT radio and UWB radio) with the Applicant’s reference timing information associated with a second network node associated with a radio access technology (RAT) concept.
Choi et al. teach “each UWB PHY packet may include an RMARKER for defining a reference time, and the RMARKER may be used to obtain a transmission time, a reception time, and/or a time period of a ranging message (frame) in the UWB ranging procedure.”(Fig.5B; Paragraph [0169])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function to use an RMARKER (reference time) in a UWB ranging procedure as taught by Choi et al. with the electronic devices(s) as taught by Hariharan et al. for the purpose of enhancing UWB communications by devices in a network.
The Applicant argues, see Page 13 states “Second, HARIHARAN and CHOI do not disclose "the set of UWB signal parameters being based on the reference timing information and comprising at least one of a set of UWB data signal parameters or a set of UWB ranging parameters," as recited in claim 1.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees since Hariharan et al. teach “Methods, systems, and apparatuses are presented to utilize Bluetooth (BT) radios to synchronize ultra wideband (UWB) radios, to allow the UWB radios to operate within narrow transmit/receive windows, which may lead to power savings.”(Fig(s), 1-2 and 4-5; Abstract)
Choi et al. teach “each UWB PHY packet may include an RMARKER for defining a reference time, and the RMARKER may be used to obtain a transmission time, a reception time, and/or a time period of a ranging message (frame) in the UWB ranging procedure.”(Fig.5B; Paragraph [0169]) For example, Choi et al. teaches a UWB PHY packet architecture comprising of the RMARKER field may be used to obtain a time period for UWB ranging procedure. (Fig.5B; Paragraph [0169]) Also, “the UWB PHY packet may include an encrypted sequence (i.e., STS) to increase the integrity and accuracy of a ranging measurement timestamp. The STS may be included in the STS field of the UWB PHY packet and used for security ranging.”(Fig.5B; Paragraph [0167]) Further, the examiner equates Choi et al. UWB PHY packet comprising of RMARKER (e.g.: reference time value) and other fields (e.g.: STS field) with the Applicant’s the set of UWB signal parameters concept.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function to use an RMARKER (reference time) in a UWB ranging procedure as taught by Choi et al. with the electronic devices(s) as taught by Hariharan et al. for the purpose of enhancing UWB communications by devices in a network.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Kim (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2024/0179673 A1) teach “the controlling of setting of the short-range wireless communication terminal through the communication relay device may comprise controlling setting of the short-range wireless communication terminal so that controlled setting of the short-range wireless communication terminal is restored when a reference time elapses after the short-range wireless communication terminal leaves the communicable area. ”(Paragraph [0021])
Yoo (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0014876 A1) teaches “a short-range communication network connection checker that verifies whether short-range wireless communication connection to the mobile device of the quarantiner is performed by the digital communication module, a quarantiner dormancy checker configured to determine that the quarantiner is in a quarantiner dormant state in which there is no movement of the quarantiner when it is determined by the short-range communication network connection checker that the mobile device of the quarantiner is not in the residence or the energy fluctuation continues at a reference value or less for a predetermined time period or more,”(Paragraph [0029])
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
June 18, 2026