DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s Request for Reconsideration dated December 9, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-6, 8 and 9 are pending.
Claim 7 is cancelled.
Claims 1-6, 8 and 9 are currently amended.
Claims 1-6, 8 and 9 as filed on December 9, 2025 are under consideration.
This action is made FINAL.
Withdrawn Objections / Rejections
In view of the amendment of the abstract, all previous objections to the specification are withdrawn.
In view of the amendment of the claims, all previous claim objections are withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on October 1, 2025 and November 21, 2025 were considered.
Maintained Grounds of Rejection / New Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bichon et al. (US 2022/0016012, published January 20, 2022, of record) in view of Ricard et al. (US 2018/0263867, published September 20, 2018, of record) as evidenced by PubChem “Triethoxycaprylylsilane,” accessed 2025, of record; Scotland et al. (US 2018/0116947, published May 3, 2018, of record); and Patel et al. (US 2004/0005340, published January 8, 2004, of record).
Bichon teaches make-up compositions in the form of an emulsion comprising, in a physiologically acceptable medium, at least one phenylated silicone oil, a fat-soluble film-forming polymer, a water soluble film-forming polymer, and coloring materials (title; abstract; claims). The fat-soluble film-forming polymer is selected from inter alia trimethylsiloxysilicates (claim 6; paragraphs [0074], [0075], [0086], [0087], [0093]). The fat-soluble film-forming polymer is present from 1 to 7 wt% (claim 7), as required by instant claim 4. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05. The coloring materials are pigments surface treated with at least one hydrophobic or lipophilic treatment agent inclusive of silicone surfactants for better dispersion in the oil phase (paragraphs [0128], [0132], [0139]). The coloring materials are present from 2 to 30 wt% (paragraphs [0140], [0141]), as required by instant claim 5.
The emulsion may be a water-in-silicone emulsion (paragraphs [0022], [0023], [0143]). The aqueous phase is present from 1 to 80 wt% (paragraph [0097]), as required by instant claim 8. The aqueous phase may further comprise water-soluble solvent inclusive of ethanol (preservative) or/and glycerol (humectant, skin care active) (claim 10; paragraphs [0098]-[0105]), as required by instant claim 8.
The emulsion further comprises one or more volatile oils (claim 2). According to a particular and preferred embodiment, the compositions comprise at least one volatile silicone oil selected from dimethicones having a viscosity ranging from 0.5 to 6 cSt, methyl trimethicone and mixtures thereof (paragraph [0064]; Table 1), as required by instant claim 2. The content of volatile silicone oils is from 10 to 35 wt% (paragraph [0068]), as required by instant claim 3. Regarding the exclusion of cyclopentasiloxane or cyclotetrasiloxane as required by instant claim 1, Bichon exemplifies cyclopentasiloxane and cyclotetrasiloxane as volatile oils (paragraph [0063]), however, the emulsions of Bichon do not require either cyclopentasiloxane or cyclotetrasiloxane and the optional inclusion of a particular component teaches compositions that both do and do not contain that component. See MPEP 2123. The exemplary emulsions of Table 1 comprise 14 wt% dimethicone and about 15 wt% methyl trimethicone (ratio 15:14) and the exemplary emulsions of Table 2 comprise 5 wt% dimethicone and 14 wt% methyl trimethicone (ratio 14:5). Therefore, Bichon renders obvious a range of ratios which renders obvious the ratios as required by instant claim 2.
The emulsion further comprises at least one filler inclusive of silica such as spherical silica; the fillers may or may not be surface-coated and may be present from 0.1 to 20 wt% (claim 11; paragraphs [0118]-[0121], [0124], [0127]).
The emulsion may further comprise any additive used in cosmetics such as gelling agents (rheology modifiers), preservatives or/and cosmetic active agents such as vitamins or/and lightening agents (paragraph [0145]). The exemplary emulsions of Table 1 comprise Bentone Gel (rheology modifier) in silicone phase A1 and phenoxyethanol (preservative) in water phase B1, as required by instant claim 8.
Bichon does not teach pigments surface-treated with triethoxycaprylylsilane, spherical silica shells and ellipsoidal silica shells, and the ratio of spherical to ellipsoidal shells is 2:1 to 3:1 as required by claim 1.
Bichon does not teach the spherical silica shells have an average size of 10 to 14 microns and an oil absorbing capacity of at least 100 g / 100 g and the ellipsoidal silica shells have an average size of 2 to 4 microns and an oil absorbing capacity of at least 450 g / 100 g as required by claim 6.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Ricard, Scotland and Patel.
Richard teaches cosmetic makeup compositions in the form of a water-in-oil emulsion comprising an aqueous phase, a fatty phase and pigments (title; abstract; claims; paragraph [0096]). Preferably the pigments are coated with at least one lipophilic or hydrophobic compound chosen from silicone surface agents inclusive of alkoxysilanes inclusive of alkyltriethoxysilanes sold under Prosil 9202 (triethoxycaprylylsilane as evidenced by PubChem) (paragraphs [0123], [0127], [0150], [0151], [0160]-[0164]). The compositions may comprise fillers inclusive of silica or/and hollow silica microspheres (spherical silica shells) that give the makeup a matt effect and make it possible to combat various attacking factors such as sebum (paragraphs [0301]-[0305]).
Scotland teaches water in oil emulsions providing skin mattity and true color comprising at least one hydrophobically treated powder, at least two mattifying powders, at least one silicone resin and at least one oil absorbing powder (title; abstract; claims; paragraphs [0044], [0045]). The hydrophobically treated powder includes coloring materials treated with hydrophobic agents such as silanes such as triethoxycaprylylsilane (paragraphs [0052]-[0054], [0062], [0065], [0088]). Mattifying powders include silica powders such as hollow silica microspheres, however, the mattifying powders can include particles of any shape inclusive of oblong (ellipsoidal) particles or irregular spheres (paragraphs [0093]-[0109]). Mattifying powders are sebum-absorbing, having a sebum uptake great than or equal to 10 mL / 100 g, greater than about 70 mL / 100 g (paragraph [0096]), as required by instant claim 6. Mattifying powders have particle sizes smaller than about 100 microns and larger than about 2 microns (paragraph [0105]), as required by instant claim 6. The mattifying powders are incorporated into the oil phase and are present in a ratio of one mattifying powder to a second mattifying powder from about 0.1:1 to about 1.5:1 (paragraphs [0108], [0109]).
Patel teaches aqueous compositions for the skin comprising porous silica particles having an oil absorption capacity of at least four times their own weight (title; abstract; claims). The silica particles are hollow ellipsoids of silica (claim 3), as required by instant claim 6. The silica particles may average 3 microns in diameter (paragraph [0019]), as required by instant claim 6.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute surface treatment agents inclusive of alkyltriethoxysilanes sold under Prosil 9202 (triethoxycaprylylsilane as evidenced by PubChem) as taught by Richard or/and silanes such as triethoxycaprylylsilane as taught by Scotland for the surface treatment agents of the coloring materials of Bichon because simple substitution of functionally equivalent elements yields predictable results, absent evidence to the contrary. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Bichon embraces silicone surface treatment agents and the agents of Richard and of Scotland fall within this genus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute hollow silica microspheres as taught by Richard for the at least one filler of in the emulsions of Bichon because simple substitution of functionally equivalent elements yields predictable results, absent evidence to the contrary. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because Bichon embraces silica fillers and the silica of Richard falls within this genus. One would have been motivated to do so in order to reap the expected benefits taught by Richard of providing matt effect and combating sebum and because Bichon desires a “glowy” effect without an oily effect (e.g., paragraph [0105]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary to modify the at least one filler of the compositions of Bichon in view of Ricard comprising hollow silica microspheres to further comprise at least one additional mattifying powder as taught by Scotland inclusive of hollow silica microspheres of any shape inclusive of oblong particles (ellipsoidal silica shells) and inclusive of hollow ellipsoids of silica as taught by Patel because “[i]t is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art.” In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.06. It would have been obvious to include these fillers in the oil phase as taught by Scotland.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the at least one filler of the compositions of Bichon in view of Ricard, Scotland and Patel comprising hollow silica microspheres and hollow ellipsoids of silica should be present in the composition in a ratio of one mattifying powder to a second mattifying powder from about 0.1:1 to about 1.5:1 as taught by Scotland or in a ratio of about 1:10 to about 1:0.67 depending upon which shape is designated “first” and it would have been obvious to optimize within these ranges in order to adequately reduce sebum during wear.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the at least one filler of the compositions of Bichon in view of Ricard, Scotland and Patel comprising hollow silica microspheres and hollow ellipsoids of silica would have a particle size of about 2 to 100 microns as taught by Scotland because particles of this size are suitable as fillers and would have a sebum-uptake greater than or equal to 10 mL / 100 g as taught by Scotland. Additionally, it would have been obvious that the hollow ellipsoids of silica would have a particle size of about 3 microns and an oil absorption capacity at least 4 times their own weight because Patel teaches hollow ellipsoids of silica to possess these properties.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bichon et al. (US 2022/0016012, published January 20, 2022, of record) in view of Ricard et al. (US 2018/0263867, published September 20, 2018, of record) as evidenced by PubChem “Triethoxycaprylylsilane,” accessed 2025, of record; Scotland et al. (US 2018/0116947, published May 3, 2018, of record); and Patel et al. (US 2004/0005340, published January 8, 2004, of record) as applied to claims 1-6 above, and further in view of Swanson et al. (WO 2012/011907, published January 26, 2012, of record).
The teachings of Bichon, Richard, Scotland and Patel have been described supra.
They do not teach the aqueous phase comprises sebum-controlling agents as required by claim 8.
They do not teach up to about 1% Laminaria saccharina and up to about 3% niacinamide as required by claim 9.
These deficiencies are made up for in the teachings of Swanson.
Swanson teaches Laminaria saccharina extract and vitamin B3 as whitening agents (title; abstract; claims). The L. saccharina is present from 0.00008 to 1.25 wt% (claim 1). Vitamin B3 includes niacinamide (page 7, lines 6-19). Vitamin B3 is a skin tone agent present from about 0.1 to 50%, or from about 1 to 10 wt% (page 6, lines 15-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the emulsions of Bichon in view of Richard, Scotland and Patel to further comprise 0.00008 to 1.25 wt% of Laminaria saccharina extract and about 0.1 to 50% vitamin B3 inclusive of niacinamide as whitening agents in order to improve skin tone. There would be a reasonable expectation of success because emulsions of Bichon may further comprise cosmetic active agents such as vitamins or/and lightening agents.
Response to Arguments: Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s position that the prior art either fails to address the problem of color shift or suggests a different solution than in claim 1 is noted but not found persuasive because there is no evidence of record that the first-part of the sebum-controlling system of claim 1 “solves” the problem of color shift across the genus of compositions embraced by claim 1. Furthermore, the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See MPEP 2144.
Applicant’s position that there is no reason to select silica out of the disclosed mattifying powders is acknowledged but not found persuasive because there is consensus in the art that silica is a conventional filler that is expected to give makeup “a matt effect and uniformity” (e.g., Richard, paragraph [0304]) because it absorbs sebum (e.g., Richard, paragraph [0304]; Scotland, paragraphs [0093]-[0109]; Patel, abstract) and there is no evidence of record that the first-part of the sebum-controlling system of claim 1 yields a result that differs from any other art recognized sebum absorbing particulate system. There is also no evidence of record that the claimed shapes or ratio are particularly important. Notably, the genus of compositions instantly claimed do not exclude the presence of other art-recognized mattifying powders. Therefore, the combined teachings of the prior art render obvious the genus of compositions instantly claimed and the rejections over Bichon are properly maintained in modified form as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALISSA PROSSER/
Examiner, Art Unit 1619
/MARIANNE C SEIDEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1600