DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Election 01/06/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13 - 17 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/06/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 18 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim(s) 18 recite(s) "a first state" in line 11. It appears that it should be "the first state".
Claim(s) 18 recite(s) "a secondary current from a secondary winding" in line 12. It appears that it should be "the secondary current from the secondary winding ".
Claim(s) 18 recite(s) "an output voltage" in line 13. It appears that it should be "the output voltage ".
Claim(s) 18 recite(s) "a second state" in line 16. It appears that it should be "the second state".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pub. No. 2015/0180357; (hereinafter Syvaranta) in view of US Pub. No. 2024/0213884; (hereinafter Wan).
Regarding claim 1, Syvaranta [e.g. Fig. 1a-1c] discloses a switching controller, configured to: activate a first rectifier switch [e.g. 102] of an output stage [e.g. 101] of a power supply system [e.g. Fig. 1a] in a first state [e.g. 115 ON, 116 OFF and 102 ON, 103 OFF] to provide a secondary current from a secondary winding [e.g. 120, 121] of a first transformer [e.g. 118] to generate an output voltage [e.g. Uout] at the output stage in response to detecting a first direction of a secondary current [e.g. i1_ac] through a secondary winding of a second transformer [e.g. 110; paragraph 033 recites “The synchronous rectifier 101 comprises a driver circuit 107 for controlling the rectification switch 102 at least partly on the basis of the direction of the sensed alternating component of the current of the rectification switch 102, and a driver circuit 108 for controlling the rectification switch 103 at least partly on the basis of the direction of the sensed alternating component of the current of the rectification switch 103”. Paragraph 034 recites “The sensed alternating component of the current of the rectification switch 102 is denoted as i1_ac and its positive direction in the shunt resistor 111 is denoted with an arrow shown below the shunt resistor 111…Each driver circuit comprises a comparator for detecting polarity of the voltage signal provided by the shunt resistor and a signal path for controlling the corresponding rectification switch at least partly on the basis of an output signal of the comparator.” Paragraph 036 recites “the driver circuit 107 is arranged to control the rectification switch 102 to be in the conductive state when the sensed alternating component i1_ac has the direction of the arrow shown below the shunt resistor 111 in FIG. 1a. The direction of the arrow corresponds to positive values of i1_ac in FIGS. 1b and 1c... Each of quantities 130a and 130b illustrated in FIGS. 1b and 1c corresponds actually a threshold value which has to be exceeded by the current of the rectification switch 102, i.e. by the current which includes the direct current component, in order that the rectification switch 102 is controlled to be in the conductive state”]; and activate a second rectifier switch [e.g. 103] of the output stage of the power supply system in a second state [e.g. 115 OFF, 116 ON, 102 OFF and 103 ON] to provide the secondary current from the secondary winding of the first transformer to generate the output voltage at the output stage in response to detecting a second direction of the secondary current [e.g. paragraph 036 recites “Correspondingly, the driver circuit 108 is arranged to control the rectification switch 103 to be in the conductive state when the sensed alternating component i2_ac of the current of the rectification switch 103 has the direction of an arrow shown below the shunt resistor of the current sensor 106”].
Syvaranta fails to disclose detecting a second direction of the secondary current through the secondary winding of the second transformer. Emphasis added to the lacking limitation.
Wan [e.g. Fig. 7B] discloses a single current transformer [e.g. Taux] detecting a second direction of the secondary current through the secondary winding of the second transformer [e.g. paragraph 050 recites “The respective gates of power switching devices S5-S8 are controlled by the current detection and driving module 9. The current detection and driving module 9 controls the on/off timing of the power switching devices S5-S8 for synchronous rectification by detecting the direction of current sensed by the auxiliary transformer Taux”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Syvaranta by detecting a second direction of the secondary current through the secondary winding of the second transformer as taught by Wan in order of being able to reduce the quantity of components.
Regarding claim 4, Syvaranta [e.g. Fig. 1a-1c] discloses wherein the secondary winding of the second transformer interconnects each of a first direction detection terminal [e.g. inverting input of 112] and a second direction detection terminal [e.g. inverting input of comparator in 108] that are each inputs of the switching controller to indicate one of the first direction and the second direction of the secondary current [e.g. paragraph 034 recites “Each driver circuit comprises a comparator for detecting polarity of the voltage signal provided by the shunt resistor and a signal path for controlling the corresponding rectification switch at least partly on the basis of an output signal of the comparator”].
Regarding claim 18, Syvaranta [e.g. Fig. 1a-1c] discloses a power supply system comprising: a first switching stage [e.g. 114] configured to conduct a primary current in a first direction [e.g. positive half-wave of AC current at input of transformer] through a primary winding [e.g. 119] of a first transformer [e.g. 118] in a first state [e.g. 115 ON, 116 OFF and 102 ON, 103 OFF; positive half-wave] and in a second direction [e.g. negative half-wave of AC current at input of transformer] through the primary winding opposite the first direction in a second state [e.g. 115 OFF, 116 ON, 102 OFF and 103 ON, negative half-wave] to provide a secondary current in a first direction through a secondary winding [e.g. 120-121] of the first transformer in the first state [e.g. 102 ON / 103 OFF] and in a second direction through the secondary winding in the second state based on the primary current [e.g. 102 OFF / 103 ON; paragraph 039 recites “the rectification switch 102 is allowed to be conductive only when the primary switch 115 is in the conductive state, and the rectification switch 103 is allowed to be conductive only when the primary switch 116 is in the conductive state”]; and a second switching stage [e.g. 102-103] configured to provide an output voltage [e.g. Uout] at the second switching stage in response to the secondary current [e.g. current at secondary winding 120-121], the second switching stage comprising a switching controller [e.g. 104], the switching controller being configured to: activate a first rectifier switch [e.g. 102] of the second switching stage in a first state [e.g. 115 ON, 116 OFF and 102 ON, 103 OFF; positive half-wave], the first rectifier switch configured to provide a secondary current from a secondary winding of the first transformer to generate an output voltage at the second switching stage [e.g. 102 ON] in response to the switching controller detecting a first direction of a secondary current [e.g. i1_ac] through a secondary winding of a second transformer [e.g. 110; paragraph 033 recites “The synchronous rectifier 101 comprises a driver circuit 107 for controlling the rectification switch 102 at least partly on the basis of the direction of the sensed alternating component of the current of the rectification switch 102, and a driver circuit 108 for controlling the rectification switch 103 at least partly on the basis of the direction of the sensed alternating component of the current of the rectification switch 103”. Paragraph 034 recites “The sensed alternating component of the current of the rectification switch 102 is denoted as i1_ac and its positive direction in the shunt resistor 111 is denoted with an arrow shown below the shunt resistor 111…Each driver circuit comprises a comparator for detecting polarity of the voltage signal provided by the shunt resistor and a signal path for controlling the corresponding rectification switch at least partly on the basis of an output signal of the comparator.” Paragraph 036 recites “the driver circuit 107 is arranged to control the rectification switch 102 to be in the conductive state when the sensed alternating component i1_ac has the direction of the arrow shown below the shunt resistor 111 in FIG. 1a. The direction of the arrow corresponds to positive values of i1_ac in FIGS. 1b and 1c... Each of quantities 130a and 130b illustrated in FIGS. 1b and 1c corresponds actually a threshold value which has to be exceeded by the current of the rectification switch 102, i.e. by the current which includes the direct current component, in order that the rectification switch 102 is controlled to be in the conductive state”]; and activate a second rectifier switch [e.g. 103] of the second switching stage in a second state [e.g. 115 OFF, 116 ON, 102 OFF and 103 ON], the second rectifier switch configured to provide the secondary current from the secondary winding of the first transformer to generate the output voltage at the second switching stage in response to the switching controller detecting a second direction of the secondary current [e.g. paragraph 036 recites “Correspondingly, the driver circuit 108 is arranged to control the rectification switch 103 to be in the conductive state when the sensed alternating component i2_ac of the current of the rectification switch 103 has the direction of an arrow shown below the shunt resistor of the current sensor 106”].
Syvaranta fails to disclose detecting a second direction of the secondary current through the secondary winding of the second transformer. Emphasis added to the lacking limitation.
Wan [e.g. Fig. 7B] discloses a single current transformer [e.g. Taux] detecting a second direction of the secondary current through the secondary winding of the second transformer [e.g. paragraph 050 recites “The respective gates of power switching devices S5-S8 are controlled by the current detection and driving module 9. The current detection and driving module 9 controls the on/off timing of the power switching devices S5-S8 for synchronous rectification by detecting the direction of current sensed by the auxiliary transformer Taux”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Syvaranta by detecting a second direction of the secondary current through the secondary winding of the second transformer as taught by Wan in order of being able to reduce the quantity of components.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Syvaranta in view of Wan and further in view of US Pub. No. 2014/0175870; (hereinafter Kim).
Regarding claim 5, Syvaranta fails to disclose wherein a turns ratio of the second transformer is greater than 50:1.
Kim [e.g. Fig. 1] teaches wherein a turns ratio of the second transformer [e.g. 200] is greater than 50:1 [e.g. paragraph 029 recites “the current transformer 200 has a turn ratio of 100:1”].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Syvaranta by wherein a turns ratio of the second transformer is greater than 50:1as taught by Kim in order of being able to significantly reduce a current sense signal level to be appropriate for the controller.
Examiner's Note
Examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 3, 6 – 12 and 19 – 24 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 2 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “comprising: a first rectifier diode configured to activate the first rectifier switch in response to being forward-biased by the secondary current in the first direction; and a second rectifier diode configured to activate the second rectifier switch in response to being forward-biased by the secondary current in the second direction”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 6 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “a second direction detection comparator configured to generate a second activation signal in response to a second direction voltage at the second direction detection terminal being greater than a second reference voltage”.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 12 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the first transformer comprises a primary winding configured to conduct a primary current from an input voltage to generate the secondary current, wherein the first set of logic is configured to receive a mode control signal and a first reverse switching signal, wherein the second set of logic is configured to receive the mode control signal and a second reverse switching signal, wherein the first and second sets of logic are configured to activate the first and second rectifier switches, respectively, to provide the secondary current to generate the output voltage at the output stage in response to a first state of the mode control signal; and wherein the first and second sets of logic are configured to activate the first and second rectifier switches, respectively, to provide a reverse primary current from the output voltage through the secondary winding of the first transformer to generate a reverse secondary current in the primary winding of the first transformer to reverse a flow of power, such that the switching controller provides power from the output voltage at the output stage, in response to a second state of the mode control signal and the respective first and second reverse switching signals.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 19 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “a second direction detection comparator configured to generate a second activation signal in response to a second direction voltage at a second direction detection terminal being greater than a second reference voltage, the second direction voltage being associated with the second direction of the secondary current.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 22 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the switching controller comprises: a first rectifier diode configured to activate the first rectifier switch in response to being forward-biased by the secondary current in the first direction; and a second rectifier diode configured to activate the second rectifier switch in response to being forward-biased by the secondary current in the second direction.
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 24 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “wherein the switching controller is configured to receive a mode control signal, a first reverse switching signal, and a second reverse switching signal, wherein the switching controller is configured to activate the first and second rectifier switches of the second switching stage in response to the respective first and second directions of the secondary current to generate the output voltage in a first state of the mode control signal, the switching controller being further configured to: activate the first rectifier switch in response to a first state of each of the first and second reverse switching signals to provide a reverse primary current from the output voltage in the first direction through the secondary winding of the first transformer to generate a reverse secondary current in the first direction through the primary winding of the first transformer to reverse a flow of power through the power supply system, such that the switching controller provides power from the output voltage at the second switching stage to the first switching stage in response to a second state of the mode control signal; and activate the second rectifier switch in response to a second state of each of the first and second reverse switching signals to provide the reverse primary current from the output voltage in the second direction through the secondary winding of the first transformer to generate the reverse secondary current in the second direction through the primary winding of the first transformer to charge the power supply system associated with the first switching stage in response to the second state of the mode control signal”.
Conclusion
/ALEX TORRES-RIVERA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838