DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-18 are pending:
Claims 7-8, 10 are withdrawn
Claims 1-6, 9, 11-18 are examined on the merits
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Species A (Fig1-3) in the reply filed on 07/28/2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 7-8, 10 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 07/28/2026.
Claims 7-8, 10 withdrawn by applicant.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 10/23/2023, 03/21/2025, 01/02/2026, 05/22/2026 is/are being considered by the examiner.
IDS dated 01/02/2026
FOR5 not considered due to the full document not being provided, the document started at page 28
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12, 13 of copending Application No. 18/492,437 (reference application), respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please see comparison table below – the underlined recitations do not have a patentably corresponding recitation in the other patent document..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/492,396
Copending Application 18/492,437
Claim 1
Claim 12
An aerosol generation system comprising:
a heat generator having a long shape, the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof; and
a pair of metal plates provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape,
wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator.
Claim 1
An aerosol generation system comprising:
a heat generator having a long shape, the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof; and
a pair of metal plates provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape,
wherein the heat generator includes at least two regions where different amounts of heat are generated.
Claim 12
The aerosol generation system according to claim 1,
wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator.
Claim 9
Claim 13
The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of at least one of the pair of metal plates.
The aerosol generation system according to claim 12, wherein the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of at least one of the pair of metal plates.
Claim 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12 of copending Application No. 18/518,839 (reference application), respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please see comparison table below – the underlined recitations do not have a patentably corresponding recitation in the other patent document..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/492,396
Copending Application 18/518,839
Claim 1
Claim 5
An aerosol generation system comprising:
a heat generator having a long shape, the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof; and
a pair of metal plates provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape,
wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator.
Claim 1
An aerosol generation system comprising:
a heat generator, which is a PTC heater including a barium titanate having a long shape, the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof; and
a pair of metal plates provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape,
wherein at least one of the pairs of metal plates includes a rib portion in which an edge portion on at least one side in a short direction of the longitudinal shape is bent along the heat generator, and
an electrical resistance value of the heat generator in a direction in which the pair of metal plates face each other is 100 times to 1400 times an electrical resistance value of each of the pair of metal plates in a longitudinal direction of the long shape.
Claim 5
The aerosol generation system according to claim 1,
wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator.
Claim 3
Claim 6
The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein a length of each of the pair of metal plates in a longitudinal direction of the long shape is greater than a length of the heat generator.
The aerosol generation system according to claim 5, wherein a length of each of the pair of metal plates in the longitudinal direction of the long shape is greater than a length of the heat generator.
Claim 4
Claim 7
The aerosol generation system according to claim 3, wherein, at a trailing end opposite a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate, the pair of metal plates are provided to extend further in the longitudinal direction relative to the heat generator.
The aerosol generation system according to claim 6, wherein, at a trailing end opposite a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate, the pair of metal plates are provided to extend further in the longitudinal direction relative to the heat generator.
Claim 5
Claim 8
The aerosol generation system according to claim 4, wherein the rib is provided to extend entirely in the longitudinal direction of the heat generator.
The aerosol generation system according to claim 7, wherein the rib is provided to extend entirely in the longitudinal direction of the heat generator.
Claim 6
Claim 9
The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein the heat generator at a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate has an angularly protruding shape at the leading end.
The aerosol generation system according to claim 5, wherein the heat generator at a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate has an angularly protruding shape at the leading end.
Claim 9
Claim 12
The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of at least one of the pair of metal plates.
The aerosol generation system according to claim 5, wherein the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of at least one of the pair of metal plates.
Claim 1, 9 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11, 12 of copending Application No. 18/492,417 (reference application), respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please see comparison table below – the underlined recitations do not have a patentably corresponding recitation in the other patent document..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/492,396
Copending Application 18/492,417
Claim 1
Claim 11
An aerosol generation system comprising:
a heat generator having a long shape, the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof; and
a pair of metal plates provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape,
wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator.
Claim 1
An aerosol generation system comprising:
a heat generator having a long shape, the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof;
a pair of metal plates provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape, and
to extend further in the longitudinal direction relative to the heat generator at a trailing end opposite a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate; and a securing section that holds the pair of metal plates and secures the pair of metal plates to a housing at a region located further toward the trailing end relative to an end of the heat generator and away from the heat generator.
Claim 11
The aerosol generation system according to claim 1,
wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator.
Claim 9
Claim 12
The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of at least one of the pair of metal plates.
The aerosol generation system according to claim 11, wherein the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of at least one of the pair of metal plates.
Claim 1, provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14 of copending Application No. 18/639,966 (reference application), respectively. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Please see comparison table below – the underlined recitations do not have a patentably corresponding recitation in the other patent document..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application 18/492,396
Copending Application 18/639,966
Claim 1
Claim 14
An aerosol generation system comprising:
a heat generator having a long shape, the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof; and
a pair of metal plates provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape,
wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib formed by bending at least one of edges, in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator.
Claim 1
An aerosol generation system comprising:
a resistive heat generator that heats an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof; and
a pair of metal plates provided at opposite surfaces of the resistive heat generator,
wherein the pair of metal plates each include a first region and a second region, the first region being where the metal plates face each other with the resistive heat generator interposed therebetween in a thickness direction of the resistive heat generator, the second region being where the metal plates do not face each other with the resistive heat generator interposed therebetween in the thickness direction of the resistive heat generator.
Claim 14
The aerosol generation system according to claim 1,
wherein at least one of the metal plates includes a rib formed by bending an edge of the metal plate along an outer shape of the resistive heat generator from the opposite surfaces of the resistive heat generator.
Claim Objections
Claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Throughout
Amendment to avoid terms like “thereof” would improve claim clarity
Claim 2/4
Reword to improve clarity, the office assumes that the language of the claim is strange due to direct translation.
Claim 16
Limitation acronym “PTC” is not defined
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 11-12, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang (CN 212 325 393)
Claim 1
Jiang discloses:
“An aerosol generation system (Fig10/1/2, electronic atomizing device 20, heating body 10) comprising:
a heat generator (SpecQuote10; Fig1/2, heating element 130 portion annotated in rectangle below, the bottom of heating element 130 is merely the electrical leads) having a long shape (best seen Fig10 in arrangement and Fig1/2 in detail), the heat generator generating heat by being supplied with electricity so as to heat an aerosol generating substrate from an inside thereof (functional limitation. SpecQuote11/12, Fig10/1/2, heating body 10 heats applied cigarette); and
a pair of metal plates (best seen Fig1/2, metal substrates 120/110; SpecQuote13) provided to respectively cover opposing surfaces of the heat generator along the long shape (best seen Fig1/2, substrates 120/110 cover front/back of heating element 130),
wherein at least one of the pair of metal plates includes a rib (best seen Fig2/3, rib wall of groove 111) formed by bending at least one of edges (product-by-process limitation), in a lateral direction of the long shape, along the heat generator (best seen Fig2/3, rib of substrate 110 is in the lateral direction along heating element 130).”
SpecQuote10: “the exposed surface can be used for electrically connecting with the external power supply. wherein the heating element 130 located at the second end of the substrate 101 of the exposed portion can be electrically connected with the external power supply by welding conductive wire in other embodiments, it also can be electrically connected with the external power supply through other connection mode. The length H of the exposed portion”
SpecQuote11: “the power supply and the heating body 10 is electrically connected for providing power to the heating body 10, so that the heating body 10 can be used for heating and atomizing the to-be-heated piece. wherein the electronic atomizing device 20 can be electronic cigarette or atomizer and so on, which is not further defined herein.”
SpecQuote12: “The electronic atomizing device such as electronic cigarette generally can adopt inserted heating body, at least partially inserted into the tobacco through the inserted heating body, so as to realize the heating and atomizing of the tobacco.”
SpecQuote13: “the first heat-conducting substrate and the second heat-conducting substrate are metal sheets”
The following recitation(s)/limitation(s) “” is/are considered a product-by-process claim, and as the determination of patentability is based on the product itself, the structure disclosed anticipates/renders obvious the claimed structure as the disclosed structure appears to be the same or similar to that claimed, see MPEP 2113.
The above noted limitations are considered functional language, and as the structure disclosed in the reference anticipates the claimed structure, the structure disclosed is capable of performing the recited function, see MPEP 2114.I,II. However, the functional language is disclosed as noted above.
Claim 2
Jiang discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, further comprising the aerosol generating substrate into which the heat generator covered by the pair of metal plates is inserted (continuation of the functional limitation of Claim 1. SpecQuote11/12, cigarette disclosed).”
The above noted limitations are considered functional language, and as the structure disclosed in the reference anticipates the claimed structure, the structure disclosed is capable of performing the recited function, see MPEP 2114.I,II. However, the functional language is disclosed as noted above.
Claim 3
Jiang discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein a length of each of the pair of metal plates in a longitudinal direction of the long shape is greater than a length of the heat generator (best seen Fig1, each of substrates 110/120 have a length that extends closer to tip near reference character 1011 relative to heating element 130).”
Claim 4
Jiang discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 3, wherein, at a trailing end opposite a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate, the pair of metal plates are provided to extend further in the longitudinal direction relative to the heat generator (SpecQuote10; best seen Fig1/2, exposed surface H of heating element 130 is the electrical connection portion and therefore is functionally not part of the heat generation portion of the heating element – the substrates 110/120 extend lengthwise past the trailing end of the portion of heating element annotated above in Claim 1).”
Claim 5
Jiang discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 4, wherein the rib is provided to extend entirely in the longitudinal direction of the heat generator (best seen Fig1/2, rib of substrate 110 extends full length of heating element 130).”
Claim 6
Jiang discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein the heat generator at a leading end to be inserted into the aerosol generating substrate (functional limitation) has an angularly protruding shape at the leading end (Fig10/1/2, heating body 10 has angular tip to be inserted into the cigarette).”
The above noted limitations are considered functional language, and as the structure disclosed in the reference anticipates the claimed structure, the structure disclosed is capable of performing the recited function, see MPEP 2114.I,II. However, the functional language is disclosed as noted above.
Claim 9
Jiang discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein the rib is provided at each of opposite sides in the lateral direction of at least one of the pair of metal plates (best seen Fig2/3, rib of substrate 110 is on both left/right sides of heating element 130).”
Claim 11
Jiang discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein the heat generator has a tabular shape (best seen Fig2, heating element 130), and wherein a thickness of the tabular shape is smaller than 1/4 of a width of the tabular shape (Fig1-3 fairly disclose thickness to width ratio).”
Claim 12
Jiang discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 11, wherein the pair of metal plates are provided at opposite principal surfaces of the tabular shape of the heat generator (best seen Fig1/2, substrates 120/110 cover front/back of heating element 130).”
Claim 15
Jiang discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein the heat generator is supplied with the electricity between the pair of metal plates (SpecQuote10/11/12/13).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 212 325 393) in view of McCullough (US 11,497,249).
Claim 13
Jiang discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein the heat generator and the pair of metal plates are adhered together (SpecQuote131) by using a … ”
SpecQuote131: “Wherein, the two opposite side surfaces of the through groove 113 of the first heat conducting substrate 110 can be set as inclined surface; The two end surfaces of the second heat-conducting substrate 120 corresponding to the through grooves 113 may be also provided with inclined surfaces parallel to the two side surfaces of the through grooves 113. and the second heat-conducting substrate 120 is set to the through groove 113, can through the second heat-conducting substrate 120 opposite to the two ends of the inclined surface and the through groove 113 of the opposite two side surface is adhered, so as to limit the position of the second heat-conducting substrate 120.”
Jiang is silent to the adhesive being conductive.
McCullough teaches (Fig10/11, C9L12-19) that it is known in the art to use electrically conductive adhesives to attach electrical conductors to substrates.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to the prior art to select an adhesive for the arrangement of Jiang, as Jiang does disclose the type of adhesive used, and McCullough teaches that it is known in the art to select an electrically conductive adhesives to attach electrical conductors to substrates, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the arrangement of Jiang with working and known in the art material selection of an electrically conductive adhesives to attach electrical conductors to substrates as taught by McCullough.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 212 325 393) in view of Hajaligol (US 5,665,262).
Claim 14
Jiang discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 1, wherein the pair of metal plates (SpecQuote141) are composed of … ”
SpecQuote141: “At the same time, the first heat-conducting substrate 110 and the second heat-conducting substrate 120 can be a metal sheet, wherein the first heat-conducting substrate 110 and the second heat-conducting substrate 120 can be made of material with good heat-conducting coefficient.”
Jiang suggests possible metals to use, however Jiang does not require the use of the suggested metals of the substrates.
Jiang is silent to the application of a nickel-containing iron alloy for the metal plates.
Hajaligol teaches (best seen Fig3-5, substrate 300, heating element 122; C11L7-21) that it is known in the art to select an “alloy of nickel and iron” for a substrate that supports a heating element.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to the prior art to select a material for the metal substrates of Jiang, as Jiang does not require a particular metal for the substrates beyond one that is metal, and Hajaligol teaches that it is known in the art to select an “alloy of nickel and iron” for a substrate that supports a heating element, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the arrangement of Jiang with working and known in the art material selection of an “alloy of nickel and iron” for the substrates of Jiang as Hajaligol teaches that such a selection is a known in the art selection.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 212 325 393) in view of Taurino (US 2023/0069561).
Claim 16
Jiang discloses the arrangement of Claim 15.
Jiang is silent to the heating element being a PTC heater or a NTC heater.
Taurino teaches (Para141; Fig4) that it is known to use a PTC blade 27 upon which an aerosol-forming substrate is stabbed in order to electrically heat the center of the stabbed aerosol-forming substrate. Taurino further teaches (Para9/13) that the application of a PTC thermistor as the heating element provides the advantage of being less prone to overheating.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to look to the prior art to select a type of temperature coefficient heater, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have to make such a selection in order to practice the disclosure of Jiang, and Taurino teaches that at it is known in the art to select a PTC heater thermistor for a aerosol-forming substrate stabbing heating body, and that such a selection provides the advantage of a heating element that is less prone to overheating, and the resulting arrangement has the reasonable expectation of successfully providing the arrangement of Jiang with a working and known in the art PTC heating element thermistor as taught by Taurino that will provide the advantage of being less prone to overheating.
Claim 17
The modified arrangement of Jiang by the teachings of Taurino discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 16, wherein the PTC heater includes barium titanate (Taurino: Para54/61; Claim 26).”
Claim 18
The modified arrangement of Jiang by the teachings of Taurino discloses: “The aerosol generation system according to claim 16, wherein a temperature of the heat generated by the heat generator is below 350°C (Taurino: Abstract, Para24; Claim 16/17, output temperature is less than 350 Celsius).”
Conclusion
/JOHN S HUNTER, JR/Examiner, Art Unit 3761