DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments to the claims, filed on 4/15/26, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Any rejections made in the previous action, and not repeated below, are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-8, and 12-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2022/0140263 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 12, 13, 16, and 17, Liu teaches a glass-based flexible cover window (e.g., reinforcement layer) comprising a planar portion formed so as to correspond to a planar region of a flexible display and a folding portion formed so as to be connected to the planar portion, the folding portion being formed so as to correspond to a folding region of the flexible display (para 40, 70-74, 81-82; fig 1, 6a).
Liu further teaches the reinforcement layer comprises a first optical clear adhesive layer (e.g., elastic buffer layer), a first colorless polyimide layer or ultra-thin film on a side of the first optical clear adhesive layer, a second optical clear adhesive layer (i.e., adhesive resin buffer layer) on a side of the first colorless polyimide layer, and a second colorless polyimide layer (i.e., protective film layer) on a side of the second optical clear adhesive layer; the reinforcement layer further comprises a hard coating layer on a side of the second colorless polyimide layer distal to the flexible substrate; and the reinforcement layer is a laminated layer of the glass and PI. (para 21, 25, 62).
With regard to the limitation “a flat glass substrate;” Liu teaches that ultra-thin glass layers are structural equivalents to polyimide films in that of the reinforcement layer and flexible substrates may comprise glass substrates (para 24, 79, 101); so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute ultra-thin glass for the first polyimide layer or ultra-thin film in the reinforcement layer, therein creating a flat glass substrate; wherein the front surface of the glass substrate being a surface opposite to where a display panel is disposed; since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); and, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding the limitations “the adhesive buffer layer and the protective film layer are alternately stacked at least n times on the front surface of the glass substrate (where n is a natural number equal to or greater than 1);” and “wherein a first adhesive buffer layer, a first protective film layer, a second adhesive buffer layer, and a second protective film layer are sequentially stacked on the front surface of the glass substrate, the first and second adhesive buffer layers correspond to the adhesive buffer layer, and the first and second protective film layers correspond to the protective film layer;” Liu teaches embodiments wherein the reinforcement layer comprises an ultra-thin glass layer (i.e., flat glass substrate), a second optical clear adhesive layer (i.e., first adhesive buffer layer) on a side of the ultra-thin glass layer distal to the flexible substrate, and a colorless polyimide layer on a side of the second optical clear adhesive layer (i.e., first adhesive buffer layer) distal to the flexible substrate; wherein the reinforcement layer may include two one colorless polyimide (and therein a third adhesive layer or second adhesive buffer layer to attach the second polyimide layer to the first polyimide layer) to enhance the reliability testing of the flexible display (para 93, 94).
Therefore, Liu would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention an embodiment wherein the adhesive buffer layer and the protective film layer are alternately stacked at least n times on the front surface of the glass substrate (where n is a natural number equal to or greater than 1); and wherein a first adhesive buffer layer, a first protective film layer, a second adhesive buffer layer, and a second protective film layer are sequentially stacked on the front surface of the glass substrate, the first and second adhesive buffer layers correspond to the adhesive buffer layer, and the first and second protective film layers correspond to the protective film layer.
Regarding the limitation “wherein a thickness of the second protective film layer is greater than a thickness of the first protective film layer;” Liu teaches examples wherein the thickness of the first colorless polyimide layer is ranges from 35 μm to 100 μm (e.g., 80 μm); and thickness of the second colorless polyimide layer ranges from 35 μm to 100 μm (para 89, 101); which would have suggested values for the thickness of the second colorless polyimide layer greater than 80 μm, i.e., wherein a thickness of the second protective film layer is greater than a thickness of the first protective film layer.
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches or would have rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the planar portion and the folding portion of the glass substrate have the same thickness (figs 1-6b).
Regarding claims 6-8, the limitations of the instant claims would be considered that of a change in shape. It is noted that change in size, scale, proportionality and shape is not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); In Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). MPEP 2144.04[R-1].
A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the reinforcement layer of Liu with the dimensions (i.e., shapes of the glass substrate) based on the prior art's intended application as in the present invention. Furthermore, adjusting the shape of or in the folding portion the glass substrate would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention with the motivation of allowing or optimizing the ability of the glass substrate to provide protection while being able to properly fold while handling the additional stress and fatigue of being repeatedly folded.
Regarding claim 14, Liu teaches or would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the films of a uniform thickness and composition (para 24-26, 52-54; figs 1-6b) which would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that of a uniform reinforcement layer, i.e., wherein a strength of the protective film layer at the planar portion and a strength of the protective film layer at the folding portion are equal to each other.
Regarding claim 15, Liu teaches the above flexible display module provided by the embodiment of the present disclosure, the thickness of the reinforcement layer 400 ranges from 10 μm to 150 μm (para 52); so each layer of the overall reinforcement layer would have thicknesses of less than these ranger limitations. These ranges substantially overlap that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Liu, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claim 18 and specifically the limitations wherein when the adhesive buffer layer and the protective film layer are alternately stacked at least n+1 times in a stacking direction, compositions of n-th and (n+1)-th adhesive buffer layers are identical to each other, and compositions of n-th and (n+1)-th protective film layers are identical to each other (where n is a natural number equal to or greater than 1); one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have been merely duplicating the second optical clear adhesive layer (i.e., adhesive buffer layer) and the second colorless polyimide layer to arrive at this embodiment; and duplication of parts is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.04 VI B). This would come with the additional motivation that more layers would provide greater reinforcement or protection.
Regarding the limitation “or different from” is an optional limitation and need not be taught by the prior art of Liu.
Regarding claim 19, Liu suggests the limitation wherein when the adhesive buffer layer and the protective film layer are alternately stacked at least n+1 times in a stacking direction and (where n is a natural number equal to or greater than 1) (see rejection of claim1 above).
The limitation “a thickness of an n-th adhesive buffer layer is less than a thickness of an (n+1)-th adhesive buffer layer” would be considered that of a change in size. It is noted that a change in size, scale, proportionality and shape is not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); In Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). MPEP 2144.04[R-1].
A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the reinforcement layer of Liu with the dimensions (i.e., thicknesses of the n-th and (n+1)-th adhesive buffer layer) based on the prior art's intended application as in the present invention. Furthermore, adjusting the thicknesses of the n-th and (n+1)-th adhesive buffer layer would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention with the motivation of allowing or optimizing the ability to provide adhesion between the layers while being able to properly fold while handling the additional stress and fatigue of being repeatedly folded.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 9-11, and 20-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2022/0140263 A1) in view of Yoo (US 2010/0105442 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 22, 23, 26, 31, Liu teaches a glass-based flexible cover window (e.g., reinforcement layer) with improved strength and surface hardness comprising a planar portion formed so as to correspond to a planar region of a flexible display and a folding portion formed so as to be connected to the planar portion, the folding portion being formed so as to correspond to a folding region of the flexible display (para 40, 70-74, 81-82; fig 1, 6a).
Liu further teaches the reinforcement layer comprises a first optical clear adhesive layer (e.g., elastic buffer layer), a first colorless polyimide layer or ultra-thin film on a side of the first optical clear adhesive layer, a second optical clear adhesive layer (i.e., adhesive resin buffer layer) on a side of the first colorless polyimide layer, and a second colorless polyimide layer (i.e., protective film layer) on a side of the second optical clear adhesive layer; the reinforcement layer further comprises a hard coating layer on a side of the second colorless polyimide layer distal to the flexible substrate; and the reinforcement layer is a laminated layer of the glass and PI. (para 21, 25, 62).
With regard to the limitation “a flat glass substrate;” Liu teaches that ultra-thin glass layers are structural equivalents to polyimide films in that of the reinforcement layer and flexible substrates may comprise glass substrates (para 24, 79, 101); so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute ultra-thin glass for the first polyimide layer or ultra-thin film in the reinforcement layer, therein creating a flat glass substrate; wherein the front surface of the glass substrate being a surface opposite to where a display panel is disposed; since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); and, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding the limitations “the adhesive buffer layer and the protective film layer are alternately stacked at least n times on the front surface of the glass substrate (where n is a natural number equal to or greater than 1);” and “wherein a first adhesive buffer layer, a first protective film layer, a second adhesive buffer layer, and a second protective film layer are sequentially stacked on the front surface of the glass substrate, the first and second adhesive buffer layers correspond to the adhesive buffer layer, and the first and second protective film layers correspond to the protective film layer;” Liu teaches embodiments wherein the reinforcement layer comprises an ultra-thin glass layer (i.e., flat glass substrate), a second optical clear adhesive layer (i.e., first adhesive buffer layer) on a side of the ultra-thin glass layer distal to the flexible substrate, and a colorless polyimide layer on a side of the second optical clear adhesive layer (i.e., first adhesive buffer layer) distal to the flexible substrate; wherein the reinforcement layer may include two one colorless polyimide (and therein a third adhesive layer or second adhesive buffer layer to attach the second polyimide layer to the first polyimide layer) to enhance the reliability testing of the flexible display (para 93, 94).
Therefore, Liu would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention an embodiment wherein the adhesive buffer layer and the protective film layer are alternately stacked at least n times on the front surface of the glass substrate (where n is a natural number equal to or greater than 1); and wherein a first adhesive buffer layer, a first protective film layer, a second adhesive buffer layer, and a second protective film layer are sequentially stacked on the front surface of the glass substrate, the first and second adhesive buffer layers correspond to the adhesive buffer layer, and the first and second protective film layers correspond to the protective film layer.
Regarding the limitation “wherein a thickness of the second protective film layer is greater than a thickness of the first protective film layer;” Liu teaches examples wherein the thickness of the first colorless polyimide layer is ranges from 35 μm to 100 μm (e.g., 80 μm); and thickness of the second colorless polyimide layer ranges from 35 μm to 100 μm (para 89, 101); which would have suggested values for the thickness of the second colorless polyimide layer greater than 80 μm, i.e., wherein a thickness of the second protective film layer is greater than a thickness of the first protective film layer.
Liu fails to suggest a glass substrate having an embossed or engraved uneven pattern formed thereat.
Yoo teach displays (e.g., touch displays or flexible displays) with an overlay glass layer; wherein a plurality of numerals, characters, and symbols may be engraved on the glass layer (para 37, 38, 63, 68, 138; figs 2, 7c).
Therefore, per the teachings of Yoo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to engrave the glass substrate of Liu to display a plurality of numerals, characters, and symbols such as a logo, brand name, or trademark and/or numerals for dial function and/or characters and/or symbols for device function.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Liu teaches or would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the planar portion and the folding portion of the glass substrate have the same thickness (figs 1-6b); and Yoo teaches or would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the engraved uneven pattern is formed at the front surface (para 37, 38, 63, 68, 138; figs 2, 7c). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the engravings of Yoo to indicate the folding area of the glass substrate and therein the folding display on which it is used (i.e., the engraved uneven pattern is formed at the folding portion of the glass substrate).
Regarding the limitation “wherein neither the thickness of the folding portion nor thickness of the planar portion includes a height of the embossed or engraved uneven pattern,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to exclude the height of the embossed or engraved uneven pattern from the thickness of the folding portion or the thickness of the planar portion, since omission of an element and its function (e.g., contribution to height) is obvious if the function of the element is not desired (MPEP § 2144.04 II). Furthermore, this limitation appears to be that of a definition or determination of a measurement, and does not appear to add further structure to the embodiment of the instant claim(s).
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Yoo teaches or would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the engraved uneven pattern is formed at the front surface (para 37, 38, 63, 68, 138; figs 2, 7c). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use the engravings of Yoo to indicate the folding area of the glass substrate and therein the folding display on which it is used (i.e., the engraved uneven pattern is formed at the folding portion of the glass substrate).
The limitation “wherein at least one surface of the folding portion of the glass substrate comprises an inclined portion, whereby a thickness of the folding portion is less than a thickness of the planar portion” of the instant claims would be considered that of a change in shape. It is noted that change in size, scale, proportionality and shape is not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); In Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). MPEP 2144.04[R-1].
A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the reinforcement layer of Liu with the dimensions (i.e., shapes of the glass substrate) based on the prior art's intended application as in the present invention. Furthermore, adjusting the shape of or in the folding portion the glass substrate would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention with the motivation of allowing or optimizing the ability of the glass substrate to provide protection while being able to properly fold while handling the additional stress and fatigue of being repeatedly folded.
Regarding the limitation “wherein neither the thickness of the folding portion nor thickness of the planar portion includes a height of the embossed or engraved uneven pattern,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to exclude the height of the embossed or engraved uneven pattern from the thickness of the folding portion or the thickness of the planar portion, since omission of an element and its function (e.g., contribution to height) is obvious if the function of the element is not desired (MPEP § 2144.04 II). Furthermore, this limitation appears to be that of a definition or determination of a measurement, and does not appear to add further structure to the embodiment of the instant claim(s).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the glass substrate (e.g., ultra-thin glass and planar and folding portions) may have a thickness of 10 to 50 µm (para 58), and this ranges lies within the ranges of the instant claim.
Regarding claim 20, Liu teaches or would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the planar portion and the folding portion of the glass substrate have the same thickness (figs 1-6b).
Regarding claims 21, 29, and 30, the limitation(s) of the instant claim would be considered that of a change in shape and/or. It is noted that change in size, scale, proportionality and shape is not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); In Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). MPEP 2144.04[R-1].
A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the reinforcement layer of Liu with the dimensions (i.e., shapes and/or size of the glass substrate) based on the prior art's intended application as in the present invention. Furthermore, adjusting the shape of or in the folding portion the glass substrate would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention with the motivation of allowing or optimizing the ability of the glass substrate to provide protection while being able to properly fold while handling the additional stress and fatigue of being repeatedly folded.
Regarding the limitation “wherein neither the thickness of the folding portion nor thickness of the planar portion includes a height of the embossed or engraved uneven pattern,” it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to exclude the height of the embossed or engraved uneven pattern from the thickness of the folding portion or the thickness of the planar portion, since omission of an element and its function (e.g., contribution to height) is obvious if the function of the element is not desired (MPEP § 2144.04 II). Furthermore, this limitation appears to be that of a definition or determination of a measurement, and does not appear to add further structure to the embodiment of the instant claim(s).
Regarding claim 24, Liu teaches or would have suggested to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention the films of a uniform thickness and composition (para 24-26, 52-54; figs 1-6b) which would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention that of a uniform reinforcement layer, i.e., wherein a strength of the protective film layer at the planar portion and a strength of the protective film layer at the folding portion are equal to each other.
Regarding claim 25, Liu teaches the above flexible display module provided by the embodiment of the present disclosure, the thickness of the reinforcement layer 400 ranges from 10 μm to 150 μm (para 52); so each layer (i.e., the second polyimide layer or the protective film layer) of the overall reinforcement layer would have thicknesses of less than these ranger limitations. These ranges substantially overlap that of the instant claims. It has been held that overlapping ranges are sufficient to establish prima facie obviousness. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have selected from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Liu, because overlapping ranges have been held to establish prima facie obviousness (MPEP § 2144.05).
Regarding claim 27 and specifically the limitations wherein when the adhesive buffer layer and the protective film layer are alternately stacked at least n+1 times in a stacking direction, compositions of n-th and (n+1)-th adhesive buffer layers are identical to each other, and compositions of n-th and (n+1)-th protective film layers are identical to each other (where n is a natural number equal to or greater than 1); one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention would have been merely duplicating the second optical clear adhesive layer (i.e., adhesive buffer layer) and the second colorless polyimide layer to arrive at this embodiment; and duplication of parts is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.04 VI B). This would come with the additional motivation that more layers would provide greater reinforcement or protection.
Regarding the limitation “or different from” is an optional limitation and need not be taught by the prior art of Liu.
Regarding claim 28, Liu suggests the limitation wherein when the adhesive buffer layer and the protective film layer are alternately stacked at least n+1 times in a stacking direction and (where n is a natural number equal to or greater than 1) (see rejection of claim1 above).
The limitation “a thickness of an n-th adhesive buffer layer is less than a thickness of an (n+1)-th adhesive buffer layer” would be considered that of a change in size. It is noted that a change in size, scale, proportionality and shape is not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); In Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). MPEP 2144.04[R-1].
A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the reinforcement layer of Liu with the dimensions (i.e., thicknesses of the n-th and (n+1)-th adhesive buffer layer) based on the prior art's intended application as in the present invention. Furthermore, adjusting the thicknesses of the n-th and (n+1)-th adhesive buffer layer would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention with the motivation of allowing or optimizing the ability to provide adhesion between the layers while being able to properly fold while handling the additional stress and fatigue of being repeatedly folded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends Liu fails to teach or suggest the claimed combination of (i) repeated alternating stacking of adhesive buffer and protective film layers (n+1 structure); (ii) the specific sequential stacking arrangement of first and second layers; (iii) the thickness relationship between stacked protective film layers; and (iv) and further, the progressive thickness gradient across both adhesive buffer layers and protective film layers as now explicitly recited in claims 19 and 28.
This is not persuasive. Regarding (i), (ii), (ii), , Liu teaches a glass-based flexible cover window (e.g., reinforcement layer) comprising a planar portion formed so as to correspond to a planar region of a flexible display and a folding portion formed so as to be connected to the planar portion, the folding portion being formed so as to correspond to a folding region of the flexible display (para 40, 70-74, 81-82; fig 1, 6a).
Liu further teaches the reinforcement layer comprises a first optical clear adhesive layer (e.g., elastic buffer layer), a first colorless polyimide layer or ultra-thin film on a side of the first optical clear adhesive layer, a second optical clear adhesive layer (i.e., adhesive resin buffer layer) on a side of the first colorless polyimide layer, and a second colorless polyimide layer (i.e., protective film layer) on a side of the second optical clear adhesive layer; the reinforcement layer further comprises a hard coating layer on a side of the second colorless polyimide layer distal to the flexible substrate; and the reinforcement layer is a laminated layer of the glass and PI. (para 21, 25, 62).
With regard to the limitation “a flat glass substrate;” Liu teaches that ultra-thin glass layers are structural equivalents to polyimide films in that of the reinforcement layer and flexible substrates may comprise glass substrates (para 24, 79, 101); so it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to substitute ultra-thin glass for the first polyimide layer or ultra-thin film in the reinforcement layer, therein creating a flat glass substrate; wherein the front surface of the glass substrate being a surface opposite to where a display panel is disposed; since substituting known equivalents for the same purpose as recognized in prior art is prima facie obvious (MPEP § 2144.06 II); and, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use (MPEP § 2144.07).
Regarding the limitations “the adhesive buffer layer and the protective film layer are alternately stacked at least n times on the front surface of the glass substrate (where n is a natural number equal to or greater than 1);” and “wherein a first adhesive buffer layer, a first protective film layer, a second adhesive buffer layer, and a second protective film layer are sequentially stacked on the front surface of the glass substrate, the first and second adhesive buffer layers correspond to the adhesive buffer layer, and the first and second protective film layers correspond to the protective film layer;” Liu teaches embodiments wherein the reinforcement layer comprises an ultra-thin glass layer (i.e., flat glass substrate), a second optical clear adhesive layer (i.e., first adhesive buffer layer) on a side of the ultra-thin glass layer distal to the flexible substrate, and a colorless polyimide layer on a side of the second optical clear adhesive layer (i.e., first adhesive buffer layer) distal to the flexible substrate; wherein the reinforcement layer may include two one colorless polyimide (and therein a third adhesive layer or second adhesive buffer layer to attach the second polyimide layer to the first polyimide layer) to enhance the reliability testing of the flexible display (para 93, 94).
Therefore, Liu would have suggested or otherwise rendered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention an embodiment wherein the adhesive buffer layer and the protective film layer are alternately stacked at least n times on the front surface of the glass substrate (where n is a natural number equal to or greater than 1); and wherein a first adhesive buffer layer, a first protective film layer, a second adhesive buffer layer, and a second protective film layer are sequentially stacked on the front surface of the glass substrate, the first and second adhesive buffer layers correspond to the adhesive buffer layer, and the first and second protective film layers correspond to the protective film layer.
Regarding the limitation “wherein a thickness of the second protective film layer is greater than a thickness of the first protective film layer;” Liu teaches examples wherein the thickness of the first colorless polyimide layer is ranges from 35 μm to 100 μm (e.g., 80 μm); and thickness of the second colorless polyimide layer ranges from 35 μm to 100 μm (para 89, 101); which would have suggested values for the thickness of the second colorless polyimide layer greater than 80 μm, i.e., wherein a thickness of the second protective film layer is greater than a thickness of the first protective film layer.
Regarding (iv), Liu suggests the limitation wherein when the adhesive buffer layer and the protective film layer are alternately stacked at least n+1 times in a stacking direction and (where n is a natural number equal to or greater than 1) (see rejection of claim1 above).
The limitation “a thickness of an n-th adhesive buffer layer is less than a thickness of an (n+1)-th adhesive buffer layer” would be considered that of a change in size. It is noted that a change in size, scale, proportionality and shape is not patently distinct over the prior art absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed invention is significant. See In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966); In Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). MPEP 2144.04[R-1].
A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Where the only difference between the prior art and the claims is a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and the device having the claimed dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device, Gardner V. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to provide the reinforcement layer of Liu with the dimensions (i.e., thicknesses of the n-th and (n+1)-th adhesive buffer layer) based on the prior art's intended application as in the present invention. Furthermore, adjusting the thicknesses of the n-th and (n+1)-th adhesive buffer layer would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention with the motivation of allowing or optimizing the ability to provide adhesion between the layers while being able to properly fold while handling the additional stress and fatigue of being repeatedly folded.
In response to applicant's argument that the specification demonstrates that increasing the number of alternating layers (e.g., from one to two stacks) results in measurable and non-linear improvements in impact resistance and strength, such as withstanding higher drop heights and greater applied forces, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Furthermore, Liu teaches embodiments wherein the protective layer comprises multiple layers or material, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have understood that adding additional layers would result in greater protection (i.e., impact resistance and strength).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
NATHAN VAN SELL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/NATHAN L VAN SELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783