DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission dated 12/11/2025 has been entered.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the drawings filed 10/23/2023 are not proper black and white line drawings as they are quite light in coloring, leading to “fuzzy” line definition. This is frequently the result of drawings which are filed in a very dark grey (so dark that it is appears black such as RGB value 37, 37, 37) instead of pure black (RGB value 0, 0, 0). While very dark grey may appear black, it causes artifacts and inconsistent line thickness. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
In the present case, the abstract repeats information given in the title.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 contains a typographical error. “a head in of each lift cord” should be “a head end of each lift cord”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “less” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “less” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “reduced” in claim 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “reduced” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 2-4 are at least rejected for depending from rejected claim 1. Dependent claims contain all limitations of the claims from which they depend, and therefore inherit their clarity issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. 9,708,851 – Huang (including PG Pub US 2015/0275573 A1 – Huang, hereinafter Huang573, see column 1, lines 34-36; The entire disclosure of the aforementioned commonly owned and co-pending U.S. Patent Application is incorporated herein in its entirety), in view of US Pat. 5,957,184 – Gross et al., hereinafter Gross.
Regarding claim 1.
Huang discloses a horizontal synchronized balancing system (See fig 3 of Huang573) comprising:
a rail (10, fig 3, Huang573) having an inward recessed space (See fig 3 of Huang573);
at least two (at 51 and 52, fig 3 of Huang573) friction balance point metal (column 3, lines 60-61 of Huang; protective sleeves 423 are made of metal) rollers (423, fig 2 of Huang), each friction balance point metal rollers of the friction balance point metal rollers including at least one metal rod (421, fig 2 of Huang; column 3, lines 62-63; The core pins 421 may be made of metal,) and at least one metal roller (423, fig 2 of Huang) fitted on the metal rod (See figs 2 and 3 of Huang) and
a tape drum support (3, fig 1 of Huang) having two recesses (one in each of 320 and 322, fig 1 of Huang), the tape drum support being secured in the two sides of the rail (as in fig 3 of Huang573),
each metal rod (421, fig 2 of Huang) of the at least one metal rod of each friction balance point metal roller of the at least two friction balance point metal rollers being secured in the recesses of the tape drum support (See fig 3 of Huang) without possibility of rotation (Column 3, lines 38-39 of Huang; Moreover, the core pin 421 may or may not be rotatable relative to the corresponding mounting seat 41.);
at least two lift cords (46 and 47, fig 3 of Huang573), a head in of each lift cord of the at least two lift cords being connected on the cord reel (45, fig 5 of Huang573) of the spring box (40, fig 5 of Huang573), while a tail end of each lift cord of the at least two lift cords (2, fig 3 of Huang) being conducted through a lower side of a corresponding friction balance point metal roller (as it wraps under at 400, fig 3 of Huang) and the wound up and over the corresponding friction balance point metal roller (as it wraps over at 402, fig 3 of Huang) and then downward conducted through the hole (at 311, fig 3 of Huang) at the middle of the tape drum support (see fig 3 of Huang) and conducted through a slot of each slat (31, fig 3, Huang573) to connect with a bottom rail (20, fig 3, Huang573), by means of the tension support of the cord reel (45, fig 5 of Huang573) in the spring box (40, fig 5 of Huang573) and the weight support of the bottom rail (20, fig 3, Huang573) and the slats (31, fig 3, Huang573) and the synchronization provided by the friction balance point metal rollers (423, fig 2 of Huang), the bottom rail (20, fig 3, Huang573) and the slats (31, fig 3, Huang573) being always kept in the balancing position and balancing weight, also, at least two lift cords (46 and 47, fig 3 of Huang573) having balancing synchronization tension (See fig 3 of Huang573, whereby in case the tension of the cord reel fails to match the weight of the bottom rail (20, fig 3, Huang573) and the slats (31, fig 3, Huang573) and cannot be balanced therewith so as to move the bottom rail and the slats up or down to reach a desired position; wherein
the number of the friction balance point metal rollers (423, fig 2 of Huang) is increased (See fig 3 of Huang) or (Examiner notes that the following is an alternate limitation and not required to be taught) at least one weight rod is placed into the bottom rail so as to enhance the synchronization of the balance point metal rollers so that the tension of the cord reel can match the weight of the bottom rail to achieve a stable balanced state, whereby a user can pull or touch and lift any portion of the bottom rail with a hand to spread the slats downward or collect the slats upward and achieve a locating effect, in addition, by means of rotating the metal roller of the friction balance point metal rollers, the ascending and descending operation of the slats and the bottom rail are performed with less strength,
wherein each metal roller (423, fig 2 of Huang) of the at least one metal roller is fixed in an axial position (See figs 1-3 of Huang) along a corresponding metal rod (421, fig 2 of Huang) of the at least one metal rod of each friction balance point metal roller of the at least two friction balance point metal rollers that is spaced apart from the recesses (one in each of 320 and 322, fig 1 of Huang) of the tape drum support by two internal walls (3204, fig 2 of Huang) of the friction balance point metal roller;
the two internal walls (3204, fig 2 of Huang) are integrally formed with the friction balance point metal roller (See fig 2 of Huang).
Huang does not disclose brass rollers or steel rod.
However, Gross teaches brass rollers (48, fig 22) and steel rod (46, fig 22) (Column 5, lines 10-13; The tilter spool shaft 46, spool 48 and spool spur gear 50 may be formed of thermoplastic such as nylon, phenolic, polymide, acetal, polyester, or metal such as steel, iron, brass, aluminum, zinc composites and the like.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Huang with the brass rollers and steel rod of Gross. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of optimizing the friction characteristics of the rollers and rod.
Regarding claim 3.
The combination of Huang and Gross teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Huang further discloses a gap is defined between the brass roller (including 422 and 423, fig 2) and the steel rod (421, fig 2) fitted in the brass roller (else the roller would not roll), whereby (Examiner notes the following is functional language, and would naturally follow from the teachings of the combination) the steel rod only contacts the brass roller by a line so the brass roller is easily rotatable to save strength.
Regarding claim 4.
The combination of Huang and Gross teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Huang (in Huang573) further discloses the tension applied to the lift cord connected with the cord reel (Paragraph [0036] To sum up, during adjustment of the window shade of this invention, a user can directly apply an external force to the lower rail 20 to raise or lower the lower rail 20 to a desired position without additional operation.) is greater than the weight of the bottom rail and the slats (else the bottom rail and slats would not stay at a desired position).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Huang and Gross as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of PG Pub. US 2021/0222487 A1 – Luo et al., hereinafter Luo.
Regarding claim 2.
The combination of Huang and Gross teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach an outer circumferential surface of the brass roller is a polished face, whereby the frictional force between the lift cord and the brass roller is reduced so as to prolong the lifetime of the lift cord.
However, Luo teaches an outer circumferential surface of the roller (312c and d, fig 33) is a polished face (Paragraph [0081]; Understandably, if the third rotating member 312c and the fourth rotating member 312d are replaced by pins or rods made of certain materials which are smooth enough to make the friction between these components and the first cord 43a and the second cord 43b negligible), whereby (Examiner notes the following is functional language, and would naturally follow from the teachings of the combination) the frictional force between the lift cord and the brass roller is reduced so as to prolong the lifetime of the lift cord.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Huang and Gross with the polished face of Luo. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of optimizing the friction characteristics of the rollers.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Huang does not teach (Claim 1) each brass roller of the at least one brass roller is fixed in an axial position along a corresponding steel rod of the at least one steel rod of each friction balance point brass roller of the at least two friction balance point brass rollers that is spaced apart from the recesses of the tape drum support by two internal walls of the friction balance point brass roller; nor does Huang teach the two internal walls are integrally formed with the friction balance point brass roller. This is not persuasive, as Huang discloses *[see not below] each brass roller (423, fig 2) of the at least one brass roller is fixed in an axial position (See figs 1-3) along a corresponding steel rod (421, fig 2) of the at least one steel rod of each friction balance point brass roller of the at least two friction balance point brass rollers that is spaced apart from the recesses (in the tops of 320 and 322, fig 2) of the tape drum support by two internal walls (3204, fig 2; see also column 3, lines 19-24; In this embodiment, each of the first securing portion 3201 and the second securing portion 3221 has an opposing pair of wall parts 3204 respectively proximate to the arm portions 411 of the mounting seat 41 of the corresponding first cord retarding module 400 or second cord retarding module 402.) of the friction balance point brass roller; furthermore, Huang discloses the two internal walls are integrally formed with the friction balance point brass roller (See fig 2).
[*note: as advanced in the above rejection Huang teaches the argued components as metal, and Gross is relied upon for specifically brass and steel]
Applicant further argues that Huang573, Gross, and Luo do not teach (Claim 1) each brass roller of the at least one brass roller is fixed in an axial position along a corresponding steel rod of the at least one steel rod of each friction balance point brass roller of the at least two friction balance point brass rollers that is spaced apart from the recesses of the tape drum support by two internal walls of the friction balance point brass roller; nor do Gross et al. teach the two internal walls are integrally formed with the friction balance point brass roller. This is not persuasive, as Huang573, Gross, and Luo are not relied upon to teach the cited limitations.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634