DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of Amendment filed September 22, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 10, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (Foreign Patent Document No.: CN 114498977 A) in view of Sano et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2012/0200193 A1).
For claim 1, Shi et al. disclose the claimed invention which comprises a central core (reference numeral 111, see figure 14), a plurality of peripheral cores (reference numeral 112, see figure 14), and a sleeve (reference numeral 120, see figure 14), wherein: the central core comprises: an axial hole (i.e. center of rotor 110, see figure 14) that penetrates along an axial direction (see figure 14), and a plurality of mounting positions (i.e. peripheral portion of central core 111 in which peripheral cores 112 are disposed, see figures 14, 15) distributed along a circumferential direction of the central core (see figures 14, 15); the plurality of peripheral cores (reference numeral 112) and the central core (reference numeral 111) are accommodated in the sleeve (reference numeral 120, see figure 14), the plurality of peripheral cores (reference numeral 112) are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of mounting positions (see figures 14, 15), each peripheral core (reference numeral 112) is disposed in a corresponding mounting position (see figures 14, 15); each peripheral core (reference numeral 112) is spaced apart from the central core (reference numeral 111) to form a first separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which one of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15), a second separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which another of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15), and a third separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in between magnets 200a, see figure 14) that communicate with each other (see figures 14, 15); the first separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which one of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15) and the second separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which another of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15) form a first included angle less than 180° facing the sleeve (reference numeral 120) and are respectively configured to accommodate a first permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a) and a second permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a, see figure 14); the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a) are disposed on two sides of the third separation gap (i.e. gap 1131 in between magnets 200a, see figure 14), and the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a) are respectively spaced apart from the sleeve (reference numeral 120) to form a first magnetic isolation gap and a second magnetic isolation gap (i.e. portion of gaps 1131 adjacent to sleeve 120, see figure 14); and each peripheral core (reference numeral 112) is provided with an open slot (reference numeral 1122, figures 15, 16), the open slot is configured to accommodate a third permanent magnet and a fourth permanent magnet (figure 16 shows third and fourth magnets 200b in open slot 1122). Shi et al. however do not specifically disclose the third permanent magnet and the fourth permanent magnet being respectively spaced apart from an end wall of the open slot to form a first magnetic isolation slot and a second magnetic isolation slot, wherein each peripheral core comprises a first magnetic bridge and a second magnetic bridge, and wherein the first magnetic bridge is formed between the first magnetic isolation slot and an edge of the peripheral core, and the second magnetic bridge is formed between the second magnetic isolation slot and the edge of the peripheral core.
Sano et al. disclose a core with an open slot (reference numeral 28, see figure 7) having two permanent magnets (reference numeral 26), where the permanent magnets are spaced apart from an end wall of the open slot (reference numeral 28) forming two magnetic isolation slots (see annotated figure below of Sano et al.), and having two magnetic bridges (see annotated figure below of Sano et al.) formed between the magnetic isolation slots and an edge of the core (i.e. magnetic bridges formed on the outer peripheral portion of the core 12, see annotated figure below of Sano et al.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the magnets spaced apart from the end wall of the open slot and to form the magnetic bridges as disclosed by Sano et al. for the third and fourth permanent magnets in the peripheral core of Shi et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the flux characteristics of the device.
For claim 14, Shi et al. disclose the claimed invention which comprises a hollow stator (See English translation of Shi et al., page 2, claim 13) and a rotor (See English translation of Shi et al., page 2, claim 13) disposed in the hollow stator (See English translation of Shi et al., page 2, claim 13), wherein an air gap (See English translation of Shi et al., page 2, claim 13) is formed between a periphery of the rotor and an inner wall of the hollow stator (See English translation of Shi et al., page 2, claim 13), wherein the rotor comprises a central core (reference numeral 111, see figure 14), a plurality of peripheral cores (reference numeral 112, see figure 14), and a sleeve (reference numeral 120, see figure 14), and wherein: the central core comprises: an axial hole (i.e. center of rotor 110, see figure 14) that penetrates along an axial direction (see figure 14), and a plurality of mounting positions (i.e. peripheral portion of central core 111 in which peripheral cores 112 are disposed, see figures 14, 15) distributed along a circumferential direction of the central core (see figures 14, 15); the plurality of peripheral cores (reference numeral 112) and the central core (reference numeral 111) are accommodated in the sleeve (reference numeral 120, see figure 14), the plurality of peripheral cores (reference numeral 112) are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of mounting positions (see figures 14, 15), each peripheral core (reference numeral 112) is disposed in a corresponding mounting position (see figures 14, 15); each peripheral core (reference numeral 112) is spaced apart from the central core (reference numeral 111) to form a first separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which one of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15), a second separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which another of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15), and a third separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in between magnets 200a, see figure 14) that communicate with each other (see figures 14, 15); the first separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which one of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15) and the second separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which another of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15) form a first included angle less than 180° facing the sleeve (reference numeral 120) and are respectively configured to accommodate a first permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a) and a second permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a, see figure 14); the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a) are disposed on two sides of the third separation gap (i.e. gap 1131 in between magnets 200a, see figure 14), and the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a) are respectively spaced apart from the sleeve (reference numeral 120) to form a first magnetic isolation gap and a second magnetic isolation gap (i.e. portion of gaps 1131 adjacent to sleeve 120, see figure 14); and each peripheral core (reference numeral 112) is provided with an open slot (reference numeral 1122, figures 15, 16), the open slot is configured to accommodate a third permanent magnet and a fourth permanent magnet (figure 16 shows third and fourth magnets 200b in open slot 1122). Shi et al. however do not specifically disclose the third permanent magnet and the fourth permanent magnet being respectively spaced apart from an end wall of the open slot to form a first magnetic isolation slot and a second magnetic isolation slot, wherein each peripheral core comprises a first magnetic bridge and a second magnetic bridge, and wherein the first magnetic bridge is formed between the first magnetic isolation slot and an edge of the peripheral core, and the second magnetic bridge is formed between the second magnetic isolation slot and the edge of the peripheral core.
Sano et al. disclose a core with an open slot (reference numeral 28, see figure 7) having two permanent magnets (reference numeral 26), where the permanent magnets are spaced apart from an end wall of the open slot (reference numeral 28) forming two magnetic isolation slots (see annotated figure of Sano et al. shown above for claim 1), and having two magnetic bridges (see annotated figure of Sano et al. shown above for claim 1) formed between the magnetic isolation slots and an edge of the core (i.e. magnetic bridges formed on the outer peripheral portion of the core 12, see annotated figure of Sano et al. shown above for claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the magnets spaced apart from the end wall of the open slot and to form the magnetic bridges as disclosed by Sano et al. for the third and fourth permanent magnets in the peripheral core of Shi et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the flux characteristics of the device.
For claims 2 and 15, Shi et al. already disclose the magnets (reference numerals 200a) being fitted in the gap (reference numeral 1131, see figure 14), i.e. the first permanent magnet is in transition fit or interference fit with the first separation gap, and the second permanent magnet is in transition fit or interference fit with the second separation gap.
For claims 3 and 16, Shi et al. disclose a width size of the first separation gap being equal to a width size of the second separation gap (i.e. gaps 1131 in which the magnets are disposed have equal width size, see figures 14, 15), and a width size of the third separation gap (i.e. gap 1131 in between magnets 200a, figure 14) being less than or equal to the width size of the first separation gap (see figures 14, 15).
For claims 4 and 17, Shi et al. disclose the open slot comprising a first magnetic slot (reference numeral 1122 in which a first magnet 200b is disposed, see figure 16), a third magnetic isolation slot (i.e. gap in between a first and second magnet 200b is disposed, see figure 16), and a second magnetic slot (reference numeral 1122 in which a second magnet 200b is disposed, see figure 16) that communicate with each other, the first magnetic slot and the second magnetic slot (reference numeral 1122) forming a second included angle less than 180° facing the sleeve (reference numeral 120) and being respectively configured to accommodate the third permanent magnet and the fourth permanent magnet (reference numeral 200b, see figure 16), and the third permanent magnet and the fourth permanent magnet (reference numeral 200b) being disposed on two sides of the third magnetic isolation slot (i.e. portion of gap 1122 in between magnets 200b, see figure 16).
For claims 5 and 18, Shi et al. already disclose the magnets (reference numeral 200b) being fitted in the gap (reference numeral 1122, see figure 16), i.e. the third permanent magnet is in transition fit or interference fit with the first magnetic slot, and the fourth permanent magnet is in transition fit or interference fit with the second magnetic slot.
For claims 6 and 19, Shi et al. disclose a width size of the first magnetic slot being equal to a width size of the second magnetic slot (i.e. width of gap 1122 in which the magnets 200b are disposed being equal in width, see figure 16), and a width size of the third magnetic isolation slot (i.e. portion of gap 1122 in between magnets 200b) being less than or equal to the width size of the first magnetic slot (see figure 16).
For claim 7, Shi et al. disclose the third magnetic isolation slot (i.e. gap in between magnets 200b) being parallel to the third separation gap (i.e. gap in between magnets 200a, see figure 16).
For claim 9, Shi et al. disclose the open slot (reference numeral 1122) comprising a first magnetic slot and a second magnetic slot (i.e. portion of gap 1122 in which the magnets 200b are disposed, see figure 16), the first magnetic slot and the second magnetic slot (i.e. portion of gap 1122 in which the magnets 200b are disposed, see figure 16) being spaced apart (see figure 16), and the first magnetic slot and the second magnetic slot (i.e. portion of gap 1122 in which the magnets 200b are disposed, see figure 16) forming a second included angle less than 180° facing the sleeve (reference numeral 120, see figure 16).
For claim 10, Shi et al. disclose the central core comprising a central core body (reference numeral 111) and a plurality of connecting portions (i.e. radially extending portions of core 111) distributed at spacings along a circumferential direction of the central core body (see figure 15), each of the plurality of connecting portions (i.e. radially extending portions of core 111) being connected to a periphery of the central core body (see figure 15), a quantity of the connecting portions (i.e. radially extending portions of core 111) being equal to a quantity of the peripheral cores (reference numeral 112, see figure 15), and every two adjacent connecting portions (i.e. radially extending portions of core 111) and the central core body form a mounting position (i.e. portion of core 111 in which the peripheral cores 112 are disposed, see figure 15).
For claim 12, Shi et al. disclose a hole formed in the peripheral core (i.e. circular hole formed in between the central portion of the gap 1131 and the open slot 1122, see figure 15), i.e. each peripheral core is provided with a positioning through-hole along an axial direction of the peripheral core.
For claim 13, Shi et al. disclose the rotor further comprising a rotating shaft (reference numeral 22, see figure 6), and the rotating shaft (reference numeral 22) penetrates through the axial hole (i.e. hole within core 21, figure 6) along an axial direction of the rotating shaft (i.e. shaft 22 penetrating through core 21, see figure 6).
For claim 20, Shi et al. disclose the claimed invention which comprises a vehicle frame (See English translation of Shi et al., page 10, second to last paragraph) and a motor mounted to the vehicle frame (See English translation of Shi et al., page 10, second to last paragraph), wherein the motor comprises a hollow stator (See English translation of Shi et al., page 2, claim 13) and a rotor (See English translation of Shi et al., page 2, claim 13) disposed in the hollow stator (See English translation of Shi et al., page 2, claim 13), wherein an air gap (See English translation of Shi et al., page 2, claim 13) is formed between a periphery of the rotor and an inner wall of the hollow stator (See English translation of Shi et al., page 2, claim 13), wherein the rotor comprises a central core (reference numeral 111, see figure 14), a plurality of peripheral cores (reference numeral 112, see figure 14), and a sleeve (reference numeral 120, see figure 14), and wherein: the central core comprises: an axial hole (i.e. center of rotor 110, see figure 14) that penetrates along an axial direction (see figure 14), and a plurality of mounting positions (i.e. peripheral portion of central core 111 in which peripheral cores 112 are disposed, see figures 14, 15) distributed along a circumferential direction of the central core (see figures 14, 15); the plurality of peripheral cores (reference numeral 112) and the central core (reference numeral 111) are accommodated in the sleeve (reference numeral 120, see figure 14), the plurality of peripheral cores (reference numeral 112) are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of mounting positions (see figures 14, 15), each peripheral core (reference numeral 112) is disposed in a corresponding mounting position (see figures 14, 15); each peripheral core (reference numeral 112) is spaced apart from the central core (reference numeral 111) to form a first separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which one of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15), a second separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which another of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15), and a third separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in between magnets 200a, see figure 14) that communicate with each other (see figures 14, 15); the first separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which one of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15) and the second separation gap (reference numeral 1131, in which another of magnets 200a is disposed, see figures 14, 15) form a first included angle less than 180° facing the sleeve (reference numeral 120) and are respectively configured to accommodate a first permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a) and a second permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a, see figure 14); the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a) are disposed on two sides of the third separation gap (i.e. gap 1131 in between magnets 200a, see figure 14), and the first permanent magnet and the second permanent magnet (reference numeral 200a) are respectively spaced apart from the sleeve (reference numeral 120) to form a first magnetic isolation gap and a second magnetic isolation gap (i.e. portion of gaps 1131 adjacent to sleeve 120, see figure 14); and each peripheral core (reference numeral 112) is provided with an open slot (reference numeral 1122, figures 15, 16), the open slot is configured to accommodate a third permanent magnet and a fourth permanent magnet (figure 16 shows third and fourth magnets 200b in open slot 1122). Shi et al. however do not specifically disclose the third permanent magnet and the fourth permanent magnet being respectively spaced apart from an end wall of the open slot to form a first magnetic isolation slot and a second magnetic isolation slot, wherein each peripheral core comprises a first magnetic bridge and a second magnetic bridge, and wherein the first magnetic bridge is formed between the first magnetic isolation slot and an edge of the peripheral core, and the second magnetic bridge is formed between the second magnetic isolation slot and the edge of the peripheral core.
Sano et al. disclose a core with an open slot (reference numeral 28, see figure 7) having two permanent magnets (reference numeral 26), where the permanent magnets are spaced apart from an end wall of the open slot (reference numeral 28) forming two magnetic isolation slots (see annotated figure of Sano et al. shown above for claim 1), and having two magnetic bridges (see annotated figure of Sano et al. shown above for claim 1) formed between the magnetic isolation slots and an edge of the core (i.e. magnetic bridges formed on the outer peripheral portion of the core 12, see annotated figure of Sano et al. shown above for claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the magnets spaced apart from the end wall of the open slot and to form the magnetic bridges as disclosed by Sano et al. for the third and fourth permanent magnets in the peripheral core of Shi et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the flux characteristics of the device.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. in view of Sano et al. as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Kinpara et al. (US Patent No.: 11258341).
For claim 8, Shi et al. in view of Sano et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the first included angle being less than the second included angle. Kinpara et al. disclose the angle formed by magnet slots 52 and 53 (see figure 5), i.e. first angle, being less than the angle formed by magnet slots 54 and 55 (see figure 5), i.e. second angle, and when this is applied to the first included angle and second included angle of Shi et al. in view of Sano et al. this would disclose the first included angle being less than the second included angle. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first included angle be less than the second included angle as disclosed by Kinpara et al. for the first and second included angle of Shi et al. in view of Sano et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the flux characteristics of the device.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. in view of Sano et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (Foreign Patent Document No.: CN 112271838 A).
For claim 11, Shi et al. in view of Sano et al. disclose the claimed invention except for an edge, of each peripheral core, closer to the sleeve being provided with a notch that faces the sleeve. Li et al. disclose an edge of the core (reference numeral 1) being provided with a notch (reference numeral 4, see figure 2), and when applied to the peripheral core of Shi et al. in view of Sano et al. this would disclose an edge, of each peripheral core, closer to the sleeve being provided with a notch that faces the sleeve. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the notch as disclosed by Li et al. for the edge of the peripheral core of Shi et al. in view of Sano et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the flux characteristics of the device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834