DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9, 10, 11, 13-15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al.
As to claim 1, Geisner teaches a headgear operation system comprising:
a sensor (Sensors 149/Sensors 2310a-e) coupled to headgear (Mobile Device 19/AR system 2307) and configured to receive a first location signal, the first location signal indicative of a first location of the headgear within a theme park (“…One embodiment of mobile device 19 includes a network interface 145, processor 146, memory 147, camera 148, sensors 149, and display 150, all in communication with each other. Network interface 145 allows mobile device 19 to connect to one or more networks 180. Network interface 145 may include a wireless network interface, a modem, and/or a wired network interface. Processor 146 allows mobile device 19 to execute computer readable instructions stored in memory 147 in order to perform processes discussed herein. Camera 148 may capture color images and/or depth images. Sensors 149 may generate motion and/or orientation information associated with mobile device 19. Sensors 149 may comprise an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Display 150 may display digital images and/or videos. Display 150 may comprise a see-through display…(Supplemental Information Providers…User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements…Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may include supplemental data for one or more events or locations for which the service is utilized. Event and/or location data can include supplemental event and location data 910 about one or more events known to occur within specific periods of time and/or about one or more locations that provide a customized experience. User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements...FIG. 6A is a flowchart describing one embodiment of method for providing context sensitive information to a user while that user is waiting. The process of FIG. 6A can be implemented using the system of FIG. 5A. For example, Supplemental Information Providers can be situated at different attractions in an amusement park, different areas of a museum, different areas of an airport, etc. In step 2502, the personal A/V apparatus connects to the local Supplemental Information Provider. In one embodiment, the personal A/V apparatus will connect to the closest local Supplemental Information Provider. For example, if the user is at an amusement park, each attraction may have its own Supplemental Information Provider and the user's personal A/V apparatus will automatically connect to the Supplemental Information Provider for the current attraction that the user is waiting in line for. In step 2504, the Supplemental Information Provider will verify that the connection between the personal A/V apparatus and the Supplemental Information Provider persists for a predefined amount of time (e.g., 5 minutes). This is to verify that the user is in fact waiting in line rather than just walking by the Supplemental Information Provider. GPS or other location based information may also be used to confirm that the user is waiting in line within a particular waiting area associated with the attraction or exhibit…” paragraphs 0040/0044/0046/0047/0049/0100/0104/0109/0154);
one or more electronic displays coupled to the headgear (Display 150) (“…One embodiment of mobile device 19 includes a network interface 145, processor 146, memory 147, camera 148, sensors 149, and display 150, all in communication with each other. Network interface 145 allows mobile device 19 to connect to one or more networks 180. Network interface 145 may include a wireless network interface, a modem, and/or a wired network interface. Processor 146 allows mobile device 19 to execute computer readable instructions stored in memory 147 in order to perform processes discussed herein. Camera 148 may capture color images and/or depth images. Sensors 149 may generate motion and/or orientation information associated with mobile device 19. Sensors 149 may comprise an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Display 150 may display digital images and/or videos. Display 150 may comprise a see-through display…In one example, mobile device 19 comprises a head-mounted display device (HMD) that provides an augmented reality environment or a mixed reality environment for an end user of the HMD. The HMD may comprise a video see-through and/or an optical see-through system. An optical see-through HMD worn by an end user may allow actual direct viewing of a real-world environment (e.g., via transparent lenses) and may, at the same time, project images of a virtual object into the visual field of the end user thereby augmenting the real-world environment perceived by the end user with the virtual object…” paragraphs 0040/0042); and
a controller communicatively coupled to the sensor and the one or more electronic displays (Processor 146/Processing Unit 236), wherein the controller comprises at least one processor configured to:
receive a first indication of the first location of the headgear within the theme park based on the first location signal (Camera 148/ Capture Device 213) wherein the first location is associated with a first theme of the theme park (“…One embodiment of mobile device 19 includes a network interface 145, processor 146, memory 147, camera 148, sensors 149, and display 150, all in communication with each other. Network interface 145 allows mobile device 19 to connect to one or more networks 180. Network interface 145 may include a wireless network interface, a modem, and/or a wired network interface. Processor 146 allows mobile device 19 to execute computer readable instructions stored in memory 147 in order to perform processes discussed herein. Camera 148 may capture color images and/or depth images. Sensors 149 may generate motion and/or orientation information associated with mobile device 19. Sensors 149 may comprise an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Display 150 may display digital images and/or videos. Display 150 may comprise a see-through display…FIG. 5A depicts one embodiment of an AR system 2307 for providing virtual object information associated with a particular location or a particular place of interest. A particular place of interest may include a department store, a furniture store, a car dealership, an amusement park, a museum, a zoo, or a person's work or residence. The particular place of interest may also include a classroom environment or other environment where information is being provided to a plurality of users simultaneously. The virtual object information may include 3-D maps of an environment and/or one or more virtual objects associated with an environment. To allow for the efficient storage and exchange of virtual objects, the one or more virtual objects may be transmitted using a predetermined and standardized file format…” paragraphs 0099/0101); and
cause the one or more electronic displays to display a first image associated with the first theme based on the first indication of the first location of the headgear (Display 150) (“…One embodiment of mobile device 19 includes a network interface 145, processor 146, memory 147, camera 148, sensors 149, and display 150, all in communication with each other. Network interface 145 allows mobile device 19 to connect to one or more networks 180. Network interface 145 may include a wireless network interface, a modem, and/or a wired network interface. Processor 146 allows mobile device 19 to execute computer readable instructions stored in memory 147 inorder to perform processes discussed herein. Camera 148 may capture color images and/or depth images. Sensors 149 may generate motion and/or orientation information associated with mobile device 19. Sensors 149 may comprise an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Display 150 may display digital images and/or videos. Display 150 may comprise a see-through display…In one example, mobile device 19 comprises a head-mounted display device (HMD) that provides an augmented reality environment or a mixed reality environment for an end user of the HMD. The HMD may comprise a video see-through and/or an optical see-through system. An optical see-through HMD worn by an end user may allow actual direct viewing of a real-world environment (e.g., via transparent lenses) and may, at the same time, project images of a virtual object into the visual field of the end user thereby augmenting the real-world environment perceived by the end user with the virtual object…” paragraphs 0040/0042).
Geisner is silent with reference to one or more electronic displays configured to face outward from a user perspective of the headgear Baker teaches one or more electronic displays configured to face outward from a user perspective of the headgear.
Baker teaches one or more electronic displays configured to face outward from a user perspective of the headgear Baker teaches one or more electronic displays configured to face outward from a user perspective of the headgear (“…A second display (108) is communicatively coupled to the processor and the first display, where the second display displays the animation of the gaze of the user away from the user…The HMD ensures that video images of eyes and eyebrows of the user are continuously captured, graphical images are continuously generated, and the graphical images are continuously displayed on an outward facing display of the HMD, while an augmented reality (AR) mode is disabled…a second display communicatively coupled to the processor and the first display, wherein the second display displays the animation of the gaze of the user away from the user…” Abstract/claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Geisner with the teaching of Baker because the teaching of Baker would improve the system of Geisner by providing a technique of allowing a display to capture graphical images around/in front of the user wearing the Head Mounted Device to satisfy the user’s desired need.
As to claim 2, Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises a location sensor, a proximity sensor, a Global Positioning System (GPS) sensor, a wireless receiver, a camera, or any combination thereof (GPS coordinates/GPS receiver 232) (“…In some embodiments, a mobile device, such as mobile device 19, may be in communication with a server in the cloud, such as server 15, and may provide to the server location information (e.g., the location of the mobile device via GPS coordinates) and/or image information (e.g., information regarding objects detected within a field of view of the mobile device) associated with the mobile device. In response, the server may transmit to the mobile device one or more virtual objects based upon the location information and/or image information provided to the server. In one embodiment, the mobile device 19 may specify a particular file format for receiving the one or more virtual objects and server 15 may transmit to the mobile device 19 the one or more virtual objects embodied within a file of the particular file format…Right temple 202 also includes biometric sensor 220, eye tracking system 221, ear phones 230, motion and orientation sensor 238, GPS receiver 232, power supply 239, and wireless interface 237, all in communication with processing unit 236. Biometric sensor 220 may include one or more electrodes for determining a pulse or heart rate associated with an end user of HMD 200 and a temperature sensor for determining a body temperature associated with the end user of HMD 200. In one embodiment, biometric sensor 220 includes a pulse rate measuring sensor which presses against the temple of the end user. Motion and orientation sensor 238 may include a three axis magnetometer, a three axis gyro, and/or a three axis accelerometer. In one embodiment, the motion and orientation sensor 238 may comprise an inertial measurement unit (IMU). The GPS receiver may determine a GPS location associated with HMD 200. Processing unit 236 may include one or more processors and a memory for storing computer readable instructions to be executed on the one or more processors. The memory may also store other types of data to be executed on the one or more processors…” paragraphs 0044/0047).
As to claim 9, Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, wherein the headgear comprises glasses or goggles (Eye Glass 19/216).
As to claim 10, Geisner teaches A headgear operation system comprising:
a display coupled to a headgear, wherein the display is configured to display a plurality of images (Display 150) (“…One embodiment of mobile device 19 includes a network interface 145, processor 146, memory 147, camera 148, sensors 149, and display 150, all in communication with each other. Network interface 145 allows mobile device 19 to connect to one or more networks 180. Network interface 145 may include a wireless network interface, a modem, and/or a wired network interface. Processor 146 allows mobile device 19 to execute computer readable instructions stored in memory 147 in order to perform processes discussed herein. Camera 148 may capture color images and/or depth images. Sensors 149 may generate motion and/or orientation information associated with mobile device 19. Sensors 149 may comprise an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Display 150 may display digital images and/or videos. Display 150 may comprise a see-through display…In one example, mobile device 19 comprises a head-mounted display device (HMD) that provides an augmented reality environment or a mixed reality environment for an end user of the HMD. The HMD may comprise a video see-through and/or an optical see-through system. An optical see-through HMD worn by an end user may allow actual direct viewing of a real-world environment (e.g., via transparent lenses) and may, at the same time, project images of a virtual object into the visual field of the end user thereby augmenting the real-world environment perceived by the end user with the virtual object…” paragraphs 0040/0042); and
a processor communicatively coupled to the display (Processor 146/ Processing Unit 236), wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a first indication of a first location of the headgear within a theme park (Camera 148), wherein the first location is associated with a first theme of the theme park (“…One embodiment of mobile device 19 includes a network interface 145, processor 146, memory 147, camera 148, sensors 149, and display 150, all in communication with each other. Network interface 145 allows mobile device 19 to connect to one or more networks 180. Network interface 145 may include a wireless network interface, a modem, and/or a wired network interface. Processor 146 allows mobile device 19 to execute computer readable instructions stored in memory 147 in order to perform processes discussed herein. Camera 148 may capture color images and/or depth images. Sensors 149 may generate motion and/or orientation information associated with mobile device 19. Sensors 149 may comprise an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Display 150 may display digital images and/or videos. Display 150 may comprise a see-through display…FIG. 5A depicts one embodiment of an AR system 2307 for providing virtual object information associated with a particular location or a particular place of interest. A particular place of interest may include a department store, a furniture store, a car dealership, an amusement park, a museum, a zoo, or a person's work or residence. The particular place of interest may also include a classroom environment or other environment where information is being provided to a plurality of users simultaneously. The virtual object information may include 3-D maps of an environment and/or one or more virtual objects associated with an environment. To allow for the efficient storage and exchange of virtual objects, the one or more virtual objects may be transmitted using a predetermined and standardized file format…” paragraphs 0099/0101);
cause the display to present a first image of the plurality of images associated with the first theme based on the first indication of the first location of the headgear within the theme park (Display 150) (“…One embodiment of mobile device 19 includes a network interface 145, processor 146, memory 147, camera 148, sensors 149, and display 150, all in communication with each other. Network interface 145 allows mobile device 19 to connect to one or more networks 180. Network interface 145 may include a wireless network interface, a modem, and/or a wired network interface. Processor 146 allows mobile device 19 to execute computer readable instructions stored in memory 147 in order to perform processes discussed herein. Camera 148 may capture color images and/or depth images. Sensors 149 may generate motion and/or orientation information associated with mobile device 19. Sensors 149 may comprise an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Display 150 may display digital images and/or videos. Display 150 may comprise a see-through display…In one example, mobile device 19 comprises a head-mounted display device (HMD) that provides an augmented reality environment or a mixed reality environment for an end user of the HMD. The HMD may comprise a video see-through and/or an optical see-through system. An optical see-through HMD worn by an end user may allow actual direct viewing of a real-world environment (e.g., via transparent lenses) and may, at the same time, project images of a virtual object into the visual field of the end user thereby augmenting the real-world environment perceived by the end user with the virtual object…” paragraphs 0040/0042);
receive a second indication of a second location of the headgear within the theme park (Camera 148), wherein the second location is associated with a second theme of the theme park (“…FIG. 2B depicts one embodiment of a portion of an HMD, such as mobile device 19 in FIG. 1. Only the right side of a head-mounted display device (HMD) 200 is depicted. HMD 200 includes right temple 202, nose bridge 204, eye glass 216, and eye glass frame 214. Right temple 202 includes a capture device 213 (e.g., a front facing camera and/or microphone) in communication with processing unit 236. The capture device 213 may include one or more cameras for recording digital images and/or videos and may transmit the visual recordings to processing unit 236. The one or more cameras may capture color information, IR information, and/or depth information. The capture device 213 may also include one or more microphones for recording sounds and may transmit the audio recordings to processing unit 236…One embodiment of mobile device 19 includes a network interface 145, processor 146, memory 147, camera 148, sensors 149, and display 150, all in communication with each other. Network interface 145 allows mobile device 19 to connect to one or more networks 180. Network interface 145 may include a wireless network interface, a modem, and/or a wired network interface. Processor 146 allows mobile device 19 to execute computer readable instructions stored in memory 147 in order to perform processes discussed herein. Camera 148 may capture color images and/or depth images. Sensors 149 may generate motion and/or orientation information associated with mobile device 19. Sensors 149 may comprise an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Display 150 may display digital images and/or videos. Display 150 may comprise a see-through display…FIG. 5A depicts one embodiment of an AR system 2307 for providing virtual object information associated with a particular location or a particular place of interest. A particular place of interest may include a department store, a furniture store, a car dealership, an amusement park, a museum, a zoo, or a person's work or residence. The particular place of interest may also include a classroom environment or other environment where information is being provided to a plurality of users simultaneously. The virtual object information may include 3-D maps of an environment and/or one or more virtual objects associated with an environment. To allow for the efficient storage and exchange of virtual objects, the one or more virtual objects may be transmitted using a predetermined and standardized file format…” paragraphs 0046/0099/0101); and
cause the display to present a second image of the plurality of images associated with the second theme based on the second indication of the second location of the headgear within the theme park (Display 150) (“…One embodiment of mobile device 19 includes a network interface 145, processor 146, memory 147, camera 148, sensors 149, and display 150, all in communication with each other. Network interface 145 allows mobile device 19 to connect to one or more networks 180. Network interface 145 may include a wireless network interface, a modem, and/or a wired network interface. Processor 146 allows mobile device 19 to execute computer readable instructions stored in memory 147 in order to perform processes discussed herein. Camera 148 may capture color images and/or depth images. Sensors 149 may generate motion and/or orientation information associated with mobile device 19. Sensors 149 may comprise an inertial measurement unit (IMU). Display 150 may display digital images and/or videos. Display 150 may comprise a see-through display…In one example, mobile device 19 comprises a head-mounted display device (HMD) that provides an augmented reality environment or a mixed reality environment for an end user of the HMD. The HMD may comprise a video see-through and/or an optical see-through system. An optical see-through HMD worn by an end user may allow actual direct viewing of a real-world environment (e.g., via transparent lenses) and may, at the same time, project images of a virtual object into the visual field of the end user thereby augmenting the real-world environment perceived by the end user with the virtual object…” paragraphs 0040/0042).
Geisner is silent with reference to a display configured to face outward from a user perspective of the headgear.
Baker teaches a display configured to face outward from a user perspective of the headgear (“…A second display (108) is communicatively coupled to the processor and the first display, where the second display displays the animation of the gaze of the user away from the user…The HMD ensures that video images of eyes and eyebrows of the user are continuously captured, graphical images are continuously generated, and the graphical images are continuously displayed on an outward facing display of the HMD, while an augmented reality (AR) mode is disabled…a second display communicatively coupled to the processor and the first display, wherein the second display displays the animation of the gaze of the user away from the user…” Abstract/claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Geisner with the teaching of Baker because the teaching of Baker would improve the system of Geisner by providing a technique of allowing a display to capture graphical images around/in front of the user wearing the Head Mounted Device to satisfy the user’s desired need.
As to claim 11, Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 10, comprising a location sensor (One or More Sensors 2310a-e) configured to receive a signal indicative of the first location or the second location within the theme park, wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to the location sensor, and wherein the processor is configured to receive the first indication or the second indication based on the signal (Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e) (“…AR system 2307 includes a personal A/V apparatus 2302 (e.g., an HMD such as mobile device 19 in FIG. 1) in communication with one of the Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e. Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e are in communication with a Central Control and Information Server 2306, which may include one or more computing devices. Each Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may be co-located with and in communication with one of one or more sensors 2310a-e. The sensors may include video sensors, depth image sensors, heat sensors, IR sensors, weight sensors, and motion sensors. In some embodiments, a Supplemental Information Provider may not be paired with any sensors…Each of the Supplemental Information Providers may be placed at various locations throughout a particular place of interest. In one example, each ride at an amusement park may be associated with a Supplemental Information Provider. The Supplemental Information Providers may provide virtual object information or 3-D maps associated with a particular area within the particular place of interest. The sensors 2310 may acquire information regarding different subsections of the particular place of interest. For example, in the case of an amusement park, a Supplemental Information Provider 2304 and an accompanying set of one or more sensors 2310 may be placed at each ride or attraction in the amusement park. In the case of a museum, a Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may be located in each section or room of the museum, or in each major exhibit. The sensors 2310 may be used to determine the amount of people waiting in line for a ride (or exhibit) or how crowded the ride (or exhibit) is…” paragraph 0101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou and Baker with the teaching of Geisner because the teaching of Geisner would improve the system of Petrou and Baker by providing a technique of using a head mounted device to render or present videos in amusement park or the like.
As to claim 13, Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 10, comprising a camera configured to capture an image associated with an environment surrounding the headgear, wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to the camera (Camera 146/918/Capture Device 213).
As to claim 14, Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 13, wherein the processor is configured to apply an image recognition process to determine the image recognition information in the image (Camera 146/918/Capture Device 213).
As to claim 15, Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 10, comprising a microphone configured to capture sound or audio data, wherein the processor is configured to cause the display to present the first image or the second image based on the sound or audio data, wherein the sound or audio data is associated with an area of the theme park (“…The capture device 213 may also include one or more microphones for recording sounds and may transmit the audio recordings to processing unit 236…As depicted in FIG. 4, capture device 20 may include one or more microphones 40. Each of the one or more microphones 40 may include a transducer or sensor that may receive and convert sound into an electrical signal. The one or more microphones may comprise a microphone array in which the one or more microphones may be arranged in a predetermined layout…The one or more processors 8312 controls transmission and reception of wireless signals. During a transmission mode, the one or more processors 8312 provide voice signals from microphone 8322, or other data signals, to the RF transmitter/receiver 8306…” paragraphs 0046/0089/0184).
As to claim 21, Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a second indication of a second location of the headgear based on a second location signal from the sensor, wherein the second location is associated with a second theme of the theme park (Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e/ each ride at an amusement park may be associated with a Supplemental Information Provider) (“…AR system 2307 includes a personal A/V apparatus 2302 (e.g., an HMD such as mobile device 19 in FIG. 1) in communication with one of the Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e. Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e are in communication with a Central Control and Information Server 2306, which may include one or more computing devices. Each Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may be co-located with and in communication with one of one or more sensors 2310a-e. The sensors may include video sensors, depth image sensors, heat sensors, IR sensors, weight sensors, and motion sensors. In some embodiments, a Supplemental Information Provider may not be paired with any sensors…Each of the Supplemental Information Providers may be placed at various locations throughout a particular place of interest. In one example, each ride at an amusement park may be associated with a Supplemental Information Provider. The Supplemental Information Providers may provide virtual object information or 3-D maps associated with a particular area within the particular place of interest. The sensors 2310 may acquire information regarding different subsections of the particular place of interest. For example, in the case of an amusement park, a Supplemental Information Provider 2304 and an accompanying set of one or more sensors 2310 may be placed at each ride or attraction in the amusement park. In the case of a museum, a Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may be located in each section or room of the museum, or in each major exhibit. The sensors 2310 may be used to determine the amount of people waiting in line for a ride (or exhibit) or how crowded the ride (or exhibit) is…” paragraph 0101); and
cause the one or more electronic displays to display a second image associated with the second theme based on the second indication of the second location of the headgear (Personal A/V Apparatus 2302) (“... An information display application 914 allows customization of both the type of display information to be provided to end users and the manner in which it is displayed. The information display application 914 can be utilized in conjunction with an information display application on the personal A/V apparatus 2302. In one embodiment, the display processing occurs at the Supplemental Information Provider 2304. In alternative embodiments, information is provided to personal A/V apparatus 2302 so that personal A/V apparatus 2302 determines which information should be displayed and where, within the display, the information should be located…” paragraph 0104).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0041388 A1 to Fujmaki et al.
As to claim 3, Geisner as modified by Baker teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays based on a number of times the first location corresponds with a stored location.
Fujmaki teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays based on a number of times (after a specific period has elapsed) the first location corresponds with a stored location (past History Storage Portion 124)(“…The past history storage portion 124 stores past stay information of the HMD 100. The stay information is generated as a result of the present position of the HMD 100 being specified by the GPS module 137 at a predetermined cycle. Specifically, in a case where the present position of the image display section 20 which is specified periodically is included within a predetermined range (for example, within 5 meters) from a position which is specified at a certain time point after a specific period has elapsed, it is determined that the user of the image display section 20 stayed at the specified position. For this reason, it is possible to determine a time period or the like in which the user of the image display section 20 stayed at a store located at the specified position on the basis of the stay information stored in the past history storage portion 124. The past history storage portion 124 corresponds to a personal information storage unit in the appended claims…In the HMD 100 of the present embodiment, the past history storage portion 124 of the storage unit 120 stores the stay information VD of the user in the past…” paragraphs 0074/0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Geisner and Baker with the teaching of Fujmaki because the teaching of Fujmaki would improve the system of Geisner and Baker by providing a technique of keeping track of an HMD positions/locations for later use.
As to claim to claim 4, Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 3, wherein the headgear is located within the theme park, and wherein the stored location is associated with a section of the theme park or a theme park attraction of the theme park (different attractions in an amusement park) (“…Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may include supplemental data for one or more events or locations for which the service is utilized. Event and/or location data can include supplemental event and location data 910 about one or more events known to occur within specific periods of time and/or about one or more locations that provide a customized experience. User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements...FIG. 6A is a flowchart describing one embodiment of method for providing context sensitive information to a user while that user is waiting. The process of FIG. 6A can be implemented using the system of FIG. 5A. For example, Supplemental Information Providers can be situated at different attractions in an amusement park, different areas of a museum, different areas of an airport, etc. In step 2502, the personal A/V apparatus connects to the local Supplemental Information Provider. In one embodiment, the personal A/V apparatus will connect to the closest local Supplemental Information Provider. For example, if the user is at an amusement park, each attraction may have its own Supplemental Information Provider and the user's personal A/V apparatus will automatically connect to the Supplemental Information Provider for the current attraction that the user is waiting in line for. In step 2504, the Supplemental Information Provider will verify that the connection between the personal A/V apparatus and the Supplemental Information Provider persists for a predefined amount of time (e.g., 5 minutes). This is to verify that the user is in fact waiting in line rather than just walking by the Supplemental Information Provider. GPS or other location based information may also be used to confirm that the user is waiting in line within a particular waiting area associated with the attraction or exhibit…” paragraphs 0104/0109/0154).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 8,223,024 B1 issued to Petrou et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. as applied to claims 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0192009 A1 to Sugio et al.
As to claim 5, Geisner as modified by Baker teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the first location of the headgear corresponds with a previously indicated favorite location; and determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays based on the previously indicated favorite location.
Sugio teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the first location of the headgear corresponds with a previously indicated favorite location (viewpoint position); and determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays (Viewpoint Video Display Screen 301) based on the previously indicated favorite location (“…The position represented by the hatched circle indicates the viewpoint position of the viewpoint video that is currently being displayed on the viewpoint video display screen 301. When the user selects the circle corresponding to each viewpoint position by performing a touch or mouse-click operation or the like, the viewpoint video that is displayed is switched to the viewpoint video corresponding to the viewpoint position (favorite viewpoint video switching mode)…When the user selects the “favorite” menu, a viewpoint video at the time of selection or around the time of selection may be registered as a favorite time period of the selected viewpoint video (viewpoint video rating giving mode). The registered favorite time period is used in a case of recording viewing. For example, in the case of recording viewing, another viewpoint video corresponding to the favorite time period is displayed…When the user selects the “favorite” menu, the selected viewpoint video is registered as a favorite video. The registered favorite video is used as a viewpoint video in the favorite viewpoint video switching mode…” paragraphs 0192/0197/0198).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Geisner and Baker with the teaching of Sugio because the teaching of Sugio would improve the system of Geisner and Baker by providing a technique of displaying a user’s favorite video.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0234482 A1 to Bickerstaff et al.
As to claim to claim 6, Geisner as modified by Baker teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, however it is silent with reference to comprising a memory configured to store a table that maps the first location of the headgear to the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the image to send to the one or more electronic displays by querying the table.
Bickerstaff teaches comprising a memory (Image Store 470) configured to store a table that maps the first location of the headgear to the image to send to the one or more electronic displays, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays by querying the table (Image Position Detector 460)(“…The camera 322 is a video camera, capturing images at an image capture rate of, for example, 25 images per second. As each image is captured, it is passed to an image store 400 for storage and is also compared, by an image comparator 410, with a preceding image retrieved from the image store. The comparison uses known block matching techniques (so-called “optical flow” detection) to establish whether substantially the whole image has moved since the time at which the preceding image was captured. Localised motion might indicate moving objects within the field of view of the camera 322, but global motion of substantially the whole image would tend to indicate motion of the camera rather than of individual features in the captured scene, and in the present case because the camera is mounted on the HMD, motion of the camera corresponds to motion of the HMD and in turn to motion of the user's head…The displacement between one image and the next, as detected by the image comparator 410, is converted to a signal indicative of motion by a motion detector 420. If required, the motion signal is converted by to a position signal by an integrator 430…With reference to FIG. 11, this is achieved by a motion sensor 450 (such as the arrangement of FIG. 10 and/or the motion detector 332 of FIG. 9b) supplying data indicative of motion and/or current position to a required image position detector 460, which translates the actual position of the HMD into data defining the required image for display. An image generator 480 accesses image data stored in an image store 470 if required, and generates the required images from the appropriate viewpoint for display by the HMD…” paragraphs 0081/0082/0087).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Geisner and Baker with the teaching of Bickerstaff because the teaching of Bickerstaff would improve the system of Geisner and Baker by providing a technique for translating actual position of the HMD into data defining the required image for display (Bickerstaff paragraph 0087).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0375680 A1 to Ackerman et al.
As to claim to claim 7, Geisner as modified by Baker teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, wherein the first location signal is associated with a second image and the at least one processor is configured to: receive the second image based on the first location signal; determine, using image recognition, the location of the headgear based on the second image; and determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays based on the first location of the headgear, the second image, or both.
Ackerman teaches wherein the location first signal is associated with a second image and the at least one processor is configured to: receive the second image based on the first location signal (second image); determine, using image recognition, the first location of the headgear based on the second image (Step 612); and determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays based on the first location of the headgear, the second image, or both (updated head position) (“…In step 612, a second image associated with the virtual object is rendered and displayed based on the updated head position. The second image may be displayed at a second position on the HMD different from the first position. In one example, if the end user's head position (or eye position) shifts relative to the initial head position with respect to the HMD (e.g., due to the end user riding on a bumpy road or accidentally touching the HMD as they wear the HMD), then the HMD may adjust the position of virtual objects displayed to the end user such that the virtual objects appear to be fixed or otherwise located appropriately within the augmented reality environment…One embodiment of the disclosed technology includes determining an initial head position of the end user relative to the HMD at a first point and time and rendering and displaying a first image associated with a virtual object based on the initial head position of the end user relative to the HMD. The first image is displayed at a first position on the HMD. The method further includes determining a second head position of the end user relative to the HMD at a second point in time subsequent to the first point in time. The second head position is different from the initial head position. The method further includes rendering and displaying a second image associated with the virtual object based on the second head position of the end user relative to the HMD. The second image is displayed at a second position on the HMD different from the first position…” paragraphs 0076/0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Geisner and Baker with the teaching of Ackerman because the teaching of Ackerman would improve the system of Geisner and Baker by providing a technique of displaying images to the user in real-time based the location or position of the headgear.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0375680 A1 to Ackerman et al. as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of CN. No. 108697936 A1 to Gordt et al.
As to claim 8, Geisner as modified by Baker and Ackerman teaches the headgear operation system of claim 7, however it is silent with reference to wherein the second image comprises a Quick Response (QR) code, a character, text, or a cartoon associated with the location.
Gordt teaches wherein the second image comprises a Quick Response (QR) code, a character, text, or a cartoon associated with the location (quick response code) (“…In another preferred design solution of the present invention, the directional signal is an optical signal, preferably infrared signal, quick response code or a bar code. by, for example, the visual perception of quick response code, can advantageously easily recognize virtual reality head-mounted device are oriented in any direction. In one advantageous design solution of the invention, the position sensors and/or the directional sensors are arranged at the rest position of the amusement facility and/or the vehicle. For example, in rollercoaster, position transmitter and directional transmitter can be arranged at the station of the coaster. In particular, at least one camera integrated in the virtual reality head-mounted device. the camera can be used as the device for detecting the orientation signal. the camera can relatively easily determine the seat identification and orientation of virtual reality head-mounted device. Therefore, the quick response code, bar code or other optical signal placed on the coaster of the station or the vehicle is enough, the quick response code, barcode or other optical signal detection by a virtual reality head-mounted device. then, it can perspective, code content from the position, or the position and orientation of virtual reality signal brightness to determine use of the head-mounted device. as the camera such as an integrated camera may be used in intelligent mobile phone, wherein the intelligent mobile phone is placed in a virtual reality head-mounted device…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Geisner, Baker and Ackerman with the teaching of Gordt because the teaching of Gordt would improve the system of Geisner, Baker and Ackerman by providing a technique of a versatile tool that enables rapid access to information.
Claims 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO No. 2016036645 A1 to Mullins et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. and further in view of and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 5,844,530 A issued to Tosaki.
As to claim 16, Mullins teaches an interactive helmet comprising:
a main body (Head Mounted Device 101/1200/1300);
a sensor (Sensors 112/202) configured to receive a signal indicative of a location of the interactive helmet (“…The sensors 112 may include other sensors used to track the location, movement, and orientation of the HMD 101 externally without having to rely on the sensors internal to the HMD 101. The sensors 112 may include optical sensors (e.g., depth-enabled 3D camera), wireless sensors (Bluetooth, Wi-Fi), GPS sensor…The HMD 101 may also identify tracking data related to the devices 116, 118 (e.g., GPS location of the HMD 101, orientation, distances to devices 116, 118). If the captured image is not recognized locally at the HMD 101, the HMD 101 can download additional information (e.g., 3D model or other augmented data) corresponding to the captured image, from a database of the server 110 over the network 108…The sensors 202 may include, for example, a proximity or location sensor (e.g., Near Field Communication, GPS Bluetooth, Wi-Fi), an optical sensor(s) (e.g., camera), an orientation sensor(s) (e.g., gyroscope, or an inertial motion sensor), an audio sensor (e.g., a microphone), or any suitable…” paragraphs 00043/0046/051/0062);
an actuator (Actuation Module 304) coupling a feature (Display 204) of the interactive helmet to the main body, wherein the actuator is configured to adjust a position of the feature (raise/lower the display 204) with respect to the main body (“…The actuation module 304 generates an actuation command to the display mechanical system 220 (e.g., motor, actuator) to raise the display 204 inside the HMD 101 or lower the display 204 outside the HMD 101 based on the determination made from the receiver module 302. Examples of mechanical systems are illustrated in FIGS. 12A, 12B, 12C, 12D, 13A, 13B, 13C, and 13D…” paragraph 0059); and
a controller (Receiver Module 302) communicatively coupled to the sensor and the actuator (“…In one example embodiment, the display controller 218 includes a receiver module 302 and an actuation module 304 as illustrated in FIG. 3. The receiver module 302 communicates with sensors 202 in the HMD 101 and the wearable device 103 to identify commands related to the display 204. For example, the receiver module 302 may identify an audio command (e.g., "lower glasses") from the user 102 to lower a position of the display 204…The actuation module 304 generates an actuation command to the display mechanical system 220 (e.g., motor, actuator) to raise the display 204 inside the HMD 101 or lower the display 204 outside the HMD 101 based on the determination made from the receiver module 302. Examples of mechanical systems are illustrated in FIGS. 12A, 12B, 12C, 12D, 13A, 13B, 13C, and 13D…” paragraphs 0058/0059), wherein the controller, and wherein the controller is configured to:
receive an indication of the location of the interactive helmet from the sensor, and cause the actuator to adjust the position of the feature with respect to the main body based on the location of the interactive helmet (“…The actuation module 304 generates an actuation command to the display mechanical system 220 (e.g., motor, actuator) to raise the display 204 inside the HMD 101 or lower the display 204 outside the HMD 101 based on the determination made from the receiver module 302. Examples of mechanical systems are illustrated in FIGS. 12A, 12B, 12C, 12D, 13A, 13B, 13C, and 13D…At operation 804, a position of the display 204 is adjusted in response to the request. For example, the display 204 may be lowered outside the HMD 101 or raise inside the HMD 101. In one embodiment, operation 804 may be implemented using the actuation module 304 of FIG. 3…At operation 806, the display 204 is powered on or off based on the display position. For example, the display 204 may be powered off when the display 204 is retracted inside the HMD 101, and powered on when the display 204 is extended outside the HMD 101. In one embodiment, operation 806 may be implemented using the actuation module 304 of FIG. 3…” paragraphs 0059/00720073).
Mullins does not explicitly teach a sensor configured to receive a signal indicative of a location of the interactive helmet within a theme park,
receive an indication of the location of the interactive helmet within the theme park,
controller comprises a processor, wherein the location is indicative of a section of a theme park and
cause the actuator to adjust the position of the feature with respect to the main body based on the location of the interactive helmet being associated with section of the theme park.
Geisner teaches a sensor configured to receive a signal indicative of a location of the interactive helmet within a theme park (Supplemental Information Providers…User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements),
receive an indication of the location of the interactive helmet within the theme park (Supplemental Information Providers…User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements) and
controller comprises a processor, wherein the location is indicative of a section of a theme park (Supplemental Information Providers…User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements) (“…Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may include supplemental data for one or more events or locations for which the service is utilized. Event and/or location data can include supplemental event and location data 910 about one or more events known to occur within specific periods of time and/or about one or more locations that provide a customized experience. User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements...FIG. 6A is a flowchart describing one embodiment of method for providing context sensitive information to a user while that user is waiting. The process of FIG. 6A can be implemented using the system of FIG. 5A. For example, Supplemental Information Providers can be situated at different attractions in an amusement park, different areas of a museum, different areas of an airport, etc. In step 2502, the personal A/V apparatus connects to the local Supplemental Information Provider. In one embodiment, the personal A/V apparatus will connect to the closest local Supplemental Information Provider. For example, if the user is at an amusement park, each attraction may have its own Supplemental Information Provider and the user's personal A/V apparatus will automatically connect to the Supplemental Information Provider for the current attraction that the user is waiting in line for. In step 2504, the Supplemental Information Provider will verify that the connection between the personal A/V apparatus and the Supplemental Information Provider persists for a predefined amount of time (e.g., 5 minutes). This is to verify that the user is in fact waiting in line rather than just walking by the Supplemental Information Provider. GPS or other location based information may also be used to confirm that the user is waiting in line within a particular waiting area associated with the attraction or exhibit…” paragraphs 0104/0109/0154).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Mullins with the teaching of Geisner because the teaching of Geisner would improve the system of Mullins by providing a technique of using a head mounted device to render or present videos in amusement park or the like.
Tosaki teaches cause the actuator (Angle Sensor 217h) to adjust the position of the feature with respect to the main body based on the section of the theme park (amusement park/shooting game) (“…The HMD 1 has the same structure as that in the first embodiment above, except that an angle sensor 217h is installed instead of the position sensor 100. The angle sensor 217h, which consists of a gyro rotated by a motor, allows the angle of the HMD 1 to be detected using gyro inertia. The picture circuit 217f performs the function of generating images that correspond to the angle of the angle sensor 217h. Specifically, the picture circuit 217f detects signals outputted from the angle sensor 217h and computes the angle of the HMD 1. The picture circuit 217f generates prescribed pictures on the basis of the computation results, and the pictures generated are outputted to the HMD 1. With an application software for a shooting game, for example, a picture of the cockpit of a fighter aircraft is projected on the HMD 1, as shown in FIG. 29. The picture of the cockpit projected on the HMD 1 is therefore superposed on the picture of the fighter aircraft projected on the TV receiver 217g…” Col. 24 Ln. 34-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Mullins and Geisner with the teaching of Tosaki because the teaching of Tosaki would improve the system of Mullins and Geisner by providing a motoring system for angling a sensor to optimally render images or videos to a user.
As to claim 17, Tosaki teaches the interactive helmet of claim 16, wherein the processor is configured to: determine an instruction to send to the actuator that causes the actuator to adjust the position of the feature with respect to the main body based on the location of the interactive helmet being associated with the section of the theme park (amusement park/shooting game); and send the instruction to the actuator (Angle Sensor 217h/gyro rotated by a motor) (“…The HMD 1 has the same structure as that in the first embodiment above, except that an angle sensor 217h is installed instead of the position sensor 100. The angle sensor 217h, which consists of a gyro rotated by a motor, allows the angle of the HMD 1 to be detected using gyro inertia. The picture circuit 217f performs the function of generating images that correspond to the angle of the angle sensor 217h. Specifically, the picture circuit 217f detects signals outputted from the angle sensor 217h and computes the angle of the HMD 1. The picture circuit 217f generates prescribed pictures on the basis of the computation results, and the pictures generated are outputted to the HMD 1. With an application software for a shooting game, for example, a picture of the cockpit of a fighter aircraft is projected on the HMD 1, as shown in FIG. 29. The picture of the cockpit projected on the HMD 1 is therefore superposed on the picture of the fighter aircraft projected on the TV receiver 217g…” Col. 24 Ln. 34-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Mullins and Geisner with the teaching of Tosaki because the teaching of Tosaki would improve the system of Mullins and Geisner by providing a motoring system for angling a sensor to optimally render images or videos to a user.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO No. 2016036645 A1 to Mullins et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 5,844,530 A issued to Tosaki as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20190206132 A1 to Ziekowski.
As to claim 20, Mullins as modified by Geisner and Tosaki teaches the interactive helmet of claim 16, however it is silent with reference to wherein the feature comprises a nose associated with the interactive helmet, and wherein the nose is configured to actuate based on the section of the theme park location of the interactive helmet corresponding with an area associated with food.
Ziekowski teaches wherein the feature comprises a nose associated with the interactive helmet (Visualization Device 14), and wherein the nose (augmented reality (AR) experience or a virtual reality (VR) experience) is configured to actuate based on the section of the theme park location of the interactive helmet corresponding with an area associated with food (Amusement parks and/or theme parks may include various entertainment attractions, restaurants) (“…Amusement parks and/or theme parks may include various entertainment attractions, restaurants, and rides useful in providing enjoyment to guests (e.g., families and/or people of all ages) of the amusement park. Areas of the amusement park may have different themes that are specifically targeted to certain audiences. For example, certain areas may include themes that are traditionally of interest to children, while other areas may include themes that are traditionally of interest to more mature audiences. Generally, locations having themes associated with such an amusement park may be referred to as an attraction or a themed attraction…As the ride vehicle 100 moves along the tracks 98, the ride passengers 102, 104, 106, 108 may be provided a moving tour of the scenery (e.g., facilities 94, additional amusement attractions 96, and so forth) in an area around or nearby the thrill ride 92. For example, this may include the environment surrounding the thrill ride 92 (e.g., a building that fully or partially houses the thrill ride 92). While the ride passengers 102, 104, 106, 108 may find the thrill ride 92 to be a very enjoyable experience, it may be useful to enhance their ride experience. Specifically, instead of having a physical view of only the facilities 94 (e.g., recreational areas, hotels, restaurants, souvenir shops, and so forth), additional amusement attractions 96 (e.g., Ferris wheel or other attractions), or other patrons or pedestrians within the amusement park 90, it may be useful to provide the ride passengers 102, 104, 106, 108 with an augmented reality (AR) experience or a virtual reality (VR) experience…” paragraphs 0002/0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Mullins, Geisner and Toaski with the teaching of Ziekowski because the teaching of Ziekowski would improve the system of Mullins, Geisner and Toaski by providing ride passengers with an augmented reality (AR) experience or a virtual reality (VR) experience of a theme park including restaurants in the event that the ride passengers need refreshment or food.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art of records, (U.S. Pat. No. 8,223,024 B1 issued to Petrou et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al., and WO No. 2016036645 A1 to Mullins et al.), taken alone or in combination do not specifically disclose or suggest the claimed recitations (claims 18-19, when taken in the context of claims as a whole.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 and 13-21 were considered during a Pre-Appeal conference on 05/14/26. The conferees recommended that the final rejection be withdrawn, and a new rejection be issued using Geisner prior art as the primary reference, hence the current rejection.
Conclusion
/CHARLES E ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194