DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 and 13-21 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9, 10, 11, 13-15 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 8,223,024 B1 issued to Petrou et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al.
As to claim 1, Petrou teaches a headgear operation system comprising:
a sensor (sensors 118 and 122…a location determination device (e.g., a GPS device)) coupled to headgear and configured to receive a first location signal (“…The sensors 118 and 122 are shown mounted on the extending side-arms 114 and 116, respectively. However, the sensors 118 and 122 may be provided on other parts of the eyeglasses 102. Although depicted as single components, the sensors 118 and 122 could include more than one type of sensor device or element. By way of example and without limitation, the sensors 118 and 122 could be any one or more of a motion detector (e.g., a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a camera, and/or a shock sensor), an impact sensor, a contact sensor (e.g., capacitive sensing device), a location determination device (e.g., a GPS device), a magnetometer, and an orientation sensor (e.g., a theodolite). Other sensing devices or elements may be included within the sensors 118 and 122 and other sensing functions may be performed by the sensors 118 and 122…As indicated by block 202, exemplary method 200 involves receiving movement data from at least one sensor of an HMD. Further, the movement data may correspond to various movements of the HMD. In some embodiments, one or more of the sensors that receive movement data may include gyroscopes, accelerometers, cameras, shock sensors, contact sensors (e.g., capacitive sensing devices), impact sensors, location determination devices (e.g., a GPS device), magnetometers, compasses, sonar devices, and orientation sensors (e.g., a theodolite). These sensors may be configured to obtain various types of information regarding the movement of the HMD. In some embodiments, one or more of these sensors may obtain information corresponding to velocity, angular velocity, and/or acceleration of the HMD. Further, one or more of the sensors may obtain information regarding the direction the HMD is facing, moving, and/or any changes in direction of the HMD's movement…” Col. 4 Ln. 37-51; Col. 5 Ln. 23-40);
one or more electronic displays (lens elements 810 and 812 may act as displays elements) coupled to the headgear (“…FIG. 8b illustrates another view of the wearable computing system 800 of FIG. 8a. As shown in FIG. 8b, the lens elements 810 and 812 may act as display elements. The HMD 802 may include a first projector 828 coupled to an inside surface of the extending side-arm 816 and configured to project a display image 832 onto an inside surface of the lens element 812. Additionally or alternatively, a second projector 830 may be coupled to an inside surface of the extending side-arm 814 and configured to project a display image 834 onto an inside surface of the lens element 810…” Col. 19 Ln. 39-48); and
a controller (Processing Units 904) communicatively coupled to the sensor (Sensor Devices 928) and the one or more electronic displays (Display 928), wherein the controller comprises at least one processor (Processing Units 904) configured to (“…The one or more processing units 904 could include one or more general-purpose processors (e.g., microprocessors) and/or one or more special-purpose processors (e.g., dedicated digital signal processor, application specific integrated circuit, etc.). In turn, the data storage 906 could include one or more volatile and/or non-volatile storage components, such as magnetic or optical memory or disk storage. Data storage 906 can be integrated in whole or in part with processing unit 904, as cache memory or registers for instance. As further shown, data storage 906 is equipped to hold program logic 908 and program data 910.…The sensor devices 928, which could correspond to the sensor 822 described in the discussion of FIG. 8a, include a location sensor 930, a motion sensor 932, a magnetometer 934, and an orientation sensor 936. The location sensor 930 could correspond to a Global Positioning System (GPS) device, or other location-determination device (e.g. mobile phone system triangulation device, etc.). The motion sensor 932 could correspond to an accelerometer or one or more gyroscopes… Col.20 Ln. 57-67; Col. 21 Ln. 50-58):
receive a first indication of the first location of the headgear based on the first location signal (“…As indicated by block 202, exemplary method 200 involves receiving movement data from at least one sensor of an HMD. Further, the movement data may correspond to various movements of the HMD. In some embodiments, one or more of the sensors that receive movement data may include gyroscopes, accelerometers, cameras, shock sensors, contact sensors (e.g., capacitive sensing devices), impact sensors, location determination devices (e.g., a GPS device), magnetometers, compasses, sonar devices, and orientation sensors (e.g., a theodolite). These sensors may be configured to obtain various types of information regarding the movement of the HMD. In some embodiments, one or more of these sensors may obtain information corresponding to velocity, angular velocity, and/or acceleration of the HMD. Further, one or more of the sensors may obtain information regarding the direction the HMD is facing, moving, and/or any changes in direction of the HMD's movement…The sensor devices 928, which could correspond to the sensor 822 described in the discussion of FIG. 8a, include a location sensor 930, a motion sensor 932, a magnetometer 934, and an orientation sensor 936. The location sensor 930 could correspond to a Global Positioning System (GPS) device, or other location-determination device (e.g. mobile phone system triangulation device, etc.). The motion sensor 932 could correspond to an accelerometer or one or more gyroscopes…” Col. 5 Ln. 23-38; Col. 21 Ln. 50-58); and
cause the one or more electronic displays to display an image based on the location of the headgear (“…FIG. 8b illustrates another view of the wearable computing system 800 of FIG. 8a. As shown in FIG. 8b, the lens elements 810 and 812 may act as display elements. The HMD 802 may include a first projector 828 coupled to an inside surface of the extending side-arm 816 and configured to project a display image 832 onto an inside surface of the lens element 812. Additionally or alternatively, a second projector 830 may be coupled to an inside surface of the extending side-arm 814 and configured to project a display image 834 onto an inside surface of the lens element 810…” Col. 19 Ln. 39-48).
Petrou is silent with reference to one or more electronic displays configured to face outward from a user perspective of the headgear,
the first location signal indicative of a location of the headgear within a theme park,
receive a first indication of the first location of the headgear based on the first location signal, wherein the first location is associated with a first theme of the theme park, and
cause the one or more electronic displays to display a first image associated with the first theme based on the first indication of the first location of the headgear.
Baker teaches one or more electronic displays configured to face outward from a user perspective of the headgear (“…A second display (108) is communicatively coupled to the processor and the first display, where the second display displays the animation of the gaze of the user away from the user…The HMD ensures that video images of eyes and eyebrows of the user are continuously captured, graphical images are continuously generated, and the graphical images are continuously displayed on an outward facing display of the HMD, while an augmented reality (AR) mode is disabled…a second display communicatively coupled to the processor and the first display, wherein the second display displays the animation of the gaze of the user away from the user…” Abstract/claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou with the teaching of Baker because the teaching of Baker would improve the system of Petrou by providing a technique of allowing the display to capture graphical images around/in front of the user wearing the Head Mounted Device.
Geisner teaches the first location signal indicative of a location of the headgear within a theme park (Supplemental Information Providers…User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements),
receive a first indication of the first location of the headgear based on the first location signal, wherein the first location is associated with a first theme of the theme park (Supplemental Information Providers…User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements) (“…Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may include supplemental data for one or more events or locations for which the service is utilized. Event and/or location data can include supplemental event and location data 910 about one or more events known to occur within specific periods of time and/or about one or more locations that provide a customized experience. User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements...FIG. 6A is a flowchart describing one embodiment of method for providing context sensitive information to a user while that user is waiting. The process of FIG. 6A can be implemented using the system of FIG. 5A. For example, Supplemental Information Providers can be situated at different attractions in an amusement park, different areas of a museum, different areas of an airport, etc. In step 2502, the personal A/V apparatus connects to the local Supplemental Information Provider. In one embodiment, the personal A/V apparatus will connect to the closest local Supplemental Information Provider. For example, if the user is at an amusement park, each attraction may have its own Supplemental Information Provider and the user's personal A/V apparatus will automatically connect to the Supplemental Information Provider for the current attraction that the user is waiting in line for. In step 2504, the Supplemental Information Provider will verify that the connection between the personal A/V apparatus and the Supplemental Information Provider persists for a predefined amount of time (e.g., 5 minutes). This is to verify that the user is in fact waiting in line rather than just walking by the Supplemental Information Provider. GPS or other location based information may also be used to confirm that the user is waiting in line within a particular waiting area associated with the attraction or exhibit…” paragraph 0104/0109/0154), and
cause the one or more electronic displays to display a first image associated with the first theme based on the first indication of the first location of the headgear (Personal A/V Apparatus 2302) (“... An information display application 914 allows customization of both the type of display information to be provided to end users and the manner in which it is displayed. The information display application 914 can be utilized in conjunction with an information display application on the personal A/V apparatus 2302. In one embodiment, the display processing occurs at the Supplemental Information Provider 2304. In alternative embodiments, information is provided to personal A/V apparatus 2302 so that personal A/V apparatus 2302 determines which information should be displayed and where, within the display, the information should be located…” paragraph 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou and Baker with the teaching of Geisner because the teaching of Geisner would improve the system of Petrou and Baker by providing a technique of using a head mounted device to render or present videos in amusement park or the like.
As to claim 2, Petrou teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises a location sensor, a proximity sensor, a Global Positioning System (GPS) sensor (sensors 118 and 122…a location determination device (e.g., a GPS device)), a wireless receiver, a camera, or any combination thereof (“…The sensors 118 and 122 are shown mounted on the extending side-arms 114 and 116, respectively. However, the sensors 118 and 122 may be provided on other parts of the eyeglasses 102. Although depicted as single components, the sensors 118 and 122 could include more than one type of sensor device or element. By way of example and without limitation, the sensors 118 and 122 could be any one or more of a motion detector (e.g., a gyroscope, an accelerometer, a camera, and/or a shock sensor), an impact sensor, a contact sensor (e.g., capacitive sensing device), a location determination device (e.g., a GPS device), a magnetometer, and an orientation sensor (e.g., a theodolite). Other sensing devices or elements may be included within the sensors 118 and 122 and other sensing functions may be performed by the sensors 118 and 122…” Col. 4 Ln. 37-51).
As to claim to claim 4, Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 3, wherein the headgear is located within the theme park, and wherein the stored location is associated with a section of the theme park or a theme park attraction of the theme park (different attractions in an amusement park) (“…Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may include supplemental data for one or more events or locations for which the service is utilized. Event and/or location data can include supplemental event and location data 910 about one or more events known to occur within specific periods of time and/or about one or more locations that provide a customized experience. User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements...FIG. 6A is a flowchart describing one embodiment of method for providing context sensitive information to a user while that user is waiting. The process of FIG. 6A can be implemented using the system of FIG. 5A. For example, Supplemental Information Providers can be situated at different attractions in an amusement park, different areas of a museum, different areas of an airport, etc. In step 2502, the personal A/V apparatus connects to the local Supplemental Information Provider. In one embodiment, the personal A/V apparatus will connect to the closest local Supplemental Information Provider. For example, if the user is at an amusement park, each attraction may have its own Supplemental Information Provider and the user's personal A/V apparatus will automatically connect to the Supplemental Information Provider for the current attraction that the user is waiting in line for. In step 2504, the Supplemental Information Provider will verify that the connection between the personal A/V apparatus and the Supplemental Information Provider persists for a predefined amount of time (e.g., 5 minutes). This is to verify that the user is in fact waiting in line rather than just walking by the Supplemental Information Provider. GPS or other location based information may also be used to confirm that the user is waiting in line within a particular waiting area associated with the attraction or exhibit…” paragraphs 0104/0109/0154).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou and Baker with the teaching of Geisner because the teaching of Geisner would improve the system of Petrou and Baker by providing a technique of using a head mounted device to render or present videos in amusement park or the like.
As to claim 9, Petrou teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, wherein the headgear comprises glasses or goggles (EyeGlasses 102).
As to claim 10, Petrou teaches a headgear operation system comprising:
a display coupled to a headgear, wherein the display is configured to display a plurality of images (“…FIG. 8b illustrates another view of the wearable computing system 800 of FIG. 8a. As shown in FIG. 8b, the lens elements 810 and 812 may act as display elements. The HMD 802 may include a first projector 828 coupled to an inside surface of the extending side-arm 816 and configured to project a display image 832 onto an inside surface of the lens element 812. Additionally or alternatively, a second projector 830 may be coupled to an inside surface of the extending side-arm 814 and configured to project a display image 834 onto an inside surface of the lens element 810…” Col. 19 Ln. 39-48); and
a processor (One or More Processing Units 904) communicatively coupled to the display, wherein the processor is configured to:
receive a first indication of a first location of the headgear (“…As indicated by block 202, exemplary method 200 involves receiving movement data from at least one sensor of an HMD. Further, the movement data may correspond to various movements of the HMD. In some embodiments, one or more of the sensors that receive movement data may include gyroscopes, accelerometers, cameras, shock sensors, contact sensors (e.g., capacitive sensing devices), impact sensors, location determination devices (e.g., a GPS device), magnetometers, compasses, sonar devices, and orientation sensors (e.g., a theodolite). These sensors may be configured to obtain various types of information regarding the movement of the HMD. In some embodiments, one or more of these sensors may obtain information corresponding to velocity, angular velocity, and/or acceleration of the HMD. Further, one or more of the sensors may obtain information regarding the direction the HMD is facing, moving, and/or any changes in direction of the HMD's movement…The sensor devices 928, which could correspond to the sensor 822 described in the discussion of FIG. 8a, include a location sensor 930, a motion sensor 932, a magnetometer 934, and an orientation sensor 936. The location sensor 930 could correspond to a Global Positioning System (GPS) device, or other location-determination device (e.g. mobile phone system triangulation device, etc.). The motion sensor 932 could correspond to an accelerometer or one or more gyroscopes…” Col. 5 Ln. 23-38; Col. 21 Ln. 50-58);
cause the display to present a first image of the plurality of images based on the first indication (“…FIG. 8b illustrates another view of the wearable computing system 800 of FIG. 8a. As shown in FIG. 8b, the lens elements 810 and 812 may act as display elements. The HMD 802 may include a first projector 828 coupled to an inside surface of the extending side-arm 816 and configured to project a display image 832 onto an inside surface of the lens element 812. Additionally or alternatively, a second projector 830 may be coupled to an inside surface of the extending side-arm 814 and configured to project a display image 834 onto an inside surface of the lens element 810…” Col. 19 Ln. 39-48);
receive a second indication of a second location of the headgear (“…As indicated by block 202, exemplary method 200 involves receiving movement data from at least one sensor of an HMD. Further, the movement data may correspond to various movements of the HMD. In some embodiments, one or more of the sensors that receive movement data may include gyroscopes, accelerometers, cameras, shock sensors, contact sensors (e.g., capacitive sensing devices), impact sensors, location determination devices (e.g., a GPS device), magnetometers, compasses, sonar devices, and orientation sensors (e.g., a theodolite). These sensors may be configured to obtain various types of information regarding the movement of the HMD. In some embodiments, one or more of these sensors may obtain information corresponding to velocity, angular velocity, and/or acceleration of the HMD. Further, one or more of the sensors may obtain information regarding the direction the HMD is facing, moving, and/or any changes in direction of the HMD's movement…The sensor devices 928, which could correspond to the sensor 822 described in the discussion of FIG. 8a, include a location sensor 930, a motion sensor 932, a magnetometer 934, and an orientation sensor 936. The location sensor 930 could correspond to a Global Positioning System (GPS) device, or other location-determination device (e.g. mobile phone system triangulation device, etc.). The motion sensor 932 could correspond to an accelerometer or one or more gyroscopes…” Col. 5 Ln. 23-38; Col. 21 Ln. 50-58: NOTE: plural sensors obtain various types of information regarding the movement of the HMD hence multiple indications/locations); and
cause the display to present a second image of the plurality of images based on the second indication (“…FIG. 8b illustrates another view of the wearable computing system 800 of FIG. 8a. As shown in FIG. 8b, the lens elements 810 and 812 may act as display elements. The HMD 802 may include a first projector 828 coupled to an inside surface of the extending side-arm 816 and configured to project a display image 832 onto an inside surface of the lens element 812. Additionally or alternatively, a second projector 830 may be coupled to an inside surface of the extending side-arm 814 and configured to project a display image 834 onto an inside surface of the lens element 810…” Col. 19 Ln. 39-48).
Petrou is silent with reference to a display is configured to face outward from a user perspective of the headgear,
wherein the first location is associated with a first theme of a theme park,
cause the display to present a first image of the plurality of images associated with the first theme based on the first indication,
wherein the second location is associated with a second theme of the theme park and
cause the display to present a second image of the plurality of images associated with the second theme based on the second indication.
Baker teaches a display is configured to face outward from a user perspective of the headgear (“…A second display (108) is communicatively coupled to the processor and the first display, where the second display displays the animation of the gaze of the user away from the user…The HMD ensures that video images of eyes and eyebrows of the user are continuously captured, graphical images are continuously generated, and the graphical images are continuously displayed on an outward facing display of the HMD, while an augmented reality (AR) mode is disabled…a second display communicatively coupled to the processor and the first display, wherein the second display displays the animation of the gaze of the user away from the user…” Abstract/claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou with the teaching of Baker because the teaching of Baker would improve the system of Petrou by providing a technique of allowing the display to capture graphical images around/in front of the user wearing the Head Mounted Device.
Geisner teaches wherein the first location is associated with a first theme of a theme park/wherein the second location is associated with a second theme of the theme park (different attractions in an amusement park) (“…Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may include supplemental data for one or more events or locations for which the service is utilized. Event and/or location data can include supplemental event and location data 910 about one or more events known to occur within specific periods of time and/or about one or more locations that provide a customized experience. User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements...FIG. 6A is a flowchart describing one embodiment of method for providing context sensitive information to a user while that user is waiting. The process of FIG. 6A can be implemented using the system of FIG. 5A. For example, Supplemental Information Providers can be situated at different attractions in an amusement park, different areas of a museum, different areas of an airport, etc. In step 2502, the personal A/V apparatus connects to the local Supplemental Information Provider. In one embodiment, the personal A/V apparatus will connect to the closest local Supplemental Information Provider. For example, if the user is at an amusement park, each attraction may have its own Supplemental Information Provider and the user's personal A/V apparatus will automatically connect to the Supplemental Information Provider for the current attraction that the user is waiting in line for. In step 2504, the Supplemental Information Provider will verify that the connection between the personal A/V apparatus and the Supplemental Information Provider persists for a predefined amount of time (e.g., 5 minutes). This is to verify that the user is in fact waiting in line rather than just walking by the Supplemental Information Provider. GPS or other location based information may also be used to confirm that the user is waiting in line within a particular waiting area associated with the attraction or exhibit…” paragraphs 0104/0109/0154) and
cause the display to present a first image of the plurality of images associated with the first theme based on the first indication/cause the display to present a second image of the plurality of images associated with the second theme based on the second indication (Personal A/V Apparatus 2302) (“... An information display application 914 allows customization of both the type of display information to be provided to end users and the manner in which it is displayed. The information display application 914 can be utilized in conjunction with an information display application on the personal A/V apparatus 2302. In one embodiment, the display processing occurs at the Supplemental Information Provider 2304. In alternative embodiments, information is provided to personal A/V apparatus 2302 so that personal A/V apparatus 2302 determines which information should be displayed and where, within the display, the information should be located…” paragraph 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou and Baker with the teaching of Geisner because the teaching of Geisner would improve the system of Petrou and Baker by providing a technique of using a head mounted device to render or present videos in amusement park or the like.
As to claim 11, Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 10, comprising a location sensor (One or More Sensors 2310a-e) configured to receive a signal indicative of the first location or the second location within the theme park, wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to the location sensor, and wherein the processor is configured to receive the first indication or the second indication based on the signal (Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e) (“…AR system 2307 includes a personal A/V apparatus 2302 (e.g., an HMD such as mobile device 19 in FIG. 1) in communication with one of the Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e. Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e are in communication with a Central Control and Information Server 2306, which may include one or more computing devices. Each Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may be co-located with and in communication with one of one or more sensors 2310a-e. The sensors may include video sensors, depth image sensors, heat sensors, IR sensors, weight sensors, and motion sensors. In some embodiments, a Supplemental Information Provider may not be paired with any sensors…Each of the Supplemental Information Providers may be placed at various locations throughout a particular place of interest. In one example, each ride at an amusement park may be associated with a Supplemental Information Provider. The Supplemental Information Providers may provide virtual object information or 3-D maps associated with a particular area within the particular place of interest. The sensors 2310 may acquire information regarding different subsections of the particular place of interest. For example, in the case of an amusement park, a Supplemental Information Provider 2304 and an accompanying set of one or more sensors 2310 may be placed at each ride or attraction in the amusement park. In the case of a museum, a Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may be located in each section or room of the museum, or in each major exhibit. The sensors 2310 may be used to determine the amount of people waiting in line for a ride (or exhibit) or how crowded the ride (or exhibit) is…” paragraph 0101).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou and Baker with the teaching of Geisner because the teaching of Geisner would improve the system of Petrou and Baker by providing a technique of using a head mounted device to render or present videos in amusement park or the like.
As to claim 13, Petrou teaches the headgear operation system of claim 10, comprising a camera configured to capture an image associated with an environment surrounding the headgear, wherein the processor is communicatively coupled to the camera (“…The camera 918 could correspond to the video camera 820 described in the discussion of FIG. 8a above…” Col. 21 Ln. 32-35), and wherein the processor is configured to cause the display to present the first image or the second image based on image recognition information in the image (One or More Processing Units 904).
As to claim 14, Petrou teaches the headgear operation system of claim 13, wherein the processor is configured to apply an image recognition process to determine the image recognition information in the image (Camera 918/One or More Processing Units 904).
As to claim 15, Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 10, comprising a microphone configured to capture sound or audio data, wherein the processor is configured to cause the display to present the first image or the second image based on the sound or audio data, wherein the sound or audio data is associated with an area of the theme park (“…The capture device 213 may also include one or more microphones for recording sounds and may transmit the audio recordings to processing unit 236…As depicted in FIG. 4, capture device 20 may include one or more microphones 40. Each of the one or more microphones 40 may include a transducer or sensor that may receive and convert sound into an electrical signal. The one or more microphones may comprise a microphone array in which the one or more microphones may be arranged in a predetermined layout…The one or more processors 8312 controls transmission and reception of wireless signals. During a transmission mode, the one or more processors 8312 provide voice signals from microphone 8322, or other data signals, to the RF transmitter/receiver 8306…” paragraphs 0046/0089/0184).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou and Baker with the teaching of Geisner because the teaching of Geisner would improve the system of Petrou and Baker by providing a technique of using a head mounted device to render or present videos with audio in amusement park or the like.
As to claim 21, Geisner teaches The headgear operation system of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive a second indication of a second location of the headgear based on a second location signal from the sensor, wherein the second location is associated with a second theme of the theme park (Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e/ each ride at an amusement park may be associated with a Supplemental Information Provider) (“…AR system 2307 includes a personal A/V apparatus 2302 (e.g., an HMD such as mobile device 19 in FIG. 1) in communication with one of the Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e. Supplemental Information Providers 2304a-e are in communication with a Central Control and Information Server 2306, which may include one or more computing devices. Each Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may be co-located with and in communication with one of one or more sensors 2310a-e. The sensors may include video sensors, depth image sensors, heat sensors, IR sensors, weight sensors, and motion sensors. In some embodiments, a Supplemental Information Provider may not be paired with any sensors…Each of the Supplemental Information Providers may be placed at various locations throughout a particular place of interest. In one example, each ride at an amusement park may be associated with a Supplemental Information Provider. The Supplemental Information Providers may provide virtual object information or 3-D maps associated with a particular area within the particular place of interest. The sensors 2310 may acquire information regarding different subsections of the particular place of interest. For example, in the case of an amusement park, a Supplemental Information Provider 2304 and an accompanying set of one or more sensors 2310 may be placed at each ride or attraction in the amusement park. In the case of a museum, a Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may be located in each section or room of the museum, or in each major exhibit. The sensors 2310 may be used to determine the amount of people waiting in line for a ride (or exhibit) or how crowded the ride (or exhibit) is…” paragraph 0101); and
cause the one or more electronic displays to display a second image associated with the second theme based on the second indication of the second location of the headgear (Personal A/V Apparatus 2302) (“... An information display application 914 allows customization of both the type of display information to be provided to end users and the manner in which it is displayed. The information display application 914 can be utilized in conjunction with an information display application on the personal A/V apparatus 2302. In one embodiment, the display processing occurs at the Supplemental Information Provider 2304. In alternative embodiments, information is provided to personal A/V apparatus 2302 so that personal A/V apparatus 2302 determines which information should be displayed and where, within the display, the information should be located…” paragraph 0104).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou and Baker with the teaching of Geisner because the teaching of Geisner would improve the system of Petrou and Baker by providing a technique of using a head mounted device to render or present videos in amusement park or the like.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 8,223,024 B1 issued to Petrou et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0041388 A1 to Fujmaki et al.
As to claim 3, Petrou as modified by Baker and Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays based on a number of times the first location corresponds with a stored location.
Fujmaki teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays based on a number of times (after a specific period has elapsed) the first location corresponds with a stored location (past History Storage Portion 124)(“…The past history storage portion 124 stores past stay information of the HMD 100. The stay information is generated as a result of the present position of the HMD 100 being specified by the GPS module 137 at a predetermined cycle. Specifically, in a case where the present position of the image display section 20 which is specified periodically is included within a predetermined range (for example, within 5 meters) from a position which is specified at a certain time point after a specific period has elapsed, it is determined that the user of the image display section 20 stayed at the specified position. For this reason, it is possible to determine a time period or the like in which the user of the image display section 20 stayed at a store located at the specified position on the basis of the stay information stored in the past history storage portion 124. The past history storage portion 124 corresponds to a personal information storage unit in the appended claims…In the HMD 100 of the present embodiment, the past history storage portion 124 of the storage unit 120 stores the stay information VD of the user in the past…” paragraphs 0074/0108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou, Baker and Geisner with the teaching of Fujmaki because the teaching of Fujmaki would improve the system of Petrou, Baker and Geisner by providing a technique of keeping track of an HMD positions/locations for later use.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 8,223,024 B1 issued to Petrou et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. as applied to claims 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0192009 A1 to Sugio et al.
As to claim 5, Petrou as modified by Baker and Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, however it is silent with reference to wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the first location of the headgear corresponds with a previously indicated favorite location; and determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays based on the previously indicated favorite location.
Sugio teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to: determine the first location of the headgear corresponds with a previously indicated favorite location (viewpoint position); and determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays (Viewpoint Video Display Screen 301) based on the previously indicated favorite location (“…The position represented by the hatched circle indicates the viewpoint position of the viewpoint video that is currently being displayed on the viewpoint video display screen 301. When the user selects the circle corresponding to each viewpoint position by performing a touch or mouse-click operation or the like, the viewpoint video that is displayed is switched to the viewpoint video corresponding to the viewpoint position (favorite viewpoint video switching mode)…When the user selects the “favorite” menu, a viewpoint video at the time of selection or around the time of selection may be registered as a favorite time period of the selected viewpoint video (viewpoint video rating giving mode). The registered favorite time period is used in a case of recording viewing. For example, in the case of recording viewing, another viewpoint video corresponding to the favorite time period is displayed…When the user selects the “favorite” menu, the selected viewpoint video is registered as a favorite video. The registered favorite video is used as a viewpoint video in the favorite viewpoint video switching mode…” paragraphs 0192/0197/0198).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou, Baker and Geisner with the teaching of Sugio because the teaching of Sugio would improve the system of Petrou, Baker and Geisner by providing a technique of displaying a user’s favorite video.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 8,223,024 B1 issued to Petrou et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0234482 A1 to Bickerstaff et al.
As to claim to claim 6, Petrou as modified by Baker and Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, however it is silent with reference to comprising a memory configured to store a table that maps the first location of the headgear to the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the image to send to the one or more electronic displays by querying the table.
Bickerstaff teaches comprising a memory (Image Store 470) configured to store a table that maps the first location of the headgear to the image to send to the one or more electronic displays, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays by querying the table (Image Position Detector 460)(“…The camera 322 is a video camera, capturing images at an image capture rate of, for example, 25 images per second. As each image is captured, it is passed to an image store 400 for storage and is also compared, by an image comparator 410, with a preceding image retrieved from the image store. The comparison uses known block matching techniques (so-called “optical flow” detection) to establish whether substantially the whole image has moved since the time at which the preceding image was captured. Localised motion might indicate moving objects within the field of view of the camera 322, but global motion of substantially the whole image would tend to indicate motion of the camera rather than of individual features in the captured scene, and in the present case because the camera is mounted on the HMD, motion of the camera corresponds to motion of the HMD and in turn to motion of the user's head…The displacement between one image and the next, as detected by the image comparator 410, is converted to a signal indicative of motion by a motion detector 420. If required, the motion signal is converted by to a position signal by an integrator 430…With reference to FIG. 11, this is achieved by a motion sensor 450 (such as the arrangement of FIG. 10 and/or the motion detector 332 of FIG. 9b) supplying data indicative of motion and/or current position to a required image position detector 460, which translates the actual position of the HMD into data defining the required image for display. An image generator 480 accesses image data stored in an image store 470 if required, and generates the required images from the appropriate viewpoint for display by the HMD…” paragraphs 0081/0082/0087).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou, Geisner and Baker with the teaching of Bickerstaff because the teaching of Bickerstaff would improve the system of Petrou, Geisner and Baker by providing a technique for translating actual position of the HMD into data defining the required image for display (Bickerstaff paragraph 0087).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 8,223,024 B1 issued to Petrou et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0375680 A1 to Ackerman et al.
As to claim to claim 7, Petrou as modified by Baker and Geisner teaches the headgear operation system of claim 1, wherein the first location signal is associated with a second image and the at least one processor is configured to: receive the second image based on the first location signal; determine, using image recognition, the location of the headgear based on the second image; and determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays based on the first location of the headgear, the second image, or both.
Ackerman teaches wherein the location first signal is associated with a second image and the at least one processor is configured to: receive the second image based on the first location signal (second image); determine, using image recognition, the first location of the headgear based on the second image (Step 612); and determine the first image to send to the one or more electronic displays based on the first location of the headgear, the second image, or both (updated head position) (“…In step 612, a second image associated with the virtual object is rendered and displayed based on the updated head position. The second image may be displayed at a second position on the HMD different from the first position. In one example, if the end user's head position (or eye position) shifts relative to the initial head position with respect to the HMD (e.g., due to the end user riding on a bumpy road or accidentally touching the HMD as they wear the HMD), then the HMD may adjust the position of virtual objects displayed to the end user such that the virtual objects appear to be fixed or otherwise located appropriately within the augmented reality environment…One embodiment of the disclosed technology includes determining an initial head position of the end user relative to the HMD at a first point and time and rendering and displaying a first image associated with a virtual object based on the initial head position of the end user relative to the HMD. The first image is displayed at a first position on the HMD. The method further includes determining a second head position of the end user relative to the HMD at a second point in time subsequent to the first point in time. The second head position is different from the initial head position. The method further includes rendering and displaying a second image associated with the virtual object based on the second head position of the end user relative to the HMD. The second image is displayed at a second position on the HMD different from the first position…” paragraphs 0076/0080).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou, Baker and Geisner with the teaching of Ackerman because the teaching of Ackerman would improve the system of Petrou, Baker and Geisner by providing a technique of displaying images to the user in real-time based the location or position of the headgear.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 8,223,024 B1 issued to Petrou et al. in view of WO No. 2019209265 A1 to Baker et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0375680 A1 to Ackerman et al. as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of CN. No. 108697936 A1 to Gordt et al.
As to claim 8, Petrou as modified by Baker, Geisner and Ackerman teaches the headgear operation system of claim 7, however it is silent with reference to wherein the second image comprises a Quick Response (QR) code, a character, text, or a cartoon associated with the location.
Gordt teaches wherein the second image comprises a Quick Response (QR) code, a character, text, or a cartoon associated with the location (quick response code) (“…In another preferred design solution of the present invention, the directional signal is an optical signal, preferably infrared signal, quick response code or a bar code. by, for example, the visual perception of quick response code, can advantageously easily recognize virtual reality head-mounted device are oriented in any direction. In one advantageous design solution of the invention, the position sensors and/or the directional sensors are arranged at the rest position of the amusement facility and/or the vehicle. For example, in rollercoaster, position transmitter and directional transmitter can be arranged at the station of the coaster. In particular, at least one camera integrated in the virtual reality head-mounted device. the camera can be used as the device for detecting the orientation signal. the camera can relatively easily determine the seat identification and orientation of virtual reality head-mounted device. Therefore, the quick response code, bar code or other optical signal placed on the coaster of the station or the vehicle is enough, the quick response code, barcode or other optical signal detection by a virtual reality head-mounted device. then, it can perspective, code content from the position, or the position and orientation of virtual reality signal brightness to determine use of the head-mounted device. as the camera such as an integrated camera may be used in intelligent mobile phone, wherein the intelligent mobile phone is placed in a virtual reality head-mounted device…”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Petrou, Baker, Geisner and Ackerman with the teaching of Gordt because the teaching of Gordt would improve the system of Petrou, Baker, Geisner and Ackerman by providing a technique of a versatile tool that enables rapid access to information.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO No. 2016036645 A1 to Mullins et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0249256 A1 to Sano et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 5,844,530 A issued to Tosaki.
As to claim 16, Mullins teaches an interactive helmet comprising:
a main body (Head Mounted Device 101/1200/1300);
a sensor (Sensors 112/202) configured to receive a signal indicative of a location of the interactive helmet (“…The sensors 112 may include other sensors used to track the location, movement, and orientation of the HMD 101 externally without having to rely on the sensors internal to the HMD 101. The sensors 112 may include optical sensors (e.g., depth-enabled 3D camera), wireless sensors (Bluetooth, Wi-Fi), GPS sensor…The HMD 101 may also identify tracking data related to the devices 116, 118 (e.g., GPS location of the HMD 101, orientation, distances to devices 116, 118). If the captured image is not recognized locally at the HMD 101, the HMD 101 can download additional information (e.g., 3D model or other augmented data) corresponding to the captured image, from a database of the server 110 over the network 108…The sensors 202 may include, for example, a proximity or location sensor (e.g., Near Field Communication, GPS Bluetooth, Wi-Fi), an optical sensor(s) (e.g., camera), an orientation sensor(s) (e.g., gyroscope, or an inertial motion sensor), an audio sensor (e.g., a microphone), or any suitable…” paragraphs 00043/0046/051/0062);
an actuator (Actuation Module 304) coupling a feature (Display 204) of the interactive helmet to the main body, wherein the actuator is configured to adjust a position of the feature (raise/lower the display 204) with respect to the main body (“…The actuation module 304 generates an actuation command to the display mechanical system 220 (e.g., motor, actuator) to raise the display 204 inside the HMD 101 or lower the display 204 outside the HMD 101 based on the determination made from the receiver module 302. Examples of mechanical systems are illustrated in FIGS. 12A, 12B, 12C, 12D, 13A, 13B, 13C, and 13D…” paragraph 0059); and
a controller (Receiver Module 302) communicatively coupled to the sensor and the actuator (“…In one example embodiment, the display controller 218 includes a receiver module 302 and an actuation module 304 as illustrated in FIG. 3. The receiver module 302 communicates with sensors 202 in the HMD 101 and the wearable device 103 to identify commands related to the display 204. For example, the receiver module 302 may identify an audio command (e.g., "lower glasses") from the user 102 to lower a position of the display 204…The actuation module 304 generates an actuation command to the display mechanical system 220 (e.g., motor, actuator) to raise the display 204 inside the HMD 101 or lower the display 204 outside the HMD 101 based on the determination made from the receiver module 302. Examples of mechanical systems are illustrated in FIGS. 12A, 12B, 12C, 12D, 13A, 13B, 13C, and 13D…” paragraphs 0058/0059), wherein the controller, and wherein the controller is configured to:
receive an indication of the location of the interactive helmet from the sensor, and cause the actuator to adjust the position of the feature with respect to the main body based on the location of the interactive helmet (“…The actuation module 304 generates an actuation command to the display mechanical system 220 (e.g., motor, actuator) to raise the display 204 inside the HMD 101 or lower the display 204 outside the HMD 101 based on the determination made from the receiver module 302. Examples of mechanical systems are illustrated in FIGS. 12A, 12B, 12C, 12D, 13A, 13B, 13C, and 13D…At operation 804, a position of the display 204 is adjusted in response to the request. For example, the display 204 may be lowered outside the HMD 101 or raise inside the HMD 101. In one embodiment, operation 804 may be implemented using the actuation module 304 of FIG. 3…At operation 806, the display 204 is powered on or off based on the display position. For example, the display 204 may be powered off when the display 204 is retracted inside the HMD 101, and powered on when the display 204 is extended outside the HMD 101. In one embodiment, operation 806 may be implemented using the actuation module 304 of FIG. 3…” paragraphs 0059/00720073).
Mullins does not explicitly teaches a sensor configured to receive a signal indicative of a location of the interactive helmet within a theme park,
receive an indication of the location of the interactive helmet within the theme park,
controller comprises a processor, wherein the location is indicative of a section of a theme park and
cause the actuator to adjust the position of the feature with respect to the main body based on the location of the interactive helmet being associated with section of the theme park.
Sano teaches controller (controller) comprises a processor (processor) (“…The electronic apparatus according to the embodiment described above includes the controller (processor 120), which intermittently drives the receiver (GPS sensor 110), which receives a positioning signal (GPS signal) and generates predetermined information (ephemeris), in a predetermined cycle, and the controller (processor 120) determines (extends as required, for example) the upper limit (timeout period) of the period to be spent for the generation described above (up period) on the basis of the period spent for the generation described above (up period) in the past… The electronic apparatus 1 in the embodiment described above may be configured not only as a wrist-type electronic apparatus but also as an earphone-type electronic apparatus, a finger-ring-type electronic apparatus, an electronic apparatus attached to a sports gear for use, a head mounted display (HMD), and a smartphone and other mobile information apparatus…” paragraphs 0147/0171).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Mullins with the teaching of Sano because the teaching of Sano would improve the system of Mullins by providing logic circuitry that respond to and processes instructions that drive a computer.
Geisner teaches a sensor configured to receive a signal indicative of a location of the interactive helmet within a theme park (Supplemental Information Providers…User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements),
receive an indication of the location of the interactive helmet within the theme park (Supplemental Information Providers…User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements) and
wherein the location is indicative of a section of a theme park (park (Supplemental Information Providers…User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements) (“…Supplemental Information Provider 2304 may include supplemental data for one or more events or locations for which the service is utilized. Event and/or location data can include supplemental event and location data 910 about one or more events known to occur within specific periods of time and/or about one or more locations that provide a customized experience. User location and tracking module 912 keeps track of various users which are utilizing the system. Users can be identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements...FIG. 6A is a flowchart describing one embodiment of method for providing context sensitive information to a user while that user is waiting. The process of FIG. 6A can be implemented using the system of FIG. 5A. For example, Supplemental Information Providers can be situated at different attractions in an amusement park, different areas of a museum, different areas of an airport, etc. In step 2502, the personal A/V apparatus connects to the local Supplemental Information Provider. In one embodiment, the personal A/V apparatus will connect to the closest local Supplemental Information Provider. For example, if the user is at an amusement park, each attraction may have its own Supplemental Information Provider and the user's personal A/V apparatus will automatically connect to the Supplemental Information Provider for the current attraction that the user is waiting in line for. In step 2504, the Supplemental Information Provider will verify that the connection between the personal A/V apparatus and the Supplemental Information Provider persists for a predefined amount of time (e.g., 5 minutes). This is to verify that the user is in fact waiting in line rather than just walking by the Supplemental Information Provider. GPS or other location based information may also be used to confirm that the user is waiting in line within a particular waiting area associated with the attraction or exhibit…” paragraphs 0104/0109/0154).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Mullins and Sano with the teaching of Geisner because the teaching of Geisner would improve the system of Mullins and Sano by providing a technique of using a head mounted device to render or present videos in amusement park or the like.
Tosaki teaches cause the actuator (Angle Sensor 217h) to adjust the position of the feature with respect to the main body based on the section of the theme park (amusement park/shooting game) (“…The HMD 1 has the same structure as that in the first embodiment above, except that an angle sensor 217h is installed instead of the position sensor 100. The angle sensor 217h, which consists of a gyro rotated by a motor, allows the angle of the HMD 1 to be detected using gyro inertia. The picture circuit 217f performs the function of generating images that correspond to the angle of the angle sensor 217h. Specifically, the picture circuit 217f detects signals outputted from the angle sensor 217h and computes the angle of the HMD 1. The picture circuit 217f generates prescribed pictures on the basis of the computation results, and the pictures generated are outputted to the HMD 1. With an application software for a shooting game, for example, a picture of the cockpit of a fighter aircraft is projected on the HMD 1, as shown in FIG. 29. The picture of the cockpit projected on the HMD 1 is therefore superposed on the picture of the fighter aircraft projected on the TV receiver 217g…” Col. 24 Ln. 34-50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Mullins, Sano and Geisner with the teaching of Tosaki because the teaching of Tosaki would improve the system of Mullins, Sano and Geisner by providing a motoring system for angling a sensor to optimal render images or videos to a user.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO No. 2016036645 A1 to Mullins et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0249256 A1 to Sano et al. and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al. and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 5,844,530 A issued to Tosaki as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 20190206132 A1 to Ziekowski.
As to claim 20, Mullins as modified by Sano, Geisner and Tosaki teaches the interactive helmet of claim 16, however it is silent with reference to wherein the feature comprises a nose associated with the interactive helmet, and wherein the nose is configured to actuate based on the section of the theme park location of the interactive helmet corresponding with an area associated with food.
Ziekowski teaches wherein the feature comprises a nose associated with the interactive helmet (Visualization Device 14), and wherein the nose (augmented reality (AR) experience or a virtual reality (VR) experience) is configured to actuate based on the section of the theme park location of the interactive helmet corresponding with an area associated with food (Amusement parks and/or theme parks may include various entertainment attractions, restaurants) (“…Amusement parks and/or theme parks may include various entertainment attractions, restaurants, and rides useful in providing enjoyment to guests (e.g., families and/or people of all ages) of the amusement park. Areas of the amusement park may have different themes that are specifically targeted to certain audiences. For example, certain areas may include themes that are traditionally of interest to children, while other areas may include themes that are traditionally of interest to more mature audiences. Generally, locations having themes associated with such an amusement park may be referred to as an attraction or a themed attraction…As the ride vehicle 100 moves along the tracks 98, the ride passengers 102, 104, 106, 108 may be provided a moving tour of the scenery (e.g., facilities 94, additional amusement attractions 96, and so forth) in an area around or nearby the thrill ride 92. For example, this may include the environment surrounding the thrill ride 92 (e.g., a building that fully or partially houses the thrill ride 92). While the ride passengers 102, 104, 106, 108 may find the thrill ride 92 to be a very enjoyable experience, it may be useful to enhance their ride experience. Specifically, instead of having a physical view of only the facilities 94 (e.g., recreational areas, hotels, restaurants, souvenir shops, and so forth), additional amusement attractions 96 (e.g., Ferris wheel or other attractions), or other patrons or pedestrians within the amusement park 90, it may be useful to provide the ride passengers 102, 104, 106, 108 with an augmented reality (AR) experience or a virtual reality (VR) experience…” paragraphs 0002/0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to modify the system of Mullins, Sano, Geisner and Toaski with the teaching of Ziekowski because the teaching of Ziekowski would improve the system of Mullins, Sano, Geisner and Toaski by providing ride passengers with an augmented reality (AR) experience or a virtual reality (VR) experience of a theme park including restaurants in the event that the ride passengers need refreshment or food.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art of records, (U.S. Pat. No. 8,223,024 B1 issued to Petrou et al., U.S. Pub. No. 2013/0083008 A1 to Geisner et al., and WO No. 2016036645 A1 to Mullins et al.), taken alone or in combination do not specifically disclose or suggest the claimed recitations (claims 17-19, when taken in the context of claims as a whole.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/21/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argued in substance that (1) the Pertrou prior art does not teach or suggest receive a first indication of the first location of the headgear within the theme park based on the first location signal, wherein the first location is associated with a first theme of the theme park; and
cause the one or more electronic displays to display a first image associated with the first theme based on the first indication of the first location of the headgear, (2) the Petrou and Baker prior art improperly combined, (3) the Sugio prior art does not teach or suggest the limitation of claim 5, (4) the Bickerstaff prior art does not teach or suggest the limitation of claim 6, (5) the Pertrou prior art does not teach or suggest the limitation of claim 13, (6) the Pertrou prior art does not teach or suggest the limitation of claim 14, (7) the Mullins prior art does not teach or suggest the limitations of claim 16, (8) the Mullins prior art does not teach or suggest the limitations of claim 17, and (9) the Ziekowski prior art does not teach or suggest the limitation of claim 20.
The Examiner disagrees.
As to points (1&7), The Geisner prior art discloses a mobile device comprising a head-mounted display device (HMD) that provides an augmented reality environment or a mixed reality environment for an end user of the HMD. The HMD includes a video see-through and/or an optical see-through system. The optical see-through HMD worn by an end user allow actual direct viewing of a real-world environment (e.g., via transparent lenses) and will project images of a virtual object into the visual field of the end user thereby augmenting the real-world environment perceived by the end user with the virtual object. The HMD includes a AR system 2307/a personal A/V apparatus 2304 is in communication with Supplemental Information Providers. Each Supplemental Information Provider is communication with one of one or more sensors and placed at various locations throughout a particular place of interest. The sensors include video sensors, depth image sensors, heat sensors, IR sensors, weight sensors, and motion sensors. The Supplemental Information Providers includes a User location and tracking module that keeps track of various users who are utilizing the system. Users are identified by unique user identifiers, location, and/or other identifying elements. The Supplemental Information Providers using the User location and tracking module in combination with the sensors tracks and monitors location of users wearing the HMD in an amusement park.
As to point (2), the Baker prior art is applied to show that a head mounted display (HMD) could capture and display information using outward facing cameras on the HMD. The Baker prior art discloses a head mounted display (HMD) system. The HMD includes a first display, a sensor, an outward facing camera, a processor, and a second display. The first display is to display an image towards a user wearing the HMD. The sensor captures a gaze of the user wearing the HMD. The outward facing camera captures images of a portion of an environment within a view of the user. The processor is communicatively coupled to the sensor and the outward facing camera to generate an animation of the gaze of the user and an augmented reality image on the first display based on the images captured by the outward facing camera.
The disclosure and teachings of the Pertrou and Baker prior arts are analogous to the claimed invention because they are all directed to a head mounted display (HMD) for capturing and displaying information.
As to point (3), the claimed invention requires the display of images based on user’s selection of his or her favorite location. The Sugio prior art discloses a video delivery method for a server that delivers to a terminal device a video signal based on a plurality of videos obtained by shooting an identical scene from a plurality of different viewpoints over a plurality of successive periods. The video delivery method includes viewpoint video display screen 301, where a video created by combining a plurality of viewpoint videos may be displayed. In the viewpoint video display screen, a position (favorite location) represented by the hatched circle indicates the viewpoint position of the viewpoint video that is currently being displayed on the viewpoint video display screen. When the user selects the circle corresponding to each viewpoint position by performing a touch or mouse-click operation or the like, the viewpoint video that is displayed is switched to the viewpoint video corresponding to the viewpoint position (favorite viewpoint video switching mode).
As to point (4), the Bickerstaff prior art discloses a method of operation of a head mountable display (HMD) system. The HMD system includes a motion sensor/camera. The motion sensor/camera delivers data indicative of motion and/or current position to a required image position detector and translates the actual position of the HMD into data defining the required image for display. The image data including the positioning information are stored in an image store. Subsequently, the image store are accessed and the required images from the appropriate viewpoint are displayed by the HMD.
As to points (5&6), the head mountable display (HMD) system of Pertrou prior art (Wearable Computing System 902) is disclosed. It include a Camera 918 and one or more processing units 904 for capturing, processing and displaying image for the HMD.
As to point (8), the rejection for claims 17-19 are hereby withdrawn.
As to point (9), the Ziekowski prior art discloses a visualization device 14 capable of switching between different types of visualizations in real-itme. Cameras 34 and 36 (including sensors 37) of the visualization device respectively correspond to the point of view of the user 12, and are used to capture real-time video data (e.g., live video) or ambient light signals of the real-world. Communication features 38 of the visualization device transmits orientation data, position data, point of view data (e.g., focal length, orientation, pose), motion tracking data, and so forth obtained and derived based on data obtained via the sensors of the visualization device. The sensors include orientation and position sensors (e.g., accelerometers, magnetometers, gyroscopes, Global Positioning System [GPS] receivers), motion tracking sensors (e.g., electromagnetic and solid-state motion tracking sensors), inertial measurement units (IMU), eye tracking sensors, and others. The visualization device using the Global Positioning System [GPS] receivers), motion tracking sensors (e.g., electromagnetic and solid-state motion tracking sensors) and actuating its cameras to provide ride passengers with an augmented reality (AR) experience or a virtual reality (VR) experience of a theme park including restaurants as the ride passengers ride along in a train and/or in the event that the ride passengers need refreshment or food in real-time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES E ANYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2194