DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 (similarly claim 7) recite: “determining that the resource quota is exhausted” and “wherein said allocating and said updating provides for exhausting the resource quota”. The examiner is unclear how a resource quota which is determined to be exhausted can further be exhausted by said allocating and said updating. A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that a term “exhausted” resource quota as being depleted (i.e. completely used quota) and “exhausting the resource quota” is further usage/depletion of the resource quota. Therefore, the examiner is unclear how the exhausted quota is further exhausted by the allocating and updating.
Claim 13 (similarly claims 14, 16, 17, 19 and 20) recites the limitation "the other session". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The examiner is unclear if the other session is referring to “the another session” or some other session that is not “another session”.
Claims 2-6, 8-12, 14-20 are rejected based on rejection of its corresponding dependent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (Pub 20200044983) (hereafter Zheng) in view of Oltmanns et al. (Pub 20160373590) (hereafter Oltmanns).
As per claim 1, Zheng teaches:
A method for concurrent resource sharing, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first requesting device for a first session of a shared resource plan, a request for a first resource request amount; ([Paragraph 39], In operation 405, dispatch center 300 can determine a total amount of available shareable resources in the distributed networked system 100 for implementing real-time quota limitation. Available system resources can include all resources of servers 250 connected to the distributed networked systems. [Paragraph 30], Quota limitation service receives quota limitations for shareable resources from dispatch center 300. When client 200 receives a task to perform that requires shareable resources, then one or more agents 230 or plug-ins 240 can determine the amount of shareable resources necessary to perform the task. Before the task is actually performed, quota limitation service can receive the amounts of shareable resources needed to perform the task, compare the amounts needed against one or more shareable resource quota limits received from the dispatch center 300, and determine whether any of the amounts of the required shareable resources exceeds a quota limitation for the shareable resource. [Paragraph 35], Characteristics catalog 310 can include a list of shareable resources 311, a capacity 312, or amount of each resource, a maximum quota 314 that can be allocated to each client 200, a limitation policy 315, such as round robin allocation or dynamic allocation of a shareable resource, and an enable flag 316 indicated that a limitation policy 315 is in force. [Paragraph 41], A group of clients can be, for example, clients in a specified company or business, clients in a department in a business, clients in a specified network, clients in a specified geographic area, and other groupings of clients…In embodiment, the group policy can be manually entered into dispatch center 300. In an embodiment, dispatch center 300 can obtain network bandwidth (or other resource) historic utilization information to determine shareable resource quota limitations for a group. [Paragraph 49], In an embodiment, the message can include further details, such as the nature of the requested task, the particular resource that will exceed its quota limitation if the task is performed, and/or details of utilization of all shareable resources that would be used in performing the task.)
reserving a first reserved resource amount from a resource quota of the shared resource plan based on the first resource amount; ([Paragraph 41], In operation 415, dispatch center 300 can receive, or determine, one or more policies that set quota limitations of shareable resources clients 200 in a group of clients. [Paragraph 30], Quota limitation service receives quota limitations for shareable resources from dispatch center 300. When client 200 receives a task to perform that requires shareable resources, then one or more agents 230 or plug-ins 240 can determine the amount of shareable resources necessary to perform the task. Before the task is actually performed, quota limitation service can receive the amounts of shareable resources needed to perform the task, compare the amounts needed against one or more shareable resource quota limits received from the dispatch center 300, and determine whether any of the amounts of the required shareable resources exceeds a quota limitation for the shareable resource.)
receiving, from a second requesting device, a termination message for a second session on the share resource plan, the termination message comprising a resource usage amount to be committed from the resource quota; ([Paragraph 4], A resource quota may be set manually for each client device and server device. As a client device uses a shared resource, the client device can notify one or more servers as to the amount of shared resource that is being used, or will be used, to perform a task on behalf of the client. [Paragraph 17], Shared resources can be network bandwidth, CPU utilization, memory usage, storage usage, software usage, or any resource available on the distributed networked system that can be used to perform a task on behalf of the client device… If so, then the client device can cancel performance of the task. In an embodiment, the client device can transmit a message indicating whether the task can, or will, be performed, or whether the task will be canceled due to exceeding the resource quota limit.)
determining that the resource quota is exhausted based on at least the first reserved resource amount; ([Paragraph 56], In operation 620, it can be determined whether the amount of any of the shareable resources (determined in operation 700) necessary to perform the task (received in operation 605) exceeds a quota limitation for the shareable resource. Quota limitation service 250 can determine whether a quota limit for any of the shareable resources of the distributed networked system would be exceeded by performing the task.)
based on the determination and responsive to the termination message, allocating at least a portion of the first reserved resource amount to the resource usage amount; and ([Paragraph 4], A resource quota may be set manually for each client device and server device. As a client device uses a shared resource, the client device can notify one or more servers as to the amount of shared resource that is being used, or will be used, to perform a task on behalf of the client. [Paragraph 17], If so, then the client device can cancel performance of the task. In an embodiment, the client device can transmit a message indicating whether the task can, or will, be performed, or whether the task will be canceled due to exceeding the resource quota limit. [Paragraph 56], In operation 620, it can be determined whether the amount of any of the shareable resources (determined in operation 700) necessary to perform the task (received in operation 605) exceeds a quota limitation for the shareable resource. Quota limitation service 250 can determine whether a quota limit for any of the shareable resources of the distributed networked system would be exceeded by performing the task.)
updating the shared resource plan based on the allocating of at least a portion of the first reserved resource amount, wherein said allocating and said updating provides for exhausting the resource quota. ([Paragraph 5], First, when shareable resource usage is monitored by a server in the distributed networked system, the server receives update messages from a client device amount of a system resource that is being be used by the client device, such as an amount of network bandwidth or disk storage. [Paragraph 39], In operation 405, dispatch center 300 can determine a total amount of available shareable resources in the distributed networked system 100 for implementing real-time quota limitation. Available system resources can include all resources of servers 250 connected to the distributed networked systems.)
Zheng discloses reserved resource amount via one or more policies of shareable resources.
However, Zheng does not explicitly disclose session(s); the termination message comprising a resource usage amount to be committed from the resource quota; and allocating at least a portion of the first reserved resource amount to the resource usage amount.
Oltmanns teaches session(s); the termination message comprising a resource usage amount to be committed from the resource quota; and allocating at least a portion of the first reserved resource amount to the resource usage amount. ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account.)
Oltmanns also teaches shared resource plan; request resource amount; reserved resource amount from a resource quota. ([Paragraph 2-3, 20-21])
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Zheng wherein resource request amount(s) is/are received for a shared resource plan, resource(s) is/are reserved from a resource quota, termination message is received from another device with resource usage information and updates to consumption of shared resources are made in real-time, into teachings of Oltmanns wherein session(s) is/are established for client device(s) associated with shareable resource(s), unused resource(s) of the session(s) is/are released back to the resource quota, because this would enhance the teachings of Zheng wherein by allocating/releasing the unused portion of the reserved resource amount when the session(s) is/are cancelled/ended/terminated, it allows the resource quota of a shared resource plan to accurately reflect the actual consumption of resource(s), thus allowing full usage/availability of resource(s) that are available to use from the resource quota.
As per claim 2, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Zheng teaches further comprising: after receiving the request for a first resource request amount, receiving, from the second requesting device for the second session, a request for a second resource request amount from the shared resource plan, wherein the termination message is based on the request for the second resource request amount. ([Paragraph 4], A resource quota may be set manually for each client device and server device. As a client device uses a shared resource, the client device can notify one or more servers as to the amount of shared resource that is being used, or will be used, to perform a task on behalf of the client. [Paragraph 17], Shared resources can be network bandwidth, CPU utilization, memory usage, storage usage, software usage, or any resource available on the distributed networked system that can be used to perform a task on behalf of the client device… If so, then the client device can cancel performance of the task. In an embodiment, the client device can transmit a message indicating whether the task can, or will, be performed, or whether the task will be canceled due to exceeding the resource quota limit.)
Oltmanns teaches ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account.)
As per claim 3, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Oltmanns teaches further comprising: allocating a portion of a credit balance of the shared resource plan based on the second resource amount; and updating the allocated portion of the credit balance based on allocating the at least a portion of the first reserved resource amount to the resource usage amount for the second session. ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account. [Paragraph 23], At step 200, mobile device 104-1 initiates a session by sending a request (a Credit Control Request, CCR) containing a requested quota (Requested Service Unit, RSU) to charging server 120. [Paragraph 25], In response, at charging server 120 another quota of fifty units is reserved, and the account balance is decreased to one hundred units (due to the consumption of the initial quota for device 104-2), and a quota of fifty units is in place for each session. Of note, the entire balance of one hundred units is now reserved by the existing quotas.)
As per claim 4, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Oltmanns teaches wherein the first requesting device is the second requesting device or a different device. ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account. [Paragraph 23], At step 200, mobile device 104-1 initiates a session by sending a request (a Credit Control Request, CCR) containing a requested quota (Requested Service Unit, RSU) to charging server 120. [Paragraph 25], In response, at charging server 120 another quota of fifty units is reserved, and the account balance is decreased to one hundred units (due to the consumption of the initial quota for device 104-2), and a quota of fifty units is in place for each session. Of note, the entire balance of one hundred units is now reserved by the existing quotas.)
Zheng also teaches ([Paragraph 17], Embodiments are described for establishing and enforcing quota limitations on shared resources used by client devices in a distributed networked system. Shared resources can be network bandwidth, CPU utilization, memory usage, storage usage, software usage, or any resource available on the distributed networked system that can be used to perform a task on behalf of the client device. A client device receives one or more policies that set a quota limit on usage of at least one resource of the distributed networked system, the at least one resource used in performance of a task for the client device. The quota limit can be based on the client device, specifically, or upon the client device being a member of a group of client devices. )
As per claim 5, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Oltmanns teaches wherein the second session is concurrent with the first session prior to receiving the termination message. ([Paragraph 48], FIGS. 6 and 7 depict another example performance of a method 600, for adaptive quota determination. As will be seen below, method 600 can be considered a particular implementation of method 500. As with method 500, the performance of method 600 is repeated in parallel for each concurrent session. Further, as with method 500,method 600 may be repeated multiple times for each session (to dynamically update quotas).)
Zheng teaches prior to receiving the termination message. ([Paragraph 4], A resource quota may be set manually for each client device and server device. As a client device uses a shared resource, the client device can notify one or more servers as to the amount of shared resource that is being used, or will be used, to perform a task on behalf of the client. [Paragraph 17], Shared resources can be network bandwidth, CPU utilization, memory usage, storage usage, software usage, or any resource available on the distributed networked system that can be used to perform a task on behalf of the client device… If so, then the client device can cancel performance of the task. In an embodiment, the client device can transmit a message indicating whether the task can, or will, be performed, or whether the task will be canceled due to exceeding the resource quota limit.)
As per claim 6, rejection of claim 1 is incorporated:
Oltmanns teaches wherein the allocating of the at least a portion of the first reserved resource amount to the resource usage amount is based on determining the second session is concurrent with the first sessions. ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account. [Paragraph 23], At step 200, mobile device 104-1 initiates a session by sending a request (a Credit Control Request, CCR) containing a requested quota (Requested Service Unit, RSU) to charging server 120. [Paragraph 25], In response, at charging server 120 another quota of fifty units is reserved, and the account balance is decreased to one hundred units (due to the consumption of the initial quota for device 104-2), and a quota of fifty units is in place for each session. Of note, the entire balance of one hundred units is now reserved by the existing quotas.)
As per claims 7-12, these are system claims corresponding to the method claims 1-6. Therefore, rejected based on similar rationale.
As per claim 13, Zheng teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform a method comprising:
receiving a request to terminate a session on a resource plan, the request comprising information indicative of an amount of resources consumed during the session; ([Paragraph 4], A resource quota may be set manually for each client device and server device. As a client device uses a shared resource, the client device can notify one or more servers as to the amount of shared resource that is being used, or will be used, to perform a task on behalf of the client. [Paragraph 17], Shared resources can be network bandwidth, CPU utilization, memory usage, storage usage, software usage, or any resource available on the distributed networked system that can be used to perform a task on behalf of the client device… If so, then the client device can cancel performance of the task. In an embodiment, the client device can transmit a message indicating whether the task can, or will, be performed, or whether the task will be canceled due to exceeding the resource quota limit.)
responsive to the request, determining that the session is concurrent with another session on the resource plan, wherein the other session is associated with an amount of resource reserved from a resource quota of the resource plan; ([Paragraph 41], In operation 415, dispatch center 300 can receive, or determine, one or more policies that set quota limitations of shareable resources clients 200 in a group of clients. [Paragraph 30], Quota limitation service receives quota limitations for shareable resources from dispatch center 300. When client 200 receives a task to perform that requires shareable resources, then one or more agents 230 or plug-ins 240 can determine the amount of shareable resources necessary to perform the task. Before the task is actually performed, quota limitation service can receive the amounts of shareable resources needed to perform the task, compare the amounts needed against one or more shareable resource quota limits received from the dispatch center 300, and determine whether any of the amounts of the required shareable resources exceeds a quota limitation for the shareable resource.)
However, Zheng does not explicitly disclose session(s); and based on the determination, executing a concurrent resource sharing logic that shifts the amount of resources reserved for the other session to the session; and
terminating the session based on the shifted amount of resource reserved to the session.
Oltmanns teaches session session(s); and based on the determination, executing a concurrent resource sharing logic that shifts the amount of resources reserved for the other session to the session; and
terminating the session based on the shifted amount of resource reserved to the session. ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account.)
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to combine the teachings of Zheng wherein resource request amount(s) is/are received for a shared resource plan, resource(s) is/are reserved from a resource quota, termination message is received from another device with resource usage information and updates to consumption of shared resources are made in real-time, into teachings of Oltmanns wherein session(s) is/are established for client device(s) associated with shareable resource(s), unused resource(s) of the session(s) is/are released back to the resource quota, because this would enhance the teachings of Zheng wherein by allocating/releasing/shifting the unused portion of the reserved resource amount when the session(s) is/are cancelled/ended/terminated, it allows the resource quota of a shared resource plan to accurately reflect the actual consumption of resource(s), thus allowing full usage/availability of resource(s) that are available to use from the resource quota.
As per claim 14, rejection of claim 13 is incorporated:
Oltmanns teaches wherein the method further comprises: receiving, from a first requesting device, a request for a first resource request amount for the other session; and reserving the amount of resources from the resource quota based on the first resource request amount. ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account. [Paragraph 23], At step 200, mobile device 104-1 initiates a session by sending a request (a Credit Control Request, CCR) containing a requested quota (Requested Service Unit, RSU) to charging server 120. [Paragraph 25], In response, at charging server 120 another quota of fifty units is reserved, and the account balance is decreased to one hundred units (due to the consumption of the initial quota for device 104-2), and a quota of fifty units is in place for each session. Of note, the entire balance of one hundred units is now reserved by the existing quotas.)
As per claim 15, rejection of claim 14 is incorporated:
Zheng teaches wherein the method further comprises: after receiving the request for the first resource request amount, receiving, from a second requesting device for the session, a request for a second resource request amount from the resource plan, wherein the request to terminate a session is based on the request for the second resource request amount. ([Paragraph 4], A resource quota may be set manually for each client device and server device. As a client device uses a shared resource, the client device can notify one or more servers as to the amount of shared resource that is being used, or will be used, to perform a task on behalf of the client. [Paragraph 17], Shared resources can be network bandwidth, CPU utilization, memory usage, storage usage, software usage, or any resource available on the distributed networked system that can be used to perform a task on behalf of the client device… If so, then the client device can cancel performance of the task. In an embodiment, the client device can transmit a message indicating whether the task can, or will, be performed, or whether the task will be canceled due to exceeding the resource quota limit.)
Oltmanns also teaches ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account.)
As per claim 16, rejection of claim 15 is incorporated:
Oltmanns teaches wherein the method further comprises: allocating a portion of a credit balance of the resource plan based on the second resource amount; and updating the allocated portion of the credit balance based on shifting the amount of resources reserved for the other session to the session. ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account. [Paragraph 23], At step 200, mobile device 104-1 initiates a session by sending a request (a Credit Control Request, CCR) containing a requested quota (Requested Service Unit, RSU) to charging server 120. [Paragraph 25], In response, at charging server 120 another quota of fifty units is reserved, and the account balance is decreased to one hundred units (due to the consumption of the initial quota for device 104-2), and a quota of fifty units is in place for each session. Of note, the entire balance of one hundred units is now reserved by the existing quotas.)
As per claim 17, rejection of claim 15 is incorporated:
Oltmanns teaches wherein the method further comprises: reserving a portion of the credit balance for the other session based on the shifting of the amount of resources reserved for the other session to the session. ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account. [Paragraph 23], At step 200, mobile device 104-1 initiates a session by sending a request (a Credit Control Request, CCR) containing a requested quota (Requested Service Unit, RSU) to charging server 120. [Paragraph 25], In response, at charging server 120 another quota of fifty units is reserved, and the account balance is decreased to one hundred units (due to the consumption of the initial quota for device 104-2), and a quota of fifty units is in place for each session. Of note, the entire balance of one hundred units is now reserved by the existing quotas.)
As per claim 18, rejection of claim 15 is incorporated:
Oltmanns teaches wherein the first requesting device is the second requesting device or a different device. ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account. [Paragraph 23], At step 200, mobile device 104-1 initiates a session by sending a request (a Credit Control Request, CCR) containing a requested quota (Requested Service Unit, RSU) to charging server 120. [Paragraph 25], In response, at charging server 120 another quota of fifty units is reserved, and the account balance is decreased to one hundred units (due to the consumption of the initial quota for device 104-2), and a quota of fifty units is in place for each session. Of note, the entire balance of one hundred units is now reserved by the existing quotas.)
Zheng also teaches ([Paragraph 17], Embodiments are described for establishing and enforcing quota limitations on shared resources used by client devices in a distributed networked system. Shared resources can be network bandwidth, CPU utilization, memory usage, storage usage, software usage, or any resource available on the distributed networked system that can be used to perform a task on behalf of the client device. A client device receives one or more policies that set a quota limit on usage of at least one resource of the distributed networked system, the at least one resource used in performance of a task for the client device. The quota limit can be based on the client device, specifically, or upon the client device being a member of a group of client devices. )
As per claim 19, rejection of claim 13 is incorporated:
Oltmanns teaches wherein the method further comprises: updating the resource plan based on the shifting the amount of resources reserved for the other session to the session, wherein said shifting and said updating provides for exhausting the resource quota. ([Paragraph 32], Account database 316 contains account balances for a plurality of accounts, including the shared account associated with mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3. [Paragraph 35], It is assumed that, prior to beginning the performance of method 500, each of mobile devices 104-1, 104-2 and 104-3 (or indeed any other number of mobile devices 104) have established communication sessions via gateway 112, and are thus in a position to consume resources shared amongst the three devices 104. [Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account. [Paragraph 23], At step 200, mobile device 104-1 initiates a session by sending a request (a Credit Control Request, CCR) containing a requested quota (Requested Service Unit, RSU) to charging server 120. [Paragraph 25], In response, at charging server 120 another quota of fifty units is reserved, and the account balance is decreased to one hundred units (due to the consumption of the initial quota for device 104-2), and a quota of fifty units is in place for each session. Of note, the entire balance of one hundred units is now reserved by the existing quotas.)
As per claim 20, rejection of claim 13 is incorporated:
Oltmanns teaches wherein the method further comprises: determining that the resource quota is exhausted based on at least amount of resource reserved for the other session; and wherein the concurrent resource sharing logic is executed based on that the determination that the resource quota is exhausted based on at least amount of resource reserved for the other session. ([Paragraph 21], Quotas are reserved against a balance of the account associated with the mobile device 104. When a quota is consumed, the quota is deducted from the account balance, and an additional portion of the account balance is marked as reserved for the subsequent quota. [Paragraph 41], Quota allocation can also optionally include setting a volume quota threshold (VQT) parameter defining a threshold for gateway server 116 to start early usage reporting for the session, and a quota holding time (QHT) parameter defining a timeout period beyond which, if the session is inactive, the quota will be released. [Paragraph 47], Over multiple performances of method 500, the quotas allocated to each of the sessions may therefore change dynamically in response to the activities of the other sessions and the remaining available resources in the shared account.)
Conclusion
/DONG U KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2197