DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Referring to the specifications as filed, the apparatus in claims 19-24 corresponds to Fig. 1 a system-on-a-chip (SOC) 100, which may include a central processing unit (CPU) 102 or a multi-core CPU configured for text-to-image diffusion models. ¶30 further discloses “the general-purpose processor 102 may include means for receiving, means for generating, and means for training”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 4-10, 13-16, and 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 20240281924) in view of Korviakov et al (US 20230394285), in further view of Karpman et al (US Patent 11995803 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Park disclose an apparatus (Fig. 5 apparatus 500), comprising:
at least one memory (¶32 One or more embodiments of the apparatus include at least one processor; at least one memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor); and
at least one processor coupled to the at least one memory, the at least one processor configured to (col ¶32 One or more embodiments of the apparatus include at least one processor; at least one memory storing instructions executable by the at least one processor):
receive a text-semantic input (Fig. 10 text prompt 1005) at a first stage of a neural network, the first stage including a first convolutional block (¶125 As an example shown in FIG. 10, the layer at 16-pixel includes 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers. Here, 16-pixel means 16-by-16 pixels. The layer at 32-pixel includes 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers. Similarly, layers at 64-pixel, 128-pixel, and 256-pixel include 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers) and no attention layers;
receive, at a second stage, the first output from the first stage, the second stage comprising a first down sampling block including a first attention layer and a second convolutional block (¶125 As an example shown in FIG. 10, the layer at 16-pixel includes 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers. Here, 16-pixel means 16-by-16 pixels. The layer at 32-pixel includes 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers. Similarly, layers at 64-pixel, 128-pixel, and 256-pixel include 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers; image generation network 1045 includes downsampling residual blocks and then upsampling residual blocks, where a layer of the downsampling residual blocks is connected to a layer of the upsampling residual blocks by a skip connection in a U-net architecture.);
receive, at a third stage, a second output from the second stage, the third stage comprising a first up sampling block including a second attention layer and a first set of convolutional blocks (As an example shown in FIG. 10, the layer at 16-pixel includes 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers. Here, 16-pixel means 16-by-16 pixels. The layer at 32-pixel includes 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers. Similarly, layers at 64-pixel, 128-pixel, and 256-pixel include 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers; ¶125 image generation network 1045 includes downsampling residual blocks and then upsampling residual blocks, where a layer of the downsampling residual blocks is connected to a layer of the upsampling residual blocks by a skip connection in a U-net architecture.);
receive, at a fourth stage, the first output from the first stage and a third output from the third stage, the fourth stage comprising a second up sampling block including no attention layers and a second set of convolutional blocks (¶125 In some cases, skip connections 1050 in the asymmetric U-Net architecture exist between layers at the same resolution. For example, image generation network 1045 includes downsampling residual blocks and then upsampling residual blocks, where a layer of the downsampling residual blocks is connected to a layer of the upsampling residual blocks by a skip connection in a U-net architecture); and
generate an image at the fourth stage, based on the text-semantic input (¶124 where the input low-resolution image 1015 (64-pixel image) passes through 3 downsampling residual blocks and then 6 upsampling residual blocks with attention layers to generate the high-resolution image 1055 (512-pixel image)).
Park fails to specifically teach where Korviakov teaches generate a first output comprising a feature map at the first stage (¶17 CNN is a deep learning neural network, wherein one or more building blocks are based on a convolution operation; ¶18 The input data may be related to any kind of data, for example, image data, text data, voice data, etc.; ¶19 the device may perform a convolution operation, which may be, for example, an operation that transforms input feature maps having the first number of channels into output feature maps);
and fails to specifically teach where Karpman teaches the first stage including a first convolutional block and no attention layers (col 5 lines 15-36 & 45-50 the base image diffusion model 120 defines a deep learning network (e.g., a convolutional neural network, a residual neural network, etc.) configured (e.g., through the training described) to generate images from random (e.g., Gaussian) noise based on text prompts and/or descriptions. The base image diffusion model 120 can include a U-net architecture (e.g., Efficient U-Net) defined from residual and multi-head attention blocks that enable the base image diffusion model 120 to progressively denoise (e.g., infill, generate, augment) image data according to cross-attention inputs based on the text prompt; self-attention layers in the base diffusion model architecture can be omitted to improve memory efficiency and inference time), and the fourth stage comprising a second up sampling block including no attention layers (col 5 lines 15-36 & 45-50 system can then pass the base image to the set of high-resolution diffusion models 116 for upsampling and output; self-attention layers in the base diffusion model architecture can be omitted to improve memory efficiency and inference time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have implemented the teaching of generate a first output comprising a feature map at the first stage from Korviakov, and the teaching of the first stage including a first convolutional block and no attention layers and the fourth stage comprising a second up sampling block including no attention layers from Karpman into the method as disclosed by Park. The motivation for doing this is to improve training neural networks to perform tasks and further to improve memory efficiency and inference time.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Park, Korviakov and Karpman disclose the apparatus of claim 1, in which the neural network comprises a text-to-image diffusion-based generative model (Karpman col. 2 lines 51-55 Text-to-image diffusion model 112 may be a probabilistic generative model used to generate image data). The motivation to combine the references is discussed above in the rejection for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Park, Korviakov and Karpman disclose the apparatus of claim 1, in which the neural network comprises a UNet (Park ¶124 As an example shown in FIG. 10, image generation network 1045 is rearranged to an asymmetric U-Net architecture).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park, Korviakov and Karpman disclose the apparatus of claim 1, in which the first stage comprises a first additional convolutional block, the second stage comprises a second additional convolutional block, the third stage comprises a third additional convolutional block, and the fourth stage comprises a fourth additional convolutional block (Park ¶125 As an example shown in FIG. 10, the layer at 16-pixel includes 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers. Here, 16-pixel means 16-by-16 pixels. The layer at 32-pixel includes 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers. Similarly, layers at 64-pixel, 128-pixel, and 256-pixel include 5 blocks of the interleaved attention and convolutional layers; image generation network 1045 includes downsampling residual blocks and then upsampling residual blocks, where a layer of the downsampling residual blocks is connected to a layer of the upsampling residual blocks by a skip connection in a U-net architecture.).
Regarding claim(s) 7-10 (drawn to a method):
The rejection/proposed combination of Park, Korviakov and Karpman, explained in the rejection of apparatus claim(s) 1-4, anticipates/renders obvious the steps of the method of claim(s) 7-10 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed combination as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claim(s) 1-4 is/are equally applicable to claim(s) 7-10.
Regarding claim(s) 13-16 (drawn to a CRM):
The rejection/proposed combination of Park, Korviakov and Karpman, explained in the rejection of apparatus claim(s) 1-4, anticipates/renders obvious the steps of the computer readable medium of claim(s) 13-16 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed combination as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claim(s) 1-4 is/are equally applicable to claim(s) 13-16. See Park ¶81-83.
Regarding claim(s) 19-22 (drawn to an apparatus):
The rejection/proposed combination of Park, Korviakov and Karpman, explained in the rejection of apparatus claim(s) 1-4, anticipates/renders obvious the steps of the system of claim(s) 19-22 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed combination as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claim(s) 1-4 is/are equally applicable to claim(s) 19-22. See Park ¶81-83.
Claim(s) 5, 11, 17, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Park, Korviakov and Karpman as applied to claim 4, 10, 16 and 22 above, and further in view of Guo et al (US 20230351185).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Park, Korviakov and Karpman disclose the apparatus of claim 4, but fails to teach where Guo teaches in which the at least one processor is further configured to: train the neural network to obtain a converged neural network (¶44 Referring to FIG. 2, in response to each pruning algorithm pruning the neural network, the processor 130 retrains the pruned neural network (step S220). Specifically, after each pruning, the processor 130 may retrain the pruned neural network. When the neural network (model) converges, the processor 130 may use another pruning algorithm to prune the pruned neural network); and train a pruned neural network based on the converged neural network (¶44 Specifically, after each pruning, the processor 130 may retrain the pruned neural network. When the neural network (model) converges, the processor 130 may use another pruning algorithm to prune the pruned neural network. For example, the neural network is retrained after channel pruning, and when the neural network converges, weight pruning is then performed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have implemented the teaching of in which the at least one processor is further configured to: train the neural network to obtain a converged neural network, and train a pruned neural network based on the converged neural network from Guo into the apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Park, Korviakov and Karpman. The motivation for doing this is to improve techniques for optimizing neural networks.
Regarding claim(s) 11 (drawn to a method):
The rejection/proposed combination of Park, Korviakov, Karpman, and Guo explained in the rejection of apparatus claim(s) 5, anticipates/renders obvious the steps of the method of claim(s) 11 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed combination as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claim(s) 5 is/are equally applicable to claim(s) 11.
Regarding claim(s) 17 (drawn to a CRM):
The rejection/proposed combination of Park, Korviakov, Karpman and Guo, explained in the rejection of apparatus claim(s) 5, anticipates/renders obvious the steps of the computer readable medium of claim(s) 17 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed combination as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claim(s) 5 is/are equally applicable to claim(s) 17. See Park ¶81-83.
Regarding claim(s) 23 (drawn to an apparatus):
The rejection/proposed combination of Park, Korviakov, Karpman, and Guo, explained in the rejection of apparatus claim(s) 5, anticipates/renders obvious the steps of the system of claim(s) 23 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed combination as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claim(s) 5 is/are equally applicable to claim(s) 23. See Park ¶81-83.
Claim(s) 6, 12, 18, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Park, Korviakov, Karpman, and Guo as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Fukuda et al (20200034702).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Park, Korviakov, Karpman, and Guo disclose the apparatus of claim 5, in which the converged neural network comprises a teacher neural network (Guo Fig. 7 e.g. trained neural network) and the pruned neural network comprises a student neural network (Guo Fig. 7 e.g. pruned neural network), but fail to teach where Fukuda teaches, the at least one processor is further configured to train the student neural network based on a block-wise error calculation for each stage of the student neural network relative to a same stage of the teacher neural network (¶56 At block 340, a student training section may train a student neural network with a teacher input data and the corresponding soft label output obtained at the most recent iteration of block 330. For example, in the embodiment of FIG. 4, at the first iteration, the student training section may train the student neural network, at block 340, with Input Data 1 and a soft label output that the Teacher NN1 has output in response to receiving Input Data 1. In an embodiment, the student training section, at block 340, may train the student neural network such that soft label errors between (1) a soft label output generated by the student neural network in response to receiving the teacher input data (e.g., Input Data 1) and (2) the soft label output generated by the selected teacher neural network (e.g., Teacher NN1) in response to receiving the same teacher input data, is minimized).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have implemented the teaching of the at least one processor is further configured to train the student neural network based on a block-wise error calculation for each stage of the student neural network relative to a same stage of the teacher neural network from Fukuda into the apparatus as disclosed by the combination of Park, Korviakov, Karpman, and Guo. The motivation for doing this is to improve training a student neural network with a teacher neural network.
Regarding claim(s) 12 (drawn to a method):
The rejection/proposed combination of Park, Korviakov, Karpman, Guo, and Fukuda explained in the rejection of apparatus claim(s) 6, anticipates/renders obvious the steps of the method of claim(s) 12 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed combination as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claim(s) 6 is/are equally applicable to claim(s) 12.
Regarding claim(s) 18 (drawn to a CRM):
The rejection/proposed combination of Park, Korviakov, Karpman, Guo, and Fukuda explained in the rejection of apparatus claim(s) 6, anticipates/renders obvious the steps of the computer readable medium of claim(s) 18 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed combination as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claim(s) 6 is/are equally applicable to claim(s) 18. See Park ¶81-83.
Regarding claim(s) 24 (drawn to an apparatus):
The rejection/proposed combination of Park, Korviakov, Karpman, Guo, and Fukuda, explained in the rejection of apparatus claim(s) 6, anticipates/renders obvious the steps of the system of claim(s) 24 because these steps occur in the operation of the proposed combination as discussed above. Thus, the arguments similar to that presented above for claim(s) 6 is/are equally applicable to claim(s) 24. See Park ¶81-83.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN KY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2671