Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/30/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Babaei fails to teach or suggest a first base station comprising a
network communicator configured to receive, from a second base station, an Xn setup
request message including information indicating that a cell of the second base station
supports a Reduced Capability (RedCap) user equipment, wherein the information
indicating that the cell supports the RedCap user equipment includes first information
indicating whether or not the RedCap user equipment equipped with a single receive
branch is allowed to access the cell and second information indicating whether or not
the RedCap user equipment equipped with two receive branches is allowed to access
the cell, as recited by claim 1.
The Applicant is reminded that structure defines how an apparatus differs from prior art apparatuses and when no difference in structure is defined, the assumption is made that the prior art structure meets the limitations.
The Examiner will not give patentable weight to descriptive material absent a new and unobvious functional relationship between the descriptive material and the substrate. See In re Lowry, 32 F.3d 1579, 1582-1583 (Fed. Cir. 1994); In re Ngai, 367 F.3d 1336,1339 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (nonfunctional descriptive material cannot render nonobvious an invention that would have otherwise been obvious). See also Ex parte Mathias, 84 USPQ2d 1276 (BPAI 2005) (nonprecedential), aff’d, 191 Fed. Appx. 959 (Fed. Cir. 2006).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, and 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Babaei US Patent Pub. No.: 2021/0235339 A1, hereinafter, ‘Babaei’.
Consider Claim 1 and as applied to the method of Claim 6, Babaei teaches first base station, comprising: a network communicator configured to receive, from a second base station, an Xn setup request message including information indicating that a cell of the second base station supports a Reduced Capability (RedCap) user equipment (see at least 0257 – “In an example, a first base station may receive an application protocol message (e.g., an Xn Setup message) from a second base station. The application protocol message may comprise one or more information elements indicating information about wireless devices of the first type (e.g., reduced capability wireless devices)…” – see also 0298, 0346-0347 and 0349). wherein the information indicating that the cell supports the RedCap user equipment includes first information indicating whether or not the RedCap user equipment equipped with a single receive branch is allowed to access the cell and second information indicating whether or not the RedCap user equipment equipped with two receive branches is allowed to access the cell (e.g., see at least 0349 –“In an example embodiment, the first information, indicated by the one or more information elements of the application protocol message received by the first base station from the second base station at 3910, may indicate that the second base station admits wireless devices of the first type on a cell of the second base station”.- see pabilities in at least 0306- reduced number of antennas ), wherein the information indicating that the cell supports the RedCap user equipment includes first information indicating whether or not the RedCap user equipment equipped with a single receive branch is allowed to access the cell and second information indicating whether or not the RedCap user equipment equipped with two receive branches is allowed to access the cell ( as noted in the arguments above – this limitation merely describes information. However, the information is not an active step that furthers the function of the structure – the citation is an equivalent description of the information as bet understood by the Examiner) (e.g., see at least 0349 –“In an example embodiment, the first information, indicated by the one or more information elements of the application protocol message received by the first base station from the second base station at 3910, may indicate that the second base station admits wireless devices of the first type on a cell of the second base station”.- see capabilities in at least 0306- reduced number of antennas ).
Consider Claims 3 and 8, Babaei teaches the claimed invention comprising a controller configured to determine a target of a handover of the RedCap user equipment on a basis of at least one of the information indicating that the cell supports the RedCap user equipment, the first information, and the second information (e.g., see at least 0310 – “In an example, the handover request message may comprise an information element indicating a global identifier of the first cell of the second base station. The second base station may determine the target cell at the second base station for handover that the handover request is used for”).
Consider Claims 4 and 9, Babei teaches wherein the network communicator is configured to transmit an Xn setup response message to the second base station, and whether or not a cell of the first base station supports the RedCap user equipment is indicated on a basis of whether or not information indicating that the cell of the first base station supports the RedCap user equipment is included in the Xn setup response message (e.g., see at least 0346 and 0352).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei US Patent Pub. No.: 2021/0235339 A1, hereinafter, ‘Babaei’ in view of Centonza et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2022/0287134, hereinafter, ‘Centonza’.
Consider Claims 5 and 10, Babaei teaches in 0214 “The purpose of the Xn Setup procedure may be to exchange application-level configuration data needed for two NG-RAN nodes to interoperate correctly over the Xn-C interface”. Babaei does not teach wherein the network communicator is configured to transmit, to the second base station, a configuration update message including information indicating that a cell of the first base station supports the RedCap user equipment.
However, in analogous art, Centonza teaches “the purpose of the … Configuration Update procedure is to update application level configuration data needed for eNB and en-gNB to interoperate correctly over the X2 interface.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Babaei to include wherein the network communicator is configured to transmit, to the second base station, a configuration update message including information indicating that a cell of the first base station supports the RedCap user equipment for the purpose of updating application level configuration data as suggested by Centonza.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646