DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-15 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Newly submitted claims 6-9, 12, 14 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons: claims 6-9, 12, 14 claim a species specifically about the operational details of a drive-thru as illustrated in [fig. 53].
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 6-9, 12, 14 have been withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the sixth instruction operable to receive a request from the first party’s application through the at least one interface to switch the lock from the secured position to the unsecured position after the fourth instruction has been executed”. However, the door was claimed to be in an unsecured position as claimed in “the fourth instruction operable to switch the lock from the unsecured position to the secured position if the first buyer identifier matches the second buyer identifier and first internal identifier matches the second internal identifier”. It is not clear how the sixth instruction, that comes “after the fourth instruction”, is configured to switch the door to unsecured position while the door is already in the unsecured position based on the third instruction. The scope of the claim could not be determined and is considered indefinite.
Claims 3-15 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 10, 11, 13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Irwin et al. [US 20150371187] in view of Chapman [US 6003761].
As to claim 1. Irwin discloses A computer implemented system for controlling pickup from a drive thru lane, the system comprising:
a box, [fig. 1, 1A, 0081] storage receptacle 132, having a first internal identification number, [0142] receptacle address, an external identification number, [fig. 1E, 0128] box number displayed on the box, associated with the first internal identifier, [0115] the box number associated with the address to be presented to a computer system as the receptacle identifier, and at least one door secured by a lock having a secured and an unsecured position, [0082, 0083] door 136 secured by a lock that can be opened, wherein the at least one door is accessible, [fig. 1];
at least one interface, [fig. 6, 0136] control unit 144 comprising a transceiver 172, adapted to receive, [0162], and transmit data, [0136] in communication with a first party’s application and a second party’s electronic device, [0162] control unit receives user data from user’s mobile device, wherein the hardware of the mobile device itself does not send user data, and it requires an application software in the phone to perform the steps of sending user data;
one or more servers, [fig. 9, 0211] central management system CMS 404, in secure communication with the at least one interface and the box, [fig. 9] system 404 in communication with storage unit 402, the one or more servers having:
a first instruction embodied in a non-transitory computer readable medium, the first instruction operable to receive registration information received from the first party through the at least one interface, [0210, 0276] customer registers by providing information, the registration information comprising a first party identifier, [0276] username, name, address, email, telephone number, the first internal identifier, and the first external identifier, [0117] user information associated with receptacle, [0115, 0219] including storage unit identifier; [fig. 9, 0350, 0352] wherein the network is the CMS server 404;
a second instruction embodied in the non-transitory computer readable medium, the second instruction operable to receive a first buyer identifier, [0199] enter recipient identifier, and an order number, [0195-0197] enter item identifier received, wherein the first buyer identifier is associated with the order number, [0162] when item is deposited into a storage unit, it triggers a sending notice information 153 to the intended recipient; [fig. 4, 0126, 0315] wherein notice information 153 to the recipient includes item information and recipient information;
a third instruction embodied in the non-transitory computer readable medium, the third instruction operable to receive a second buyer identifier, [0162] receive user identification from recipient, and a second internal identifier, [0159, 0160] receive user identifier and an item identifier, from the second party's electronic device through the at least one interface, [0220, 0316] access management performed through a user’s device, [0189] select storage unit, [0200] deposit information stored, [0288] including storage unit address;
a fourth instruction embodied in the non-transitory computer readable medium, the fourth instruction operable to switch the lock from the unsecured position to the secured position if the first buyer identifier matches the second buyer identifier and first internal identifier matches the second internal identifier, [0163, 0350] confirm if the received identifier matches with the user information, [0164, 0166] if the user is identified, and confirm if the items identified are at the storage unit, then unlock the storage receptacle;
a fifth instruction embodied in the non-transitory computer readable medium, the fifth instruction operable to associate the order number with the box, [0092, 0334] information associating the item to the storage unit communicated; [0126, 0315] wherein notice information 153 to the recipient includes item information and recipient information; and
a sixth instruction embedded in the non-transitory computer medium, the sixth instruction operable to receive a request from the first party’s application through the at least one interface to switch the lock from the secured position to the unsecured position after the fourth instruction has been executed, [0166] user scan the user access information 151 from the notice information 153 to unlock the receptacle.
Irwin fails to disclose a system with a drive-thru lane; wherein the door is accessible through the drive-thru lane.
Chapman teaches a drive-up mail distribution, storage and pick-up assembly that can be implemented as a driver-through mail pick-up system, [col. 4, lines 4-18].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Irwin with that of Chapman so that the system can be implemented to reduce the amount of time for storing and retrieving mail.
As to claim 3. Irwin discloses The computer implemented system of claim 1, wherein the first door is accessible to the second party, and wherein the box further comprises a second door accessible to the first party, [figs. 1, 1A, 0166] unlock door to receptacle 132.
As to claim 4 Irwin discloses The computer implemented system of claim 3, wherein the second door is not locked, [0166] unlock.
As to claim 5 Irwin fails to disclose The computer implemented system of claim 4, wherein the second door is accessible from inside a building and the first door is accessible outside the building.
Chapman teaches a drive-up mail storage and pickup assembly wherein the storage unit comprises an access door in the front 15, and back 17, [fig. 1, col. 5, lines 45-56].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Irwin with that of Chapman so that a mail worker can deposit the items from the back of the storage unit.
As to claim 10 Irwin discloses The computer implemented system of claim 1, wherein the external identification number is displayed on the box and is readable from the drive-thru lane, [fig. 1E, 0128] box number displayed on the box; wherein the box identifier has to be visible for the recipient so the user can identify which box is identified on the access information.
As to claim 11 Irwin discloses The computer implemented system of claim 1, wherein the fourth instruction is further operable to switch the lock from the unsecured position to the secured position in response to a request initiated by the second party via the second party's electronic device, [0166] user scan the user access information 151 from the notice information 153 to unlock the receptacle.
As to claim 13 Irwin discloses The computer implemented system of claim 1, wherein the sixth instruction is operable to switch the lock from the secured position to the unsecured position only after the first party has placed an item into the box, [0166] user scan the user access information 151 from the notice information 153 to unlock the receptacle, which requires for the item to be in the receptacle.
As to claim 15 Irwin discloses The computer implemented system of claim 1, wherein the second instruction is received from the first party application through the at least one interface, [0220] customer access information can be presented through user’s device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Argument 1: The prior arts on file do not teach the newly added limitations of the claims.
Response 1: The Office Action is amended to address the newly added limitations of the claims as detailed above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688