DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tatsuwaki et al. (US2022/0153112A1).
As to claim 1, Tatsuwaki discloses a battery pack ((20), [0039]) comprising: a tray ((21), [0041]); a plurality of unit modules spaced apart from each other on the tray and each comprising a battery cell ((71) [0060] fig. 6);
a first support member supporting the plurality of unit modules with respect to the tray in a first direction (Vertical frames (94), (95) [0049] fig. 7);
and a second support member supporting the plurality of unit modules with respect to the tray in a second direction different from the first direction (Lower cross member (93), upper cross member (96) [0049] fig. 7, 10).
As to claim 2, Tatsuwaki discloses the first support member comprises: a first case between adjacent unit modules of the plurality of unit modules ((94), (95) [0055]); and a second case arranged to intersect the first case and facing ends of the unit modules ((93), (96) [0055] figs. 6-9).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Tatsuwaki discloses each of the unit modules comprises a plurality of battery cells linearly arranged in a longitudinal direction of the first case.([0060-0061] figs. 6, 8, and 9)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-10, 12-14, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuwaki et al. (US2022/0153112A1) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Takahashi et al. (US2002/0093246A1).
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated, Tatsuwaki discloses a second support member ((93) (96)) comprises: a second support body between the adjacent unit modules ((96) figs. 6, 8-10). Tatsuwaki seems to illustrate a pressing member extending from the second support body ((flange 96a of 96) figs. 6, 8-10) and pressing the adjacent unit modules toward the tray (annotated figure 10), but does not explicitly disclose a pressing member extending from the second support body and pressing the adjacent unit modules toward the tray .
(Tatsuwaki Annotated fig. 10)
In the same field of endeavor Takahashi discloses battery module [0012] and teaches elastic cushion material (28) may be used as a buffer material for pressing section (32) of band (30) of the upper parts of batteries 6-1,6-2, and 6-3.[0044], and band (30) may produce an axial force which improves the rigidity of the whole system [0050].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Tatsuwaki with the elastic cushion material as taught by Takahashi to improve rigidity of the whole system.
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, Tatsuwaki discloses the second support body (96a of 96 fig. 10) is parallel to the first case in a longitudinal direction thereof and is seated on the first case and the second case (fig. 10).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, Tatsuwaki discloses the second support member (93, 96) further comprises a securing member ( (upper and lower collar 124, attachment bolt 125) [0081] fig. 10) securing the second support body (96 fig. 10) to the first case and the second case ([0081], fig. 10).
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, Tatsuwaki discloses the securing member comprises (124,125): an alignment member extending from the second support body (124b, fig. 10, exemplified in fig. 8 element (431) of the instant specification.) and inserted into at least one of the first case and the second case (93, fig. 10); and a fastening member ((125) [0081]) fastened to at least one of the first case and the second case through the second support body (FIG. 10).
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, modified Tatsuwaki discloses the pressing member (Takahashi elastic cushion material (28) [0044], annotated fig. 10 above) comprises: a first flange (annotated fig. 10 above) extending from a first side of the second support body (96a of 96) and facing a first unit module ((71) [0043] fig. 10) of the adjacent unit modules (annotated fig. 10 above); a second flange extending from a second side of the second support body and facing a second unit module of the adjacent unit modules (annotated fig. 10 above); a first pressing member secured to the first flange and pressing the battery cell of the first unit module of the adjacent unit modules (annotated fig. 10 above); and a second pressing member secured to the second flange and pressing the battery cell of the second unit module of the adjacent unit modules (annotated fig. 10 above).
As to claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, modified Tatsuwaki the first pressing member and the second pressing member are elastically deformable ([Takahashi, 0044]).
As to claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated, modified Tatsuwaki the first pressing member and the second pressing member contact a portion of an upper surface of the battery cell (annotated fig. 10 above).
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, modified Tatsuwaki the second support member (93-96) further comprises a reinforcing member reinforcing the second support body (96a). As shown in annotated fig. 10 below, (96) has ribs as exemplified by fig. 7 element (441) of the instant specification.
(Tatsuwaki, annotated fig. 10)
As to claim 13, the rejection of claim 12 is incorporated, modified Tatsuwaki the reinforcing member comprises a plurality of reinforcing ribs arranged inside the second support body (96) and spaced apart from each other in a longitudinal direction of the second support body (annotated fig. 10 above).
As to claim 14, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated, modified Tatsuwaki a third support member on the tray and supporting a wiring harness ( clip on high-voltage electric wire (40) [0090] annotated fig. 9, and fig. 15).
(Tatsuwaki, annotated fig. 9)
As to claim 17, Tatsuwaki a connection member (high-voltage junction box (82) [0042] fig. 9) electrically connected to the plurality of unit modules ([0095] fig. 9, 15); and a controller (control device (83) [0042] arranged on the tray to be connected to the connection member (fig. 9) and control operation of the plurality of unit modules. (The control device 83 is, for example, a battery management unit that controls discharge and charge between the drive battery 70 and the drive motor. [0044]… the drive battery 70 includes the battery module 71 [0096])
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuwaki et al. (US2022/0153112A1) as applied to claims 1, 2 and 4 above, in view of Takahashi et al. (US2002/0093246A1), and further in view of Gao et al. (US2022/0416352A1)
As to claim 15, the rejection of claim 14 is incorporated, modified Tatsuwaki discloses the high-voltage electric wire (40) may be run along cross member (90, 93/96 or second support body [0095] figs. 9 and 15)
Tatsuwaki is silent on the third support member comprises: a clip holder secured to the second support body;
and a clip supported by the clip holder and separating the wiring harness from the second support body by a distance.
In the same field of endeavor Gao discloses battery pack [Abstract] and teaches third support member comprises: a clip holder (wire harness retainer (930) [0063] fig. 9)
and a clip (wire harness clip 562 of wire harness retainer 930 [0063] fig. 9) supported by the clip holder (stud of locking portion 560 [0063] fig. 9)
Gao further teaches wire harness retainers (930) can alleviate friction between wire harnesses. [063]
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Tatsuwaki with the wire harness retainer as taught by Gao to prevent friction between wire harnesses and potential damage to the battery.
Thus the combination Tatsuwaki discloses the high voltage electric wire on the second support, and Gao discloses the wire harness clip separated by a distance (Gao, [0063] fig. 9) would meet the limitation.
As to claim 16, the rejection of claim 15 is incorporated, modified Tatsuwaki the third support member comprises: a plurality of clip holders (wire harness retainers 930 can be used to fix multiple wire harnesses [0063]). Regarding the limitation, “spaced apart from each other in the longitudinal direction of the second support body.” It is noted the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuwaki et al. (US2022/0153112A1) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Nishihara et al. (US2011/0024205A1).
As to claim 18, the rejection of claim 17 is incorporated, Tatsuwaki is silent on the connection member comprises: a first busbar electrically connected to the battery cell; a second busbar electrically connecting adjacent unit modules of the plurality of unit modules to each other; and a third busbar electrically connecting the plurality of unit modules to the controller.
In the same field of endeavor Nishihara discloses a battery module [0002] and teaches the connection member comprises:
a first busbar electrically connected to the battery cell (busbar (40) [0262] fig. 27);
a second busbar electrically connecting adjacent unit modules of the plurality of unit modules to each other (bus bar 501a [0262] fig. 27);
and a third busbar (bus 103, [0073] fig. 1) electrically connecting the plurality of unit modules (100) to the controller (battery ECU 101, [0073] fig. 1).
Nishihara further teaches, (An object of the present invention is to provide a battery module in which a short is sufficiently prevented from occurring [0007]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Tatsuwaki with the busbars as taught by Nishihara to prevent a short circuit in the battery.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tatsuwaki et al. (US2022/0153112A1) as applied to claims1, 2, 4, 8, and 10 above, in view of Takahashi et al. (US2002/0093246A1)m and further in view of Yoneyama et al. (US2020/0411816A1)
As to claim 11, the rejection of claim 10 is incorporated, modified Tatsuwaki is silent on the battery cell comprises a connection terminal protruding from the upper surface thereof, and the first pressing member and the second pressing member are spaced apart from the connection terminal.
In the same field of endeavor Yoneyama discloses a battery pack [Abstract] and teaches, (two flanges 44 extend outwardly in a width direction from the other edges [0034] fig. 3, and prevent the battery cells (13) from floating [0035]).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Tatsuwaki with the flange outside the terminal as taught by Yoneyama to prevent battery cells from floating in the battery pack and thereby preventing damage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Luo et al. (US2024/0234903A1) Elastic material for battery flanges.
Tsujimura et al (US2014/0072835A1) Controller attached to battery module.
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728